Jump to content

The Official Dual Booting Thread


  • Please log in to reply
543 replies to this topic

#481
jethro bowdean

jethro bowdean

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello and here is what I have done for dual booting XP on one hard drive, and Leopard 10.5.2 on another hard drive. Sounds odd but I'm doing it, and heres how I've done it.

This is what I'm using.
Motherboard Asus P5GD1
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4 560, 3600 MHz (18 x 200)

Physical Memory: 3199 MB

Physical Drives:

[ Drive #1 - ST3120022A (111 GB) ] #1 (Active) HFS+ 114472 MB THIS IS THE MAC DRIVE on primary ide along with dvd rom.
[ Drive #2 - Maxtor 6B300R0 (279 GB) ]#1 (Active)NTFS C: 275779 MB THIS DRIVE IS XP

#2 FAT32 D:(Shared)275779 MB 10370 MB (FROM EARLY TESTING)


[ Drive #3 - Maxtor 6B300R0 (279 GB) ]#1 (Active)NTFS G: 0 MB 286181 MB
[ Drive #4 - Maxtor 6Y120L0 (114 GB) ]#1 (Active)NTFS F: 0 MB 117239 MB
[ Drive #5 - SAMSUNG SV2042H (19 GB) ]#1 (Active)NTFS H: 0 MB 19461 MB

and I can add more.

Now as my bios is booting (American Megatrends Inc.) this allows me to select which harddrive to boot (f8).

I first have XP on the primary ide (set as masterand keep it there) installed and running. (have your copy of what ever ready)


I then switch my XP harddrive to the Second ide (as a master) and install the (now) Mac Harddrive and installed 10.5.2 and did not have to use any software.

There are still one thing I'm still trying to get help with and that is XP can read all the other drives and dvd (knows the mac hd is there but no files to view) and on the mac side it will not read the second or third IDE? And the time keeps shifting to GMT on both sides. But everything else works.

Way to go Kalyway :(

#482
dumpav

dumpav

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Dual Booting Win 7 Professional 64bit Retail and Snow Leopard 10.6.2 64bit (Retail Image + a few kexts for the hardware.)

Hardware:
- 1 HDD for Snow Leopard
- 1 HDD for Win 7

Motherboard connections:
- SATA0 - Snow Leopard HDD
- SATA1 - Win 7 HDD

Installing Win 7:
- Disconnect all HDDs but Win 7 HDD on SATA1
- Install Win 7 as you normally would. I did it via DVD.

Installing Snow Leopard:
- Disconnect all HDDs but Snow Leopard HDD on SATA0
- I installed Snow Leopard using [this insanelymac guide] replacing author's kexts with the kexts for my particular system and using 64bit Kernel instead of 32bit. It will have you load the latest Chameleon (RC4 at the time of writing) on your Snow Leopard HDD EFI partition.

Once Snow Leopard is installed:
- Connect win 7 HDD
- Boot. Chameleon should recognize win 7 (System Reserve and Windows NTFS) partitions. Select System Reserve to boot to win 7.

This was the least painful way to install both OSs for me. Hope this helps.

Good Luck and Happy Holidays


which sata port u hookup to your dvd drive?

#483
canucatchbob

canucatchbob

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
For some reason, i can't completely get rid of the GRUB bootloader. I don't have Ubuntu anymore, but the grub bootloader has stayed and i can't get rid of it. please help me.

#484
david_ag

david_ag

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
I am succesfully Dual booting Win 7 Ultimate 64bit Retail and Snow Leopard 10.6.0 Retail

I followed this guide.
http://tonymacx86.bl...-os-x-snow.html

The only thing I did differently, was that in STEP 1: I did not do #10 and #11, beacuse I did not have a working OSX install to partition the drive ( I partitiones it from within the booted Retail DVD), and it worked fine.

#485
duluxe

duluxe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi , everyone
First thing I want to say is to thank the forum for many useful posts, so I can successfully install a dual boot Vista/ Leopard on my laptop.
Here is my situation ( Easy BCD 2.0 beta as bootloader )
http://www.flickr.co...N03/4403708726/
I am going to install a Linux distro on the unallocated partition ( Fedora ), so make it triple boot . Now I want to ask is the following method correct way to do that : ( I don't want to mess up with my current system )
1. I will install Fedora and GRUB on the unallocated partition . This is supposed not to affect any existing configurations , am I correct ? So after Installation , when I restart I will have the dual boot options I usually have .
2. In windows , I will add a Linux entry in Easy BCD.
3. After restarting, I will have triple boot options as I expected .
Are my above assumptions correct ? Any risks should I aware of ? Thanks for your insight.

P/S : I can't make a new topic. Wonder how can I become eligible to start a new topic ?

#486
quadraxas

quadraxas

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello all,
First of all i am pretty new to mac and all that stuff.

I succesfully installed dual booting win7 and Leopard 10.5.7
I am using chameleon 2.0(installed from iatkosv7)

They are both booting and working fine, but it boots Leopard if i do not press any button, but i want to boot windows by default.

can anyone help me with this?

#487
Hikki

Hikki

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I have 2 drives, 1 ssd and 1 old sata drive.
I have vanilla OS X Leopard on my ssd and then installed W7 on the sata drive.

Problem is I want to choose which drive to boot when I start the computer... I tried EasyBCD in Windows but it doesn't seem to work when I have OS X on another drive? The pathway is on the local C: directory.

What I do now is just boot into BIOS and change the boot priority of the drives but there has to be an easier way.

Help please.

#488
sstrungis

sstrungis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Newbies
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Partial Success for me on an Acer Aspire One (1st gen) with stock parts.

Currently triple booting Win7 Ultimate, Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.04, and Mac OS X 10.6.1.

On the Apple side of things, I cannot get the R1000.kext to give me an IP address. The interface is active, but I get a 169.x.x.x address rather than the 192.x.x.x I should be getting on my home network.

I used a retail 10.6 image restored to an 8gb memory stick. That was made workable by using Netbook Boot Maker 0.83. The install was initially tried on a GUID partition table, but I could not get Win7's installer to work with that partition scheme.

I updated to 10.6.1 without issue by using the downloaded update rather than the OS's Software Update CP. I then backed up the working image to an external USB drive using SuperDuper.

Started from scratch with an MBR partition table as I read that OSX can live on an MBR disk, just not be installed there. Win7 was installed first, then Ubuntu Netbook Remix. The drive had three partitions with Win7 and UNR on partitions 2 and 3. Grub worked fine with both OSes.

I restored the image to the first partition with my 8gb stick installer's Disk Utility. It would now boot with my installer's Chameleon bootloader.

I was able to install Chameleon to the MBR from within my booted OSX partition. Now OSX could boot, but not UNR, or 7.

I used the UNR install media to boot into the UNR environment and install GRUB to Ubuntu's partition. Now GRUB worked from Chameleon but for Linux only. Win7 would bluescreen with a stop error.

One more boot into Win7's installer to repair the install and make the partition active. Before rebooting I used diskpart to make the Mac OS partition active.

(not so) Short List:
Make 1 GUID partition on the Acer's HD with the installer's Disk Utility.
Install OS X from Retail 10.6 image restored to USB with NBM.
Update to 10.6.1 with downloaded update.
Make image of the HD with SuperDuper (this is REALLY simple).

Start over with a reformat of the Acer's HD - 3 partitions with MBR.
Install Win 7
Install UNR
Transfer Acer's OS 10.6.1 image with Mac OS Installer

Use the Installer's Chameleon bootloader to boot back into your 10.6.1 partition on the Acer's HD.
Install Chameleon to the MBR.
Use UNR install media to boot into live environment.
Reinstall GRUB to Ubuntu's partition.
Use Win7's install media to repair the Win7 install.
Use the Installer's Chameleon bootloader to boot back into your 10.6.1 partition on the Acer's HD. (again)
Use diskutil to make 10.6.1 partition active.
Reinstall Chameleon to Acer's HD.

Done. This was the result of reading three different guides written for the Dell Mini and figuring things out on my own. Perhaps some of it is needlessly complicated, but I have a working triple boot environment.

As a result of all of this, I have Chameleon installed to the MBR of the 160gb HD. It boots to OSX normally, Win7 normally, and UNR through GRUB when selected through Chameleon.

I understand that I need to swap out the wireless card as there are no working ar5001 kexts for the Atheros card. Which is the best buy for the One?

Can anyone help out with this Realtek issue? I have tried kexts from kexts.com (org, etc), and the Sourceforge installer as well as from an "AA150 Netbook Pack" from Prasys' site. All activate the en0 interface, but I cannot get a valid IP address from my router for net access.

Thanks,
S. Strungis

#489
DJ Semplice

DJ Semplice

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands, The
the link to your guide is broke

I am succesfully Dual booting Win 7 Ultimate 64bit Retail and Snow Leopard 10.6.0 Retail

I followed this guide.
http://tonymacx86.bl...-os-x-snow.html

The only thing I did differently, was that in STEP 1: I did not do #10 and #11, beacuse I did not have a working OSX install to partition the drive ( I partitiones it from within the booted Retail DVD), and it worked fine.



#490
Badwolve1

Badwolve1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
I'm having issues at the moment with dual booting my \hp 2730p elitebook with leapord and BCD, if you type in 2730p OS x in google, it's the wordpress tut i'm following

#491
AndresB

AndresB

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi

I have 2 Hard Disks, one with XP and another with Snow Leopard (installed using Efi Empire and Snow Leopard Retail DVD and finally patched also with Efi)

I tried dual boot with "chain0" method (adding c:/chain0="Mac OS X" in XP's boot.ini and chain0 file in c:…) and when I try to run Mac OS X it shows me a "chain0 error"….also using tboot shows me a "HFS error"….

I can use F8 BIOS booting option but is not the best way to do it….

So, I would appreciate if anybody can help me with this problem

Thanks!

#492
player2704

player2704

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
interesting thanks a lot

#493
Fetch1998

Fetch1998

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Here's what I did:

Using EASEUS Partition Manager, I partitioned the Hard Disk into 2.

Then I installed Mac OSX on one partition.

(NOTE: You need to backup your data on the Windows partition at this point.) Next, I installed Windows 7 on the other partition.

Now that the computer defaults into booting into Windows, I can access the Internet.

I then download EasyBCD.

I add a entry for "Generic X86 PC"

I restart the computer and Tada!

You can now boot into Windows or Mac.

#494
lexje

lexje

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
Hi

Apart from having browsed these forums for hours already :-) I have a couple of questions:
My goal is to triple boot win / Snow Leopard / Linux on my Compaq mini-311c (ION Atom netbook).

I run into a couple of problems:
1° First I learn that SL installs on GUID partition table, unless modified to MBR (Is there an 'easy' guide on how to do this?)
2° I learn that apparently only Windows 7 can handle GUID PT. (apart from some Win server OS)

So I have followed Wayne's guide to try and do this.
I did succeed in getting this running, but...

1° I am completely new to OSX, but indeed very keen on getting to know this OS better. (I have bought the vanilla SL DVD)
2° Obviously, being new to OSX, it will take some getting used to and some learning :-)
3° I have learned that Chameleon seems to be the most interesting boot loader, I have it installed from within SL.
4° In the mean time I have acquired Win7 and have set it up according to Wayne's guide, but:
When something's changed to the system (e.g. I added Ubuntu 9.10, installing GRUB to the linux root partition)
Chameleon will auto find this newly installed OS, but
5° Win7 won't boot anymore...

When I try to repair Win7, I would first need to set the Win7 partition active.
But Win7 installer throws an error telling me it cannot set a partition active while disk is GPT.... and not MBR???
So I'm stuck repairing win7

Conclusion:
How can I repair Win7?
What do I have to do to install extra OS'es (Linux) in order to not break Win7 / OSX?
Is there an easy guide to make an MBR Snow LEO DVD or USB stick?

Thank you for your help!

Erwin

#495
valentino31

valentino31

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
With all this solution I didn't reach the wanted result! :S
Maybe I have to read really well all the help desk here. Sorry

#496
oldtopman

oldtopman

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A galaxy far far away...
#1 I used a gParted livecd to make a ext3-swap-hfs+ partition table.
#2 I backed up the mbr to a thumb drive using dd (puppy linux live cd downloadable here)
#3 I installed iDeneb v1.4 by erasing the hfs+ and then installing (the erase was to format it)
#4 I restored the mbr (install of iDeneb corrupted it dont skip)
#5 I installed Xubuntu 9.10 (has grub2 which autodetcets iDeneb)

#497
shenshenshen

shenshenshen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi guys, i am new here. Now here's my problem , i hope you guys can show me the way.

First of all i have installed windows 7 32-bit on my primary HDD. I have a 2nd HDD which is not in use but contains files which i can backup if needed to. I have read a few threads on the internet and it says that you need a 2nd HDD (optional), for easy installation disconnect the primary HDD which contains windows 7 and then install MAC Snow Leopard onto that 2nd HDD and then reconnect the primary HDD and boot windows 7. Using BCD , you configure the boot priority of these 2 OS'es and that is your dual boot.

So my question is , is this the easiest solution? cause' i am no computer geek and it troubles me having to follow complicated methods to get dual boot.

My specs are :

intel E6550 2.3GHz
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3
XFX 8800gts G92
4gb Ram DDr2 667

#498
Freddyfish

Freddyfish

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
hey guys i'm new here so go easy on me :D

I've got 2 x windows XP and 1 os x 86 ; iDeneb

after a long try i finally got into os x, i tried every way and last but not least i tried to boot with acronis os selector installed by xp, now i can boot my os x, but i cant boot my xp's anymore xD

so first i couldn't boot os x at all by windows dual boot menu ( chain0 blabla), but now i can't boot xp by acronis.

what is my problem here? i can see all of my harddisks and partitions in os x on the right side off the main screen. how can i fix a normal dual boot by windows dualboot menu?

#499
Freddyfish

Freddyfish

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
ok, i installed acronis os selector and could boot my osx iDeneb, but i wanted a windows dualboot because it's quicker and easier. as soon as i deleted os selector i wanted to boot to osx with windows dual boot, a option that didn't work on the first time, but now i tried again and os x booted but hangs while loading ( white screen with the apple logo and the classic apple loading logo that freezes), what's happening here?





thanks

#500
gideonrichter

gideonrichter

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
dell1525help?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy