Jump to content

HELP TOPIC - further help in chat.osx86.hu/#legacykernel (IRC)

SL ML AMD APU FX Bulldozer

  • Please log in to reply
2042 replies to this topic

#21
pauℓzurrr.

pauℓzurrr.

    Paul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
Try this kernel here, SinetekBronzovkAnVoodoo_rc4

#22
Bitcore

Bitcore

    AMD Fanboy

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:Producing Music

Try this kernel here, SinetekBronzovkAnVoodoo_rc4

Didn't work, however i'm seeing a cyan colored screen for like 0,0001 second before the reboot.
I think I'm not using the necessary flags. I'm just booting like: amd_kernel -v . Aren't there other flags recquired?

Bitcore

Or could it be the fact i'm not using corecrypto?

#23
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

Anyone got AppleNforceAta? I get "still waiting for root device" In RAID Mode, & on IDE Native Mode The Same = Still Waiting For Root Device.


the problem: still waiting for root device, can have different causes.
try using this method as described by nanjuah Message #17 . or just download under my uploads Still_waiting_for_root_device.zip.
Possibly it may be the cause that you does not have set the boot sequence fields in the BIOS .
First position CD-ROM/DVD, Second position HDD HFS+,Third Position NTFS HDD, or disable the firewire

Edited by spakk, 09 January 2013 - 04:01 PM.


#24
pauℓzurrr.

pauℓzurrr.

    Paul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
You also need to use arch=x86_64.

These are my bootflags.
npci=0x2000 arch=x86_64 -v


#25
Bitcore

Bitcore

    AMD Fanboy

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:Producing Music

You also need to use arch=x86_64.

These are my bootflags.

npci=0x2000 arch=x86_64 -v

Tried it, but no succes.. still exactly the same problem.
Reading the files and then a reboot.

EDIT: Tried with CoreCrypto and succesfully launched the setup!
Only problem is that it says : "Cannot instal to this drive , can't update this version of osx" It's a harddisk with 10.6.3
After formatting that disk it is saying the same ;s I've used this tool to create my usb ML installation : http://www.osx86.net...do=file&id=3506 (only replaced the kernel with SinetekBronzovkAnVoodoo_rc4 and added the corecrypto kext )

Have to find another way

#26
Mad Marcsen

Mad Marcsen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts

the problem: still waiting for root device, can have different causes.
try using this method as described by nanjuah Message #17 . or just download under my uploads Still_waiting_for_root_device.zip.
Possibly it may be the cause that you does not have set the boot sequence fields in the BIOS .
First position CD-ROM/DVD, Second position HDD HFS+,Third Position NTFS HDD, or disable the firewire


yeah, don't forget that the appleatiata works only for ati-chipsets. Maybe it's just a kernel parameter thing or so.

@jtsanborn:

maybe google can help you here with this.

Thanks.

#27
VVlasy

VVlasy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
May I just ask, what kexts do I need? Nullcpupowermanagament? FakeSMC? Should I remove AppleIntelCpuPowermanagament? Help would be appreciated.

And also, bitcore, I had to manually set CPU ratio for my FX-8120 (BUT it was on an older kernel) Through a bootflag "cpuratio=15.5" or just "cpuratio=15" for the FX8120 Because thats its stock frequency.

EDIT: Sorry its asus Sabertooth 990fx R 1.0 and the GPU is GTX560 ti which on a normal intel hackintosh works out of the box without any changes But as I understand from the original thread I have to delete a few things.... I am going to swap kernels in about an hour and telll the results here if it doesnt work or in the original if it does :-)

#28
Mad Marcsen

Mad Marcsen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts

May I just ask, what kexts do I need? Nullcpupowermanagament? FakeSMC? Should I remove AppleIntelCpuPowermanagament? Help would be appreciated.

And also, bitcore, I had to manually set CPU ratio for my FX-8120 (BUT it was on an older kernel) Through a bootflag "cpuratio=15.5" or just "cpuratio=15" for the FX8120 Because thats its stock frequency.


Have a look at my installation guide. It's very simple an i think that most machines do work with it. Just use the kext's mentioned. If it fails, come back and ask. :D

Also, it would be nice if you tell us what mainboard etc. you have. Maybe some special kext's are needed based on your setup.

#29
chudux

chudux

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN USA
Would love to get my AMD rig running ML. Any hope with my specs below?

Thanks!

#30
jeisom

jeisom

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Which version of Mountain Lion, jeisom?


10.8.2

#31
DaMadOne

DaMadOne

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Would love to get my AMD rig running ML. Any hope with my specs below?

Thanks!


absolutely! see my specs. I have the r2 version of the sabertooth and it plays really nicely with OSX. I am currently running andy's latext kernel because it will run 32bit apps. Sineteks 'test2' kernel seems to be slightly more stable and boots a whole lot faster, but no 32bit apps. I have not really had any issues with either kernel though. Just build a myhack usb to install (you will need a working mac/hackintosh to build it) and install. Your nvidia card will not work 100% but you can get full resolution just no hardware acceleration just yet, some smart people are working on it. Follow these instructions http://www.insanelym...on/page__st__20 to get video "working". If you have any more ?s feel free to PM me or post back in this topic.

Side note* I have the USB3 controller as well as the firewire controller disabled in my bios because I have no use for them. I have never enabled them to see if they work or cause problems.. so if you run into pci or usbhci problems I would try turning those off and see if it solves your problem.

#32
Adrian Andréas

Adrian Andréas

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

absolutely! see my specs. I have the r2 version of the sabertooth and it plays really nicely with OSX. I am currently running andy's latext kernel because it will run 32bit apps. Sineteks 'test2' kernel seems to be slightly more stable and boots a whole lot faster, but no 32bit apps. I have not really had any issues with either kernel though. Just build a myhack usb to install (you will need a working mac/hackintosh to build it) and install. Your nvidia card will not work 100% but you can get full resolution just no hardware acceleration just yet, some smart people are working on it. Follow these instructions http://www.insanelym...on/page__st__20 to get video "working". If you have any more ?s feel free to PM me or post back in this topic.

Side note* I have the USB3 controller as well as the firewire controller disabled in my bios because I have no use for them. I have never enabled them to see if they work or cause problems.. so if you run into pci or usbhci problems I would try turning those off and see if it solves your problem.



What is the kernel that enables 32-bit?
how can I activate it?
I'm with the last-amd kernel.
My wifi usb adapter only works on 32 bit.
Please answer me ... Thank you!

#33
Deltac0

Deltac0

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Caffeine, OS X, AMD Hackintosh

Tried it, but no succes.. still exactly the same problem.
Reading the files and then a reboot.

EDIT: Tried with CoreCrypto and succesfully launched the setup!
Only problem is that it says : "Cannot instal to this drive , can't update this version of osx" It's a harddisk with 10.6.3
After formatting that disk it is saying the same ;s I've used this tool to create my usb ML installation : http://www.osx86.net...do=file&id=3506 (only replaced the kernel with SinetekBronzovkAnVoodoo_rc4 and added the corecrypto kext )

Have to find another way


Can you try to format the disk with a Linux or Windows OS? Just boot a Windows installer disc and format the partition / disk from there. Or same with Linux...
Or even single user mode could maybe do it.

May I just ask, what kexts do I need? Nullcpupowermanagament? FakeSMC? Should I remove AppleIntelCpuPowermanagament? Help would be appreciated.

And also, bitcore, I had to manually set CPU ratio for my FX-8120 (BUT it was on an older kernel) Through a bootflag "cpuratio=15.5" or just "cpuratio=15" for the FX8120 Because thats its stock frequency.

EDIT: Sorry its asus Sabertooth 990fx R 1.0 and the GPU is GTX560 ti which on a normal intel hackintosh works out of the box without any changes But as I understand from the original thread I have to delete a few things.... I am going to swap kernels in about an hour and telll the results here if it doesnt work or in the original if it does :-)


NVidia guys have some problems, but I think they managed to get it booting without -x. Take a look at the NVidia thread.
You need probably Andy's patched corecrypto.kext and kernel. Only replacing the kernel could also work, Andy made it work with vanilla corecrypto..

#34
Bitcore

Bitcore

    AMD Fanboy

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:Producing Music
Hi,

@VVlasy i'm using the following kext's :
Posted Image
I'll try if manually setting the ratio will work :)

@Deltac0 , I'll be also trying that when back from school.

Bitcore

#35
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
I will always be notified and asked how to install Mountain Lion

If you have a runnable Intel Mountain Lion or Lion or Snow Leopard. Then you create a clone with CCC or SuperDruper. Alternatively, you can create a with MyHack over an runable OSX a USB Install.
It does not matter how you do it. It is here in the forums on repeatedly.
Then you must place the modified corocrypto.kext and Decrypter from Sinetec/Andy Vandijk and some drivers for AMD to S / L / E and in the end one of the test kernels to install here recently Sinetek or Andy Vandijk. You need something to read from page 50 in detail here has been written and tested. It is very important. Always depending on what hardware you have.There are some variations on how to successfully do an install.
please use either the forum for your questions, or visit us at irc chat.osx86.hu #LegacyKernel here you get all the information you need.
Or you can look here:
http://www.insanelym...working-builds/


oups, Deltaco
I see we have similar questions :worried_anim: :trumpet:

Just FYI my system is running!

It is very surprising, my system is running only with a org.chameleon.boot.plist.boot quite a strange ending! but it is, when I remove *. boot at the end, so It get PCI configuration begin, how should a normal mortal understand now??? Posted Image


Edit:

all test kernels of Sinetek can be found here: https://meklort.com/~sinet3k/
if you like use the test kernel of Andy Vandijck then takes the last amd_kernel from 7.1.2013 and the SinetekBronzovkAnVoodoo_rc4.diff File + libcrypto.dlyb File ( put the dylib -file in to usr/lib/)
Good Luck!

Edited by spakk, 10 January 2013 - 05:00 PM.


#36
VVlasy

VVlasy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Ok so here we go again....

Someone posted that he is runing pretty much the same specs (board. cpu etc) With no kexts just kernel. But I have a problem that When I boot I do -v only (FOR NOW) and it loads all the kexts and straight after that it reboots. Could it be that I am using Chimera as bootloader? Could it be I installed a clean install on an Intel machine that works with everything out of the box, (the install USB used is from a clean image from AppStore) and I just changed the kernel on it?

Also, does the kernel support manual ratio setting? I used some other kernel few months back that supported it but it seems that if I type "busratio=15" it changes nothing.

EDIT: Thanks bitcore for list fo your kernels, could you upload them all? I would really appreciate it. Because at the moment I have got millions of kexts downloaded And I dunno which is which :-P.

#37
chudux

chudux

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nashville, TN USA

absolutely! see my specs. I have the r2 version of the sabertooth and it plays really nicely with OSX. I am currently running andy's latext kernel because it will run 32bit apps. Sineteks 'test2' kernel seems to be slightly more stable and boots a whole lot faster, but no 32bit apps. I have not really had any issues with either kernel though. Just build a myhack usb to install (you will need a working mac/hackintosh to build it) and install. Your nvidia card will not work 100% but you can get full resolution just no hardware acceleration just yet, some smart people are working on it. Follow these instructions http://www.insanelym...on/page__st__20 to get video "working". If you have any more ?s feel free to PM me or post back in this topic.

Side note* I have the USB3 controller as well as the firewire controller disabled in my bios because I have no use for them. I have never enabled them to see if they work or cause problems.. so if you run into pci or usbhci problems I would try turning those off and see if it solves your problem.


Thanks DaMadOne, YOU ROCK! I'll PM you if I have any issues.

#38
xmaniak100

xmaniak100

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Prešov
  • Interests:OSX86
Guys I have a problem... I installed iatkos ML2 from lion installation and when i try to boot the new kernel(amd_kernel) it just instant rebbots, when i try to boot the old one(which needs corecrypto) I see everything failing to find symbols in ___kernel___ and ACPI doesnt load. I have an FX 6100 6 core processor

#39
Bitcore

Bitcore

    AMD Fanboy

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:Producing Music

Ok so here we go again....

Someone posted that he is runing pretty much the same specs (board. cpu etc) With no kexts just kernel. But I have a problem that When I boot I do -v only (FOR NOW) and it loads all the kexts and straight after that it reboots. Could it be that I am using Chimera as bootloader? Could it be I installed a clean install on an Intel machine that works with everything out of the box, (the install USB used is from a clean image from AppStore) and I just changed the kernel on it?

Also, does the kernel support manual ratio setting? I used some other kernel few months back that supported it but it seems that if I type "busratio=15" it changes nothing.

EDIT: Thanks bitcore for list fo your kernels, could you upload them all? I would really appreciate it. Because at the moment I have got millions of kexts downloaded And I dunno which is which :-P.

I'll upload the package in a few minutes
EDIT: Here you go : http://www.mediafire...sh9i371052yci7y

#40
jeisom

jeisom

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Reposted here.
I installed from 10.8.0 with Sinetek's original kernel. Then updated to 10.8.2. Anything that I have seen since just instantly reboots after processing kexts.

Hi all.
I have a FX-8120 on a ASUS M5A97 EVO motherboard with 16GB of ram & a nVidia GTX 465. So far I have only been only able to use Sinetek's original ML kernel. Everything from Sinetek since & AnV's reboots instantly reboots after processing kexts. Currently have AnV's corecrypto.kext installed and the 10.8.0 AppleACPIPlatform.kext IOACPIFamily.kext IOPCIFamily.kext System.kext kexts. I have tried "-f -v npci=x3000" with and with -x. I don't have the nVidia driver in /S/L/E.
Any Ideas? Thanks



Output of lspci
Spoiler






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: SL, ML, AMD, APU, FX, Bulldozer


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy