Jump to content

10.9 on the Surface Pro 3

Yosemite Surface Pro 3 i7 10.10

  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1
LonelyTV

LonelyTV

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta

Before I get into the post here is what I have found not working:

 

Type cover

Touch screen

Wi-Fi

Sound

Some graphics

 

----------------------------------------------

 

Seeing as the Surface Pro 3 and Surface Pro 2 share similar hardware I made an attempt to install 10.9.2 on to it. Following JahStories' tutorial I was able to get the machine to boot into the installer.

However, because of the new screen it seemed to hang at a black screen. To fix this I had to adjust some of the flags given to Clover. 

 

Here is a fixed "config.plist" that will let the installer and OS boot past the black screen:

 

 Attached File  Surface Pro 3 Clover Config.zip   1.55KB   146 downloads

 

I added to DSDT fixes: INTELGFX as well as GRAPHICS to the plist, changed the "Intel Injection" to true, changed the SMBIOS to a full Macbook Air SMBIOS, and removed the custom EDID since we have a new panel. 

 

Once in the OS the UI has some serious artifacts on the menu bar as well as the dock. I attribute this to the new screen and with time I'm sure we can figure out how to fix it. 

 

Here is the HEX for the EDID if you want to try out a custom EDID for the panel. I haven't had the chance to input it.

00FFFFFFFFFFFF004CA342350000000000170101951911780AEE95A3544C99260F505400000001010101010101010101010101010101785070A080A0295030203A00FEA9000000196A4070A080A0295030203A00FEA900000019000000FE0053414D53554E470A2020202020000000FE00313230514C30312D3030310A200069

This is just a start and I hope others will contribute so we can get it up and running.



#2
JahStories

JahStories

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sicily, Italy.
  • Interests:Everything that got a screen on it, skateboarding, reggae music, PowerPcs, Amigas and retrogamin...

you can try to use a genericxhci kext to make the keyboard work...



#3
LonelyTV

LonelyTV

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta

you can try to use a genericxhci kext to make the keyboard work...

 

Sadly, the two versions of the KEXT didn't work. I'll give it another go shortly.



#4
Eldabbagh

Eldabbagh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California
  • Interests:1 Word: Kext

Hey, do you have a short guide of what you've done so far?


  • jxt likes this

#5
LonelyTV

LonelyTV

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta

Hey, do you have a short guide of what you've done so far?

 

So far all I have done is trying to get the OS to install. In doing so I followed the first set of tutorials on the Surface Pro 2 thread (under the header: "Surface Pro 2 Gen Steps"). The only modifications I needed to do was to utilize the config.plist that I have posted above in place of the one the tutorial tells us to use. This got me into the installer and into the OS. 

 

I haven't had time to toy with anything else but as I said there isn't much left to try and fix. We need to get the Type Cover to work and iron out the graphical artifacts the screen has when in the OS. I'm thinking that the artifacts can be taken care of if we can get the right DSDT, any DSDT Modifications, as well as an adjusted conflg.plist. The type cover currently isn't working in Linux either so I'm suspecting it's due to a unsupported USB chipset. Something I'm sure that can be fixed with the right KEXT. 



#6
ccarrieta

ccarrieta

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

I wanted to check if there where any updates... I recently purchased a surface pro 3 and was interested in osx install



#7
JahStories

JahStories

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sicily, Italy.
  • Interests:Everything that got a screen on it, skateboarding, reggae music, PowerPcs, Amigas and retrogamin...

its still not ready for daily use...

 

but you can always test & try installing it as Lonelytv posted...

 

btw i find more interesting installing and fixing everything, than actually use my hackintoshes 

 

it's the insanely part :D



#8
jape

jape

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Developers
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male

I too have "artifacts" on the menu bar and dock, even on SP2. Maybe they are 4300U caused? I will post again about them on SFPro2 thread "soon".

 

 

By the way, AvastarFwLoader won't work on SP3, but the fix should be trivial (add a new personality for the new PCI IDs and mix in the new USB8897 firmware image from http://git.marvell.c...t;a=tree;f=mrvl

 

I will try to build a version that should work on all Surface models, but as usual, it may be some time until my next freetime slot.



#9
LonelyTV

LonelyTV

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta

I've had to stop work on trying to get OS X to run on my device recently. I've been having some issues with LCDs and I will be on my third Surface Pro 3 next week. However, I did figure a few things out:

 

  • Sound does work when you use VoodooHDA and remove the AppleHDA kext. This is no surprise since it worked on the Surface Pro 2, I just never got around to working with it.

 

  • The graphic artifacts go away when you boot into OS X with a resolution lower than native. I found the "1600x1066" resolution to be close enough to native.. I don't know what causes the artifacts just yet, but the fix currently is to set the resolution to lower than native, and reboot. Changing it back to native WILL cause the artifacts to show up again. Also, the brightness is fixed and can not be changed, yet.

 

  • I still have had NO success with the type cover or touch screen. No amount of KEXT I throw at it I can not make the type cover work. The touch screen, on the other hand, uses the N-Trig DuoSense (DS-4196) digitizer which is currently unsupported by Touch-Base (VID: 1B96 PID: 0001). I did not get the chance to check the other drivers listed on the Touch-Base site, but I figure it will be a no go since the one in the Surface Pro 3 is listed as unsupported.
  • Bluetooth is the only thing I did not attempt to fix. I'm certain the fix on JahStories' tutorial will work... but I'm uncertain.

That is it for now. Hopefully we can figure this stuff out.



#10
Paintry

Paintry

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Can you try switching color profiles. On my laptop with an HD4600 this sort of resolves the graphic artifacts.



#11
LonelyTV

LonelyTV

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta

Can you try switching color profiles. On my laptop with an HD4600 this sort of resolves the graphic artifacts.

Right you are! I tried the built in "sRGB IEC61966-2.1" and it eliminated nearly all of the graphical artifacts. The only ones I noticed on a reboot was on the desktop the two "hidden" files were garbled. I attribute this to the transparency they have. I'll test more shortly.

 

EDIT: Turns out it's not just the transparent files, I have two files and a folder on my desktop that become garbled when I reboot. I suspect it's just leftovers from the boot process before the device corrects the color profile. 


I've noticed with the type cover that the backlight turns off and then back on as if the device is trying to "initialize" it. I still don't know how to fix this, but it shouldn't be too hard. 



#12
SgtJonny

SgtJonny

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Right you are! I tried the built in "sRGB IEC61966-2.1" and it eliminated nearly all of the graphical artifacts. The only ones I noticed on a reboot was on the desktop the two "hidden" files were garbled. I attribute this to the transparency they have. I'll test more shortly.


I've noticed with the type cover that the backlight turns off and then back on as if the device is trying to "initialize" it. I still don't know how to fix this, but it shouldn't be too hard. 

 

Great work you're doing on the Surface Pro 3. I'm looking forward to some awesome OSX support and you're one of the people putting in the work to make that happen. Why is wifi support impossible on these units? See I'm perfectly ok if we don't get touch support....OSX really doesn't have any support for it anyway.



#13
LonelyTV

LonelyTV

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta

Great work you're doing on the Surface Pro 3. I'm looking forward to some awesome OSX support and you're one of the people putting in the work to make that happen. Why is wifi support impossible on these units? See I'm perfectly ok if we don't get touch support....OSX really doesn't have any support for it anyway.

OS X does not have Kernel Extensions, KEXT, that support Marvell’s Avastar 88W8897 or really any Avastar at that. Until either Apple or someone else writes a KEXT that supports it we are out of luck. In most cases you would just swap out the WiFi module for something that is compatible, but seeing as this is a SoC that is soldered onto the board we will have to make use of external dongles for it to work. I'm currently using the Edimax EW-7811Un USB dongle. 



#14
homeboy8181

homeboy8181

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Any updates with the i7 model and the HD5000 graphics?



#15
LonelyTV

LonelyTV

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta

Any updates with the i7 model and the HD5000 graphics?

Unfortunately, I don't have an i7 Surface Pro 3 so I can't test it. If you have one you can follow the steps in the tutorial I've linked and use the config.plist I've attached to my first post to see if it works for you.



#16
homeboy8181

homeboy8181

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Unfortunately, I don't have an i7 Surface Pro 3 so I can't test it. If you have one you can follow the steps in the tutorial I've linked and use the config.plist I've attached to my first post to see if it works for you.

I don't have any Macs that I can use to create a bootable usb drive though. 



#17
JahStories

JahStories

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sicily, Italy.
  • Interests:Everything that got a screen on it, skateboarding, reggae music, PowerPcs, Amigas and retrogamin...

use a vm under windows ;)



#18
golosin2

golosin2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Hi guys!

 

New to non-Apple products, owning a Surface Pro 3. Always used Mac since 10.3 Panther.

 

From what i have red, OSX for SP3 still lacks features such as the touschscreen, wifi, etc. Do you guys think that it will be ever be compatible with OSX (I know wifi will be difficult)?

 

Thanks!



#19
JahStories

JahStories

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sicily, Italy.
  • Interests:Everything that got a screen on it, skateboarding, reggae music, PowerPcs, Amigas and retrogamin...

the surface pro 3 is already compatible with OS X, there are missing drivers yet, but the system boots...

its just a matter of time...

 

for ex. in Italy and in many other countries it's not out yet, just announced.



#20
drpheta

drpheta

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

New to insanelymac, but are you guys able to boot OS X on the SP3 with OS X installed on the microSD slot/card? I also want to confirm that Bluetooth is working on the SP3 with OS X.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Yosemite, Surface Pro 3, i7, 10.10


2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy