Jump to content

Clover: iMessage/Facetime Fix for Yosemite

imessage clover yosemite fix facetime icloud tutorial 10.10

  • Please log in to reply
251 replies to this topic

#1
leodaniel

leodaniel

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male

image.png

 

IMPORTANT: CAUSED BY NEW APPLE VERIFICATION-STEPS, you need MLB (BoardSerialNumber) and ROM from a real Mac.

The use of real mac MLB/ROM is a temporary solution. I always prefer to use generated IDs, but actually there is no way around.

 

Note:
This guide is for Clover users only. Please do not ask questions related to Chameleon or other Bootloaders.

 

Please follow all steps, or at least read them all.
You will probably need to call the Apple support to activate iMessage, but don’t worry, I will explain you what you need to do.
Also try to change your IDs as less as possible, this is also why I advise you to disconnect temporary from internet after step 3. 

Never share your ID's and never believe or use ID's found on the internet!
 

 

Requirements:

 

1 Step
You need to mount you EFI partition, to do so, type following command in terminal (Applications>Utilities>Terminal)

diskutil list

The output should look like this:

Attached File  diskutil List.png   19.76KB   516 downloads

 

Look for your System HardDrive or SSD (in my case HackintoshSSD 10) and copy your EFI partition IDENTIFIER (in my case disk1s1)

 

Now type following command:

diskutil mount YOUR_IDENTIFIER

in my case this would be:

diskutil mount disk1s1

Now you should see EFI Drive in Finder.

 

 

2 Step

Open the Clover Configurator Application, you should see following screen:

Attached File  CloverWelcomPage.png   425.53KB   772 downloads

 

Select following config file: EFI > EFI > CLOVER > config.plist

(Highlighted in blue).

 

Now move to the SMBIOS Section (left menu). Click on the magic wand icon and select appropriate bios for your system.

If you are not sure which one, check your About this Mac>System Reports and check your Model Identifier (in this example iMac (13,2) ).

Attached File  Untitled 6.png   69.23KB   821 downloads

Click several times on the little shake buttons to generate a Unique Serial for you Hackintosh. (Note: This is only an example, don’t use the serials shown in the image!)

Now you need to check, if your Serial is a generic one and not from a real mac.

To do this: go to https://selfsolve.apple.com and enter you generated serial. If you don’t get an error Message, just randomise the serial again with the 2 little shake buttons. Repeat this until you get an error message on the site.

Click on “OK” to save you SMBIOS.

 

3 Step

You should now have a screen similar to this one.

Attached File  Untitled 7.png   358.36KB   1664 downloads

Now you need to populate those 2 RED indicated fields.

Open again Terminal and enter:

uuidgen

This will output something like this:

C5FAA18D-AA58-44E4-ABBF-C31885429CD7

Repeat this 3-4 times to be sure to get an unique one. Copy it and paste it into SmUUID.

 

The second file that needs to be populated, is the board ID.

For this, just copy your Serial and Enter some random letters and numbers, that you get a length of 17 digits!

In my example this would be: C02LHIA7DNMP7E8G4

 

4 Step

Go to the RT Variables Section, enter the MLB (BoardSerialNumber) & ROM value from a real mac and click Calculate.

Do not use values found on the Internet! Only use values from your own mac and never ever share them! To learn more about MLB check out this Thread by holyfield.

To find those Values on a real mac, simply run iMessage Debug or for older macs (OS X Lion / Snow Leopard) check out here (by Fusion71au). The real mac does not need the be the same model as your SmBios, you can use the ROM/MLB form a MacBookPro with MacPro SmBios on you hack. You can also still use both Macs on the same times on iMessage.

Attached File  ROMMLB.png   361.51KB   1083 downloads

 

Go System Parameters Section on Clover Configurator and make sure, that those are empty! 

Now save the file (cmd + s).

Disconnect your computer form Internet and Reboot. Do this several times and always check with iMessageDebug (double click on the file), that all IDs are set and stay the same.

Attached File  Untitledqwdqwd.png   25.24KB   801 downloads

 

If it is so, you can reconnect to your network. If not, retry steps 1-4.

You will now be prompted to re-login to iCloud and iMessage.

 

 

Normally you should not get any error or code from iMessage if you use a valid ROM/MLB combination.

If you get an Code and you are asked to call apple, you are using some invalid ID combination, usually related by ROM/MLB. I would not recommend you to call Apple, as you are not using a mac, even if some other tutorials tell you that.

 

Enjoy fully functional iMessage!

Hope it helped



#2
andrew.j.aguirre

andrew.j.aguirre

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Des Moines

Thank you for the tutorial. I was finally able to get the Customer Code screen, which seems to be the gateway to get it fixed. Now I was wondering, my current build is obviously modern, able to run Yosemite and all. I do have an official serial number, however, it is from an old G4 Mac Mini. Will they recognize this? Or is that completely subjective to the rep?

 

I know that you may not even need the serial, but just in case, I wanted to know if they could see that, hey this machine can't even run an OS that uses iMessage.



#3
YoYelloW

YoYelloW

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male

 

All you need, is a valid apple Serial from a real mac. In some cases, they don't even want to know the serial. And if you don't have any, just tell them your actually not home and you just have copied the Support Code. Anyway, the Serial is only needed to associate your case with a device. Explain, that you get an error while trying to log in to iMessage. They will ask your for the Code (Something like 9378-3847-3904). After that all should work!

 

 

 

If possitioned correctly, you do not need a SN at all, read my post here about this.



#4
leodaniel

leodaniel

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thank you for the tutorial. I was finally able to get the Customer Code screen, which seems to be the gateway to get it fixed. Now I was wondering, my current build is obviously modern, able to run Yosemite and all. I do have an official serial number, however, it is from an old G4 Mac Mini. Will they recognize this? Or is that completely subjective to the rep?

 

I know that you may not even need the serial, but just in case, I wanted to know if they could see that, hey this machine can't even run an OS that uses iMessage.

I can't give you an complete answer. What I know, is that the serial is send to apple. If and what they check about it, I'm not sure.

But I would never use a Hackintosh with a real Mac Serial. I think it's always better to use a generated one if you can.

 

What I know, is that the System Infos need to match the Serial. So you can't use a MacBookPro serial with the SMBIOS of a mac pro.

And I will update the guide with the infos from YoYelloW, so that a serial isn't needed.



#5
andrew.j.aguirre

andrew.j.aguirre

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Des Moines

Finally worked up the courage to call Apple Support. I took YoYelloW's advice and kept mentioning "My AppleID" and "iMessage", hardly ever brining up my Mac. I actually got an initial person that couldn't help me, then I was sent to another person that never experienced this problem before, and she was a director. So, I guess it is common, but not that common. Anywho, she was able to fix it before I got off the phone! The Customer Code really is the key to get this fix, otherwise they can't really find how to correct it. Thanks again to people in this thread, and in other threads to fix it!



#6
luki1979

luki1979

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 214 posts
It's way to much info around regarding iMessage and facetime. All you need is to make sure that you have unique SN generated in clover configurator and can't leave board ID field empty as clover generated Numbers are blacklisted. Calling Apple just say you upgraded to Yosemite and Messeges gives you code. They will never ask for SN.

#7
holyfield

holyfield

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Europe

This hack works fine! You need SMBIOS settings on your Clover configuration. Make sure, that those are correct and valid for your model Clover suggest by-self the best model for your comp. So, generate based on suggested model the actual SMBIOS setting. Also these unique ID's as described by leodaniel.

 

Please note you also need an IPhone, iPad etc. They send the verification code on your iPhone screen at support call time.



#8
teddybearapple

teddybearapple

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

This hack works fine! You need SMBIOS settings on your Clover configuration. Make sure, that those are correct and valid for your model Clover suggest by-self the best model for your comp. So, generate based on suggested model the actual SMBIOS setting. Also these unique ID's as described by leodaniel.

Please note you also need an IPhone, iPad etc. They send the verification code on your iPhone screen at support call time.



I don't really think iphone or iPad is really needed at all just generating the serial numbers and making sure you get the customer code at the login screen of iMessage worked just fine. You only need a serial number of a real mac m give them that serial number of that real Mac and they will unlock for u as easy as that.

#9
holyfield

holyfield

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Europe

I don't really think iphone or iPad is really needed at all just generating the serial numbers and making sure you get the customer code at the login screen of iMessage worked just fine. You only need a serial number of a real mac m give them that serial number of that real Mac and they will unlock for u as easy as that.

 

There is nothing to do with thinking/guessing. I activated iMessage by myself.

Here is the full list of information required by Apple support:

  • First and Last Name
  • Apple ID
  • Computer Serial from About This Mac
  • iMessage Activation ID (from iMassage alert box)
  • Then, they send a verification code to iPhone, which you have to tell to support 

teddybearapple, you can think/believe whatever you want, I told what actually happened.

 

So, keep your iOS device next to you when placing an support call to activate iMessage on Hackintosh.

 

Done!



#10
tietje

tietje

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Thanks so much for this guide! The hardest part was the near hour long wait on hold with Apple support. Also, I did not need an iPad or iPhone to complete the procedure -- Robert, the support tech, took care of it there over the phone.



#11
holyfield

holyfield

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Europe

Thanks so much for this guide! The hardest part was the near hour long wait on hold with Apple support.

 

:yes:



#12
leodaniel

leodaniel

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male

There is nothing to do with thinking/guessing. I activated iMessage by myself.

Here is the full list of information required by Apple support:

  • First and Last Name
  • Apple ID
  • Computer Serial from About This Mac
  • iMessage Activation ID (from iMassage alert box)
  • Then, they send a verification code to iPhone, which you have to tell to support 

teddybearapple, you can think/believe whatever you want, I told what actually happened.

 

So, keep your iOS device next to you when placing an support call to activate iMessage on Hackintosh.

 

Done!

I have called them several times myself, I only needed a serial once and all the other times they required a support token. 

Maybe it is related to your Apple ID which wasn't verified before (no Credit Card)? Anyway, it worked, that matters :D.



#13
luki1979

luki1979

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 214 posts
If you say that you updated to Yosemite and message does give you code to contact them, they will never ask for s/n only for that code. I did hovewer had many real Apple products registered on my id before.
If you start your conversation mentioning your machine model than that triggers model specific problem and they might ask s/n. Talk only yosemite and message.

#14
holyfield

holyfield

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Europe

If you say that you updated to Yosemite and message does give you code to contact them, they will never ask for s/n only for that code. I did hovewer had many real Apple products registered on my id before.
If you start your conversation mentioning your machine model than that triggers model specific problem and they might ask s/n. Talk only yosemite and message.

 

Thank you luki1979!!

 

I don't understand why to state something, thats not true for sure :D. Probably on some cases it's true. Whatever Apple needs to take or ask to make sure you are not some cracker, etc, they will ask and do.

I just wrote, that they ask for serial number etc, also there are several post on various Hackintosh forums, which reveal the same, that Apple Support asks for serial number etc.  

 

My intention was to inform, that this method is working and what Apple support asked, so others can be well prepared for support call
 


I have called them several times myself, I only needed a serial once and all the other times they required a support token. 

Maybe it is related to your Apple ID which wasn't verified before (no Credit Card)? Anyway, it worked, that matters :D.

 

My Apple ID is fine. I have used AppStore to buy software/apps. 

 

Probably Apple is trying to protect users from being cracked/spied  trough iCloud or iMessage. I think, they shall implement for iMessage similar activation like they have for Keychain.



#15
andrew.j.aguirre

andrew.j.aguirre

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Des Moines


I have called them several times myself, I only needed a serial once and all the other times they required a support token. 

Maybe it is related to your Apple ID which wasn't verified before (no Credit Card)? Anyway, it worked, that matters :D.

They never asked for a serial or customer code. I think my experience is in the vast minority. I had to push them to check the customer code. Then after some prompts, the rep was able to figure it out. As aforementioned, she has never heard of this problem, so your milage may vary. Just keep pushing that there is a problem with iMessage and the Messages app.



#16
holyfield

holyfield

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Europe

They never asked for a serial or customer code. I think my experience is in the vast minority. I had to push them to check the customer code. Then after some prompts, the rep was able to figure it out. As aforementioned, she has never heard of this problem, so your milage may vary. Just keep pushing that there is a problem with iMessage and the Messages app.

 

I activated iMessage for another comp today.

 

Today they requested

First and Last Name

Apple ID
Computer Serial from About This Mac
iMessage Activation ID (from iMassage alert box)
 
They didn't sent verification code to iPhone this time, but support personnel mentioned, you had a issue couple of days ago. I explained, it's my second comp, which I upgraded too into Yosemite.
 
Just for case, I recommend to backup your Clover config file, if you replace HD etc, you can restore previous settings for iMessage, so there is no activation needed I guess.
 
Continuity calling is really call feature if enabled from FaceTime prefs. Really easy to place call directly from desktop trough you iPhone cellular network with comp headset!


#17
ysko

ysko

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

leodaniel, thank you so so so much. I followed all the steps, call apple and now I have iMessage working like in my macbook pro!. Really thank you. 



#18
miki4789

miki4789

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Gender:Male
Sorry, but this guide is ok also for legacy installation with clover, or only Uefi installation?

#19
C.44

C.44

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

I just did all this, called Apple, told them I wasn't physically near my computer and that my (now angry) wife can't login to Messages for Mac or FaceTime. No serialnumber needed. After I told them what to do and look for (rather unknown problem apparently), I gave them my customer / validation code annd they said my account would be "unlocked" again. So I tried and it threw the exact same code at me again. Calling them back now, trying to get it unlocked again... the advisor, who I had to tell what to do again, they unlocked it again but it still throws the same code. I'm currently on hold for a Senior Advisor...  Also, the FaceTime is doing the same now, throws that code too, unlike before where it'd just not work. To be continued.

 

Anyone else had this issue?

 

Edit: Waited in line for well over an hour... was told to boot into safemode and try again. So eh yeah. I told them I'd try later tonight but did it rightaway. Booted with an added -x boot argument, tried, still the same error. Now going to contact them... again...

 

Edit 2: Got back in contact with the guy. Apparently there's another case just like this where they had to boot the system in safemode, then "unlock" the account, reboot into normal mode and then try to login again. Still no luck on my end though. Highly doubt this is a Hackintosh problem though, this is Apple's BS imho. He's going to email me some sort of script or program that gathers logs from the computer to figure out what's going on. Which will be interesting to say the least xD



#20
holyfield

holyfield

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Europe

I just did all this, called Apple, told them I wasn't physically near my computer and that my (now angry) wife can't login to Messages for Mac or FaceTime. No serialnumber needed. After I told them what to do and look for (rather unknown problem apparently), I gave them my customer / validation code annd they said my account would be "unlocked" again. So I tried and it threw the exact same code at me again. Calling them back now, trying to get it unlocked again... the advisor, who I had to tell what to do again, they unlocked it again but it still throws the same code. I'm currently on hold for a Senior Advisor...  Also, the FaceTime is doing the same now, throws that code too, unlike before where it'd just not work. To be continued.

 

Anyone else had this issue?

 

Edit: Waited in line for well over an hour... was told to boot into safemode and try again. So eh yeah. I told them I'd try later tonight but did it rightaway. Booted with an added -x boot argument, tried, still the same error. Now going to contact them... again...

 

Edit 2: Got back in contact with the guy. Apparently there's another case just like this where they had to boot the system in safemode, then "unlock" the account, reboot into normal mode and then try to login again. Still no luck on my end though. Highly doubt this is a Hackintosh problem though, this is Apple's BS imho. He's going to email me some sort of script or program that gathers logs from the computer to figure out what's going on. Which will be interesting to say the least xD

 

Hi C.44,

 

please make sure, that you have prepared you comp 100% properly! Use iMessageDebug tool to make sure that it's done properly.

 

Please note, Apple is trying to protect their customers from being hacked. New features of iMessage/FaceTime provide various functionality how to link your Mac with your iPhone or other iOS devices. You can now make cellular calls, send SMS etc directly from your Mac computer etc. There is a big risk, that someone can hijack your comp settings to spy after you (For example room mate on campus, angry spouse, colleagues at work etc. So, I believe that Apple is trying to protect everyones privacy.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: imessage, clover, yosemite, fix, facetime, icloud, tutorial, 10.10


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy