Jump to content

Ozmosis

Bootloader

  • Please log in to reply
5652 replies to this topic

#41
StoneTemplePilots

StoneTemplePilots

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria

Can you show your boot log ...

P8Z77-V LX UEFI ver. 2204

Intel Core i7-3770

GeForce GTX570 Phantom

16GB Corsair DDR3 (2x8)

 

Bootlog, how? Where is it stored?

 

DPCI dump Ozmosis

DPCI dump Chameleon



#42
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,399 posts
  • Gender:Male
29:165 00:000 Found Mac OS X 10.8.4 (10.8.4) 12E55
29:165 00:000 Found 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args "<null string>" (0)
29:165 00:000 Found LoadedImage->LoadOptions "<null string>" (0)
29:165 00:000 LoadedImage->LoadOptions "slide=0" (16)

Try sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args="-v"

then type sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args 

It should say "-v"

Reboot and check bootlog

or run sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args again and see if it says "-v"

if not you need to file FW that works (1701 or 1440)

You may loose a few features but you will gain more ;)



#43
maleorderbride

maleorderbride

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks for that STLVNUB.  It does indeed appear that this bios revision (4302) does not allow me to write to NVRAM on my P9X79 Pro.  I will check earlier versions to see if they allow it.

 

This may be a silly question, but if earlier BIOS versions routinely gain or lose the ability to write to NVRAM from within the OS, then might we not edit that ability back into the latest BIOS versions ourselves?



#44
StoneTemplePilots

StoneTemplePilots

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria
29:165 00:000 Found Mac OS X 10.8.4 (10.8.4) 12E55
29:165 00:000 Found 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args "<null string>" (0)
29:165 00:000 Found LoadedImage->LoadOptions "<null string>" (0)
29:165 00:000 LoadedImage->LoadOptions "slide=0" (16)

Try sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args="-v"

then type sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args 

It should say "-v"

Reboot and check bootlog

or run sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args again and see if it says "-v"

if not you need to file FW that works (1701 or 1440)

You may loose a few features but you will gain more ;)

 

I'm sorry to say the settings are gone on reboot :(



#45
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,399 posts
  • Gender:Male

Then you need to find previous FW that works.

Best to make a signature with your specs as well.


I'm sorry to say the settings are gone on reboot :(

Further to above, can you supply your Firmware file, want to check something.



#46
StoneTemplePilots

StoneTemplePilots

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria

Then you need to find previous FW that works.

Best to make a signature with your specs as well.


Further to above, can you supply your Firmware file, want to check something.

http://rghost.net/48628543

 

Is it maybe due to the missing DataHubDxe.efi?



#47
truemac

truemac

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 238 posts

hi

iMessage Works again!!!

i had to change the BaseBoardSerial number,

like this

sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=C02140302XXXXXXX

MLB shows now 17 Bytes, befor shows 12 Bytes

06:343 00:000 Setting RS+BS 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB 17 bytes - Success
06:343 00:000 Setting RS+BS 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM 6 bytes - Success

Xp thank you for a nice theard!



#48
magnifico

magnifico

    The Special One

  • Donators
  • 3,511 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hei milj , we want to do ? we are left with the speech outstanding , I have to give up?

#49
lice

lice

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thx for THE hard work.
I tried to make a modded bios myself.
And got iT working, but with one problem. Nvram didn't stick.

Now I finaly found THE bios wich holds THE nvram.
ITS bios f2f.
I am busy modding iT als we speak.
Let you al know how iT Will turn out

#50
tonydickinson

tonydickinson

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Singapore

@STLVNUB

 

If I can find a reasonably priced case, power supply and Ram I might have a go at using the Gigabyte Z77MX-D3H TH with Ozmosis, as you have had great success with a very similar motherboard.

 

The important issue is saving nvram - looking at the BIOS available ex GB your board has far more available, mine has only three F6b, F5, and F3. I see the latest official BIOS for your board is F16d.

 

I am asking this as I am slightly wary of buying the bits I need, if the BIOS available lock the OS writing to nvram.

 

So question - Have you any thoughts to guide me on this issue?

 

Thanks



#51
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,399 posts
  • Gender:Male

@STLVNUB

 

If I can find a reasonably priced case, power supply and Ram I might have a go at using the Gigabyte Z77MX-D3H TH with Ozmosis, as you have had great success with a very similar motherboard.

 

The important issue is saving nvram - looking at the BIOS available ex GB your board has far more available, mine has only three F6b, F5, and F3. I see the latest official BIOS for your board is F16d.

 

I am asking this as I am slightly wary of buying the bits I need, if the BIOS available lock the OS writing to nvram.

 

So question - Have you any thoughts to guide me on this issue?

 

Thanks

I would think that with the F3 and F5 bios, NVRAM is writable, so I would go with the F5.

F6b has Secure boot and I think part of that is the locking of NVRAM. Maybe Google might help with this.

 

I would say my F13 is possibly the base for the F3. There seems to be a pattern here.

Mine has been out a little longer, hence the more bios files. I am using F15, The F16 series started having Secure boot enabled and that is when the NVRAm locking started.

 

Ozmosis can only get better, and by that, I mean support some of the Newer boards (Z87 etc) so it is up to you.

 

It's looks like a nice MB, probably closer to the Quo board, If iI had the money, I'd probably go for it.

 

Hope this helps.



#52
tonydickinson

tonydickinson

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Singapore

I would think that with the F3 and F5 bios, NVRAM is writable, so I would go with the F5.

F6b has Secure boot and I think part of that is the locking of NVRAM. Maybe Google might help with this.

 

I would say my F13 is possibly the base for the F3. There seems to be a pattern here.

Mine has been out a little longer, hence the more bios files. I am using F15, The F16 series started having Secure boot enabled and that is when the NVRAm locking started.

 

Ozmosis can only get better, and by that, I mean support some of the Newer boards (Z87 etc) so it is up to you.

 

It's looks like a nice MB, probably closer to the Quo board, If iI had the money, I'd probably go for it.

 

Hope this helps.

Thanks STLVNUB very useful. Where I live,  we get good deals on IT stuff as its very competitive. I had an issue with ITunes playing movies and managed to get a good deal off a friend who has a store here and I got the GB Z77 board to see whether the same iTunes issue would manifest  on the GB board, which had green screen issues while trying to play iTunes movies on the Z77 Asus Sabertooth. There was no change and after a couple of days reverted back to the Sabertooth.

 

Z87 well all the signs were that the saving nvram issues where confined to Z77 and as you will see in the AsusROG thread  the indications where that Z87 were not affected. But alas this board ( the ASUS Z87 Dual Deluxe with Thunderbolt2 ) does require EmuVariableUefi-64.efi  to save Nvram. I was disappointed as a couple of guys with the Gryphon (is it?) suggests that nvram is saved. No so in my case - also there are not too many "old" bios versions around for the Z87.

 

See http://rog.asus.com/...00-series-cards!-It-s-Here!/page10 posts #91/92/94/95

EDIT: Rereading all that - I wonder if he is mistaken as some Gigabyte BIOS are the same. My own noob guess is that this comes from Intel rather than the  Mboard manufactures.

I will let you know how I get on.



#53
SyJet

SyJet

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia

Ok here is a bash script that you can use, just replace the "Replace"

#!/bin/bash
#SMBIOS
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion=MM61.88Z.0106.B00.1208091121
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName=Macmini6,2
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial=replace
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily=Macmini
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId=Mac-F65AE981FFA204ED
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=Replace
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSKU=MD389LL/A
#OzmosisNVRAM
sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args="-fakesmc-use-nvram"

#APPLE
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM=Replace e.g %90%90%9090%90
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeatures=%C0%00%7F%FF
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeaturesMask=%C0%00%14%03 

#CODE
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosDate
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BoardVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:Manufacturer
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProcessorSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSKU
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardAssetTag
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ChassisAssetTag
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:CpuType
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:EnclosureType

#CODE
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeatures
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeaturesMask

The "ROM" is your Lan wired MAC address.

Ozmosis uses it's own nvram to pass boot-args.

 

Your Firmware must support NVRAM saving, sometimes you may need to backtrack a few versions to find one that does, then any NVRAM settings will stick.

I had to go from F16g to F15

 

 

 

Anyone wishing to do this mod, may find this handy

#205

Turns kexts into Ffs for inclusion into Firmware.  ;)

What is the difference between 

sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial=replace

and

sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=Replace

?

 

And what about the iMac13,2?



#54
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 1,249 posts
  • Gender:Male

What is the difference between 

sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial=replace

and

sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=Replace

?

 

And what about the iMac13,2?

System Serial is just regular serial number of a given Mac model, BaseBoard Serial is 17 character (essentially MLB), namely used for Messages.



#55
Riley Freeman

Riley Freeman

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Streets

I was looking through my X79 BIOS file in MMTool and spotted a NTFS module. It's half the size of the Asrock one.

 

Seeing as space is precious I figured it might be useful. Here it is.

 

Only downside is it doesn't read the volume labels on drives. 



#56
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,399 posts
  • Gender:Male

But alas this board ( the ASUS Z87 Dual Deluxe with Thunderbolt2 ) does require EmuVariableUefi-64.efi  to save Nvram.

I had to use EmuVariableUEFI-64.efi for the F16 series of FW as well, don't use (like) rc scripts.

Not sure on the Z87, so can't really comment on them.



#57
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 594 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

 My own noob guess is that this comes from Intel rather than the  Mboard manufactures.

I will let you know how I get on.

This come from Microsoft,and its requirements for Windows 8 WHQL

Only windows can write to nvram..



#58
bs0d

bs0d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 273 posts

erm linux, efi shell all can write to nvram.

 

its definitely not a requirement of windows 8 WHQL.



#59
maleorderbride

maleorderbride

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Gender:Male

If the ability to write to NVRAM changes with a BIOS update then clearly the ability to do so is a part of the BIOS programming.

 

Like any other part we should be able to isolate it, or the parts that are requisite for it, and then insert them into BIOS versions that do not normally have this ability.



#60
StoneTemplePilots

StoneTemplePilots

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria

If the ability to write to NVRAM changes with a BIOS update then clearly the ability to do so is a part of the BIOS programming.

 

Like any other part we should be able to isolate it, or the parts that are requisite for it, and then insert them into BIOS versions that do not normally have this ability.

 

But as mentioned above the issues writing to NVRAM is NOT a BIOS version issue, cause booting from Clover or Chameleon you can still write to NVRAM, also from linux.

The problem is ozmosis-specific :) and as long as ozmosis isn't opensource we won't be able to figure it out.

For the moment I decided to quit with ozmosis due to several other issues, for example in UEFI shell it's causing a sudden reset/reboot, problem verified on P8Z77-V LX and GA-Z77-D3H.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Bootloader


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy