Jump to content

Lion kernel testing on AMD (don't ask help here: use the Help Topic)


  • Please log in to reply
605 replies to this topic

#181
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

I found one interested !
In picture you see "sse4_2" and work! :blink:
But without ssse3 ! ))))


Please try it is mach_kernel_10.7.4 !
If you need 32 bit , then flag "arch=i386" , -noavxbit or -nossse4bit or nossse3bit or without flags )
MACH_KERNEL_1074_amd_32_64 bit.


Booting only with -v went straight to the desktop but still with graphics glitches. Booted using arch=i386 -force64 -v and everything works as it should apart from my sound for some reason. Many thanks

Bronzovka



#182
pico joe

pico joe

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Gender:Male
can you tell me how to solve this problem (same problem too in my ML 10.8.2), by the way thank for your kernel and quick response

#183
Bronya

Bronya

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 904 posts
  • Gender:Male

Booting only with -v went straight to the desktop but still with graphics glitches. Booted using arch=i386 -force64 -v and everything works as it should apart from my sound for some reason. Many thanks

Bronzovka


flag -force64 no need ! )))
You can show picture with graphics glitches ? =)

#184
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

flag -force64 no need ! )))
You can show picture with graphics glitches ? =)


Here are the problems with the graphics,

Attached File  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358875086.665546.jpg   155.26KB   11 downloads

Attached File  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358875103.791052.jpg   125.33KB   10 downloads

These are both the login screen and this happens a lot randomly on the desktop,

Attached File  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358875141.813126.jpg   114.72KB   10 downloads

#185
Bronya

Bronya

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 904 posts
  • Gender:Male
IiTz ShAnE, interested ! I understand .

#186
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

IiTz ShAnE, interested ! I understand .


Thats it running x86_64 with your kernel. Does the same with the one I compelled swell. ML Just refuses to load the GUI.

#187
Bronya

Bronya

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 904 posts
  • Gender:Male
Ok . Then No recommended with flag arch=x86_64 ! Only arch=i386 , because in i386 work 32 and 64 bit binary !

I start original dvd 10.7.2 and working fine with my mach_kernel with flag i386 ! =)

#188
srwind

srwind

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
10.7.4 -successfully started
with parameters arch=i386 - full resolution & some little lags(i think it's 'cause recognized as "unknown Nvidia" my video card, how to patch/edit dsdt(and will it helpful?) i don't know)

w/o arch=i386 same glitches as at IiTz ShAnE post

#189
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

10.7.4 -successfully started
with parameters arch=i386 - full resolution & some little lags(i think it's 'cause recognized as "unknown Nvidia" my video card, how to patch/edit dsdt(and will it helpful?) i don't know)

w/o arch=i386 same glitches as at IiTz ShAnE post


Have you tried using GraphicsEnabler=Yes? If I don't use it I get unknown 3MB graphics,

#190
srwind

srwind

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
Yes, and it does not helpfull.. i've nvidia GT440 512mb but lion recognize her as Nvidia xxxx {censored} 711mb or Nvidia GT440 1024Mb

#191
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

Yes, and it does not helpfull.. i've nvidia GT440 512mb but lion recognize her as Nvidia xxxx {censored} 711mb or Nvidia GT440 1024Mb


Try adding this graphics string to your boot file,

620200000100000001000000560200000d00000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04001e00000072006f006d002d007200650076006900730069006f006e0000002c0000006e5669646961204765466f726365204754343430204f70656e474c20456e67696e65205b4546495d22000000400030002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c6179100000004e00560043004100500000001800000004000000000001000600000000000000000000000e0000006e0061006d00650000000b000000646973706c617914000000400030002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d41100000006d006f00640065006c000000180000006e5669646961204765466f7263652047543434300e0000004e00560050004d000000200000000100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000014000000400031002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d4220000000400031002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d6163220000005600520041004d002c0074006f00740061006c00730069007a0065000000080000000000002020000000400030002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d616322000000400031002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c61791c0000006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000f0000004e5644412c506172656e74


#192
srwind

srwind

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
how to do this?
write only
<string>"code"</string>
?

#193
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

how to do this?
write only
<string>"code"</string>
?


Sorry I should have been clearer. Like this,

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>620200000100000001000000560200000d00000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04001e00000072006f006d002d007200650076006900730069006f006e0000002c0000006e5669646961204765466f726365204754343430204f70656e474c20456e67696e65205b4546495d22000000400030002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c6179100000004e00560043004100500000001800000004000000000001000600000000000000000000000e0000006e0061006d00650000000b000000646973706c617914000000400030002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d41100000006d006f00640065006c000000180000006e5669646961204765466f7263652047543434300e0000004e00560050004d000000200000000100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000014000000400031002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d4220000000400031002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d6163220000005600520041004d002c0074006f00740061006c00730069007a0065000000080000000000002020000000400030002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d616322000000400031002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c61791c0000006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000f0000004e5644412c506172656e74</string>


#194
srwind

srwind

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

Sorry I should have been clearer. Like this,

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>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</string>


it doesn't help =( unfortunately..

where did you get this code?

#195
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

it doesn't help =( unfortunately..

where did you get this code?


I made it using OSx86 Tools EFI String maker.

#196
srwind

srwind

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

I made it using OSx86 Tools EFI String maker.


nope... still 711Mb...

another problem now... all 64-bit apps freezing after ~2 min start.. (for ex. in System monitor - Aperture look like use CPU 154% same with Ps and Mozilla)
Posted Image

#197
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

nope... still 711Mb...

another problem now... all 64-bit apps freezing after ~2 min start.. (for ex. in System monitor - Aperture look like use CPU 154% same with Ps and Mozilla)


Have you tried NVEnabler and such alike?

I've also noticed this problem. Even as soon as its booted I can't open DSDT Editor or Chameleon Wizard.

#198
MadMungo

MadMungo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney Australia

I found one interested !
In picture you see "sse4_2" and work! :blink:
But without ssse3 ! ))))


Please try it is mach_kernel_10.7.4 !
If you need 32 bit , then flag "arch=i386" , -noavxbit or -nossse4bit or nossse3bit or without flags )
MACH_KERNEL_1074_amd_32_64 bit.


Hi,

Just tried your kernel on an FX 8350 CPU system and I get a TSC crash as in the picture.

Attached File  20130123_131212.png   1.46MB   53 downloads

I have tried a combination of the following boot flags

arch=i386 busratio=20 fsb=200 cpus=8 maxmem=4096 -force64 npci=0x2000 -v UseKernelCache=No/Yes

and still get the same crash.

#199
Gismo

Gismo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi,

I have the kernel of Theconnactic taken.Now plunge programs from.Can anyone help me?I Can not flashplayer and other apps open.

Have Lion 10.7.5 installed.

Regards

#200
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,614 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

Hi,

Just tried your kernel on an FX 8350 CPU system and I get a TSC crash as in the picture.

Attached File  20130123_131212.png   1.46MB   53 downloads

I have tried a combination of the following boot flags

arch=i386 busratio=20 fsb=200 cpus=8 maxmem=4096 -force64 npci=0x2000 -v UseKernelCache=No/Yes

and still get the same crash.

Try changing busratio=20 to busratio=200
I believe that any value bigger than 10 is divided by 10





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy