[GUIDE] Scripted Yosemite/Mavericks Install on Gigabyte Mobos

4,696 posts in this topic

OK. I am a complete newbie at this. I just got my hardware, and luckily for me, this thread is ready right at the same time I am. So, I hooked up my new HDD to my MBP running Snow Leopard, formatted and ran the script. After asking for my password the first thing I see is:

"IMPROPER OS! This script will only run on Leopard or Snow Leopard OS!"

Interestingly, the 4.0(RC) version doesn't give me this message, but I would rather try out the new installer. Any advice?

After asking for my password the first thing I see is:

"IMPROPER OS! This script will only run on Leopard or Snow Leopard OS!"

I've got the same problem on my 10.6 install.

I also had the same message using this on 10.5.0 but after upgrading to 10.5.7 the improper OS message went away.

Updated:

I have a hard drive with SL 10.6 installed and ethernet works, but only when i set this hard drive to boot as priority in bios.

I am installing a new drive with 10.6, this will be my main the other was a test. I have it installed but ethernet isn't working. I set this drive as priority and still no ethernet. Everything else seems solid.

what did i miss on this one?

I have swapped DSDT.aml and com.apple.boot.plist files and can't get it to work. seems to have something to do with booting and possibly boot loader. I am using the /Extra install and the RC3 boot loader.

ideas?

DD, thanks for the amazing work.

Another newbie question: I've already successfully installed (and been using) 10.5.7 using your previous script+guide but have been overwelmed by the 140+ pages of subsequent conversation which might answer this: can I use any of this new script to UPGRADE my current 10.5.7 install? Otherwise, do I need to start over with a fresh volume using this new script+guide?