Jump to content

Chameleon RC5 mode with mem detection enabled and automatic P-States & C-States generation for native power managment


  • Please log in to reply
1213 replies to this topic

#841
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Interesting idea (cahong/save pstate gen results) but there must be an check if its the SAME CPU - if not such time saving maybe an big problem (KPs or even worst probs).

#842
thiagomorales

thiagomorales

    Think different...

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil - Rio de Janeiro
Great idea!
Thus, the loader will boot little faster and we got some milisecs :P ..Nice.

Regards.

#843
FKA

FKA

    are we there yet?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male

but there must be an check if its the SAME CPU - if not such time saving maybe an big problem (KPs or even worst probs).


Could have Cache=No as default?

Great idea!
Thus, the loader will boot little faster and we got some milisecs :( ..Nice.

Regards.


the booter's doing more and more, wouldn't hurt to cache some of it no? not exactly an original idea!
:(

#844
асик

асик

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Has established Chameleon_v2.0_RC5_r498 on the laptop acer 5684. Costs Snow 10.6.3 (fakesmc_rev_391). At loading stops on it.

Attached Files



#845
kerr

kerr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
Hi, guys

Just installed Chameleon_v2.0_RC5_r513 and ran into several problems. My DVD Burner is not detected anymore and memory speed is 1066 mhz although it is set to 1600 in bios. Also i have this error in kernel.log - SerialATAPI initial device configuration did not complete successfully. (failedCommandInfo = 0x2)

here is my bdmsg

msr(204): platform_info 00001300
msr(207): flex_ratio 00011300
CPU: Vendor/Model/ExtModel: 0x756e6547/0x1a/0x1
CPU: Family/ExtFamily:	  0x6/0x0
CPU: MaxCoef/CurrCoef:	  0x0/0x13
CPU: MaxDiv/CurrDiv:		0x0/0x0
CPU: TSCFreq:			   3800MHz
CPU: FSBFreq:			   200MHz
CPU: CPUFreq:			   3800MHz
CPU: NoCores/NoThreads:	 8/16
CPU: Features:			  0x000002ff
Attempting to read GPT
Read GPT
Reading GPT partition 1, type C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
Reading GPT partition 2, type 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
Reading GPT partition 3, type 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,1)/Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist] 454 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist] 577 bytes.
Setting boot-uuid to: D88B5601-0DC2-3484-9D55-27552391C898
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist] 479 bytes.
Loading Darwin 10.6
Loading kernel mach_kernel
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 4096 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/mach_kernel] 5576574 bytes.
LoadDrivers: Loading from [/Extra/Extensions.mkext]
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/Extensions.mkext] 4096 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/Extensions.mkext] 7693 bytes.
LoadDrivers: Loading from [/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/Extensions.mkext]
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/Extensions.mkext] 4096 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/Extensions.mkext] 4106732 bytes.
Using PCI-Root-UID value: 1
ATI VGA Controller [1002:9440] :: PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x3,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0) 
old pci command - 7
boot display - 1
Not going to use bios image file
Found bios image
Adding binimage to card 9440 from legacy space with size f800
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/SMBIOS.plist] 780 bytes.
Slot: 0 Type 24 2048MB (DDR3 SDRAM) 1066MHz Vendor=OCZ
	  PartNo=OCZ3P1600LV2G SerialNo=00000000
Slot: 2 Type 24 2048MB (DDR3 SDRAM) 1066MHz Vendor=OCZ
	  PartNo=OCZ3P1600LV2G SerialNo=00000000
Slot: 4 Type 24 2048MB (DDR3 SDRAM) 1066MHz Vendor=OCZ
	  PartNo=OCZ3P1600LV2G SerialNo=00000000
CPU is Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU		 920  @ 2.67GHz, family 0x6, model 0x1a
Patched DMI Table
Found SMBIOS System Information Table 1
Customizing SystemID with : 00000000-0000-0000-0807-060504030201
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/DSDT.aml] 24157 bytes.
ACPI table not found: SSDT.aml
FADT: Using custom DSDT!
FADT: Using custom DSDT!
Starting Darwin x86_64

logout


#846
rednous

rednous

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Galaxy: Milky Way
  • Interests:graphic design, mac, progressive and house

Hi, guys

Just installed Chameleon_v2.0_RC5_r513 and ran into several problems. My DVD Burner is not detected anymore and memory speed is 1066 mhz although it is set to 1600 in bios. Also i have this error in kernel.log - SerialATAPI initial device configuration did not complete successfully. (failedCommandInfo = 0x2)

here is my bdmsg

msr(204): platform_info 00001300
msr(207): flex_ratio 00011300
CPU: Vendor/Model/ExtModel: 0x756e6547/0x1a/0x1
CPU: Family/ExtFamily:	  0x6/0x0
CPU: MaxCoef/CurrCoef:	  0x0/0x13
CPU: MaxDiv/CurrDiv:		0x0/0x0
CPU: TSCFreq:			   3800MHz
CPU: FSBFreq:			   200MHz
CPU: CPUFreq:			   3800MHz
CPU: NoCores/NoThreads:	 8/16
CPU: Features:			  0x000002ff
...
CPU is Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU		 920  @ 2.67GHz, family 0x6, model 0x1a
...
Starting Darwin x86_64

logout


Try without overclocking your system.

#847
kerr

kerr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
already tried that and no change....

#848
DariosF

DariosF

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 139 posts

already tried that and no change....

i've already your same problem. I've solve with smbios where i've put my ram frequency.

#849
kerr

kerr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

i've already your same problem. I've solve with smbios where i've put my ram frequency.


yes, i know how to solve this, but we're talking about Chameleon here. Developers' aim is to make bootloader detect this automatically and in my particular case it is not working correctly.

#850
FKA

FKA

    are we there yet?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi Guys

I have this problem also. I think I'm up to r361. Was there ever a solution?
sorry if ive missed it.

@Blackosx - I went with 3, two dives and the RAID text. very nice Ta!

D


Getting back to this:
No UUID present in SMBIOS System Information Table[ERROR] UUID='0123456789ABCDEF' syntax errorCustomizing SystemID with :

I've been having a look through Everest and can't find a system UUID in Windows either!
In fact most of the DMI values return 'To Be Filled By OEM".

My NIC is seen as built-in due to my DSDT edits, so having no system UUID in BIOS isn't a problem as the UUID can be taken from the NICs' MAC address.

However I'm using a USB Bluetooth dongle which is seen as external and this is leading to UUID errors (Error 35), system hanging etc etc .. .

Now I could add a DSDT entry for the BT dongle but I don't know how to do this! Or I could have edited networkinterfaces.plist as described here to show BT dongle as built-in.
The problem here is obvious - and any new network device I add to my system that is not "built-in" is going to through up UUID errors.

Hence I'm now using SystemId=XXXXXXXX in boot.plist.

Obviously this is nothing to do with the booter and is down to my BIOS (using Beta UEFI).

To correct I need to use DMI editor and add System UUID to my BIOS ROM.

Hope this helps anyone with similar errors.

D

#851
AuralArchitect

AuralArchitect

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Old Town, VA
  • Interests:In addition to computers? People, friends, music, DJing (breaks, glitch, tech, electro, tribal,...
Anyone working on Ext4 drive detection & boot? Anyone know anything about that? Got any ideas, leads?
Sorry, I know it's a little off topic, but this seems like one of the best places to get an answer from the heroes who are actually working on that software ;)

Thanks!

(It would be great to be able to boot into Ubuntu without having to call the BIOS bootloader... I didn't realize for a while that those partitions are completely disregarded by Chameleon.)

#852
FortKnUX

FortKnUX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 19 posts

Unofficial installer

Chameleon v2.0-RC5 r498

this installer activates the selected target partition. (for MBR and hybrid MBR dual boot)

Changes
http://forge.voodoop...e/changes/HEAD/


So if I understand correctly, the P and C states changes in this installer are not reflected in the official Chameleon release from the voodooprojects site?

#853
ivik

ivik

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 280 posts
Is is possible to disable memory detection?

It doesn't work on my ICH7 notebook. Chamelon hangs after loading smbios.plist. CST/PSS states are disabled.

#854
ed_co

ed_co

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 187 posts
The mem detection, doesn't work.
The c2rc5 that I tried was Chameleon_2.0_RC5_r518.zip.
With AsereBLN works like a charm...
I need to configure something in order to make it works?

Thanks.

#855
MaLd0n

MaLd0n

    ...filling veins with juice of chaos...

  • Moderators
  • 11,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro

So if I understand correctly, the P and C states changes in this installer are not reflected in the official Chameleon release from the voodooprojects site?


The installer has binaries compiled from svn trunk. The official Chameleon already includes the changes introduced in this topic by Mozodojo.

#856
ed_co

ed_co

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 187 posts

The mem detection, doesn't work.
The c2rc5 that I tried was Chameleon_2.0_RC5_r518.zip.
With AsereBLN works like a charm...
I need to configure something in order to make it works?

Thanks.


Same problem with r530.
The mem detection doesn't work. Someone could help me?
Thanks.

#857
rednous

rednous

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Galaxy: Milky Way
  • Interests:graphic design, mac, progressive and house

Same problem with r530.
The mem detection doesn't work. Someone could help me?
Thanks.


I think you're using Chameleon compiled from the Azimutz branch, rev. 530, so you're missing the Memory detection module activation via key...

You can read more here about the newly added modules in the Azimutz branch

Short quote from the above mentioned docs:
(rev 526)
Change: Added Memory detection module. Also needs no intro...
Working properly with my controler:
Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub [8086:2770] (rev 02)

Note: latest changes need a call for ATTENTION; the bootloader install procedure is gaining new steps! So far, we were just playing with KernelPatcher module, which most people don't use. Check Modules.txt for info on installing modules.


#858
ed_co

ed_co

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 187 posts

I think you're using the Chameleon compiled from the Azimutz branch, rev. 530, so you're missing the Memory detection module activation via key...



I don't know if it's Azimutz or not...

I downloaded here: http://www.insanelym...p...1075&st=100

I am not sure, but anyway is enabled by default.
So is not working, and AsereBLN works, so someone made any mistake...

#859
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

Same problem with r530.
The mem detection doesn't work. Someone could help me?
Thanks.

Memory detection is enabled by default in the modules revisions as well.
The memory detection code by Mozodojo and others is different from Asere's in that it only detects the default speed, not what it's been changed to by adjusting the memory multiplier aor base clock in BIOS.
Asere didn't post his source code, so we don't know for certain how he detected actual speed.

#860
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...

I don't know if it's Azimutz or not...

I downloaded here: http://www.insanelym...p...1075&st=100

I am not sure, but anyway is enabled by default.
So is not working, and AsereBLN works, so someone made any mistake...

ed_co,

even i am confused with all these "supposed" revisions of Chameleon running around :lol:
I already alerted people for the situation here on this topic and i'm not going to do it again!
If you want "me" to be sure you're using Chameleon (compiled from the trunk), head over VoodooForums, check my profile, use the package on my signature and please read!!
That package is Chameleon (trunk) not my branch! I don't supply pre-compiled binaries of my branch!
If you don't get memory detection with that package, then we can start blaming Chameleon... or your mobo :P





2 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy