Jump to content

Success with High Sierra on i9-7900x X299 GA Aorus 9, Radeon Vega

X299 High Sierra i9-7900x Radeon Vega

  • Please log in to reply
173 replies to this topic

#1
surfinchina

surfinchina

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Architecture

Firstly, this is not a guide, although it probably contains enough information to get your X299 hackintosh working.
I'm not some flash software guy so you won't get good answers if you ask something technical.

 

Secondly, huge credit to fabiosun. This is his X99 clover and it worked on my X299.

So this is just a starting point and I'm looking forward to your help to make it better :)

This was the easiest Hackintosh I have ever made!
As background, my last hack was an X99 i7-5960x, with an R9 Nano and helper card.
First hack was an X58 with xeon 6 core cpu

X299 HackinCAD specs:
Gigabyte X299 Aorus Gaming 9
i9-7900x
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
Samsung NVME 960 evo (1tb) and backup Samsung 850 evo (1tb) SSD
32Gb 4x8gb Gskill DDR4 RGB (colourful!)
EKWB 420 + 360 rad for cooling (which is really necessary for this CPU)

Method:
On my X99 hack I copied the whole EFI onto the most current Clover bootloader EFI. I pretty well stripped out the kexts and patches from that EFI and made a new and vanilla High Sierra install.
Things to watch - 
Something on my previous HS install was borking it, possibly some modified kexts in S/L/E to do with my Nano, hence the new install. I used migration assistant after that, so all good.
HWSensors in the plugins folder in FakeSMC was causing kp, had to remove.
Still no Power management. The i9-7900 is sitting on full noise, using 140 watts and 60 deg even with my loop!
I'm working on this but as I've pointed out, I'm not very technical, just stubborn.
It's winter here and the CPU is warming my entire office, so it's not all bad.

I have to use the normal heater now. Full speedstep working! Thanks again fabiosun :)

The vega worked oob. I have nothing flagged or ticked. Boot screen is good, clover menu good. No boot to black or helper or igpu. BUT! It's less than half as fast in Cinebench as my old Nano. I'm hoping it'll get better as the drivers mature.

My only boot flags are -V and npci=0x2000.

This is how to do it (in pictures):
Note 1: Some of the patches, efis and kexts might not be needed, I haven't tested them all yet.
Note 2: Kernel patches to do with power management didn't work and can be removed.

Note 3: I've since changed back to Mac Pro 6,1 with no issues.

Since updated the SMBIOS to iMac 19,1 - you'll see it in the clover attachment.

 

I've removed ALL of the kext and kernel patches and some of the kexts.

Next up I'll do an overclock, now that idle has gone from 61 to 21 degrees.

 

edit: head on over to guides to see my "How to overclock the skylake x" now running at 4.8Ghz

http://www.insanelym...your-skylake-x/

 

After that I'll test the drivers.

edit: drivers pruned down, still no patches and now no speedstep kext, still have 10 speedsteps. Check in the clover attachment for kexts and drivers.

 

Attached File  Screenshot 2017-08-10 17.16.23.png   78.5KB   133 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot 2017-08-10 16.40.49.png   383.14KB   96 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot 2017-08-10 16.41.04.png   333.05KB   84 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot 2017-08-10 16.41.15.png   236.68KB   72 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot 2017-08-10 16.48.48.png   47.01KB   80 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot 2017-08-06 13.59.18.png   115.64KB   93 downloads

 

Attached File  CLOVER.zip   1.98MB   285 downloads (refined and updated 12 Sept 2017)



#2
ekwipt

ekwipt

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 148 posts
Wow a beast of a hack congrats, iMac Pro might help you even further to get closer to vanilla

#3
tachikaze

tachikaze

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

I'm replacing my $100 GTX-950 driving two 4K monitors with a Vega later this year, so cool.



#4
surfinchina

surfinchina

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Architecture

I'm replacing my $100 GTX-950 driving two 4K monitors with a Vega later this year, so cool.

There's a guy running 4 displays on the vega :)

http://www.insanelym...erra/?p=2476090



#5
iaihc

iaihc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Please you config.plist updown



#6
surfinchina

surfinchina

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Architecture

Please you config.plist updown

Give me a couple of days. I've taken it off the test bench and am doing a proper build now.

Apple white  :D

 

Attached File  20170809_090647.jpg   144.86KB   41 downloads



#7
fabiosun

fabiosun

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,548 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi surfinchina

 

in this attachment you have some work to do:

post-1564334-0-39572700-1502239329.png

 

you have two performance fix kernel patches and you have to investigate for the latest 5 if they are all necessary to you to boot

Performance fix in x99 system is useful only if you have eist enabled in bios

This fix helps to reach higher performance but you loose some lower steps for your cpu



#8
Anonym323

Anonym323

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
Any idea how to fix this? Could you maybe upload your full efi Folder ?

Attached Files



#9
KGP-X99

KGP-X99

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany, Europe

Any idea how to fix this? Could you maybe upload your full efi Folder ?

 

Yes, @surfinchina, your EFI folder please!

 

Many thanks in advance!

 

KGP 



#10
apfelnico

apfelnico

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

First test setup, nothing optimized, but it runs ...

 

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  x299.png   224.96KB   49 downloads
  • Attached File  x299.JPG   144.52KB   38 downloads


#11
surfinchina

surfinchina

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Architecture

Any idea how to fix this? Could you maybe upload your full efi Folder ?

 

 

Yes, @surfinchina, your EFI folder please!

 

Many thanks in advance!

 

KGP 

 

 

Hi surfinchina

 

in this attachment you have some work to do:

post-1564334-0-39572700-1502239329.png

 

you have two performance fix kernel patches and you have to investigate for the latest 5 if they are all necessary to you to boot

Performance fix in x99 system is useful only if you have eist enabled in bios

This fix helps to reach higher performance but you loose some lower steps for your cpu

 

I now have full speedstep!

Following fabiosun's advice I removed patches - all of them actually, checked C states in clover (I don't know if this is necessary.

I also have all USB ports without patches and HDMI sound. No onboard sound but I don't use that (have a USB DAC).

 

edited my instructions at top and added attachment - my clover 

 

Wait though. I'm getting a logoff and once even a freeze when I do certain things on my browser - Chrome.

Which patch fixed this on my old list...  Any ideas?



#12
fabiosun

fabiosun

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,548 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi

I see your clover folder in other post you did..it is full of config.plist files

To be sure of what you are really using you have to start only with one config.plist in your system..and maybe with only an efi partition...

In my experience with some clover version it can be a problem 



#13
surfinchina

surfinchina

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Architecture

Hi

I see your clover folder in other post you did..it is full of config.plist files

To be sure of what you are really using you have to start only with one config.plist in your system..and maybe with only an efi partition...

In my experience with some clover version it can be a problem 

 

Hi fabio,

It's a habit that I backup the plist when I make changes. That way I can revert to the backup one in clover / configs.

I don't understand maybe only an efi partition? :P

 

One problem I'm having since I deleted all patches is that sometimes it'll hang or logout when I do certain things in Chrome browser... Today's job is to fix that...



#14
WarDoc

WarDoc

    The oncoming Storm

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 823 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:usa
  • Interests:Causing Chaos just to watch the world burn
Ok well where are the bench marks and stuff lol a sample config also helps and what got Vega working I’m guessing whatever green ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ignore me haha lag on forum didn’t see anything


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#15
surfinchina

surfinchina

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Architecture

Ok well where are the bench marks and stuff lol a sample config also helps and what got Vega working I’m guessing whatever green ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ignore me haha lag on forum didn’t see anything


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi Wardoc,

The clover is in a zip in the first post, has a config in it as well as kexts and what not :)

Vega is working oob! No kexts or patches to support it.

I like to use cinebench to benchmark because my CAD software uses cinerender.

 

Attached File  Screenshot 2017-08-10 21.40.15.png   189.76KB   17 downloads



#16
KGP-X99

KGP-X99

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany, Europe

First test setup, nothing optimized, but it runs ...

 

Which mobo do you use?? An did you configure XCPM (ssdt.aml) to have these nice Idle frequencies?



#17
fabiosun

fabiosun

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,548 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi surfinchina

Hi hope IPG power value are not real at all...above 240 Watt ....If I don't mind your cpu has a TDP of about 140...

It should be however an IPG problem..if not your cpu should be very powerful...and hot! :-)



#18
KGP-X99

KGP-X99

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany, Europe
I do not understand anything here in this thread!  :(
 
I returned my ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe because @surfinchina claims that everything is working natively on the Gigabyte X299 AORUS Gaming! So today I received and tested the latter mobo...  :(
 
1.) Sound does not work natively at all.. (not sound yet)  :(
 
2.) WIFI does not work at all  :)
 
3.) USB does not work natively at all (without kext and KextToPatch entry the system does not even boot)...With kext and KextToPatch entry only USB 2.0 works...  :(
 
4.) XCPM (no KernelToPatch entries, just ssdt.aml created with ssdPrgen in EFI) is scaring when compared with the ASUS board (sync cores)... Very noise idle and max. load frequencies..  :(  look to the results I obtained below with the ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe and please show me that this is possible with the Gigabyte AORUS Gaming!  :thumbsup_anim:
 
I feel extremely stupid of having returned my ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe!  :no:  :bye:  :wallbash:  :blowup: 

Attached Files



#19
apfelnico

apfelnico

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Which mobo do you use?? An did you configure XCPM (ssdt.aml) to have these nice Idle frequencies?

1. ASUS PRIME X299 DELUXE

2. Nope. I use the "PMDrvr.kext". Simple but effective.



#20
KGP-X99

KGP-X99

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany, Europe

1. ASUS PRIME X299 DELUXE

2. Nope. I use the "PMDrvr.kext". Simple but effective.

Anyway the important answers is  ASUS PRIME X299 DELUXE! clean idle and max. load frequencies! In any case on the ASUS PRIME X299 DELUXE PMDrvr.kext is obsolete! Same results without xcpm kerneltopatch entries but ssdt.aml in EFI. The ASUS PRIME X299 DELUXE is amazing and I returned it because of this promising but misleading thread!  :( 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: X299, High Sierra, i9-7900x, Radeon Vega


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy