Jump to content

[How To] Enable "Find My Mac" with a FAKE Recovery HD *UPDATED*


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#21
iStigPL

iStigPL

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
@telepati

what kind of wifi adapter are you using ?

#22
telepati

telepati

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:istanbul
Im using Edimax Nano.

Edimax Nano

#23
lebowski1970

lebowski1970

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Málaga, Spain
Hi guys.

I have my own way for make changes permanent after shutdown or reboot.

I put a Script plist file named com.nvram.root.plist on /Library/LaunchDaemons and them I change permissions with

sudo chown root:wheel /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.nvram.root.plist

then I go to iCloud preferences panel and active FMM. After this, I go to Terminal and check nvram state... I look for 2 keys named fmm-mobileme-token-FMM and fmm-computer-name. If both keys are present and populated, then I dump nvram content to a file named nvram.log.... I do it in this way:

nvram -p

for test if keys are present. If both of them are, I dump nvram in this way:

sudo nvram -p > /var/log/nvram.log

After this... Find my Mac works after Reboot or shutdown!!!!

Enjoy the tip guys..if you want....you can donate for a cup of coffee in my website (http://www.i-dispositivos.com)

#24
Adam1203

Adam1203

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
I know this is an old thread, but I just wanted to say thank you for this! It worked like a charm and saved the day!!

#25
block57

block57

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
when I type sudo nvram -p > /var/log/nvram.log terminal says permission denied. what do I do? thanx!!!

#26
pippox0

pippox0

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
@block57

If you get in troubles , Try This ...

sudo nvram -p > nvram.log

Then copy nvram.log to /var/log

PippoX0

------------

@lebowski1970

Thanks Lebowski1970,
great job .

I have updated my first post so i report your help to the treat !

PippoX0

#27
Leon Hong

Leon Hong

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Hi dear lebowski1970, thank you for the precious tip!! This method has inspired me more thoughts about the nvram and pram problems. I'll try out something new and tell you the results if I can achieve the goals. Thank you again lebowski1970!!

#28
lebowski1970

lebowski1970

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Málaga, Spain
Hi Leon Hong.

If you are testing with nvram and pram, I have 2 links for you. One of them inspired me for the script method in FMM and I want to share them with you:

http://revogirl.word...01/about-nvram/

http://revogirl.word...n-mac-hardware/

have a look to the full blog, because have lots of information usefull for hackintosh. Good luck with your testing.

#29
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,051 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Topic cleaned up and pinned.

Guys, please don't fullquote when replying, it's just more garbage to scroll past. We have enough noise here already. Keep Insanelymac clean!

Sincerely,

The garbage collector

#30
block57

block57

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
really works !!!!!!!thanks pippox0!!!!

#31
Blah101

Blah101

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
Nice, I will try this when I get home. It will come in handy in case anyone tries to steal my Hack Pro! In the even that I need to reinstall Lion, all I need to do is re-edit that plist again right?

#32
sureshtrb

sureshtrb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:dammam

Hi, I have made some experiments on "Find My Mac" and i found some interesting results: (...)

wow!
superb
worked after reboot
HP Pavillion dv6 lion 10.7.4

#33
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,098 posts
  • Gender:Male
You guys really need to checkout this
http://hints.macworl...120316132618149

Script to MAKE updated recovery partition.
Works well :wink2:

#34
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
I used this script earlier today on ML DP4 and was gonna make a post about it before I saw yours. It worked great, I edited the installer name in the script to match DP4, but change was more cosmetic than anything else. Anyway, I'm not a terminal hater, but this was WAY easier than the way I had been doing it all via command line, no more math trying to resize partitions.

#35
mnfesq

mnfesq

    Emenef, Esquire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California
This worked for me, and I have a 4th partition after the Recovery HD. It didn't work when Recovery HD was disk0s4 but when I made Recovery HD disk0s3 and made my other OS X partition disk0s4, it worked fine. Thanks for this.

#36
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
This may sound daft but is there any way of actually using this recovery partition as a recovery partition?

It would be great if it were accessible through chameleon (maybe using a command if the partition is hidden), and actually usable to recover/reinstall the OS to the main partition.

#37
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
Clover recognizes it and can boot it, you would have to make a couple of your usual modifications as with any installer, not sure about putting in another extra folder, but also should be able to have DSDT and stuff preload anyway.

On a side note, new version of Carbon Copy Cloner (which is also going to a paid app for like 30 bucks, starts with 30 day full trial) can create a recovery partition for you from scratch for Lion or ML

#38
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England
Ok, I might give Clover a go later.
In what way does it differ from Chameleon? I've not been following the project.

#39
rayap

rayap

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male

You guys really need to checkout this
http://hints.macworl...120316132618149

Script to MAKE updated recovery partition.
Works well :wink2:

Great on ML too!

#40
radik4506

radik4506

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
Check this website it's help me to create recovery disk for Mountain lion.
http://musings.silve...tition-in-lion/





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy