Jump to content

nVidia web drivers


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1
ameris_cyning

ameris_cyning

    I don't know what to write here

  • Donators
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:My apartment
  • Interests:OSx86, female anatomy, electronic music, Clover EFI

I am over my head.

 

I tried my best to hack this to work on Mavericks and I can't do it.

 

Can anyone take this on?

 

http://www.nvidia.co...f01-driver.html

 

This is what I found so far:

 

You need to have a MacPro3,1 or higher SMBios to install

 

You need to use the minimum OS to 10.8.3 and use the build number of 12E55 in your SystemVersion.plist

 

Those two are necessary. 



#2
c0ercion

c0ercion

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Yo dude you're going to have to do some reversing and binary rewriting. Looks like the APIs have changed in 10.9, which is to be expected. How significantly is the question. I might have some time tonight to bust out IDA Pro, but the linker might also run into further errors after fixing the first few, so this could easily take me a week+ if I didn't have a day job.

 

This is what happens when you try to load Resman. There might be an easier hack, but I don't know objective c internals well enough to know... so my first approach would be to determine what the assembly looks like when a class uses OSDeclareDefaultStructors and OSDefineMetaClassAndStructors and try to inject that into the OSObject classes the binary so it can link properly.

 

Jul  1 11:38:09 localhost com.apple.kextd[12]: WARNING - Invalid signature -67050 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA16 for kext "/Users/mark/oldnvidia/NVDAResmanWeb.kext"

Jul  1 11:38:09 localhost kernel[0]: kxld[com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb]: Relocation failed because some class in this kext didn't use the OSDeclareDefaultStructors and OSDefineMetaClassAndStructors, so it still references __ZN9IOService19_RESERVEDIOService0Ev, which has been patched with another symbol for binary compatibility. Please make sure all classes that inherit from OSObject use these macros.

Jul  1 11:38:09 localhost kernel[0]: Can't load kext com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb - link failed.

Jul  1 11:38:09 localhost kernel[0]: Failed to load executable for kext com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb.

Jul  1 11:38:09 localhost kernel[0]: Kext com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb failed to load (0xdc008016).

Jul  1 11:38:09 localhost kernel[0]: Failed to load kext com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb (error 0xdc008016).



#3
PGHammer

PGHammer

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts

Lastly, unless you need CUDA and/or PhysX support, the drivers themselves are pointless, even in Mountain Lion - the exception is if you have a GTX7xx or TITAN.  GeForce 5xx and 6xx (up to and including the GTX5xx/6xx) are supported directly in ML and Mavericks - a lot more than can be said for their AMD equivalents (HD5xxx/6xxx).  No, I'm NOT picking on AMD here - I migrated from HD5450 to my GTX550Ti, and I didn't even have OS X in mind when I migrated, for reasons having to do with getting a great hardware deal.  However, my experience with the new (to me) GTX550Ti has been painless, and utterly, if not scarily, so.
 



#4
cdoublejj

cdoublejj

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, MO

mavericks isn't working like it should and vidoe cards that should work don't and there is eithera black screen or no 3d accleration. the GTX4xx and 500 series is having problems for sure.



#5
slim.jim

slim.jim

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland

mavericks isn't working like it should and vidoe cards that should work don't and there is eithera black screen or no 3d accleration. the GTX4xx and 500 series is having problems for sure.

I am on a Mac Pro 1,1 using a PC GTX 570 running Mavericks and am having no problems. The Mac Pro 1,1 is not supported by Mavericks so I am using Chameleon to boot.



#6
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

My GTX 660 works out of the box on my Hack in 10.9, though for some reason I don't have QE/CI when booting my installer partition.

 

I was suprised to see that there's tesselation support now (Unigine Heaven benchmark).



#7
Riley Freeman

Riley Freeman

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Streets

My GTX 660 works out of the box on my Hack in 10.9, though for some reason I don't have QE/CI when booting my installer partition.

 

You also don't have power management. If you check you'll see the card is running in it's highest power state from boot.



#8
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

I don't have hwmonitor installed yet but the Heaven benchmark shows GPU temp.

Letting it run, it'll reach 82 degrees after a while (as it always has), but if I stop it by clicking the menu bar temps quickly drop down below 60 degrees.

Attached File  Heaven.png   25.15KB   12 downloads

 

AFAIR idle temp was about 35 degrees in Mountain Lion. Let me grab hwmonitor and I'll see what I can see.

/EDIT yep Riley you're right..it seems to be cooking at full throttle:

Attached File  hwmon.png   49.96KB   11 downloads

On Windows, only Firefox open, it jumps around a bit but temps stay reasonable:
GPU 324-744-769 MHz
MEM 162-405-1502 MHz
TMP 37-38C
FAN 30% - 1230 RPM



#9
DKMN

DKMN

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

You also don't have power management. If you check you'll see the card is running in it's highest power state from boot.

I am running two GTX670's on 10.9.  MB is P9X79WS with RampageDev's SSDT-based injection solution. 

 

Anyhow, I noticed that both cards throttle down correctly at rest.  The only two things I did in addition to the above are adding a 2nd card injection entry in the SSDT and also installing CUDA drivers (they are out for 10.9).  

Might be worth adding the CUDA drivers and seeing if that gives power management some visibility.  If you have a single card I am not sure you would need to inject anything for a single 660.  

I am still not getting the 2nd card to throttle up correctly with OpenGL taskings, so am hopeful the "retail" drivers will address this when released.   Also unsure about QE/CI... Chess and Screen Savers animate, but no ripple in Dashboard.  Unsure if this is a reliable test under 10.9.  

 

David



#10
mpalomba3

mpalomba3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
I have a GeForce gt 430 and every time it try to get it working I get a black screen. When I boot verbose it says That it is loaded and registered and it says nvidia official startup but then I get a black screen... Any suggestions?

#11
mediamac

mediamac

    Mediarays

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Interests:Hackintoshing

So far I found "0" solution on this issue because the problem is caused by the NVidia kexts so If I remove nv* I get display with no acceleration or choppy video.

I tried all methods but no luck. I have everything working except proper display (my card 8600GT 512 MB ) if anyone have the answer please share it.

Thanks



#12
AlgernonWang

AlgernonWang

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

How about booting with the GraphicsMode flag?

It worked for me with my Nvidia GT520M card,

cuz I had the same black screen problem previously



#13
mediamac

mediamac

    Mediarays

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Interests:Hackintoshing

Can you explain what you have set for the graphicsmode flag ?



#14
AlgernonWang

AlgernonWang

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

GraphicsMode="1920x1080x32"

 

(Well my screen is full HD, depends on your screen, and keep the 32)



#15
yokonunz

yokonunz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Why NVIDIA is so slow releasing 10.9 WebDrivers?!?!?!

 

I need a citation from Torvalds right now....



#16
mediamac

mediamac

    Mediarays

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA
  • Interests:Hackintoshing

It is strange when using NVDANV50HalTesla.kext i get black screen and if i remove the two tesla kexts i get display with no acceleration (stuttering graphics).



#17
JCsHands

JCsHands

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male

I found this post because I was interested in the WebDrivers, however my GT 610 and GTS 250 have already been working great under Mavericks. On my machine using the GT 610 I had to remove all of the AppleIntelHD* kexts to get past a black screen.



#18
tragediana150

tragediana150

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Interests:Music Production

I have a GeForce gt 430 and every time it try to get it working I get a black screen. When I boot verbose it says That it is loaded and registered and it says nvidia official startup but then I get a black screen... Any suggestions?

My help topic. Check this out :)

http://www.insanelym...-geforce-gt430/



#19
kode54

kode54

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

The delay may have something to do with the fact that the OpenGL level was upgraded to 4.1 with Mavericks, so they also have to implement new OpenGL functionality into all the drivers. For instance, now the drivers need to support tessellation, among other things.

 

And it seems they're not exactly up to the par of Windows 8.1, and from the comments on that post, it seems those are beaten even more so by running the benchmark from Linux. How much of this is up to the display drivers, and how much is up to the operating system API layers, is unknown to me, but maybe somebody knows.

 

I do know that I was recently attempting to play Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess in Dolphin 4.0, and the new GLSL code makes it slow down to 80% or worse solely due to the GPU. And it regularly causes the GPU to lock up, which halts everything on the display including other applications on my second monitor, except for the mouse cursor.

 

I would play it on my Wii, since I bought it years ago, but I hate the waggle controls. Hence the GameCube version in an emulator.

 

Off topic, but vaguely related. Maybe updated web drivers could make that playable, or maybe not. In the mean time, I'll stick to playing it in my dual boot Linux setup.



#20
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

I don't know about that...it seems like a bad excuse...?

 

Who do you suppose wrote the nvidia drivers that ship with 10.9.0?







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy