Debunking the Global Warming Conspiracy Theory

55 posts in this topic

fair enough. i didn't read the whole thing as i am not a scientist and can't understand most of it. but temperatures have always fluctuated and always will. it is just how things work. i think...

I think it is important to state that using the empirical test of theories, science can not truly prove a theory, but only disprove one. The idea of global warming is a theory. Theories, by definition can only be disproven. If a theory is sound and accurately explains the phenomenon under question, you should find empirical support for it. However, finding support for a theory is not the same thing as proving a theory. The best that one can do is to suggest a probability and then perform experiments to test them. Sadly, this can not be applied in any meaningful way to climate science. All the evidence in this argument is circumstantial by nature.

Both sides of this argument are stating theories, neither side can PROVE their hypothesis.

When the earth either freezes or melts, then we will have facts. Until then, this debate will continue to rage on.

I do think that the late George Carlin put it best when discussing the environment: (I paraphrase)

"We're so self-important. So self-important. Everybody's going to save something now. "Save the trees, save the bees, save the whales, save those snails." And the greatest arrogance of all: save the planet. What? Are these fu***** people kidding me? Save the planet, we don't even know how to take care of ourselves yet. We haven't learned how to care for one another, we're gonna save the f****g planet?

----