Jump to content

CardBus/PCMCIA PC Cards for Leopard


  • Please log in to reply
1071 replies to this topic

#121
austinsnyc

austinsnyc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
Hey There PLEASE HELP!
I have been trying to get my AT-T wifi card working for ever and always get the same error with dmesg | grep PC
IOPCCardBridge::checkbridgebusID's invaild sub/card/pci settings of 0x0

my I/O ranges from Linux
I/O 0 = 00004000 000040ff
I/O 1 = 00004400 000044ff

MemRange 0 = 88000000 8bffff000
MemRange 1 = 8c000000 8ffff000

It is a TexasInst xxx12 with Vendor ID 104c Device 8039
which means that it should work since everyone elses does lol. I have tried all the kexts posted in this thread please I am pulling hair out trying to get it to work

#122
EqUaTe

EqUaTe

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Babylon 5

Hey There PLEASE HELP!
I have been trying to get my AT-T wifi card working for ever and always get the same error with dmesg | grep PC
IOPCCardBridge::checkbridgebusID's invaild sub/card/pci settings of 0x0

my I/O ranges from Linux
I/O 0 = 00004000 000040ff
I/O 1 = 00004400 000044ff

MemRange 0 = 88000000 8bffff000
MemRange 1 = 8c000000 8ffff000

It is a TexasInst xxx12 with Vendor ID 104c Device 8039
which means that it should work since everyone elses does lol. I have tried all the kexts posted in this thread please I am pulling hair out trying to get it to work


Try IOPCCardFamily.kext from rev5 in the first post on this thread, and IOPCIFamily.kext test4 - look through the posts by Chun-Nan on page 3.
This has solved the issue for others.
Please note that as per Chun-Nan's posts, you should NOT edit the Info.plist in IOPCCardFamily and you must be using the original kexts from leopard - if you've replaced a bunch with ones from Tiger this probably won't work (I seem to recall they're listed early on.)

Note that there's no guarantee you'll get the wifi card working - it needs to be supported as well.
This thread is working on making support for the actual CardBus controller work..


EqUaTe

#123
fakedotbr

fakedotbr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
Hi All

Have use the rev5 with test4.

Now has an icon appears next to the icon of the sound.
And also in the system profiler.

But he still does not recognize my card wireless D-Link DWL-G650.

What I did different was to change the IOPC and not erase the Extensions.mkext. Only booted with flag -f

Thanks to all.

Attached Files



#124
austinsnyc

austinsnyc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
I used the Rev5 IOPCCarFamily amd the test3 and it WORKS!!! Thank you so much my AT-T 881 is now working with Leopard which was the only thing I couldn't get working on my Gateway MX6956 I cant say thank you enough this is trully amazing! I know have a fully working Laptop with earthernet, sound, Wireless Card, the only thing is the damn intel 3495 and that will never be solved I am afraid lol...

#125
snam11

snam11

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts

As far as I know, firewire is working just fine for me - don't really have any devices I can check it with at the moment though.
I only have one pcmcia slot, while I think you have two, which is where your error is coming from.. Can you confirm this?

EqUaTe


i have 2 slots, one is pcmcia, the other one is express card. But both works fine (when i don't get kp of course).i've tested several pcmcia cards (wifi/firefire/usb), and i've also tested express card with a card reader (stolen @ my friend's mac book pro :) for the test)

#126
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Hi All

Have use the rev5 with test4.

Now has an icon appears next to the icon of the sound.
And also in the system profiler.

But he still does not recognize my card wireless D-Link DWL-G650.

What I did different was to change the IOPC and not erase the Extensions.mkext. Only booted with flag -f

Thanks to all.


Hi,
Your cardbus adapter successfully recognized. You need to put PCI id for your pcmcia wireless card in AirPortAtheros's Info.plist file.
It seem your card PCI id is "pci168c,13" - from the log file.

You need to add your PCI id in this file:-
/System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AirPortAtheros.kext/Contents/Info.plist

Add like this:-
<string>pci168c,13</string>

Good luck. :)

#127
EqUaTe

EqUaTe

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Babylon 5

I used the Rev5 IOPCCarFamily amd the test3 and it WORKS!!! Thank you so much my AT-T 881 is now working with Leopard which was the only thing I couldn't get working on my Gateway MX6956 I cant say thank you enough this is trully amazing! I know have a fully working Laptop with earthernet, sound, Wireless Card, the only thing is the damn intel 3495 and that will never be solved I am afraid lol...


Did you try with test4?

If so, what errors did you get? Seeing as if you tried it and went to test3 it can't have worked..

EqUaTe

#128
fakedotbr

fakedotbr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Hi,
Your cardbus adapter successfully recognized. You need to put PCI id for your pcmcia wireless card in AirPortAtheros's Info.plist file.
It seem your card PCI id is "pci168c,13" - from the log file.

You need to add your PCI id in this file:-
/System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AirPortAtheros.kext/Contents/Info.plist

Add like this:-
<string>pci168c,13</string>

Good luck. -_-


Hello Kizman ... Thank you for your help.

Now the wireless card is recognized.
But at the airport it appears OFF.
And it is impossible to be ON.

Below follows a picture of how it is.

Thanks man.

Attached Files



#129
EqUaTe

EqUaTe

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Babylon 5
snam11,
I've attached a development (debug) and deployment (release) version of the kext for you.
Try the devel one first - if it works, move to the release one.
These are based on the rev5 source, with our id's edited in.

Chun-Nan,
I've also attached the updated o2micro.h that has the ids for myself and snam11.

Cheers, EqUaTe

Attached File  IOPCCardFamily.kext.snam11_devel.zip   90.55KB   18 downloads
Attached File  IOPCCardFamily.kext.snam11_deploy.zip   171.63KB   36 downloads
Attached File  o2micro.h.v2.txt   6.38KB   15 downloads

Hello Kizman ... Thank you for your help. Now the wireless card is recognized. But at the airport it appears OFF. And it is impossible to be ON. Below follows a picture of how it is. Thanks man.


Was this after rebooting?
It seems to be behaving like an ethernet port - IF it is indeed recognised.
Could you paste the output of: ifconfig -a

Cheers,
EqUaTe

#130
fakedotbr

fakedotbr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
Yes EqUaTe.. after rebooting.

Any idea?

#131
EqUaTe

EqUaTe

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Babylon 5

Yes EqUaTe.. after rebooting.

Any idea?


Can you paste the output of:

ifconfig -a

Run that at the terminal.

Also, can you include: sudo dmesg | tail

#132
djmastera2000

djmastera2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts

...

If your 3g card is a huawei device, send me a pm - I can help you with this.
I have a USB one that I'm using the post this right now ;) Most handy ;-)
Again, thanks Chun-Nan!

EqUaTe


It is an 3G Quad, Fusion or Globetrotter, UMTS Card...

...you have an idea?

#133
fakedotbr

fakedotbr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
EqUaTe

juniors-mac-pro:~ root# ifconfig -a
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1 
	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
	inet6 fe80::2a0:d1ff:fe58:1295%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4 
	inet 192.168.7.213 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.7.255
	ether 00:a0:d1:58:12:95 
	media: autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>) status: active
	supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex>
fw0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 494
	lladdr 00:08:0d:a0:d1:58:12:95 
	media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
	supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
en1: flags=8822<BROADCAST,SMART,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
	ether 00:11:95:8f:19:4a 
	media: autoselect (<unknown type>)
	supported media: autoselect

And dmesg

heckConfiguration(bus 7, state 0)
pciBridgeAllocateResource(bus 7, state 0)
Allocating resources on bus 7
root bridge resource MEM dc000000 len 100000
root bridge resource PFM fff00000 len 200000
root bridge resource I/O 4000 len 1000
root bridge resource BUS 7 len 1
  clipped bridge I/O range head to 4040:fc0 for 4000:40 overlap 40
  clipped bridge MEM range head to dc004000:fc000 for dc000000:4000 overlap 4000
  I/O: sub-range outside parent range: 0x4000:0x40
  MEM: sub-range outside parent range: 0xdc000000:0x4000
  MEM: 2 sub-range limited to 7cb80 each
  I/O: 1 sub-range limited to fc0 each
  BUS: 1 sub-range limited to 0 each
  MEM: allocated block dc007000:1000
pciBridgeDistributeResource(bus 7, state 2)
Enabling bridge serving bus 7
  Bridge Control	= 0000
  Bridge Command	= 00100007
Distribute resources for bus 7
  BUS: total size 0, required size 1, maximize count 1
  BUS: assigned block 8:1
Applying config for device 7:8:0
  bar 0x10 = dc005000
  bar 0x14 = 4000
  Device Command = 02900000
  changed LT to 64 PCI clocks
Applying config for device 7:6:3
  bar 0x10 = dc006800
  Device Command = 02100000
  changed LT to 64 PCI clocks
Applying config for device 7:6:2
  bar 0x10 = dc004000
  Device Command = 02100000
  changed LT to 64 PCI clocks
Applying config for device 7:6:1
  bar 0x10 = dc006000
  bar 0x14 = dc000000
  Device Command = 02100000
  changed LT to 64 PCI clocks
Applying config for bridge serving bus 8
  MEM: start/size = 00000000:00100000
  I/O: start/size = 00000000:00001000
  BUS: start/size = 00000008:00000001
  Regs:
  BUS: prim/sec/sub = 07:08:08
Enabling bridge serving bus 8
  Bridge Command	= 02100000
  changed LT to 64 PCI clocks
  changed SEC-LT to 64 PCI clocks
PCI configuration changed (bridge=0 device=4 yenta=1)
Debug driver registered: AppleUSBUHCI
IOPCCard info:   Intel PCIC probe:   TI XX12 rev 00
Got boot device = IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/SATA@1F,2/AppleIntelPIIXATARoot/PRID@0/AppleIntelICHxSATA/ATADeviceNub@0/AppleATADiskDriver/IOATABlockStorageDevice/IOBlockStorageDriver/FUJITSU MHV2160BT PL FUJITSU MHV2160BT PL/IOFDiskPartitionScheme/Untitled 2@2
BSD root: disk0s2, major 14, minor 2
FireWire (OHCI) TI ID 803a PCI now active, GUID 00080da0d1581295; max speed s400.
IOPCCard info:   cs: cb_alloc(bus 8): vendor 0x168c, device 0x0013
IOPCCard info:   cs: cb_alloc(bus 8): found 1 functions
IOCardBusDevice: binding socket 0 function 0 to card services.
IOPCCard info:   cs: cb_config(bus 8)
IOPCCard info:	 fn 0 bar 1: mem 0xa0010000-0xa001ffff
IOPCCard info:	 irq 18
Jettisoning kernel linker.
Resetting IOCatalogue.
GFX0: family specific matching fails
display: family specific matching fails
Matching service count = 2
Matching service count = 4
Matching service count = 4
Matching service count = 4
Matching service count = 4
Matching service count = 4
GFX0: family specific matching fails
display: family specific matching fails
ACPI_SMC_CtrlLoop::initCPUCtrlLoop - pmCPUControl (PMIOCSETPSTATETABLE) returned 0x3292e00
ath_attach: devid 0x13
ath_descdma_setup: tx dd_desc_paddr = 0x55df000, length 0x46500(288000) bytes
ath_descdma_setup: beacon dd_desc_paddr = 0x3e8e000, length 0x90(144) bytes
mac 7.9 phy 4.5 radio 5.6
GFX0: family specific matching fails
display: family specific matching fails
Intel82557: Self test reports invalid ROM contents
Intel82557: Self test reports internal register failure
Intel82557: Self test reports serial subsystem failure
Intel82557: Self test failed
ALCinject: Starting.
ALCinject: Setting built-in=<data not shown>
ALCinject: Setting layout-id=<data not shown>
ApplePS2Trackpad: Synaptics TouchPad v6.2
display: family specific matching fails
GFX0: family specific matching fails
GFX0: family specific matching fails
dsmos: Initializing...
dsmos: Hook and decryption contexts set!
dsmos: Starting...
Intel82557: Ethernet address 00:a0:d1:58:12:95
AirPort_Athr5424ab: Ethernet address 00:11:95:8f:19:4a
GFX0: match category IOFramebuffer exists
NTFS driver 2.0 [Flags: R/O].
display: Not usable
NTFS volume name , version 3.1.


Thanks man

#134
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Hello Kizman ... Thank you for your help.

Now the wireless card is recognized.
But at the airport it appears OFF.
And it is impossible to be ON.

Below follows a picture of how it is.

Thanks man.


Hi,
en0 should be your ethernet card right? So your new airport should be en1 right? If it is yes, try remove AirPort from the list. There is "+" & "-" at the bottom left of your Network preference window.
1) Click AirPort and click "-" button to remove it. Click Apply button.
2) After that click "+" button to add it back. Click Apply button

Try to turn it on again. This has happen to me before, that is why I suggest this. If it is still cannot turn on, reboot with your cardbus wireless card inserted in the slot.

#135
fakedotbr

fakedotbr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Hi,
en0 should be your ethernet card right? So your new airport should be en1 right? If it is yes, try remove AirPort from the list. There is "+" & "-" at the bottom left of your Network preference window.
1) Click AirPort and click "-" button to remove it. Click Apply button.
2) After that click "+" button to add it back. Click Apply button

Try to turn it on again. This has happen to me before, that is why I suggest this. If it is still cannot turn on, reboot with your cardbus wireless card inserted in the slot.


Yes.. en0 is ethernet port and en1 is wireless.

But.. I tried it, but without success.

Thanks man.. very very thanks

#136
fingerr

fingerr

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Hi,
en0 should be your ethernet card right? So your new airport should be en1 right? If it is yes, try remove AirPort from the list. There is "+" & "-" at the bottom left of your Network preference window.
1) Click AirPort and click "-" button to remove it. Click Apply button.
2) After that click "+" button to add it back. Click Apply button

Try to turn it on again. This has happen to me before, that is why I suggest this. If it is still cannot turn on, reboot with your cardbus wireless card inserted in the slot.

... and if it fail, try to enable it in windows/linux ther reboot into OSX. My Bluetooth and WiFi (both on board) works that way. They have to be activated in other system then I can use them under OSX.

I know this is not onboard device but it's worth to try ;)

Regards,
Mariusz

#137
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Yes.. en0 is ethernet port and en1 is wireless.

But.. I tried it, but without success.

Thanks man.. very very thanks


Ok. Try change en1 to en2. Edit this file:-
/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/NetworkInterfaces.plist
Just change at two places (mark as bold):-
<dict>
<key>Active</key>
<true/>
<key>BSD Name</key>
<string>en1</string>
<key>IOBuiltin</key>
<true/>
<key>IOInterfaceType</key>
<integer>6</integer>
<key>IOInterfaceUnit</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>IOMACAddress</key>
<data>
ABpwcQ2Q
</data>
<key>IOPathMatch</key>
<string>IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/PCIB@1E/IOPCI2PCIBridge/pci104c,8039@9/IOPCCardBridge/pci14e4,4318@0/AirPort_Brcm43xx/AirPor
t_Brcm43xxInterface</string>
<key>SCNetworkInterfaceType</key>
<string>IEEE80211</string>
</dict>

change to :-

<dict>
<key>Active</key>
<true/>
<key>BSD Name</key>
<string>en2</string>
<key>IOBuiltin</key>
<true/>
<key>IOInterfaceType</key>
<integer>6</integer>
<key>IOInterfaceUnit</key>
<integer>2</integer>
<key>IOMACAddress</key>
<data>
ABpwcQ2Q
</data>
<key>IOPathMatch</key>
<string>IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/PCIB@1E/IOPCI2PCIBridge/pci104c,8039@9/IOPCCardBridge/pci14e4,4318@0/AirPort_Brcm43xx/AirPor
t_Brcm43xxInterface</string>
<key>SCNetworkInterfaceType</key>
<string>IEEE80211</string>
</dict>

and reboot.

Try & try & try again. It should work. ;)

#138
austinsnyc

austinsnyc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
Did you try with test4?

If so, what errors did you get? Seeing as if you tried it and went to test3 it can't have worked..

EqUaTe

I used the IOPCCardFamily.kext V5 and edited the info.plist to my I/O and Memory ranges and used the Test3 IOPCIfamily.kext and it started right up then downloaded the Mac Serai wireless tool and now have a fully working AT-T 881 broadband 3G card working perfectly. My laptop also has a card reader that does not work however but I am happy enough with the AT-T card working to forget about that for now. Now that it works I don't see the need to change it.

#139
EqUaTe

EqUaTe

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Babylon 5

It is an 3G Quad, Fusion or Globetrotter, UMTS Card...

...you have an idea?



I'd need to know exactly what kind.. And the make.
As I said, I have a huawei 3g umts usb card.
I know a reasonable amount about getting the huawei's to work as a result.


EqUaTe

#140
~Eureka

~Eureka

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts
Hi guys,

I have updated rev6 of IOPCIFamily and IOPCCardFamily.
http://forum.insanel...showtopic=81036

Many thanks
for those who helped me test the result. I couldn't do it with you guys. :D

Chun-Nan





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy