Jump to content

Clover General discussion

Bootloader EFI Clover

  • Please log in to reply
15524 replies to this topic

#15361
ruki250

ruki250

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Your system maybe falled in hibernate mode.
I experienced your result before. I already reported this. But there was no way to resolved this issue.https://sourceforge....hread/93f601f6/
So i had to format HS partition in windows. Then i can boot any os disk(usb installer/recovery/other os partition). Clover always read nvram file when get gui. Nvram always included hibernation info. So you never boot any macos disk/partiton.
Maybe you need to upload preboot.log in your system.
According to this situtation, i suggested nvram reset funtion to avoid it in gui.
나의 LG-F800S 의 Tapatalk에서 보냄

problem solved!!!! i've deleted nvram.plist from sierra and high sierra is boot up!! Thank you all!!!

#15362
apianti

apianti

    I have dementia!

  • Developers
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

@Sherlocks, ruki250,

 

You should always have EFI shell! So, if using emulating nvram, delete all the nvram.plist from every volume, if not, use the nvram variable commands and remove any variables that might be used by clover/macOS. And Sherlocks, implement that nvram variable reset, then no issue, you can add it in the options menu or even as a tool, but if you add it as a tool, remember that it must not be added if tool scan is disabled.


@Slice, When you'll upload the latest version that has the AMD Wake Fix?

 

Do you mean for AMD CPUs or for new AMD radeon GPUs? Because if you mean the latter, you can build the newest revision yourself, there are tools to do it for you. just go back to clover forum index, and look into the build clover command topic. If you mean the former, I don't think that's a thing....

 

EDIT: Eh, here's the topic, not sure why I didn't just link it.



#15363
Sherlocks

Sherlocks

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seoul

@Sherlocks, ruki250,

You should always have EFI shell! So, if using emulating nvram, delete all the nvram.plist from every volume, if not, use the nvram variable commands and remove any variables that might be used by clover/macOS. And Sherlocks, implement that nvram variable reset, then no issue, you can add it in the options menu or even as a tool, but if you add it as a tool, remember that it must not be added if tool scan is disabled.

I'm not friendly use EFI shell command. So i didn't use it to remove nvram.plist file in apfs partition. Like you said, EFI shell solution is one for my issue.
I will try to implement nvram reset in gui.

Thanks

나의 LG-F800S 의 Tapatalk에서 보냄

#15364
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Local Moderators
  • 6,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

@Slice, When you'll upload the latest version that has the AMD Wake Fix?

As usual at Friday.



#15365
Tusskan

Tusskan

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Javascript.

As usual at Friday.

good, noob question, How to let Clover auto detect and boot Linux partitions on different disks than mac disks?



#15366
apianti

apianti

    I have dementia!

  • Developers
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

good, noob question, How to let Clover auto detect and boot Linux partitions on different disks than mac disks?

 

If they are installed in EFI mode then their grub loaders should be detected from the EFI partition, from the disk installed on. If not then you need to make sure that you have kernel scan enabled, and also VBoxExt2.efi or VBoxExt4.efi filesystem driver in clover drivers folder.



#15367
Tusskan

Tusskan

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Javascript.

If they are installed in EFI mode then their grub loaders should be detected from the EFI partition, from the disk installed on. If not then you need to make sure that you have kernel scan enabled, and also VBoxExt2.efi or VBoxExt4.efi filesystem driver in clover drivers folder.

Well, I've been trying with no results. I'll research it later. I've VBoXEX2.efi driver and put it into drivers64 folder and ticked Kernel and Linux from Entries, it detect nothing.



#15368
JorgeMax

JorgeMax

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 473 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brasil-Piauí-Teresina

With the new build 4297 and added the key "RadeonDeInit", I no longer need the kext "WhateverGreen.kext".

My Radeon HD 7850 "wakes up" from "sleep", just needed the aforementioned kext because of that problem.
 
Thanks to Vit9696, Mieze and Slice for this Clover review


#15369
apianti

apianti

    I have dementia!

  • Developers
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Well, I've been trying with no results. I'll research it later. I've VBoXEX2.efi driver and put it into drivers64 folder and ticked Kernel and Linux from Entries, it detect nothing.

 

Are you legacy booting? Are your linux installs also legacy? Did you install the legacy bootloader for each on the partition and not the MBR? Because you should get legacy entries for them unless you've disabled legacy scan? Also are you sure its not an Ext4 partition? Linux hasn't used Ext2/3 for a few years now, like almost ten. Plus I don't know what you mean by ticked Kernel and Linux from Entries, that sounds more like you tried to create a custom entry, when it will automatically find kernels if the kernel scan is not disabled, it's enabled by default. So you just need the filesystem driver to be able to see the kernels on the volume and make sure that the correct scans are enabled (they are all enabled by default, so maybe you disabled them).

 

 

 

With the new build 4297 and added the key "RadeonDeInit", I no longer need the kext "WhateverGreen.kext".

My Radeon HD 7850 "wakes up" from "sleep", just needed the aforementioned kext because of that problem.
 
Thank you Slice

 

 

You should probably be thanking vit9696 and Mieze as well.


  • zxv likes this

#15370
JorgeMax

JorgeMax

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 473 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brasil-Piauí-Teresina

Are you legacy booting? Are your linux installs also legacy? Did you install the legacy bootloader for each on the partition and not the MBR? Because you should get legacy entries for them unless you've disabled legacy scan? Also are you sure its not an Ext4 partition? Linux hasn't used Ext2/3 for a few years now, like almost ten. Plus I don't know what you mean by ticked Kernel and Linux from Entries, that sounds more like you tried to create a custom entry, when it will automatically find kernels if the kernel scan is not disabled, it's enabled by default. So you just need the filesystem driver to be able to see the kernels on the volume and make sure that the correct scans are enabled (they are all enabled by default, so maybe you disabled them).

 

 

 

You should probably be thanking vit9696 and Mieze as well.

 

Sorry, I just edited and gave the credits to them too



#15371
apianti

apianti

    I have dementia!

  • Developers
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Sorry, I just edited and gave the credits to them too

 

Nothing for which to be sorry. You're good, just letting you know that it was really those two, slice just incorporated their ideas into clover. That's why open source communities are great. Clover is built off the previous stuff, as new stuff will be built off clover.... Mad props though for your thanking of them, those're far and few between, and it makes us feel appreciated.  :wink_anim:



#15372
Sherlocks

Sherlocks

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seoul

problem solved!!!! i've deleted nvram.plist from sierra and high sierra is boot up!! Thank you all!!!

0:658  0:010  Loading nvram.plist from Vol 'Sierra' - loaded, size=2759

0:660  0:000   Adding Key: IOHibernateRTCVariables: Size = 44, Data: 41 41 50 4C 01 00 00 00 7B B6 6E E8 2B 43 E0 1D 60 09 A6 80 1A AD 45 6C 97 C4 0E 07 50 3A 65 28 43 8E 58 F3 04 F4 EA 68 21 3C 94 83 

0:660  0:000   Adding Key: boot-image: Size = 56, Data: 02 01 0C 00 D0 41 03 0A 00 00 00 00 01 01 06 00 00 17 03 12 0A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 04 18 00 34 00 37 00 34 00 39 00 32 00 30 00 30 00 30 00 30 00 00 00 7F FF 04 00 
0:660  0:000   Adding Key: Boot0082: Size = 82, Data: 01 00 00 00 4A 00 00 00 02 01 0C 00 D0 41 03 0A 00 00 00 00 01 01 06 00 00 17 03 12 0A 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 04 01 2A 00 02 00 00 00 28 40 06 00 00 00 00 00 B0 85 F9 06 00 00 00 00 03 88 C4 E2 5C 34 87 4A 9C 51 D9 5E 1E 5A 0E DF 02 02 7F FF 04 00 
0:660  0:000   Adding Key: BootNext: Size = 2, Data: 82 00 
 
because of these key, you got instant reboot with osxapitiofix message. it's same as my issue.
it means that hibernation mode is not properly work in your system.


#15373
apianti

apianti

    I have dementia!

  • Developers
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

 

0:658  0:010  Loading nvram.plist from Vol 'Sierra' - loaded, size=2759

0:660  0:000   Adding Key: IOHibernateRTCVariables: Size = 44, Data: 41 41 50 4C 01 00 00 00 7B B6 6E E8 2B 43 E0 1D 60 09 A6 80 1A AD 45 6C 97 C4 0E 07 50 3A 65 28 43 8E 58 F3 04 F4 EA 68 21 3C 94 83 

0:660  0:000   Adding Key: boot-image: Size = 56, Data: 02 01 0C 00 D0 41 03 0A 00 00 00 00 01 01 06 00 00 17 03 12 0A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 04 18 00 34 00 37 00 34 00 39 00 32 00 30 00 30 00 30 00 30 00 00 00 7F FF 04 00 
0:660  0:000   Adding Key: Boot0082: Size = 82, Data: 01 00 00 00 4A 00 00 00 02 01 0C 00 D0 41 03 0A 00 00 00 00 01 01 06 00 00 17 03 12 0A 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 04 01 2A 00 02 00 00 00 28 40 06 00 00 00 00 00 B0 85 F9 06 00 00 00 00 03 88 C4 E2 5C 34 87 4A 9C 51 D9 5E 1E 5A 0E DF 02 02 7F FF 04 00 
0:660  0:000   Adding Key: BootNext: Size = 2, Data: 82 00 
 
because of these key, you got instant reboot with osxapitiofix message. it's same as my issue.
it means that hibernation mode is not properly work in your system.

 

 

He was trying to install or boot High Sierra when it appears that he had hibernated Sierra without resuming. So yeah that was probably not going to work...



#15374
Sherlocks

Sherlocks

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seoul

He was trying to install or boot High Sierra when it appears that he had hibernated Sierra without resuming. So yeah that was probably not going to work...

Yes. We need to remove these key. Ex. Nvram reset feature in gui without manual process in other os(windows or something).

나의 LG-F800S 의 Tapatalk에서 보냄

#15375
Vinicius P. Miranda

Vinicius P. Miranda

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brasil

I created a FusionHD on a macOS guest in VMware, ran the "Install macOS High Sierra.app" targeting the FusionHD, then attached the component "physical" drives to a Linux Mint VM to examine the file structures...

 

Details of the core storage volume "FusionHD" (disk3, comprised of physical drives disk0 & disk1) are listed below...

fusion71aus-iMac:~ fusion71au$ diskutil list
/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *53.7 GB    disk0
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
   2:          Apple_CoreStorage FusionHD                53.3 GB    disk0s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Boot OS X               134.2 MB   disk0s3

/dev/disk1 (internal, physical):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *42.9 GB    disk1
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk1s1
   2:          Apple_CoreStorage FusionHD                42.6 GB    disk1s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Boot OS X               134.2 MB   disk1s3

/dev/disk2 (internal, physical):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *53.7 GB    disk2
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk2s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS macOS                   52.8 GB    disk2s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk2s3

/dev/disk3 (internal, virtual):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:                  Apple_HFS FusionHD               +90.5 GB    disk3
                                 Logical Volume on disk0s2, disk1s2
                                 6FCF6DFD-473E-4EEC-A983-4394B6D223D9
                                 Unencrypted Fusion Drive

fusion71aus-iMac:~ fusion71au$ diskutil coreStorage list
CoreStorage logical volume groups (1 found)
|
+-- Logical Volume Group 8A9E365C-ADA0-42E5-B62C-BFEC785CB649
    =========================================================
    Name:         FusionHD
    Status:       Online
    Size:         95948816384 B (95.9 GB)
    Free Space:   106496 B (106.5 KB)
    |
    +-< Physical Volume 0D07162A-6C25-41F7-86E9-6C76A4B5B176
    |   ----------------------------------------------------
    |   Index:    0
    |   Disk:     disk0s2
    |   Status:   Online
    |   Size:     53343117312 B (53.3 GB)
    |
    +-< Physical Volume 7AAE3F60-4C0E-44A2-911B-53FA15EB77B3
    |   ----------------------------------------------------
    |   Index:    1
    |   Disk:     disk1s2
    |   Status:   Online
    |   Size:     42605699072 B (42.6 GB)
    |
    +-> Logical Volume Family 43011F12-511E-4CC4-8A61-A9A95FF91057
        ----------------------------------------------------------
        Encryption Type:         None
        |
        +-> Logical Volume 6FCF6DFD-473E-4EEC-A983-4394B6D223D9
            ---------------------------------------------------
            Disk:                  disk3
            Status:                Online
            Size (Total):          90522517504 B (90.5 GB)
            Revertible:            No
            LV Name:               FusionHD
            Volume Name:           FusionHD
            Content Hint:          Apple_HFS
            LVG Type:              Fusion, Sparse
fusion71aus-iMac:~ fusion71au$ diskutil info disk3 | grep UUID
   Volume UUID:              DFC8F5FF-200A-38F7-AA00-63C3D5813FD6
   Disk / Partition UUID:    6FCF6DFD-473E-4EEC-A983-4394B6D223D9
   LV UUID:                  6FCF6DFD-473E-4EEC-A983-4394B6D223D9
   LVF UUID:                 43011F12-511E-4CC4-8A61-A9A95FF91057
   LVG UUID:                 8A9E365C-ADA0-42E5-B62C-BFEC785CB649
   PV UUID (disk):           0D07162A-6C25-41F7-86E9-6C76A4B5B176 (disk0s2)
   PV UUID (disk):           7AAE3F60-4C0E-44A2-911B-53FA15EB77B3 (disk1s2)

The boot files to begin the install (boot.efi, com.apple.Boot.plist, SystemVersion.plist and the prelinkedkernel) are all copied to the folder "com.apple.boot.R" in each of the "Boot OS X" partitions of the physical drives making up the FusionHD (in this case disk0s3 and disk1s3).  The com.apple.Boot.plist points to the Volume UUID of the Fusion drive = disk3.

 

Hope this helps the devs fix the installation of High Sierra on Fusion HDs :).

 

 

 

You can continue the second phase installation by starting boot.efi from the EFI shell (Clover main menu ---> Shell64U.efi).

 

In my example above, the booter partition "Boot OS X" corresponded to FS3:

 

Hint - you can switch between FS1:, FS2:, and FS3: volumes consecutively, and use the ls command to see which volume has the "com.apple.boot.R" folder...

 

So in the EFI shell, I typed the following lines, followed by <Enter>

FS3:
"\com.apple.boot.R\boot.efi" 

 

OR create a custom Clover entry for the FusionHD Installer in config.plist/GUI, based on the UUID of the "Boot OS X" booter partition eg

 

Spoiler

and select the entry from the Clover Main Menu.

 

Only today I was able to test. Finally I was able to update the system without losing anything. Thank you very much fusion71au. I'm happy not to have to install from 0 every time post some updates.

I could not find the "\com.apple.boot.R\boot.efi" in any FSx: (I tested all FS), I just found the EFI folder and some files hidden. But by the Custom Entry mode in the Clover Configurator worked perfect.
If I knew how to program well, I would put it on the Clover myself. But I'm still a beginner.


#15376
Sherlocks

Sherlocks

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seoul

He was trying to install or boot High Sierra when it appears that he had hibernated Sierra without resuming. So yeah that was probably not going to work...

 

i'm trying to implement nvram reset option.
 
DeleteNvramVariable (efi-boot-device, guid = Not Found
):DeleteNvramVariable (efi-boot-device-data, guid = Not Found
):DeleteNvramVariable (BootCampHD, guid = Not Found
 
actually this DeleteNvramVariable feature is not working both gEfiAppleBootGuid and gEfiAppleNvramGuid on system that used EmuVariableUefiPresent.
it seems cecekpawon code works only native supported nvram system.
 
0:962  0:002  Loading nvram.plist from Vol 'EFI' - loaded, size=2116
0:975  0:012  === [ PutNvramPlistToRtVars ] =============================
0:975  0:000   Adding Key: EFILoginHiDPI: Size = 4, Data: 00 00 00 00 
0:975  0:000   Skipping EmuVariableUefiPresent
0:975  0:000   Adding Key: SystemAudioVolume: Size = 1, Data: 37 
0:975  0:000   Adding Key: SystemAudioVolumeDB: Size = 1, Data: ED 
 
1:072  0:000  EmuVariable UninstallEmulation: CloseEvent = Success, original var services restored
1:074  0:001  EmuVariable InstallEmulation: orig vars copied, emu.var.services installed, CreateEvent VirtualAddressChange = Success, CreateEvent 
 
1:113  0:000  EmuVariable UninstallEmulation: CloseEvent = Success, original var services restored
1:113  0:000  DefaultIndex=1 and MainMenu.EntryCount=9
1:506  0:393  GUI ready
 
in system that used EmuVariableUefiPresent, i think that need to refresh RtVars and to recall PutNvramPlistToRtVars after GUI ready
and what we want to except exclude, then emulated nvram part again. then boot.
 
if DeleteNvramVariable feature can use on most of system, seems very simple. but now, it's not work
or remove nvram file on all partition in GUI. then reload Clover GUI, then boot.
i'm thinking to find best way..


#15377
cecekpawon

cecekpawon

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Developers
  • 893 posts
  • Gender:Male
it seems cecekpawon code works only native supported nvram system.

 

Correct. Theres another fork with EmuVariable support. Go share with him :)



#15378
Sherlocks

Sherlocks

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seoul

Correct. Theres another fork with EmuVariable support. Go share with him :)

Thank you so much. I will see it in detail.

나의 LG-F800S 의 Tapatalk에서 보냄

#15379
apianti

apianti

    I have dementia!

  • Developers
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Look at the Emu driver and see why it's not deleting properly.

 

https://sourceforge....Variable.c#l937

 

This line should be checked for result and the problem seems to lie in that function for not finding the variable to delete from the previous line:

https://sourceforge....ariable.c#l1448

https://sourceforge....ariable.c#l1089



#15380
apianti

apianti

    I have dementia!

  • Developers
  • 540 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

I think I found the problem:

 

https://sourceforge....ariable.c#l1125

 

Not sure that check is needed at all. I think the first two ifs there should not be present and should just be the else part.

 

EDIT: VariableName[0] can never be zero because it's always checked before that function is even called. Plus why on earth couldn't we change variables that are both RT and BT. That's an illogical check.

EDIT2: Plus you can't have a zero length VariableName, it violates the spec.

EDIT3: Should be just this

EDIT4: Oops, forgot about runtime excluding BT only variables, so it was kinda there but needed corrected.

EDIT5: Actually forgot that GetNextVariable starts with empty string, so the line should just be changed to:

if (!VariableClassAtRuntime() || ((Variable[Index]->Attributes & EFI_VARIABLE_RUNTIME_ACCESS) != 0)) {

EDIT6: Jesus I should just think before typing stuff and save myself some time.

EDIT7: I just fixed it myself.... r4298.








2 user(s) are reading this topic

2 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy