Jump to content

Retail DVD Guide, 10.5.8, PC-EFIv9 installer, EFI studio, Vanilla or Voodoo, GA-P35-DS3P (L,R), DS4, or OS X Compatible board


  • Please log in to reply
908 replies to this topic

#21
^_^

^_^

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of the raising sun
Update 2,
Successfully Installed!
I think there might be a problem with the file i have replace...
But by using your archive, I had successfully install the retail flawlessly.
Thanks!

Note: Shutdown not working on my mobo.
Need more test, will report soon.

#22
MacUser2525

MacUser2525

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Update 2,
Successfully Installed!
I think there might be a problem with the file i have replace...
But by using your archive, I had successfully install the retail flawlessly.
Thanks!

Note: Shutdown not working on my mobo.
Need more test, will report soon.


I have my settings at S1 and 4 second delay in the BIOS Power Management with this shutdown works you want to check for these.

#23
Stellair

Stellair

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
Oh no, the DS4 v2.1 his shutdown doesn't work. That's no good for me ;)

#24
Andrea3000

Andrea3000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts

<BR>1. Open Terminal<BR><BR>2. Type the following commands (think here, remember to change the variables which are underlined) :<BR><BR>sudo s (Enter)<BR><BR>cd /Volumes/MACOS/Users/xxx/desktop/EFI/pc_efi_v80 (Enter)<BR><BR>./startupfiletool /dev/rdisk0s2 ./boot_v8 (Enter)<BR><BR>dd if=./guid/boot1h of=/dev/rdisk0s2 bs=512 count=1 (Enter)<BR><BR>dd if=./guid/boot0 of=/dev/disk0 bs=400 count=1 (Enter)

I think that to install efi on mbr partition I have to ignore the last two line, isn't it?
But, how can make it bootable?
On the readme of efi pc v_80 it's written:

Is that a working way?
I want to dual boot with windows XP 32bit using darwin bootloader...which way have I to follow?
Thank you!
Bye!

No one?

#25
LTL

LTL

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

Yes I have the same board revision 2.0 tried it earlier tonight and it worked great one thing though if you want the lowest temperatures possible with your CPU then you should delete the AppleIntelCPUManagement.kext and AppleThermal.kext in the Extensions directory where you are deleting the others, on my board these caused my CPU to run ~10C hotter than without them perhaps this could be added to the guide. If you want the audio to work then I needed to get the HDA_ICH9_ALC888.zip file then extract and use the Kext Helper 7 that you can copy from the Kalyway disk to install the files or I have attached attached the audio the Helper is too big to do so.You Have a typo it should be Desktop other than that the guide worked great, thanks.


Thanks... d changed to D

glad it worked for you, let me know how stable it runs for you

#26
Bob The King

Bob The King

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
How do you get the cpu recognized in the about this mac menu? mines showin up as unknown

#27
bolly

bolly

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
@LongTime
have u tried efi strings for (video,Sound,lan) in ur rig?
is it working?

#28
^_^

^_^

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of the raising sun

I have my settings at S1 and 4 second delay in the BIOS Power Management with this shutdown works you want to check for these.


Thanks for the tip!
It works at the moment, have to give it a few more days to be sure ;)
Sleep didn't work the first time after bios s1, 4 sec power management change,
have to try a bit more to be sure.
CPU shown as unknown,
Memory shown as 667 mhz even tho i have a 4G 800 mhz.

I will report back again soon.

(Tried ls8's kext using kext helper render my machine unbootable... reboot kalyway and replace the necessary kext from this site, works again.)

EDIT: Shutdown still not working.

#29
LTL

LTL

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

@LongTimehave u tried efi strings for (video,Sound,lan) in ur rig?is it working?

I have not, but as I said in my Guide, I would love to tackle that next...I am still configuring my machine and playing with settings... and testing stabilityLet me know what you find :)

How do you get the cpu recognized in the about this mac menu? mines showin up as unknown

Mine does as well, let us know when you find a solution... good hunting

#30
LTL

LTL

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand
UPDATE:

I messed up my install...

I know I have not been able to add to much to this discussion as of late, but I installed some programs and drivers on my rig and lost stability in the windowserver. I can still get in and do things via SSH, but the GUI is frozen.

Here is the contents of the following thread:
windowserver thread

My GUI freezes up soon after boot. I never even have to turn on any programs, it just happens. I opened up my Console and saw a lot of the following (see attached file for full Console Log):

2/9/08 4:40:46 PM com.apple.WindowServer[119] mach_msg (CGXKickEventHandler) failed (ipc/send) timed out
2/9/08 4:40:46 PM com.apple.WindowServer[119] mach_msg (CGXKickEventHandler) failed (ipc/send) timed out
2/9/08 4:40:46 PM com.apple.WindowServer[119] mach_msg (CGXKickEventHandler) failed (ipc/send) timed out
2/9/08 4:40:46 PM com.apple.WindowServer[119] mach_msg (CGXKickEventHandler) failed (ipc/send) timed out
2/9/08 4:40:46 PM com.apple.WindowServer[119] mach_msg (CGXKickEventHandler) failed (ipc/send) timed out
2/9/08 4:40:46 PM com.apple.WindowServer[119] mach_msg (CGXKickEventHandler) failed (ipc/send) timed out

So I went into /var/logs/ and looked for a panic.log (was not there)

Then went into windowserver.log and saw a lot of the following starting on the 9th which was the day I booted it up and left it running overnight (see attached file for full log):

Feb 09 16:18:29 [122] Server is starting up
Feb 09 16:18:35 [122] CGXMappedDisplayStart: Unit 0: no display alias property
Feb 09 16:18:35 [122] CGXMappedDisplayStart: Unit 1: no display alias property
Feb 09 16:18:35 [122] CGXPerformInitialDisplayConfiguration
Feb 09 16:18:35 [122] Display 0x3c098681: MappedDisplay Unit 1; Vendor 0x22f0 Model 0x261a S/N 0; online enabled (0,0)[1920 x 1200], base addr 0x1800000
Feb 09 16:18:35 [122] Display 0x3f003c: MappedDisplay Unit 0; Vendor 0xffffffff Model 0xffffffff S/N -1; offline enabled (2944,0)[1 x 1], base addr 0x1800000
Feb 09 16:18:48 [122] GLCompositor: GL renderer id 0x00022608, GL mask 0x00000003, accelerator 0x00002813, unit 0, caps 0x00000003, vram 512 MB
Feb 09 16:18:48 [122] GLCompositor: GL renderer id 0x00022608, GL mask 0x00000003, texture units 4, texture max 8192, viewport max {8192, 8192} extensions 0x00000007
Feb 09 16:18:49 [122] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXSetWindowListTags: Operation on a window 0x2 not owned by caller SecurityAgent
Feb 09 16:18:49 [122] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: Set a breakpoint at CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are returned
Feb 09 16:18:50 [122] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXOrderWindow: Operation on a window 0x2 not owned by caller SecurityAgent
Feb 09 16:29:33 [119] Server is starting up
Feb 09 16:29:37 [119] CGXMappedDisplayStart: Unit 0: no display alias property
Feb 09 16:29:37 [119] CGXMappedDisplayStart: Unit 1: no display alias property
Feb 09 16:29:37 [119] CGXPerformInitialDisplayConfiguration
Feb 09 16:29:37 [119] Display 0x3c098681: MappedDisplay Unit 1; Vendor 0x22f0 Model 0x261a S/N 0; online enabled (0,0)[1920 x 1200], base addr 0x1800000
Feb 09 16:29:37 [119] Display 0x3f003c: MappedDisplay Unit 0; Vendor 0xffffffff Model 0xffffffff S/N -1; offline enabled (2944,0)[1 x 1], base addr 0x1800000
Feb 09 16:29:39 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXSetWindowListTags: Operation on a window 0x2 not owned by caller SecurityAgent
Feb 09 16:29:39 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: Set a breakpoint at CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are returned
Feb 09 16:29:40 [119] GLCompositor: GL renderer id 0x00022608, GL mask 0x00000003, accelerator 0x00002813, unit 0, caps 0x00000003, vram 512 MB
Feb 09 16:29:40 [119] GLCompositor: GL renderer id 0x00022608, GL mask 0x00000003, texture units 4, texture max 8192, viewport max {8192, 8192} extensions 0x00000007
Feb 09 16:29:40 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXOrderWindow: Operation on a window 0x2 not owned by caller SecurityAgent
Feb 09 16:29:51 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXSetWindowListTags: Operation on a window 0x6 not owned by caller UserNotificationCenter
Feb 09 16:30:43 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXSetWindowListTags: Operation on a window 0x6 not owned by caller SystemUIServer
Feb 09 16:34:26 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXOrderWindow: Operation on a window 0x6 not owned by caller System Preferences
Feb 09 16:40:04 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXSetWindowListTags: Operation on a window 0x6 not owned by caller DiskImages UI Agent
Feb 09 16:44:39 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXSetWindowListTags: Operation on a window 0x6 not owned by caller CoreServicesUIAgent
Feb 09 16:48:28 [119] kCGErrorFailure: CGXDisableUpdate: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "Finder" for over 1 second. Server has re-enabled them.
Feb 09 16:49:23 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXGetWindowWorkspace: invalid window id: 9d
Feb 09 16:52:56 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXGetWindowWorkspace: invalid window id: b2
Feb 09 16:54:04 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXGetWindowWorkspace: invalid window id: b5
Feb 09 16:54:05 [119] kCGErrorFailure: CGXDisableUpdate: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "Finder" for over 1 second. Server has re-enabled them.
Feb 09 16:55:24 [119] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGXGetWindowWorkspace: invalid window id: d5
Feb 09 16:57:11 [119] kCGErrorFailure: CGXDisableUpdate: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "Finder" for over 1 second. Server has re-enabled them.
Feb 09 16:59:03 [117] Server is starting up
Feb 09 16:59:05 [117] CGXMappedDisplayStart: Unit 0: no display alias property
Feb 09 16:59:06 [117] CGXMappedDisplayStart: Unit 1: no display alias property
Feb 09 16:59:06 [117] CGXPerformInitialDisplayConfiguration
Feb 09 16:59:06 [117] Display 0x3c098681: MappedDisplay Unit 1; Vendor 0x22f0 Model 0x261a S/N 0; online enabl


How are your installs going?
Attached File  Archive.zip   10.31KB   33 downloads

your help would be appreciated

thank you

#31
Coda

Coda

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:Czech Repbulic

Many thanks to you high level talking guys for no help :gun: I figured it out myself.

I messed up my install...

your help would be appreciated


Well duh... pride before a fall and all that...

Anyway, on a more constructive note, you mention these systems freezing at 3.5Gb ram, but you don't say why. The reason the Kalyway install locks up on these boards at 3.5 is because there is one Kext in that package which cannot handle 64 bit addressing. Once that Kext is disabled, everything is fine. Most people probably don't even use this Kext either, seeing as they are not using the JMicron controller, hint hint. You can figure the rest out yourself.

#32
FavleX

FavleX

    FavleX

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 731 posts
@Coda , so u are saying we must remove jmicron controller kext related?
Thanks.

#33
Coda

Coda

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:Czech Repbulic

@Coda , so u are saying we must remove jmicron controller kext related?
Thanks.


With the JMicronATA.kext in my extensions folder I could get the system to crash every time, as soon as it hits 3.5GB memory usage. Without that kext, the system is rock stable.

#34
LTL

LTL

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand
10.5.2 update:

I followed these directions and all is well

http://netkas.org/?p=50

I am running really stable now and worked out the windowserver bug, it was cuz of my vmware and video drivers

#35
LTL

LTL

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

@LongTime
have u tried efi strings for (video,Sound,lan) in ur rig?
is it working?


Have you had any luck RE: EFI strings ?

I am still experimenting around with installs and my video card, which is causing me major headaches. I thought that it would be natively supported in 10.5.2, but i see it is not.

Let me know what you have found out, and maybe we can figure it out :o

#36
bolly

bolly

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
@LongTime
i didnt test efi strings in P35 chipsets..
Does the SHUTDOWN, RESTART and SLEEP/WAKE working in ur mobo?what is the bios ver. of ur mobo?

#37
LTL

LTL

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

@LongTime
i didnt test efi strings in P35 chipsets..
Does the SHUTDOWN, RESTART and SLEEP/WAKE working in ur mobo?what is the bios ver. of ur mobo?


Yes, Shutdown, Restart, and Sleep/Wake are working

I'm really sorry, but am not at my office... can post that data later

I just got it, so i presume the latest since it came direct from the factory a month ago (i could obviously be wrong)

#38
macstah

macstah

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
Hi Long Time Listen,

Good to see you had success and thanks for posting this great guide.

-M

#39
^_^

^_^

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of the raising sun
Hi,
crash my osx again trying to update 10.5.2.
was going well until the replace any kext part...
can you tell me what did you replace after the upgrade?

note:(try reinstall everything again from this guide, import user, apps and folder backup from time machine, try the kalyway combo update...
after the 2nd reboot it just got stuck in the grey loading screen... should have upgrade to 10.5.1 frist before upgrade to 10.5.2)

Thanks.

#40
LTL

LTL

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand

Hi,
crash my osx again trying to update 10.5.2.
was going well until the replace any kext part...
can you tell me what did you replace after the upgrade?

note:(try reinstall everything again from this guide, import user, apps and folder backup from time machine, try the kalyway combo update...
after the 2nd reboot it just got stuck in the grey loading screen... should have upgrade to 10.5.1 frist before upgrade to 10.5.2)

Thanks.


My guide is more of a bare bones guide from which you should mod based on your needs, experience and hardware.

Personally... I keep most of my data in the cloud so doing a fresh install is pretty easy for me. Back up iTunes, iPhoto, etc.

I follow my guide (have a few scripts that I will publish soon, along with updated file pack) with retail 10.5.1 disk.

Then I follow the 10.5.2 Guide listed

Then I repatch all files needed for post install

And in my case, install a certain NVinject for my card

Boots right up.

Follow me?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy