Jump to content

Lenovo ThinkPad T420 with UEFI Only

* * * * * 46 votes UEFI ThinkPad T420 Lenovo Clover

Best Answer tluck, 08 October 2013 - 02:47 PM

Lenovo T420 Clover Guide 09-August-2017 Update

  • Release v2017.08.09 on GitHub
    • Updated to Clover r4154 - blackscreen and DualLink fixes (thanks sherlocks and syscl)
    • Recompiled latest Lilu 1.1.6 (from GitHub)
    • Updated Theme for High Sierra

Various Releases and Tweaks over Last 6 months

Spoiler

Overview

Spoiler

New Installation Steps and Details

Spoiler

Part 1 - OS Installation

Spoiler

Part 2 - Post OS Installation and Setup on HD

Spoiler

Known Issues and Random Tips:

Spoiler

Notes on Custom Kexts

Spoiler

General Notes, Fixes, and Features

Spoiler

Optional: Create a custom SSDT

Spoiler

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
3651 replies to this topic

#501
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@vapayo - curious - what does your installer look like from the command line? mine has these files (when i make it with LionDisMaker 2.0.2):

 

and if you boot your installer - do you have an option to go to Utilities? if so, what does your HD look like after the install (now)?

 

 

tluck@toms-mac /Volumes/Install-10.8.5

$ ls -la

total 946368

drwxrwxr-t  25 tluck  staff        918 Oct  5 19:28 .

drwxrwxrwt@ 11 root   admin        374 Oct 11 11:48 ..

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff       6148 Oct  6 11:25 .DS_Store

-rw-r--r--   1 tluck  staff          7 Sep 15 02:37 .LionDiskMaker_OSVersion

drwx------   5 tluck  staff        170 Sep 15 02:17 .Spotlight-V100

d-wx-wx-wt   2 tluck  staff         68 Sep 15 02:17 .Trashes

-rw-r--r--   1 tluck  staff        340 Oct  5 19:28 .apdisk

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff        581 Sep  5 02:43 .disk_label

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff       2333 Sep  5 02:43 .disk_label_2x

drwx------   5 tluck  staff        170 Oct 11 11:46 .fseventsd

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff       1876 Sep  5 02:45 BaseSystem.chunklist

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff  457779925 Sep  5 02:41 BaseSystem.dmg

drwxr-xr-x   3 tluck  staff        102 Aug 29 19:42 Install OS X Mountain Lion.app

drwxr-xr-x@  3 tluck  staff        102 Sep  5 01:31 Library

-r--r--r--@  1 tluck  staff      46516 Sep 15 02:37 MacOSX_Media_Background.png

drwxr-xr-x@ 18 tluck  staff        612 Sep  5 02:45 Packages

drwxr-xr-x@  3 tluck  staff        102 Jun 20  2012 System

drwxr-xr-x+ 11 tluck  staff        374 Sep 15 02:37 Utilities

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff     314880 Sep 15 14:45 boot

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff     994464 May 15 19:12 boot.efi

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff   17121775 Sep  5 01:54 kernelcache

-rw-r--r--@  1 tluck  staff    8244640 Jul 29 19:34 mach_kernel

drwxr-xr-x@  3 tluck  staff        102 Sep  5 02:43 usr


@vapayo - curious - what does your installer look like from the command line? mine has these files (when i make it with LionDisMaker 2.0.2):

 

and if you boot your installer - do you have an option to go to Utilities? if so, what does your HD look like after the install (now)?



#502
Sheep_Reaper

Sheep_Reaper

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Palmerton, PA, USA

@vapayo

 

well. if OSX is installed on your HD, then Clover should NOT be giving you this option: Boot OS X Install from Machintosh HD. some how you have an installer option and not the "regular OS" ... for it should be give you option: Boot Mac OS X from Machintosh HD 

 

 

I ran into this situation once. If you see clover offering to boot OSX Install from the internal HD then likely your installation did not complete successfully. When you first run the installer, it copies/extracts the installation files to the target volume. Then it (supposed to) reboots from the HD to finish the installation. Then after it reboots after this, it should offer Boot OSX from HD and not Install. I noticed this when I finished the first part of the install and then failed to reboot. I lost my root device in there somewhere, but once I fixed it, the install continued after reboot and then all was well.



#503
vapayo

vapayo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
@tluck A screen of my install media is attached. In the disk manager it shows only a few files. :/ My install really seems to be broken. @Sheep_Reaper How exactly did you fixed yours?

Attached Files



#504
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@Tetonne - why can't you install 10.9?

 

@Vapayo - 10.8.5 - turn off Bluetooth in BIOS for the install - this may be why it wont complete properly.

But there is another way to make an installer.  you need 

 

follow this - works for 10.8 too http://osxdaily.com/...-install-drive/

 

you could just  copy BaseSystem.dmg and Packages from your current USB to /Temp

(they are hidden but you can change them by

chflags nohidden * 

or use command line cp

 

then open BaseSystem.dmg

then you use Disk Utility to restore BaseSystem.dmg to the USB (overwrite it)

then once its done, to remove the link file in /System/Installation/

then copy /Temp/Package to /System/Installation

 

may need a bit more like mach_kernel (can probably install from BaseSystemBinaries.pkg)- there are some tools to do this. - this makes the USB more like a regular install.



#505
vapayo

vapayo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Thanks!! :)
Installed using your method, now it boots. :-)

 

Now installing some kexts^^



#506
ag6952563

ag6952563

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts

hi guys, I also just installed 10.9, following tluck's guide... checking if everything is fine... thanks a lot!!

 

update: all seems to work fine, except:

- sleep (it does not go to sleep at all).  I have the vanilla AppleACPIPlatform.kext from 10.9. Is that correct?

- it seems I cannot connect to iMessage of Facetime. Can you guys make it from 10.9?

 

Update Oct 12:

I have noticed that if I remove the ultrabay HD (I have a second HD on the DVD bay), it sleeps/wakes fine.

So, it is this second HD that is causing the sleep issues.

Any suggestions?

 

Thanks,

aj



#507
Sheep_Reaper

Sheep_Reaper

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Palmerton, PA, USA

@vapayo

 

If your first video is actually your system, I also noticed something else. Our thinkpads have two different POST screens depending on which startup mode is enabled. If your system is set up to start up in the default UEFI mode, you'll see a centered ThinkPad logo with nothing else on the screen. If you have CSM enabled, you'll boot into legacy/compatibility(BIOS) mode, and see the left justified ThinkPad logo instead like the one shown in your first video.



#508
Tetonne

Tetonne

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

After a good night
0S X 10.9 installed thanks to tluck :-)

 

Here is my desktop :

Attached File  Capture d’écran 2013-10-12 Ã 13.59.34.jpg   150.19KB   18 downloads

 

my clover config with dual link to 0 and surprise 1600x900 :)

 

here is my DisplayVendorID

Attached File  DisplayVendorID-6af.zip   2.58KB   43 downloads

this allow me to have 1600x900 (choose res in screen  

Attached File  Capture d’écran 2013-10-12 Ã 16.36.34.jpg   60.78KB   7 downloads

 

(decompress and put there : /S/L/Displays/Overrides)

 

my config

Attached File  config.plist.zip   1.22KB   66 downloads

 

 Thanks again tluck :thumbsup_anim:



#509
okcakep

okcakep

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

After a good night
0S X 10.9 installed thanks to tluck :-)

 

Here is my desktop :

attachicon.gifnull

 

my clover config with dual link to 0 and surprise 1600x900 :)

 

here is my DisplayVendorID

attachicon.gifDisplayVendorID-6af.zip

 

(decompress and put there : /S/L/Displays/Overrides)

 

my config

attachicon.gifconfig.plist.zip

 

 Thanks again tluck :thumbsup_anim:

 

issues :

no more sound

my wifi usb RT2870Wireless

 

Waiting tluck installation :) 10.9



#510
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@Tetonne - thanks for for reminding me of the Display Overrides. i added a link to the zip for the display overrides i use for product 2e2 and 6af (models of LCD) - the install of 10.9 wiped them out.

The display overrides will add support for 2 models.  EDID-fix-prod-2e2.zip (ignore the config.plist as this was for an older version of Clover)

Post #486 - i will update the zip with minor addition to the DSDT to get rid of the startup AppleHDA Assertion.



#511
okcakep

okcakep

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

@Tluck

I get blank monitor if i using custome EDID in config.plist and using EDID0fix-prod2-2e2.zip 

Im still 10.8.4. Should be im using 10.8.5 or 10.9 ? 



#512
Tetonne

Tetonne

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

@okcakep (get blank monitor if you're using custom EDID in config.plist)

then make this change in red (delete or change)

 

<key>Graphics</key>

<dict>

<key>Comment</key>

<string>LCD 1366x768</string>

<key>CustomEDID</key>

<data>

AP///////wAGrzwxAAAAAAAUAQOAHxF4ChC1l1hXkiYeUFQAAAABAQEBAQEB

AQEBAQEBAQEBEhtWRlAAIzAmFjYANa0QAAAYAAAADwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAg

AAAA/gBBVU8KICAgICAgICAgAAAA/gBCMTQwWFcwMyBWMSAKACk=

</data>

<key>DualLink</key>

<string>0</string>

<key>Inject</key>

<dict>

<key>Intel</key>

<true/>

</dict>

<key>InjectEDID</key>

<false/>

</dict>

 

InjectEDID to false is enought if your EDID is not the good one it would become the good one in newer system

------------------

 

good edid can be found this thisAttached File  genEDID_3c.zip   1.19KB   47 downloads

 

unzip drag & drop genEDID.sh on Terminal.app window, key name of screen for example LCD

 

tetonne$ /Users/tetonne/Desktop/genEDID.sh LCD press enter
 
result  in terminal
Collecting some data...
Detected Vendor ID: 0x6af (hex) 1711 (dec)
Detected Product ID: 0x313c (hex) 12604 (dec)
Flipbyted Vendor ID: 0xaf06 (hex) 44806 (dec)
Detected EDID: 00ffffffffffff0006af3c310000000000140103801f11780a10b597585792261e505400000001010101010101010101010101010101121b5646500023302616360035ad100000180000000f0000000000000000000000000020000000fe0041554f0a202020202020202020000000fe004231343058573033205631200a0029
Encoded EDID: AP///////wAGrzwxAAAAAAAUAQOAHxF4ChC1l1hXkiYeUFQAAAABAQEBAQEBAQEB
AQEBAQEBEhtWRlAAIzAmFjYANa0QAAAYAAAADwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAgAAAA/gBB
VU8KICAgICAgICAgAAAA/gBCMTQwWFcwMyBWMSAKACk=
Job done!
 
report that green number in OEMConfig
Graphic CustomEDID data (in XML part)
00ffffffffffff0006af3c310000000000140103801f11780a10b597585792261e505400000001010101010101010101010101010101121b5646500023302616360035ad100000180000000f0000000000000000000000000020000000fe0041554f0a202020202020202020000000fe004231343058573033205631200a0029
 
you'll seen Encoded EDID: AP///////wAGrzwxAAAAAAAUAQOAHxF4ChC1l1hXkiYeUFQAAAABAQEBAQEBAQEB
AQEBAQEBEhtWRlAAIzAmFjYANa0QAAAYAAAADwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAgAAAA/gBB
VU8KICAgICAgICAgAAAA/gBCMTQwWFcwMyBWMSAKACk=
there

 

<key>Graphics</key>

<dict>

<key>Comment</key>

<string>LCD 1366x768</string>

<key>CustomEDID</key>

<data>

AP///////wAGrzwxAAAAAAAUAQOAHxF4ChC1l1hXkiYeUFQAAAABAQEBAQEB

AQEBAQEBAQEBEhtWRlAAIzAmFjYANa0QAAAYAAAADwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAg

AAAA/gBBVU8KICAgICAgICAgAAAA/gBCMTQwWFcwMyBWMSAKACk=

</data>

<key>InjectEDID</key>

<true/>

</dict>

set InjectEDID to true

 
result on destop :
put the created folder DisplayVendorID-6af (example) in S/L/Display/Overrides
repair permissons


#513
gendalo76

gendalo76

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

@sheep_reaper.
glad to know another T430 user in hackintosh and had working system. :)

my installation just broke a weeks ago. fortunately got spare time after resigning from my job prior joining with other company. :))
i've installed Mountain Lion 10.8.4 with myHack method. i'm gonna stick with chameleon for a while.

today i solved the sound issue by patching the ApplehDA.kext and using modified IOAudioFamily.kext. The resource i'm follow are all in OSX latitude forum.

(looks like an error with their webserver when i post this).

I've tested the output, internal speaker and headphone. both works okay. audio issue with internal speaker after wake from sleep is fixed by using the attached IOAudioFamily.kext.
haven't got a chance to test the input (mic)

 

attached are those 2 files i mentioned before.

after installing the AppleHDA.kext, you need to modify the DSDT on HDEF part.

you can check for more resources in this thread

 

hope it useful.

So success. Updating to 10.8.4 solved my hit-or-miss booting situation. My Lenovo T430 (2349GCU) Hackintosh is a success.

 

Thanks to bcc9 for providing some much needed assistance in understanding my startup issue. Thanks to Gendalo for his original DSDT and EFI folder. Thanks to the developers of Clover EFI, whom I don't know first-hand, but without whose bootloader I would not have been successful. And of course thanks to all of you in this thread whose discussion on T420's was what originally motivated me to try this on my T430.

 

Also, if it makes you guys feel any better, This thread is the only thread of value on the entire internet that provided the information i needed to get this project off the ground. I'n not joking, I spent days Googling my fingers raw for tangible information on T430's or 420's for that matter before I came accross this little gem.

 

Working: (Tested)

Display

Ethernet

Graphics (QE/CI)

Software Updates

TrackPad (MButton Scrolling) [It's inverted, but I think Mac is this way on purpose]

TrackPoint

WebCam

 

Not Working:

Restart

Sound

WiFi (Buying http://www.monoprice...Index?p_id=8072) [At least temporarily]

 

System Specs:

Intel® Core™ i5-3320M (2.60GHz) processor with dual-cores

Intel Turbo Boost 2.0 (3.30GHz), Hyper-Threading, 3MB cache

2 x 4GB PC3-12800 SO-DIMM's

320GB 7.2Krpm SATAII (3Gb/s) Seagate Momentus Thin (7mm) HD

14in 1600x900 HD+ LED-Backlit LCD

Intel® HD 4000 Graphics

Ultrabay enhanced DVDRW/CD-RW rambo drive

Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6205 (AGN)

Bluetooth 4.0

Intel® 82579LM 1Gb Ethernet

UltraNav

Secure Chip

Fingerprint reader

720p Front-Facing Wide-Angle Low-Light Camera

6c Li-Ion Battery Rated at 3-5.5 Life-Hours

Mac OS X (10.8.4) / Windows 8 / Ubuntu GNU/Linux

 

Attached Files



#514
gendalo76

gendalo76

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

@sheep_reaper
do you have a fix for usb problem after wake from sleep?

i use GenericUSBXHCI_1.2.6. it works fine prior sleep.

when the computer put in sleep, then wake, it no longer recognizes any device plugged-in to usb port.

i need to reboot to be able to recognize usb hardware.

 

@tluck and others,

is the same thing happening with your T420?



#515
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@okcakep - the display definitions are for LCDs that 1600x900 - do you have a this native res? it not, then that would explain why its blank - the monitor can't handle this definition. 


@gendalo76 - i don't have a usb problem after sleep for all the built-in usb 2.0 ports .now even my esata (external) drive survives sleep/wake since using the native 10.8.5 AppleACPIPlatform.kexts.

 

however for usb3, i have a 2-port GMYLE USB3 express card that does not handle sleep/wake very gracefully. i have to unmount all the filesystems before then it resets the card upon wake. it works after sleep. i am using CalDigit kexts for the card. however, at one point, i tried the GenericUSBXHCI kext but it could not seem my Seagate Disk. it could see the AS2105 disk tho - but i went back to CalDigit. i can't remember how the generic one handled sleep. i did add some stuff for sleep in my dsdt nonetheless for XHCI. 



#516
Sheep_Reaper

Sheep_Reaper

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Palmerton, PA, USA

@gendalo

 

Hey Gendalo nice to see you again. No I did not attempt to fix the USB Sleep issue. A bit bogged down with mid-terms at the moment. Kogen had asked me to gather up my materials for my successful build so that he can update the 1st post, but If you have them readily available, by all means PM him. My success was built off of yours anyways, but I sure would like to get on the same page with you and Kogen. Kogen has a 430 now also, but he's busy too. We also have some catching up to do with the 420 guys.

 

The only good piece of info I have at the moment is that I'm certain that your DSDT and mine are the same. This means that any 430 user with model 2349XXX should have the same DSDT. The XXX in your model differs from mine, but the DSDT dumps were identical.



#517
zhangqq

zhangqq

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Please read this page:

 

http://www.projectos...700

 

The history of the question is [BUG] Shutdown issue with UEFI boot.
The behavior: when we press "Sleep" or "Shutdown" display went OFF but lights and fans continue working. Then reset only. It happen not every time, it may happens 1:10.
With CloverEFI legacy boot it may happens 1:100.
The problem is resolved with follow new keys:
HaltEnabler - set SLP_SMI_EN=0 at early start.
FixShutdown_0004 - prevent set SLP_SMI_EN=1 at _PTS with Arg0=5 (shutdown)
SuspendOverride - extend this fix to Arg0=3,4,5 (also sleep and suspend)
SlpSmiAtWake - set SLP_SMI_EN=0 at method _WAK, so at every wake up.
Not all users need all these keys but set all to true is safe. You may loose some behavior but you can boot anyway.
Now we (me, TimeWalker, endless) have full success with the issue. Sleep/Shutdown/Wake works fine with UEFI boot.



#518
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

I would be a bit careful here... i tested out some of these new auto-DSDT fixes.  well, on the T420, it did some weird things - especially SlpSmiAtWake - it would not wake after 2nd sleep/wake.

 

HaltEnabler does not seem to make any DSDT changes. but i presume just sets this var to 0 - which is ok.

Fix_Shutdown_0004 - makes _PTS for Arg0=0x05  a totally No-Op --- so i don't think we want that for since we are NOW setting SLP_SMI_EN=0 in our dsdt.

SuspendOverride does the same for Arg0=3,4,5 - probably not so good either?

 

Note: i removed any TPM calls in here - i.e. windows stuff.

 

current code (based on TimeWalker's approach)

 

    Method (_PTS, 1, NotSerialized)

    {

        Scope (\)

        {

            OperationRegion (SLPR, SystemIO, 0x0430, One)

            Field (SLPR, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)

            {

                    ,   4,

                SLPE,   1

            }

        }

 

        Store (One, Local0)

        If (LEqual (Arg0, SPS))

        {

            Store (Zero, Local0)

        }

 

        If (LOr (LEqual (Arg0, Zero), LGreaterEqual (Arg0, 0x06)))

        {

            Store (Zero, Local0)

        }

 

        If (Local0)

        {

            Store (Arg0, SPS)

            \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.HKEY.MHKE (Zero)

            If (\_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.KBLT)

            {

                UCMS (0x0D)

            }

 

            If (LEqual (Arg0, One))

            {

                Store (\_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.HFNI, FNID)

                Store (Zero, \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.HFNI)

                Store (Zero, \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.HFSP)

            }

 

            If (LEqual (Arg0, 0x03))

            {

                VVPD (0x03)

                TRAP ()

                Store (\_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.ADP1._PSR (), OCST)

            }

 

            If (LEqual (Arg0, 0x04))

            {

                \_SB.SLPB._PSW (Zero)

                TRAP ()

                AWON (0x04)

            }

 

            If (LEqual (Arg0, 0x05))

            {

                TRAP ()

                AWON (0x05)

                Store (Zero, SLPE)

                Sleep (0x10)

            }

 

            \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.BPTS (Arg0)

            If (LGreaterEqual (Arg0, 0x04))

            {

                Store (Zero, \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.HWLB)

            }

            Else

            {

                Store (One, \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.HWLB)

            }

 

            If (LNotEqual (Arg0, 0x05))

            {

                Store (One, \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.HCMU)

                Store (\_SB.PCI0.EXP4.PDS, \_SB.PCI0.EXP4.PDSF)

                Store (\_SB.PCI0.EXP5.PDS, \_SB.PCI0.EXP5.PDSF)

            }

 

            \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EC.HKEY.WGPS (Arg0)

        }

    }



#519
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 1,249 posts
  • Gender:Male

I would advise staying away from trying HaltEnabler.. it indeed doesn't do anything to DSDT as it writes to chipset related registers on boot. This has caused two bricks on HP laptops these past days, so I would recommend staying away from this on laptops as far as you possibly can. Also, don't ever EVER  try any of the changes introduced with 2175 - prone to cause immediate brick on Phoenix firmware with no way to recover because it writes the config into nvram and replaces all of it's contents by the config file...



#520
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

ouch.  

 

sleep and/or shutdown works about 90% for me with - i think my USB3 express card gets in the way on occasion. if I turn that off, then i get much better results.

 

One challenge, i still can't figure out is why my LCD is brighter after sleep/wake? if the screen sleeps,  then upon wakeup it is just a little brighter. the brightness/backlight settings do not change. its just brighter! I did a little research and it showed others with HD3000 have seen this but i could not find a good fix. anyone have any ideas?








2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2016 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy