Jump to content

Clover General discussion

Bootloader EFI Clover

  • Please log in to reply
5695 replies to this topic

#21
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe

hello

@slice

the customedid key for me don't work, clover loads the key, but result in nothing if don't apply the fix in file

/System/Library/Displays/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-756e6b6e/DisplayProductID-717

i don't have graphics at all, only black screen.

good hack

if you have a Laptop must work, but I doubt if you are using an external monitor, their EDID are published by their EEPROM, so, attention if your Display product/vendor ID already exists in your Overrides folder.
ProductID-717 indicate a generic files generated by Osx visible in ioreg (not a real product ID), and video acceleration is really required for override the EDID, your display must be attached to the framebuffer, without, injection does not work!


search mmod, for real Product/Vendor ID
Posted Image

Micky

#22
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe

Hi all, this is a very great job , but i dont unterstound , i have two answer , wich is config.plist of edited?
http://www.mediafire...4jiib4fupsd4n3d

The first or second in OEM folder

and why is slow between the boot done to get to the screen shots of the theme?

the first from the left work!

/EFI/config.plist

#23
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,446 posts
  • Gender:Male

the first from the left work!

/EFI/config.plist


Thz Michele ...now try to edited again ...you know key for my sandy bridge 2700k ?
For edited key cpu ?

#24
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,087 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Can anyone give me an example about how to hide partition in Clover?

I use the volume GUID. So for example, here's mine:
<key>Volumes</key>
<dict>
<key>HideAllLegacy</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>HideVolumes</key>
<dict>
<key>0</key>
<dict>
<key>VolumeString</key>
<string>F55D9AC4-08A8-4269-9A8E-396DBE7C7943</string>
</dict>
<key>1</key>
<dict>
<key>VolumeString</key>
<string>43EB9A16-6572-4B7F-A537-6303895DAE0A</string>
</dict>
</dict>
</dict>
You can get the GUID of each volume by checking your Clover bootlog.
Or easier still, run DarwinDumper and select the Disk Volume UUID & GUID option.

#25
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco

if you have a Laptop must work, but I doubt if you are using an external monitor, their EDID are published by their EEPROM, so, attention if your Display product/vendor ID already exists in your Overrides folder.
ProductID-717 indicate a generic files generated by Osx visible in ioreg (not a real product ID), and video acceleration is really required for override the EDID, your display must be attached to the framebuffer, without, injection does not work!


hello

i use the lcd note

and the customedid is loaded by the key and string, is show in boot.log

but no works

only work with the edid in file

Attached File  Captura de ecr√£ 2012-09-23, √ s 22.02.28.png   400.44KB   195 downloads

good hack

#26
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe
oh sorry, you said:

"i don't have graphics at all" and I thought this appen with Clover (no QE/CI

at all), .......perhaps I misunderstood.


only 2 thing, the string in the config.plist is property converted to BASE64, and maybe you have to remove your custom override file in S/L/D/O, using the Clover injection?

bye

#27
p.H

p.H

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • FAQ Team
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Hackintosh & NBA & COD4 promod

hello

i use the lcd note

and the customedid is loaded by the key and string, is show in boot.log

but no works

only work with the edid in file

Attached File  Captura de ecr√£ 2012-09-23, √ s 22.02.28.png   400.44KB   195 downloads

good hack


Have you read this topic ?
http://www.insanelym...edid-injection/

#28
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe

Have you read this topic ?
http://www.insanelym...edid-injection/

He know how to manipulate EDID, but the problem is that needs to work in Clover, without customedid files in

S/L/D/O,

the goal is that, in this topic :wink2:

#29
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe

Thz Michele ...now try to edited again ...you know key for my sandy bridge 2700k ?
For edited key cpu ?

something like this:

<key>CPU</key>
<dict>
<key>Turbo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>ProcessorType</key>
<string>0x0601</string>
<key>CpuFrequencyMHz</key>
<string>3500</string>
<key>BusSpeedkHz</key>
<string>99800</string>
<key>QPI</key>
<string>5000</string>
</dict>
</plist>

http://ark.intel.com/products/61275/

Posted Image

but this is really unnecessary, Clover already know everything for CPUs, risk if there is any value busted, so do not use it!!!!!!

Micky


Edit

do not know if only this can be inserted, to make appear in System Profiler:

<key>CPU</key>
<dict>
<key>QPI</key>
<string>5000</string>
</dict>
</plist>

better to ask ErmaC or Slice

#30
p.H

p.H

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • FAQ Team
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Hackintosh & NBA & COD4 promod

He know how to manipulate EDID, but the problem is that needs to work in Clover, without customedid files in
S/L/D/O,
the goal is that, in this topic :wink2:


sorry, didn't follow his real intentions :(

#31
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 268 posts
  • Gender:Male

Does this bootloader works (now) with an ASUS UEFI MB?

Yes. Works without issues at my ASUS P8P67-M board in legacy BIOS boot mode (BIOS -> boot0 -> boot1 -> boot -> CloverX64.efi -> OSX) and in UEFI mode (UEFI -> CloverX64.efi -> OSX).

More info about UEFI boot here: http://www.projectos...?showtopic=2428
And some kind of a guide here: http://www.projectos...682

#32
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Yes. Works without issues at my ASUS P8P67-M board in legacy BIOS boot mode (BIOS -> boot0 -> boot1 -> boot -> CloverX64.efi -> OSX) and in UEFI mode (UEFI -> CloverX64.efi -> OSX).

More info about UEFI boot here: http://www.projectos...?showtopic=2428
And some kind of a guide here: http://www.projectos...682

Thanks! :)

Going to test it, seems to be difficult, but I would like to use the UEFI-mode on OS X.

#33
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

yes i have graphics and working ok, like in chameleon, but what i want is inject the edid by clover in config file, and not use the file in s/l/d/o

because in updates, if change anything is this folder, i must edit again the file with the custom edid.

anyway thanks for u contribution.

Clover is a child, but very good job in another boot loader.

must give time to slice to see all the little issues in the code.

good hack

#34
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe
Yes, I know,

it's nice to hope that system continues working after each update, this is even more cool, especially now that Apple do Updates "only copy the updated parts"!
this way is the best!!!

#35
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
First try:
1. Created latest pkg with CloverGrower
2. Format USB-stick in OS X with Disk Utility > MBR > 1 partition > FAT32 > Named: DUET
3. Install pkg to USB-stick with the given options
4. Copied DSDT to the EFI/ACPI/patched folder
5. Boot USB in Bios-mode

The above steps are working, I can boot with Clover and run OS X without any problem.

UEFI-booting is not working:
1. Run the installer again, but now selected the Drivers64 as option
2. After installation, copied the files inside Drivers64 to Drivers64UEFI
3. Copied Files/HFSPlus/x64/HFSPlus.efi to usb Drivers64UEFI/HFSPlus-64.efi
Files inside Drivers64UEFI:
FSInject-64.efi
HFSPlus-64.efi
OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi
OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi

Tried to reboot with UEFI mode, see the Clover menu, select OS X Volume, but hang. (See image)

EDIT: Replaced HFSPlus-64.efi with VboxEFI from this post. It boots.. but hangs on the message Loading drivers ..........
EDIT2: Found this topic (http://www.projectos...?showtopic=2428) seems to be issues with my MB

Hope someone can help! Thanks a lot!

Attached Files



#36
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,446 posts
  • Gender:Male
:|

It seems to me that very reason to arrive at the screen theme, but why?

#37
shiecldk

shiecldk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan

I use the volume GUID. So for example, here's mine:

You can get the GUID of each volume by checking your Clover bootlog.
Or easier still, run DarwinDumper and select the Disk Volume UUID & GUID option.


No use... Partitions still can't be hidden.

This is what I've done in the config.plist:
<key>Volumes</key>
<dict>
<key>HideAllLegacy</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>HideVolumes</key>
<dict>
<key>0</key>
<dict>
<key>VolumeString</key>
<string>44171289-EC4C-4B98-8234-B0AD0364A317</string>
</dict>
<key>1</key>
<dict>
<key>VolumeString</key>
<string>D243A418-64CD-4E2D-89E3-410057EA815C</string>
</dict>
<key>2</key>
<dict>
<key>VolumeString</key>
<string>2476444A-F2CC-4877-814D-0624A4432237</string>
</dict>
<key>3</key>
<dict>
<key>VolumeString</key>
<string>BA1F5552-B72B-430F-A0D1-7C25FE07AAA1</string>
</dict>
</dict>
</dict>

-Problem sloved by updateing clover-

#38
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 268 posts
  • Gender:Male

UEFI-booting is not working:
...


You are fast. I think you should not have any problems with UEFI boot on your mobo.

Notes:

1. If UEFI booting ML with OsxAptioFixDrv driver, you MUST add slide=0 in config.plist in boot args

<key>boot-args</key>
<string>-v slide=0</string>

2. You can use the same stick for BIOS Clover boot and UEFI boot. The Clover setup difference between BIOS and UEFI boot for me is only in drivers. BIOS Clover boot will use drivers from /EFI/Drivers64/ and UEFI Clover boot will use /EFI/Drivers64UEFI/.

3. For BIOS Clover boot you probably do not need any drivers. So /EFI/Drivers64 can be empty. You can add FSInject-64.efi in there if there is a need to block kernelcache and load with kernel+kexts.

4. For UEFI Clover boot you need in /EFI/Drivers64UEFI:
- some HFS+ driver (HFSPlus.efi or VBoxHFS.efi) - to allow Clover to read HFS+ volumes
- OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi - to add support for fat binary (multi-architecture binaries) .efi files (Apple's boot.efi is such file)
- OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi - to overcome some UEFI memory problems on our mobos
- optionally FSInject-64.efi

Do not forget slide=0. Good luck.

Edit:
5. If UEFI booting from FAT32 USB stick, you can boot directly to Clover by copying /EFI/Boot/CloverX64.efi into /EFI/Boot/BootX64.efi. BootX64.efi is default app that will be started when the stick is selected for UEFI boot.

#39
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

...

Thanks for your post. I have done everything you listed above.
Unfortunately it is still hanging.

I can see Clover and can select the OS X partition at the menu. When hit Enter, it loads but displays (the same error):
Error loading kernel 'mach_kernel' (0x9)
Error: Aborted returned from boot.efi

Thanks, hope you can help.

#40
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 268 posts
  • Gender:Male

I can see Clover and can select the OS X partition at the menu. When hit Enter, it loads but displays (the same error):
Error loading kernel 'mach_kernel' (0x9)
Error: Aborted returned from boot.efi

Are you booting Mountain Lion? Are you sure you have slide=0 added? Is there maybe additional config.plist somewhere on your stick or EFI partition with different settings?
You can check for this slide=0 by starting Clover and then pressing letter 'O' - slide=0 should appear in boot args.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Bootloader, EFI, Clover


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy