Jump to content

Clover General discussion

Bootloader EFI Clover

  • Please log in to reply
5716 replies to this topic

#1281
jlfilms

jlfilms

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cali
  • Interests:Hackintoshs
I did this yesterday because my system was still mac mini server 6,2 profile for my sysytem to be fully functional.

I followed guide on youtube that showed me how to edit all my specs, its very easy. also put picture of my case where the mac mini pic was
and changed name to Mac Pro Early 2013.

youtube it , or i can post it if you cant find it

#1282
rd8111

rd8111

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello All,

I have been trying to have Clover simply launch on my FX-8350, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5, ATI FirePro v4900. I have enabled the DEBUG_ALL macro in Platform.h, re-compiled with cloverpro, copied the resulting 64-bit EFI files over to my flash drive and booted. The resulting debug messages tell me that Clover is having fits with the FirePro (Device ID 6749, Vendor ID 1002). I have also noticed that ati.c has this FirePro version and many other cards in the same graphics family commented out. The final PCI message sent to the display says:

73:095 0:000 PCI (00 | 03:00.00) : 1002 6749 class=030000

Then the Clover startup stops dead in its tracks.

Any suggestions on which file(s) to modify? Is there something specific to enable within ati.c? I can successfully launch Snow Leopard with the r726 Chameleon, but have discovered that others highly recommend Clover for FX systems. I have tried the 1050 Clover, the 1175, and 1179 builds, before enabling the source code macro. Since I have the same black screen behavior for all three versions, I assume that all three do not like the FirePro. Isn't there VESA sensing, such that the commented out cards in ati.c would use VESA data to display? In 10.6.8 SL, I added the 6749 to the ATI6000Controller kext and have a fully functional FirePro (see here for the procedure). Is a similar solution needed within ati.c?

I have a spare ancient Radeon 9600 Pro that I will try in my FX system sometime Saturday morning. Anyone try using that video card with recent Clover builds?

#1283
kantok

kantok

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

I did this yesterday because my system was still mac mini server 6,2 profile for my sysytem to be fully functional.

I followed guide on youtube that showed me how to edit all my specs, its very easy. also put picture of my case where the mac mini pic was
and changed name to Mac Pro Early 2013.

youtube it , or i can post it if you cant find it


Wow! Do you have new macpro identifier? Could you share us the youtube URL?

Thanks,

#1284
rd8111

rd8111

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hello All,

I have been trying to have Clover simply launch on my FX-8350, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5, ATI FirePro v4900. I have enabled the DEBUG_ALL macro in Platform.h, re-compiled with cloverpro, copied the resulting 64-bit EFI files over to my flash drive and booted. The resulting debug messages tell me that Clover is having fits with the FirePro (Device ID 6749, Vendor ID 1002). I have also noticed that ati.c has this FirePro version and many other cards in the same graphics family commented out. The final PCI message sent to the display says:

73:095 0:000 PCI (00 | 03:00.00) : 1002 6749 class=030000

Then the Clover startup stops dead in its tracks.

Any suggestions on which file(s) to modify? Is there something specific to enable within ati.c? I can successfully launch Snow Leopard with the r726 Chameleon, but have discovered that others highly recommend Clover for FX systems. I have tried the 1050 Clover, the 1175, and 1179 builds, before enabling the source code macro. Since I have the same black screen behavior for all three versions, I assume that all three do not like the FirePro. Isn't there VESA sensing, such that the commented out cards in ati.c would use VESA data to display? In 10.6.8 SL, I added the 6749 to the ATI6000Controller kext and have a fully functional FirePro (see here for the procedure). Is a similar solution needed within ati.c?

I have a spare ancient Radeon 9600 Pro that I will try in my FX system sometime Saturday morning. Anyone try using that video card with recent Clover builds?


Hello All,

After reviewing the ati.c source some more and looking hard at the other ATI graphics cards with Device IDs around 6749 (e.g. the HD6570, Device ID 0x6759, and HD6670, Device ID 0x6758, most closely match the three connector output style of the v4900), I estimated that the Pithecia chip family is highly likely correct for the v4900. Note that the Device IDs listed for the 6570 and 6670 do indeed have odd looking values (out of sequence relative to model number).

Anyhow, after determining this, I decided to test this by adding the FirePro to the ati.c listing right before 0x674A, setting everything up appropriately, compiling, creating a test 1179 build package, installing on my flash drive, and booting again. After waiting about 90 seconds while the Clover booting system inspected the system, I have finally reached the Main Clover GUI screen. I will test this more and see what happens next.

When I am pleased with the results, I would like to update the ati.c source code. What is the proper procedure to add this change to the Clover source? Should the exact line be posted for someone else to add the change? The line is:

{ 0x6749, 0x00000000, CHIP_FAMILY_TURKS, "ATI Radeon FirePro V4900", kPithecia },

Sincerely,

rd8111

#1285
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,908 posts
  • Gender:Male
Congratulations not only to have it working by yourself, but also to have made a contribution that potentially will benefit other Clover users. Hope Slice & the Clover dev. team update the source code soon.

All the best!

#1286
rd8111

rd8111

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male

Congratulations not only to have it working by yourself, but also to have made a contribution that potentially will benefit other Clover users. Hope Slice & the Clover dev. team update the source code soon.

All the best!


Thanks, theconnactic

#1287
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,619 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...
@Clover dev team:
Just installed OS X 10.8.3 for a friend of mine.
Ofcourse I used Clover as the booter of choice.
It was an Asus board and everything works great.
From me and my buddy Joris:
A big thank you for all the hard work involved in Clover.
It's awesome ... ;)

#1288
jlfilms

jlfilms

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cali
  • Interests:Hackintoshs

Wow! Do you have new macpro identifier? Could you share us the youtube URL?

Thanks,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ae9TFZGziQQ


my identifier is still mac mini 6,2 but i changed everything else in this vid.

#1289
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,980 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Hello All,

After reviewing the ati.c source some more and looking hard at the other ATI graphics cards with Device IDs around 6749 (e.g. the HD6570, Device ID 0x6759, and HD6670, Device ID 0x6758, most closely match the three connector output style of the v4900), I estimated that the Pithecia chip family is highly likely correct for the v4900. Note that the Device IDs listed for the 6570 and 6670 do indeed have odd looking values (out of sequence relative to model number).

Anyhow, after determining this, I decided to test this by adding the FirePro to the ati.c listing right before 0x674A, setting everything up appropriately, compiling, creating a test 1179 build package, installing on my flash drive, and booting again. After waiting about 90 seconds while the Clover booting system inspected the system, I have finally reached the Main Clover GUI screen. I will test this more and see what happens next.

When I am pleased with the results, I would like to update the ati.c source code. What is the proper procedure to add this change to the Clover source? Should the exact line be posted for someone else to add the change? The line is:

{ 0x6749, 0x00000000, CHIP_FAMILY_TURKS, "ATI Radeon FirePro V4900", kPithecia },

Sincerely,

rd8111

Thank you for the contribution! Commited.

#1290
Tirnion

Tirnion

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi,

I'm having trouble booting to OS X when I use Clover (USB) as my bootloader. I've been looking for answers for about 4 hours now, and I haven't been able to find anything.

When I try booting normally, I get an error. The last few lines of it are
Error allocating 0xedb pages at 0x00000000009ea000 alloc type 2
Loading 'mach_kernel'...
......Error allocating 0x535 pages at 0x0000000000200000 alloc type 2
Error loading kernel 'mach_kernel' (0x9)
sleeping 10 seconds before exit...

If I add the flag "WithKexts", I get my root device uuid, a "Loading drivers" notice, several lines of dots, then
Error allocating 0xb pages at 0x0000000000ff7000 alloc type 2
Could not allocate driver module memorysleeping 10 seconds before exit...


I have also tried to go through the steps listed here, but I cannot find OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi anywhere on my drive, and all my searches for downloads have come up empty.


It's like my teacher said. The best way to solve the problem is to ask the right question. 5 minutes after my original post, I found OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi in the ISO download of Clover. I'm still getting an error
AtherosNewma40P2PInterface::init name <p2p0> role 1 this 0xffffff8025cfc000

but this looks much more managable than what I was getting before.

Current System:
i7 3770k
GA Z77-DS3H
Internal graphics until this can get resolved, then planning on AMD 7870 Eyefinity 6.

Edited by Tirnion, 27 March 2013 - 07:49 AM.


#1291
manor

manor

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks for Clover team for lots hard work and good effect ATI6000Controller.kext your loader Kernel And Kext Patches its worked my system. My card is xfx 6950 2gb .this patch doesn't work without patch AMDRadeonAccelerator.kext inside Accelerator [/System/Library/Extensions/AMDRadeonAccelerator.kext/Contents/MacOS]. I search lots pages but no where no detail about this patch.mac osx every single update i download patched kexts and use it. I need to know how to patch AMDRadeonController what kind data find and replace. I expect the solution from you guys.

I upload patch kexts and ioreg file thank you.


http://www.mediafire...2830in1ff661tlc


3]ATI Radeon HD6950:


3] Name: ATY,Gibba

3] Type: Display Controller

3] Driver Installed: Yes

3] MSI: Yes

3] Bus: PCI

3] Slot: PCI Slot 1

3] Vendor ID: 0x1002

3] Device ID: 0x6719

3] Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1682

3] Subsystem ID: 0x3122

3] Revision ID: 0x0000

3] Link Width: x16

3] Link Speed: 2.5 GT/s



#1292
fau7i

fau7i

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malaysia
Hi, regarding to ATI connectors patching here #9 , I'm wondering why it doesn't make any difference for my ATI card. I've just tried with a hope having HDMI audio. My HD 7870 has 4 ports (2xminiDP, 1xHDMI, 1xDVI-D). Now it works just fine (except HDMI audio) with futomaki, and ioreg lists as below;

@0 - 0x400 = DP
@1 - 0x400 = DP
@2 - 0x4 = DVI-D
@3 - 0x800 = HDMI

However when I dumped with radeon_bios_decoder, I got these;

@0 - DP
@1 - DP
@2 - HDMI-A
@3 - DVI-I
@4 - DVI-I (not sure about this extra connector - DVI-Dual link?)

Fortunately all SenseID are already matched. So, What I thought that I only need to switch between HDMI and DVI-D. Then I added this in config.plist;


<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
<dict>
<key>ATIConnectorsController</key>
<string>7000</string>
<key>ATIConnectorsData</key>
<string>00040000040300000001010012040401000400000403000000010200220505020400000014020000000103000000060600080000040200000001040011020103</string>
<key>ATIConnectorsPatch</key>
<string>00040000040300000001010012040401000400000403000000010200220505020008000004020000000104001102010304000000140200000001030000000606</string>
</dict>

I have no problem to boot OS X using either DVI or HDMI port, but when I check in ioreg connector 3 and 4 are not switched as expected. I tried few times with kernelcache and WithKexts, still no difference.

Am I doing it right? Or maybe dumping legacy vbios has a relation to this. Because this card now has legacy and efi vbios. Thanks


[EDIT] Never mind, It works with direct kext patching (KextToPatch) btw.

#1293
aikidoka25

aikidoka25

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 358 posts
I have clovergrower, before it generated a package Clover_v2_rL994.pkg but now with version 1214 that package is nowhere to find.
I notice it replaced by a 33 smaller packages.

Say I have zero knowledge on Clover, how I am going to install it on a USB flash disk?
Which one to execute?

EDIT:
I think there is an error while generating that pkg. Any idea how I can fix it?
Type 'm' To make Clover_v2_rL1214.pkg...
m
copy User rc Files To Package
cd to src/edk2/Clover/CloverPackage and run ./makepkg.

===================== Building Package =================
----------------------------------
Building Clover Install Package
----------------------------------
=================== BiosBoot ===========================
[BUILD] BiosBoot
===================== EFI folder =======================
[BUILD] EFIFolder
===================== BootLoaders ======================
[BUILD] bootNo
[BUILD] boot0
[BUILD] boot0hfs
[BUILD] boot0EFI
[BUILD] bootUEFI
======================= CloverEFI ========================
[BUILD] cloverEFI.32
[BUILD] cloverEFI.64.sata
======================== Themes ========================
[BUILD] AppleStyle
[BUILD] black_green
[BUILD] iClover
[BUILD] metal
[BUILD] mrengles
===================== drivers32 ========================
[BUILD] Ps2KeyboardDxe-32
[BUILD] Ps2MouseAbsolutePointerDxe-32
[BUILD] Ps2MouseDxe-32
[BUILD] UsbMouseDxe-32
[BUILD] VBoxExt2-32
[BUILD] VBoxExt4-32
[BUILD] XhciDxe-32
===================== drivers64 ========================
[BUILD] Ps2MouseDxe-64
[BUILD] UsbMouseDxe-64
[BUILD] VBoxExt2-64
[BUILD] VBoxExt4-64
[BUILD] XhciDxe-64
=============== drivers64 UEFI mandatory ===============
[BUILD] FSInject-64
[BUILD] OsxFatBinaryDrv-64
[BUILD] VboxHfs-64
=================== drivers64 UEFI =====================
[BUILD] CsmVideoDxe-64
[BUILD] DataHubDxe-64
[BUILD] EmuVariableUefi-64
[BUILD] OsxAptioFixDrv-64
[BUILD] OsxFatBinaryDrv-64
Error can't add choice 'OsxFatBinaryDrv-64': a choice with same name already exists.
make: *** [pkg] Error 1


#1294
wertyu93

wertyu93

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi, i write this post for three reasons:
The first is to thank all the developers that are making Clover the most powerful bootloader ever.

Second i want to ask Slice where can i find the release notes?

Third, I can't fix the boot screen resolution on Aptio Bios.
I have an ASUS laptop with 2 graphics cards ( NVIDIA GT650m and HD4000) but the nvidia is disabled with a dsdt method.
To fix this i tried:
- CsmVideo driver with allt the possible flags GInjector=Yes/No, PatchVBios=Yes/No (in both the graphics cards) and EDID Injector but couldn't reach the clover boot menu
- All the above graphics flags without CsmVideo driver but the only one that works is GI=No, PatchVBios=No and EDID Injection.
The last configuration let me reach the clover boot menu with a resolution of 1024x768 (in the preboot.log i have the voice SetMaxResolution: found best mode 0: 1024x768 - alredy set). When i get into the ML's log in, i can see only 1/4 of screen. The Display pref pane reports the right resolution (1920x1080), but i don't get the right view of the screen till i don't downgrade the resolution to 1600x900 and upgrade to 1920x1080.
My driver64UEFI are: Aptiobiosfix, FSInject-64, EmuVariable, osxFatBinary, osxLowmemfix, VbosHFS
Does anyone have any idea to resolve my problem?

#1295
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,127 posts
  • Gender:Male

I have clovergrower, before it generated a package Clover_v2_rL994.pkg but now with version 1214 that package is nowhere to find.
I notice it replaced by a 33 smaller packages.

Say I have zero knowledge on Clover, how I am going to install it on a USB flash disk?
Which one to execute?

EDIT:
I think there is an error while generating that pkg. Any idea how I can fix it?

Type 'm' To make Clover_v2_rL1214.pkg...
m
copy User rc Files To Package
cd to src/edk2/Clover/CloverPackage and run ./makepkg.

===================== Building Package =================
----------------------------------
Building Clover Install Package
----------------------------------
=================== BiosBoot ===========================
[BUILD] BiosBoot
===================== EFI folder =======================
[BUILD] EFIFolder
===================== BootLoaders ======================
[BUILD] bootNo
[BUILD] boot0
[BUILD] boot0hfs
[BUILD] boot0EFI
[BUILD] bootUEFI
======================= CloverEFI ========================
[BUILD] cloverEFI.32
[BUILD] cloverEFI.64.sata
======================== Themes ========================
[BUILD] AppleStyle
[BUILD] black_green
[BUILD] iClover
[BUILD] metal
[BUILD] mrengles
===================== drivers32 ========================
[BUILD] Ps2KeyboardDxe-32
[BUILD] Ps2MouseAbsolutePointerDxe-32
[BUILD] Ps2MouseDxe-32
[BUILD] UsbMouseDxe-32
[BUILD] VBoxExt2-32
[BUILD] VBoxExt4-32
[BUILD] XhciDxe-32
===================== drivers64 ========================
[BUILD] Ps2MouseDxe-64
[BUILD] UsbMouseDxe-64
[BUILD] VBoxExt2-64
[BUILD] VBoxExt4-64
[BUILD] XhciDxe-64
=============== drivers64 UEFI mandatory ===============
[BUILD] FSInject-64
[BUILD] OsxFatBinaryDrv-64
[BUILD] VboxHfs-64
=================== drivers64 UEFI =====================
[BUILD] CsmVideoDxe-64
[BUILD] DataHubDxe-64
[BUILD] EmuVariableUefi-64
[BUILD] OsxAptioFixDrv-64
[BUILD] OsxFatBinaryDrv-64
Error can't add choice 'OsxFatBinaryDrv-64': a choice with same name already exists.
make: *** [pkg] Error 1

Try current version from: https://github.com/S...UB/CloverGrower

#1296
braindeadmac

braindeadmac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
I get a Memory Slot Utility error with most recent versions of Clover. The problem went away somewhere before r1208 (works), but resurfaced somewhere around 1212 (does not work). Is that a change in SMI? I'm using Clover with legacy boot for an EVGA SR-2, 2 processors, all 12 memory slots fully populated.

Or is it related to the "malformed smbioses" fixes in revision 1199 with all the changes in /rEFIt_UEFI/Platform/smbios.c ? I can't see any revisions to this after 1208...Well know that I know where to look I'll look at it more closely.

#1297
Maniac10

Maniac10

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,079 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
Try asking in the Clover thread at ProjectOSX forums. Since last week Apianti has been actively working on fixing memory detection with some users.

#1298
braindeadmac

braindeadmac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Thanks Maniac10

#1299
>Federico<

>Federico<

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 284 posts
  • Gender:Male
Even for me Clover 1208 has a bug about the ram, it gives me 4gb more e.g. I have installed 8 gb but it detects 12 gb. is there any fix for this?

#1300
Alex Auditore

Alex Auditore

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 700 posts
  • Gender:Male

Even for me Clover 1208 has a bug about the ram, it gives me 4gb more e.g. I have installed 8 gb but it detects 12 gb. is there any fix for this?

Have the same problem.
Today I'd decided to look at Clover anew.
Moreover Clover show me incorrect frequence of RAM. And doesn't show some information such a Serial Number and so on.
I asked Slice about it and he told me that Apianti engage in it and he doesn't want to impede to him.
ECC: Disabled

BANK 0/DIMM0:

Size: 4 GB
Type: DDR3
Speed: 1333 MHz
Status: OK
Manufacturer: Samsung
Part Number: M471B5273BH1-CF8
Serial Number: 0407080C00030600

BANK 1/DIMM0:

Size: 4 GB
Type: DDR3
Speed: 1333 MHz
Status: OK
Manufacturer: [empty]
Part Number: [empty]
Serial Number: [empty]

BANK 0/DIMM1:

Size: 4 GB
Type: DDR3
Speed: 1333 MHz
Status: OK
Manufacturer: Samsung
Part Number: M471B5273BH1-CF8
Serial Number: 0407080C0003050F

Attached Files







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Bootloader, EFI, Clover


3 user(s) are reading this topic

2 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy