Jump to content

AppleVIAATA over 4gb RAM bug solved (at least i believe so)! JMicron and AppleNForceATA at development


  • Please log in to reply
569 replies to this topic

#121
live.fx

live.fx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male

Try testing your memory with rember. (all your memory). And while testing, try to open files, create folders, etc in your IDE hdd. I believe this problem happens in every 10.5.X version.


Sorry.. But i`m have stupid problems now:

1. AppleVIAATA.kextr is not loaded in my extension list (but exist in extensions folder), only the JMicron.kext loaded

and
2. I can`t found Device ID for JMicron controller.
I just found this:
| |   |     +-o JMicronATAPCIRoot      | |   |       | {    | |   |       |   "IOProbeScore" = 0x2710    | |   |       |   "IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"    | |   |       |   "Hardware Vendor" = "JMicron"    | |   |       |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.jmicron.JMicronATA"    | |   |       |   "IOPCIClassMatch" = "0x01010000&0xffff0000"    | |   |       |   "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"    | |   |       |   "IOPCIPrimaryMatch" = "0x2368197b 0x2360197b&0xfff0ffff"    | |   |       |   "IOClass" = "JMicronATAPCIRoot"    | |   |       | }    | |   |       |     | |   |       +-o SDE0@0      | |   |       | | {    | |   |       | |   "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>)    | |   |       | |   "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"    | |   |       | |   "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0")    | |   |       | |   "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/P0P8@1c0004/JMF0@0/SDE0@0"    | |   |       | |   "Channel Number" = 0x0    | |   |       | |   "Command Block Address" = 0xac00    | |   |       | |   "Control Block Address" = 0xa880    | |   |       | |   "Interrupt Vector" = 0x10    | |   |       | | }    | |   |       | |     | |   |       | +-o JMicronATA      | |   |       |     {    | |   |       |       "IOProviderClass" = "JMicronATAChannel"    | |   |       |       "IOProbeScore" = 0x0    | |   |       |       "Hardware Vendor" = "JMicron"    | |   |       |       "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.jmicron.JMicronATA"    | |   |       |       "Physical Interconnect" = "ATA"    | |   |       |       "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"    | |   |       |       "IOPowerManagement" = {"CurrentPowerState"=0x2,"DeviceChangePowerState"=0x2}    | |   |       |       "IOClass" = "JMicronATA"    | |   |       |     }    | |   |       |         | |   |       +-o SDE1@1      | |   |         | {    | |   |         |   "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>)    | |   |         |   "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"    | |   |         |   "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0")    | |   |         |   "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/P0P8@1c0004/JMF0@0/SDE1@1"    | |   |         |   "Channel Number" = 0x1    | |   |         |   "Command Block Address" = 0xa800    | |   |         |   "Control Block Address" = 0xa480    | |   |         |   "Interrupt Vector" = 0x10    | |   |         | }    | |   |         |     | |   |         +-o JMicronATA      | |   |             {    | |   |               "IOProviderClass" = "JMicronATAChannel"    | |   |               "IOProbeScore" = 0x0    | |   |               "Hardware Vendor" = "JMicron"    | |   |               "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.jmicron.JMicronATA"    | |   |               "Physical Interconnect" = "ATA"    | |   |               "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"    | |   |               "IOPowerManagement" = {"CurrentPowerState"=0x2,"DeviceChangePowerState"=0x2}    | |   |               "IOClass" = "JMicronATA"    | |   |             }

This string - "IOPCIPrimaryMatch" = "0x2368197b 0x2360197b&0xfff0ffff" is exist in Info.plist of JMicron.kext (this loaded and work in my 10.5.2 system). But i can`t found any Device ID string in this block...

Next i`m use linux port of lspci command (this command - is part of package PCI Utils, if somebody need, this file is downloadable from this site)

1: info from lspci (simple)
02:00.0 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 03)

2. info from lspci -nn

02:00.0 IDE interface [0101]: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller [197b:2363] (rev 03) (prog-if 85 [Master SecO PriO])    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:81e4]    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16    I/O ports at ac00    I/O ports at a880    I/O ports at a800    I/O ports at a480    I/O ports at a400    Memory at fe9fe000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)    Expansion ROM at fe9e0000 [disabled]    Capabilities: [68] Power Management version 2    Capabilities: [50] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 01    Capabilities: [100] #197b    Capabilities: [236] #68
3. lcpci -nnn -vvv -Q

02:00.0 IDE interface [0101]: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller [197b:2363] (rev 03) (prog-if 85 [Master SecO PriO])        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. P5B [JMB363] [1043:81e4]        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- SERR-         Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 32 bytes        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 16        Region 0: I/O ports at ac00        Region 1: I/O ports at a880        Region 2: I/O ports at a800        Region 3: I/O ports at a480        Region 4: I/O ports at a400        Region 5: Memory at fe9fe000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)        Expansion ROM at fe9e0000 [disabled]        Capabilities: [68] Power Management version 2                Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot+,D3cold-)                Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-        Capabilities: [50] Express (v1) Legacy Endpoint, MSI 01                DevCap: MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <64ns, L1 <1us                        ExtTag- AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE- FLReset-                DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-                        RlxdOrd- ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop-                        MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes                DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr+ UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-                LnkCap: Port #1, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, ASPM L0s, Latency L0 <1us, L1 <16us                        ClockPM- Suprise- LLActRep- BwNot-                LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk+                        ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-                LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-        Capabilities: [100] #197b        Capabilities: [236] #68
===========================

I`m not see matches for "Device ID" string, and not see loaded AppleVIAATA in my system, i don`t know what i can do next.
?

#122
slashack

slashack

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Sorry.. But i`m have stupid problems now:

1. AppleVIAATA.kextr is not loaded in my extension list (but exist in extensions folder), only the JMicron.kext loaded

and
2. I can`t found Device ID for JMicron controller.
I just found this:

| |   |     +-o JMicronATAPCIRoot      | |   |       | {    | |   |       |   "IOProbeScore" = 0x2710    | |   |       |   "IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"    | |   |       |   "Hardware Vendor" = "JMicron"    | |   |       |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.jmicron.JMicronATA"    | |   |       |   "IOPCIClassMatch" = "0x01010000&0xffff0000"    | |   |       |   "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"    | |   |       |   "IOPCIPrimaryMatch" = "0x2368197b 0x2360197b&0xfff0ffff"    | |   |       |   "IOClass" = "JMicronATAPCIRoot"    | |   |       | }    | |   |       |     | |   |       +-o SDE0@0      | |   |       | | {    | |   |       | |   "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>)    | |   |       | |   "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"    | |   |       | |   "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0")    | |   |       | |   "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/P0P8@1c0004/JMF0@0/SDE0@0"    | |   |       | |   "Channel Number" = 0x0    | |   |       | |   "Command Block Address" = 0xac00    | |   |       | |   "Control Block Address" = 0xa880    | |   |       | |   "Interrupt Vector" = 0x10    | |   |       | | }    | |   |       | |     | |   |       | +-o JMicronATA      | |   |       |     {    | |   |       |       "IOProviderClass" = "JMicronATAChannel"    | |   |       |       "IOProbeScore" = 0x0    | |   |       |       "Hardware Vendor" = "JMicron"    | |   |       |       "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.jmicron.JMicronATA"    | |   |       |       "Physical Interconnect" = "ATA"    | |   |       |       "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"    | |   |       |       "IOPowerManagement" = {"CurrentPowerState"=0x2,"DeviceChangePowerState"=0x2}    | |   |       |       "IOClass" = "JMicronATA"    | |   |       |     }    | |   |       |         | |   |       +-o SDE1@1      | |   |         | {    | |   |         |   "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>)    | |   |         |   "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"    | |   |         |   "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0")    | |   |         |   "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/P0P8@1c0004/JMF0@0/SDE1@1"    | |   |         |   "Channel Number" = 0x1    | |   |         |   "Command Block Address" = 0xa800    | |   |         |   "Control Block Address" = 0xa480    | |   |         |   "Interrupt Vector" = 0x10    | |   |         | }    | |   |         |     | |   |         +-o JMicronATA      | |   |             {    | |   |               "IOProviderClass" = "JMicronATAChannel"    | |   |               "IOProbeScore" = 0x0    | |   |               "Hardware Vendor" = "JMicron"    | |   |               "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.jmicron.JMicronATA"    | |   |               "Physical Interconnect" = "ATA"    | |   |               "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"    | |   |               "IOPowerManagement" = {"CurrentPowerState"=0x2,"DeviceChangePowerState"=0x2}    | |   |               "IOClass" = "JMicronATA"    | |   |             }

This string - "IOPCIPrimaryMatch" = "0x2368197b 0x2360197b&0xfff0ffff" is exist in Info.plist of JMicron.kext (this loaded and work in my 10.5.2 system). But i can`t found any Device ID string in this block...

Next i`m use linux port of lspci command (this command - is part of package PCI Utils, if somebody need, this file is downloadable from this site)

1: info from lspci (simple)
02:00.0 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 03)

2. info from lspci -nn

02:00.0 IDE interface [0101]: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller [197b:2363] (rev 03) (prog-if 85 [Master SecO PriO])    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:81e4]    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16    I/O ports at ac00    I/O ports at a880    I/O ports at a800    I/O ports at a480    I/O ports at a400    Memory at fe9fe000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)    Expansion ROM at fe9e0000 [disabled]    Capabilities: [68] Power Management version 2    Capabilities: [50] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 01    Capabilities: [100] #197b    Capabilities: [236] #68
3. lcpci -nnn -vvv -Q

02:00.0 IDE interface [0101]: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller [197b:2363] (rev 03) (prog-if 85 [Master SecO PriO])        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. P5B [JMB363] [1043:81e4]        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- SERR-         Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 32 bytes        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 16        Region 0: I/O ports at ac00        Region 1: I/O ports at a880        Region 2: I/O ports at a800        Region 3: I/O ports at a480        Region 4: I/O ports at a400        Region 5: Memory at fe9fe000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)        Expansion ROM at fe9e0000 [disabled]        Capabilities: [68] Power Management version 2                Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot+,D3cold-)                Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-        Capabilities: [50] Express (v1) Legacy Endpoint, MSI 01                DevCap: MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <64ns, L1 <1us                        ExtTag- AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE- FLReset-                DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-                        RlxdOrd- ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop-                        MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes                DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr+ UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-                LnkCap: Port #1, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, ASPM L0s, Latency L0 <1us, L1 <16us                        ClockPM- Suprise- LLActRep- BwNot-                LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk+                        ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-                LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-        Capabilities: [100] #197b        Capabilities: [236] #68
===========================

I`m not see matches for "Device ID" string, and not see loaded AppleVIAATA in my system, i don`t know what i can do next.
?


U only need one of these kexts, not both.

Your devid is 197b:2363 => 0x2363197b.

"IOPCIPrimaryMatch" = "0x2368197b 0x2360197b&0xfff0ffff" has your devid. The term 0x2360197b&0xfff0ffff means any 0x236X197b where X can be replaced for any hex number (0-F). This string matches your devid.

According to this, u have JMicronATA.kext loaded. Wheres the problem? Is this kext the one i've modified? Or is it another? When u boot with my kext, do u have any problem? does it boot? if it does'n, boot with -v -f debug=0x100 and if there are any errors, take a photo of your screen and reply with that image, or whatever your problem is.

I'm running 10.5.5 with modified AppleVIAATA.kext, and recently fixed a 10.5.5 system with JMicronATA.kext (KP's during IDE DVD operations).

#123
live.fx

live.fx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
slashack, i install your JMicronATA.kext (now only on 10.5.2 system, sorry,but i`m not have enough time - i must go work), but have a strange issue:

System load - ok. All drives detected and work. (i don`t do all memory tests) - but, i can`t see in "System Profile" JMicronATA.kext loaded or not. It not shown. I think this a not a big problem, because, without loaded JMicronATA my system can`t work.

(i`m don`t remember now, but i do kext listing with some command-line tools (kextload or something like this) and it show - JMicronATA.kext is not loaded.)

When i come to home after work - i try install 10.5.5 update and install your JM*.kext again.
I don`t understand, why i can`t see - loaded it or not. :)

Thanks..

#124
slashack

slashack

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

slashack, i install your JMicronATA.kext (now only on 10.5.2 system, sorry,but i`m not have enough time - i must go work), but have a strange issue:

System load - ok. All drives detected and work. (i don`t do all memory tests) - but, i can`t see in "System Profile" JMicronATA.kext loaded or not. It not shown. I think this a not a big problem, because, without loaded JMicronATA my system can`t work.

(i`m don`t remember now, but i do kext listing with some command-line tools (kextload or something like this) and it show - JMicronATA.kext is not loaded.)

When i come to home after work - i try install 10.5.5 update and install your JM*.kext again.
I don`t understand, why i can`t see - loaded it or not. ;)

Thanks..


The command is kextstat. Try with that. if not, try with a dump (ioreg -l > dump.txt). With a dump we can find why it's not working.

#125
GLXOZ

GLXOZ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
AppleVIAATA.kext don` t load on Tiger 10.4.11.

#126
Envying

Envying

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
My happle becomes so stable with this SATA driver and I can use my full 4GB RAM, can't be happy no more!!! Kudos to Slashack!!! :blink: :D :D

#127
slashack

slashack

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

AppleVIAATA.kext don` t load on Tiger 10.4.11.


Have u tried the latest AppleVIAATA from googlecode? There is a version for 10.4.8, maybe this might work.

Do u have any screenshot? (boot with -v debug=0x100). any dump?

#128
bushmills

bushmills

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
Thx slashack ,

for your jmicron driver. I also had problems with freezes at fresh ideneb 1.3 at high cpu last & 4gb memory refresh & copying from/to ide-drives - so atm i test your 0.6 release and it runs :-) I do my stress-test with graphicconverter and the incl. browser on my huge photo-directory. At high load and full memory usage i close the app and normaly it freeze the computer - but now it runs :-)

great work

#129
Envying

Envying

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
Slashack, just have one question for you.

Your JMicronATA.kext seems not working on my JM360 eSATA drive... Is there any possibility to have it working...

#130
slashack

slashack

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Slashack, just have one question for you.

Your JMicronATA.kext seems not working on my JM360 eSATA drive... Is there any possibility to have it working...


Try AppleVIAATA.kext, or the version of JMicronATA.kext that has support for JMB360. I recommend AppleVIAATA.kext, as it's the kext i need and i will make it work no matter what it takes. (In case of any update).

To use it, just add your devid to the Info.plist in AppleVIAATA.kext (if it's not there)

#131
Envying

Envying

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Try AppleVIAATA.kext, or the version of JMicronATA.kext that has support for JMB360. I recommend AppleVIAATA.kext, as it's the kext i need and i will make it work no matter what it takes. (In case of any update).

To use it, just add your devid to the Info.plist in AppleVIAATA.kext (if it's not there)


One more question, can AppleVIAATA.kext support my nforce ATA as well, if so, I can just add my nforce SATA and Jmicron eSATA Dev/Ven id in it.

#132
slashack

slashack

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

One more question, can AppleVIAATA.kext support my nforce ATA as well, if so, I can just add my nforce SATA and Jmicron eSATA Dev/Ven id in it.


I dont think so, unless u want to give it a try, but i'm pretty sure it wont work. I dont' remeber if AppleVIAATA is like JMicronATA which has the devid harcoded, not only in the Info.plist

#133
live.fx

live.fx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male

The command is kextstat. Try with that. if not, try with a dump (ioreg -l > dump.txt). With a dump we can find why it's not working.


Hi slashack !
After some test and crashes i`m get JMicronATA.kext and AppleVIAATA.kext worked on my 10.5.5 update. I`m don`t write anything because i don`t have good camera for screenshoots of "kernel panic" debug messages.

What i`m do.
1. I`m install 10.5.5 update and install your JMicronATA.kext.
kextstat show me loaded JMicronATA.kext and AppleVIAATA.kext. Of course i`m start Ramber and system hang on first seconds.

2. I`m remove AppleVIAATA.kext - system can`t boot anymore. (crasy result. I`m don`t have any VIA chipsets on P5B - what happen, i`m can`t understand..)

3. I`m open "native" AppleVIAATA.kext and (10.5.2) JMicronATA.kext and compare Info.plist`s with yours kext`s. I`m add some strings from "native" AppleVIAATA.kext to your. And ADD NEW string from JMicronATA.kext - install and reboot.

(nice vivisection ? :( )

Rember work right now.. Now hang`s. But, of course, memory test is not end. I need to waiting. I`m hope, all be good. Because early tests crashes just after few seconds after starting memory test.

If you have interest, what changes i do, i`m attach this kexts (i make some changes in Info.plist`s)

(i`m sit now and wait test results.. I think, all be good..)

Attached Files



#134
live.fx

live.fx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi slashack !

All test will passed ok. No hang anymore. Big thanks you :)
Look to my kext`s files please. I do some changes (just some values in Info.plist`s), and may be a good idea made this changes permanently - in your kext`s. (or may be this actual for my P5B only?)

Big thanks you for your work.

#135
JorgeJones

JorgeJones

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Thanks a lot for posting this Jmicron kext. This fixed one of the last few nagging issues I was having with my new rig. It's a Gigabyte G33M-S2L board. Everything worked great with ideneb 1.3, but my machine would lock up whenever I was ripping a DVD in Parallels in Decrypter, and watching a movie or doing something else. I was so close to just buying a ide to usb adapter, but this totally fixed my problem. Now if I can just get shutdown to work.

#136
biird

biird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reno, NV
I seem to be having a problem with AppleNForceATA because I get a Kernel Panic when I run Vuze or do anything with large files. Here is the link to my specs and full problem (from another thread), but I only have 2 gigs in and have put my DevID into the NForceATA kext but still am seeing crashes.

http://forum.insanel...o...st&p=968403

Doesn't really make sence. I have used Marvin's on everything, taken out some RAM, replaced kexts from 10.5.3 but the KP won't go away when I load up Vuze and it starts to download a 6gb torrent. Again, I'm on NForce4 Chipset, IDE dvd burner and have my DevIDs in the AppleNForceATA.kext.

Any ideas? Or should I just go back to 10.5.3

#137
slashack

slashack

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

I seem to be having a problem with AppleNForceATA because I get a Kernel Panic when I run Vuze or do anything with large files. Here is the link to my specs and full problem (from another thread), but I only have 2 gigs in and have put my DevID into the NForceATA kext but still am seeing crashes.

http://forum.insanel...o...st&p=968403

Doesn't really make sence. I have used Marvin's on everything, taken out some RAM, replaced kexts from 10.5.3 but the KP won't go away when I load up Vuze and it starts to download a 6gb torrent. Again, I'm on NForce4 Chipset, IDE dvd burner and have my DevIDs in the AppleNForceATA.kext.

Any ideas? Or should I just go back to 10.5.3


Can u attach a photo of your screen with the KP (boot with -v debug=0x100). this can tell me exactly where the problem is.

#138
biird

biird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reno, NV
Attached File  IMG_0072.JPG   624.85KB   26 downloads

This is from earlier (I'm transferring a file right now, so I don't want to start up Vuze). The NVResman doesn't show anymore, but the bottom stuff is all the same. I haven't had a crash yet compressing my Music folder like I did last time I installed and it appears to be transferring to my external drive without a problem. Vuze still crashes the system though.

EDIT: If you need to see the entire screen for the panic, let me know and I'll run Vuze to kill the system after this file finishes transferring.

#139
slashack

slashack

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina

Attached File  IMG_0072.JPG   624.85KB   26 downloads

This is from earlier (I'm transferring a file right now, so I don't want to start up Vuze). The NVResman doesn't show anymore, but the bottom stuff is all the same. I haven't had a crash yet compressing my Music folder like I did last time I installed and it appears to be transferring to my external drive without a problem. Vuze still crashes the system though.

EDIT: If you need to see the entire screen for the panic, let me know and I'll run Vuze to kill the system after this file finishes transferring.


Yes, I need the full screen. The first line shows the function or method where it fails and the reason. The stack trace shows where.

#140
biird

biird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reno, NV
Attached File  IMG_0074.JPG   553.32KB   20 downloads

It's weird; I think it says something with the CPU, but it's ran fine on previous distru's and doesn't crash any other time.

I also just completed compressing 26 gigs of music into a file and then transferred it to an external drive with no error so many it's not due to large files.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy