Jump to content

Cardbus/PCMCIA Controller ID 104C:8039 Texas Instruments PCIxx12


  • Please log in to reply
418 replies to this topic

#321
~Eureka

~Eureka

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts

Hi, I've tried rev3 and still no go. This is my linux lspci -v output:

07:06.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
	   Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Unknown device ff10
	   Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 168, IRQ 18
	   Memory at f0906000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
	   Bus: primary=07, secondary=08, subordinate=0b, sec-latency=176
	   Memory window 0: 88000000-8bfff000 (prefetchable)
	   Memory window 1: 8c000000-8ffff000
	   I/O window 0: 00006000-000060ff
	   I/O window 1: 00006400-000064ff
	   16-bit legacy interface ports at 0001
and attached is my IOPCCardFamily.kext modified to fit my needs (if there is problem with extraction try to change 'tar.gz' to 'tgz').

Can you have a look at it, please? I'm so angry on my hardware :(

@Kizwan: my Laptop is Toshiba Tecra A7, so it should be 'TECRA A7' (I've entered output manually and mistyped it)
I've tried "TECRA A7" and 'TECRA A7' in Info.plistRegards,Mariusz



Hmmm, what should I check? If You mean to disable FireWire, there is no such option in BIOS :) (BTW: FireWire is recognized correctly but I have no hardware to attach and check)

Regards,Mariusz.


Hi Mariusz,

Try this kext and let me know the result. Don't change anything on info.plist.
Don't forget to backup the old files before trying it.

Chun-Nan

#322
fingerr

fingerr

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Hi Mariusz,

Try this kext and let me know the result. Don't change anything on info.plist.
Don't forget to backup the old files before trying it.

Chun-Nan

At first i'd like to thank for your eforts Chun-Nan!

I got kernel panic using last kext.

See attached screen.

Regards,
Mariusz.

Attached Files



#323
~Eureka

~Eureka

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts

At first i'd like to thank for your eforts Chun-Nan!

I got kernel panic using last kext.

See attached screen.

Regards,
Mariusz.


Hi Mariusz,

Thanks for trying. According to the source code, your pccard doesn't pass "pci bridge numbering" checking. I am not sure why and need to find more information on it.

Checking options on BIOS to see if there is anything related to it.
Which Leopard are you using now? Also, have you try different AppleACPIPlatform files?

Chun-Nan

#324
fingerr

fingerr

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Hi Mariusz,

Thanks for trying. According to the source code, your pccard doesn't pass "pci bridge numbering" checking. I am not sure why and need to find more information on it.

Checking options on BIOS to see if there is anything related to it.
Which Leopard are you using now? Also, have you try different AppleACPIPlatform files?

Chun-Nan


Right now I use Leopard 10.5.1. BIOS doesn't seem to have any PCMCIA related options.
I tried also different AppleACPIPlatform kext.

Shall I try IOPCCardFamily_Mariusz.zip with other AppleACPIPlatform kexts?

Regards,
Mariusz.

#325
pincopanco

pincopanco

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
i follow this thred from when it is been born
I am passed through the 10.4.7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 and leo
now for the first time it works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MY PCMCIA Controller ID 104C:8039 Texas Instruments PCIxx12 WORKS!!!!!!!!!

i have istalled the 2 kext rev3

it's incredible ..... IT WORKS!!!!!

I do not have words for this, especially in English
sorry for my ugly English translate with a widget of dashboard ;)

many many many many many thanksss Chun-Nan

:yoji:

#326
Java Duke

Java Duke

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
Hi Chun-Nan,

One more little thing - my machine just refuses to boot if I enable Firewire ports in BIOS. When I boot with -v option, it freeses after those lines printed:
IOPCCard info: Intel PCIC probe: TI XX12 rev 00
AppleIntelPIIXPATA: Secondary PCI IDE channel is disabled

If I disable 1394, it boots up and works fine.

Not a big deal for me but just in case :)

#327
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Hi guys,

I have updated another revised of IOPCCardFamily. In this version, you do not have to edit the info.plist to match your machine. It is working on my notebook and I hope it will be helpful for those who don't how to change the info.plist. In addition, I also include the IOPCIFamily in case that some need it. (Both of two files are compiled from the original Leopard source code.)

How to use?

  • Backup your original IOPCCardFamily driver (and IOPCIFamily driver)
  • Replace your IOPCCardFamily driver with the attached one that contains all necessary modifications
  • Reboot
  • As root, type "dmesg | grep PC"; you should see something about TI xx12 being found
Welcome to try it and let me know the result. Don't forget to backup the old files before trying it.

Chun-Nan


Hi Chun-Nan,
My CardBus adapter working after using rev. 1. Didn't try rev. 2. I tried rev. 3 and so far my CardBus adapter recognized & working perfectly. I don't have to edit Info.plist for I/O & Memory ranges with rev. 3.

I also tried your IOPCIFamily kext file just in case it will detect my PCI-express bus properly. Still cannot recognized my on board atheros. But don't worry, this is known problem for Acer laptop.

Now I have Linksys WPC54G working as AirPort!!

Thank you so much for your effort. :censored2:

#328
~Eureka

~Eureka

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts

Right now I use Leopard 10.5.1. BIOS doesn't seem to have any PCMCIA related options.
I tried also different AppleACPIPlatform kext.

Shall I try IOPCCardFamily_Mariusz.zip with other AppleACPIPlatform kexts?

Regards,
Mariusz.


Hi Mariusz,

I haven't found the solution yet.....
Just curious if you have used BrazilMac patched?

Chun-Nan

#329
fingerr

fingerr

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Hi Mariusz,

I haven't found the solution yet.....
Just curious if you have used BrazilMac patched?

Chun-Nan

Hi Chun-Nan,

I'm realy not sure about this, could be that I applied that patch.

What if I had?

p.s.
I'have just restored vanilla kexts:
AppleACPIPlatform
AppleAHCIPort
AppleAPIC
AppleSMBIOS
IOAHCIFamily
IOACPIFamily

and still no luck :gun:

Any ideas?


Regards,
Mariusz.

Edited by Mariusz, 08 January 2008 - 09:23 AM.


#330
Hawie

Hawie

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
Bad news for me. I tried all revs include rev1 to rev3, w/wo IOPCIFamily.kext come with it, but get kernel panic always.

I read all the pre posts, and think that, may be EFI problem?
My Both OS(leopard 10.5 and 10.5.1) tested, all boot with EFIv8.

Anybody who tried it successful with EFI?
Thanks to Chun-Nan, u give me new hope to get it work. I'll try later without EFI boot, any help will be appreciated.

#331
~Eureka

~Eureka

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts

Hi Chun-Nan,I'm realy not sure about this, could be that I applied that patch.What if I had?p.s.I'have just restored vanilla kexts:AppleACPIPlatformAppleAHCIPortAppleAPICAppleSMBIOSIOAHCIFamilyIOACPIFamily
nd still no luck :( Any ideas?Regards,Mariusz.

Hi Mariuz,I still haven't got the solution yet. I have talked to another guy. He got the same error meesage as yours but his chip is RICOH, not TI. And he has used BrazilMac Patch to create his own Leopard. That is the information I know so far.Chun-Nan

Bad news for me. I tried all revs include rev1 to rev3, w/wo IOPCIFamily.kext come with it, but get kernel panic always.I read all the pre posts, and think that, may be EFI problem?My Both OS(leopard 10.5 and 10.5.1) tested, all boot with EFIv8.Anybody who tried it successful with EFI? Thanks to Chun-Nan, u give me new hope to get it work. I'll try later without EFI boot, any help will be appreciated.

Hi Hawie,Have you tried to use other ways to try to get PCCard working before? If you have, you have to restore the files you have replaced to the original files, especially those files from Tiger. I am using Leopard and compiled the leopard source codes. Or you may get the kernel panic by using my files.If you try rev1 and rev2, you "absolutely" have to edit the info.plist in IOPCCardFamily to match your machine. If you use rev3, you don't have to edit anything on info.plist.Chun-Nan

#332
~Eureka

~Eureka

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts
Hi guys,

Here is the IOPCCardFamily file with "debug info". If you have problems on your pccard, you can try to load this kext to see where and why it goes wrong.

1. Suggest you to unplug your pccard from the slot. (try to elimate the variables....)
2. Boot with "-s" to enter single user mode and you will see the information on pccard.
3. The generl steps would be: probe --> start --> configuration ......

If you got the kernel panic, try to find out if you have replaced some files from others and restore those files you have replaced and try again.

If you got the eorror message with "checkBridgeBusIDs invalid sub/cardbus/pci settings", right now I haven't figured out the reason. (Have you ever used Brazilmac patch??)

If you got the other messages, post it if you would like.

If you would like to report your errors or problems, please also include some information on your system, ex. which leopard you are using. what kext you have replaced or installed, etc.

Don't forget to backup your original file before trying it.

Chun-Nan

P.S. If you would like to try rev1 and rev2 file, "REMEMBER" to edit info.plist inside IOPCCardFamily to match your machine or you may get the kernel panic while you plug your card into the slot. You don't have to do so if you try rev3.

Attached Files



#333
LowTech

LowTech

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location:Il Palatinato Superiore

Hi guys,

I have updated another revised of IOPCCardFamily. In this version, you do not have to edit the info.plist to match your machine. It is working on my notebook and I hope it will be helpful for those who don't how to change the info.plist. In addition, I also include the IOPCIFamily in case that some need it. (Both of two files are compiled from the original Leopard source code.)

How to use?

  • Backup your original IOPCCardFamily driver (and IOPCIFamily driver)
  • Replace your IOPCCardFamily driver with the attached one that contains all necessary modifications
  • Reboot
  • As root, type "dmesg | grep PC"; you should see something about TI xx12 being found
Welcome to try it and let me know the result. Don't forget to backup the old files before trying it.

Chun-Nan

Hi Chun-Nan,

your 3rd rev works out-of-the-box on an Acer Travelmate 5720G with Kaly 10.5.1! I could test it with Exsys 1394 cardbus and attached DVD-drive. To sad that my Atheros 5001 wireless card (VEN=168C DEV=0013) was only recognized as an ethernet card, instead of an airport device. No idea if this depends on the PCIxx12 driver or something else.

Great job, well done! :wacko:

Thanks,
LowTech

#334
fingerr

fingerr

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
Hi Chun-Nan,

I've found way to get it recognized (later I'll try to attach some PCMCIA device).

As I wrote you in PM I've used files from http://forum.insanel...o...2&hl=pcmcia.
The steps where (I hope I remeber all of them in proper order):

1. Replaced following kexts with ones from 1051_AR5001_USBHSpeed.zip :
AppleACPIPlatform
AppleAPIC
IOACPIFamily
IOPCCARDFamily
IOPCIFamily
IOUSBFamily

2. Edited IOPCCardFamily Info.plist to mach my I/O and Memory Window
3. Replaced IOPCCardFamily inside IOPCCardFamily/Contents/MacOX with the one from IOPCCardFamily_debug.zip
4. Rebooted and got it recognized!

Here is the dmesg output after reboot:
IOPCCard info:   Mac OS X PCMCIA Card Services 3.1.22
IOPCCard info:	 options:  [pci] [cardbus] [pnp]
IOPCCard debug:  IOPCCardBridge::probe
IOPCCard debug:  IOPCCardBridge::start
IOPCCard debug:  IOPCCardBridge::configure
IOPCCard debug:  adding bridge mem space 0x88000000-0x8bfff000
IOPCCard debug:  cs: CardServices(AdjustResourceInfo, 0x0x12345678, 0x0x34923ce4)
IOPCCard debug:  adding bridge mem space 0x8c000000-0x8ffff000
IOPCCard debug:  cs: CardServices(AdjustResourceInfo, 0x0x12345678, 0x0x34923ce4)
IOPCCard debug:  adding bridge io  space 0x6000-0x60ff
IOPCCard debug:  cs: CardServices(AdjustResourceInfo, 0x0x12345678, 0x0x34923ce4)
IOPCCard debug:  adding bridge io  space 0x6400-0x64ff
IOPCCard debug:  cs: CardServices(AdjustResourceInfo, 0x0x12345678, 0x0x34923ce4)
IOPCCard debug:  cs: CardServices(GetCardServicesInfo, 0x0x34923d38, 0x0)
IOPCCard debug:  i82365.c 1.326 2000/10/02 20:27:49 (David Hinds)
IOPCCard info:   Intel PCIC probe: 
IOPCCard info:	 TI XX12 rev 00  PCI-to-CardBus phys mem 0xf0906000 virt mem 0x351da000IOPCCard debug:  IOPCCardBridge::setPowerState state=2

IOPCCard info:	   host opts [0]: [pci only] [pci irq 18] [lat 64/176] [bus 8/8]
IOPCCard info:	   PCI card interrupts, PCI status changes
IOPCCard debug:  cs: register_ss_entry(0-1, 0x0x350f2dff)
IOPCCard debug:  ds.c 1.104 2000/01/11 01:18:02 (David Hinds)
IOPCCard debug:  cs: CardServices(GetCardServicesInfo, 0x0x34923d44, 0x0)
IOPCCard debug:  cs: CardServices(BindDevice, 0x0x34923d3c, 0x0)
IOPCCard debug:  init_waitqueue_head stubbed out!
IOPCCard debug:  cs: bind_device(): client 0x0x47bbd04, sock 0, dev Driver Services
IOPCCard debug:  cs: CardServices(RegisterClient, 0x0x4681588, 0x0x34923cfc)
IOPCCard debug:  i82365: GetStatus(0) = 0x30
IOPCCard debug:  cs: register_client(): client 0x0x47bbd04, sock 0, dev Driver Services
IOPCCard debug:  IOPCCardBridge::setBridgePowerState state=2

Unfortunately I've lost my Broadcom WiFi (which is more important for me than PCMCIA) :)

Maybe this will guide you to solution to get it working under Leopard's kexts? In my humble opinion IOPCIFamily.kext can be the 'source of evil' :(

Regards,
Mariusz.

#335
djmastera2000

djmastera2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts

Hi Mariuz,I still haven't got the solution yet. I have talked to another guy. He got the same error meesage as yours but his chip is RICOH, not TI. And he has used BrazilMac Patch to create his own Leopard. That is the information I know so far.Chun-NanHi Hawie,Have you tried to use other ways to try to get PCCard working before? If you have, you have to restore the files you have replaced to the original files, especially those files from Tiger. I am using Leopard and compiled the leopard source codes. Or you may get the kernel panic by using my files.If you try rev1 and rev2, you "absolutely" have to edit the info.plist in IOPCCardFamily to match your machine. If you use rev3, you don't have to edit anything on info.plist.Chun-Nan



Yes, this guy was me lol

So, i have an Ricoh PCCard Chipset and got this error with v3 too: IOPCCardBridge::checkBridgeBusIDs invalid sub/cardbus/pci settings of 0x0

But i don't think so this don't work because of my patched installation with BrazilMac, because i use all vanilla kext, nothing patched no more...
And EFI isn't a problem too i think...

With the debug one i get something like that(not a copy, just typed by hand lol):

IOPCCard info: Mac OS X PCMCIA Card Services
IOPCCard info: options: [pci] [cardbus] [pnp]
IOPCCard debug: IOPCCardBridge::probe
IOPCCard debug: checkBridgeBusIDs invalid invalid sub/cardbus/pci settings of 0x0
IOPCCard info: IOPCCARDBridge::free


So, let's see if we can get it running with Chun-Nan driver: anyone, however TI or Ricoh Chipset, plz post here if you got it runnning or not and which error you got...


...

Maybe this will guide you to solution to get it working under Leopard's kexts? In my humble opinion IOPCIFamily.kext can be the 'source of evil' :)

Regards,
Mariusz.


That was my thought too, but don't know how to change this...

#336
fingerr

fingerr

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Yes, this guy was me lol

So, i have an Ricoh PCCard Chipset and got this error with v3 too: IOPCCardBridge::checkBridgeBusIDs invalid sub/cardbus/pci settings of 0x0

But i don't think so this don't work because of my patched installation with BrazilMac, because i use all vanilla kext, nothing patched no more...
And EFI isn't a problem too i think...

With the debug one i get something like that(not a copy, just typed by hand lol):

IOPCCard info: Mac OS X PCMCIA Card Services
IOPCCard info: options: [pci] [cardbus] [pnp]
IOPCCard debug: IOPCCardBridge::probe
IOPCCard debug: checkBridgeBusIDs invalid invalid sub/cardbus/pci settings of 0x0
IOPCCard info: IOPCCARDBridge::free
So, let's see if we can get it running with Chun-Nan driver: anyone, however TI or Ricoh Chipset, plz post here if you got it runnning or not and which error you got...
That was my thought too, but don't know how to change this...


I'm 99,99% sure it's IOPCIFamily.

I've just restored vanilla AppleACPIPlatform AppleAPIC IOACPIFamily and my Cardbus is recognized (like in previous post). When I put vanilla IOPCIFamily I get this checkBridgeBusIDs invalid invalid sub/cardbus/pci settings of 0x0 message again.

p.s.
Vanilla IOUSBFamily and Broadcom WiFi also fails when using IOPCIFamily from 1051_AR5001_USBHSpeed.zip

Hope this help.

Regards,
Mariusz.

#337
djmastera2000

djmastera2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
So i think, as i told Chan-Nun last night, we have to add our memory ranges, hw ids, ..., to IOPCIFamily and then it would run...

Will try this now with PCIFamily you chosen there...

#338
fingerr

fingerr

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

So i think, as i told Chan-Nun last night, we have to add our memory ranges, hw ids, ..., to IOPCIFamily and then it would run...

Will try this now with PCIFamily you chosen there...


I suspect apple removed our ven/dev ids from Leopards IOPCIFamily (they have done this before in other kexts), but I don't know how to add it to IOPCIFamily, I' not a developer.

Chun-Nan is our hope :(

p.s.
I suggest you to use AppleACPIPlatform AppleAPIC IOACPIFamily IOUSBFamily from 1051_AR5001_USBHSpeed.zip. When I've restored vanilla ones system was booting very slow so I've done hard reset.
Good Luck!

Regards,
Mariusz.

#339
djmastera2000

djmastera2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
I tested it, v3 from Chan-Nun(Great work mate!!!) and IOPCIFamily above, and Voila: PCMCIA Chipset recognized by MACOSX...with all vanilla kext, booting ok but:

Airport not ok, USB patrially ok, Firewire not ok, some components not ok, and my PCMCIA device not ok/not recognized (3G PCMCIA Modem)...i think with this IOPCIFamily some HW IDs are gone lol

So, Chun-Nun, are you able to compile an new one with our IDs/Memory ranges please(you have my data :) )?

#340
~Eureka

~Eureka

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts

I suspect apple removed our ven/dev ids from Leopards IOPCIFamily (they have done this before in other kexts), but I don't know how to add it to IOPCIFamily, I' not a developer. Chun-Nan is our hope ;) p.s.I suggest you to use AppleACPIPlatform AppleAPIC IOACPIFamily IOUSBFamily from 1051_AR5001_USBHSpeed.zip. When I've restored vanilla ones system was booting very slow so I've done hard reset.Good Luck!Regards,Mariusz.

Hi Mariusz,You meant when you restored all the files you changed according to 1051_AR5001_USBHSpeed.zip, your pccard works but your Broadcom WiFi doesn't?If so, have you edited any those files to make your Broadcom WiFi work? If you have, can you let me know which files you have edited to make your WiFi work?Chun-NanBTW, what kind of interface does your Broadcom WiFi have? USB, built-in?

Hi Chun-Nan,your 3rd rev works out-of-the-box on an Acer Travelmate 5720G with Kaly 10.5.1! I could test it with Exsys 1394 cardbus and attached DVD-drive. To sad that my Atheros 5001 wireless card (VEN=168C DEV=0013) was only recognized as an ethernet card, instead of an airport device. No idea if this depends on the PCIxx12 driver or something else.Great job, well done! :D Thanks,LowTech

Hi LowTech,If you pccard works after using the rev3 file, you still have to edit the info.plist under IO80211Family.kext to have your Atheros 5001 recognized. The rev3 file only makes the pccard slot recognized and started.Chun-Nan

Hi Chun-Nan,One more little thing - my machine just refuses to boot if I enable Firewire ports in BIOS. When I boot with -v option, it freeses after those lines printed:IOPCCard info: Intel PCIC probe: TI XX12 rev 00AppleIntelPIIXPATA: Secondary PCI IDE channel is disabledIf I disable 1394, it boots up and works fine.Not a big deal for me but just in case :P

Hi Jave Duke,I am not sure if the firewire has anything to do with IOPCCardFamily. It seems that your pccard started correctly. Maybe you can try the kext with "debug info" to get more information and make sure the pccard started correctly or not.Chun-Nan





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy