Jump to content

Patched mach_kernel 10.6.0 for Atom-based netbooks


  • Please log in to reply
346 replies to this topic

#41
pierrox

pierrox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts

Happy to report, IT WORKED!! ;)

CPU reported as Intel Core 2 Duo (About this Mac)


That's super cool news!
What's your motherboard/cpu?

#42
shoarthing

shoarthing

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 819 posts
  • Location:Blighty
wintelmac - thank you for persevering despite my [false] report. If you don't come from New Hampshire you could.

teateam - thank you: had to rebuild caches while running in 64-bit mode using vanilla 10.6.0 kernel - then your new 102 K64 kernel worked fine. Many thank agsain & apologies for not admitting the traditional pebcak before. This is a real step forward for Atom 330 users - the extra K64 performance is very welcome indeed.

Posted Image

BTW - for those used to SMP stuff - have you noticed how differently kernel 10.2 treats HTT? . . I assume this is Grand Central at work; but despite a great deal of experience with SMP boxes hadn't seen this strong preference for real cores over logical ones in any OS.

#43
teateam

teateam

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
Yes, i'm test it too. Work fine, all 4 cores.

@wintelmac
Intel Atom 330 don't have SpeedStep. Check specs.

#44
wintelmac

wintelmac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

That's super cool news!
What's your motherboard/cpu?


I am using Acer Revo R3610 Linus Base model.
Atom 330, 2GB RAM (added extra 1Gb)
Nvidia ION chipset (GeForce 9400M)


Yes, i'm test it too. Work fine, all 4 cores.

@wintelmac
Intel Atom 330 don't have SpeedStep. Check specs.


You are right, I managed to get rid of NullCPUPowerManagment.kext :)
Now need to check CPU temperature to see if it runs cool.

Update:
After getting native AppleIntelCPUManagment working, sleep works (video+nic+sound wake without problem)!

Portions of my boot logs...

Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: npvhash=4095
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: Darwin Kernel Version 10.2.0: Tue Nov 3 10:35:19 PST 2009; root:xnu-1486.2.11~1/RELEASE_X86_64
....
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=1 LocalApicId=0 Enabled
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=2 LocalApicId=2 Enabled
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=3 LocalApicId=1 Enabled
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=4 LocalApicId=3 Enabled
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: IOAPIC: Version 0x11 Vectors 64:87
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: ACPI: System State [S0 S3 S4 S5] (S3)
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: RTC: Only single RAM bank (128 bytes)
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: mbinit: done (64 MB memory set for mbuf pool)
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: From path: "uuid",
....
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: Kernel is LP64
Nov 12 20:21:32 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: initialization complete
Nov 12 20:21:40 localhost kernel[0]: Waiting for DSMOS...
...
Nov 12 20:23:13 xxxxxxx kernel[0]: ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::pushCPU_CSTData - _CST evaluation failed

#45
teateam

teateam

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
Hmm.... maybe native IntelCPUPowerManagement will be work? I will test it on my N270 tomorow.

#46
teateam

teateam

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Hmm.... maybe native IntelCPUPowerManagement will be work? I will test it on my N270 tomorow.

No, not work :thumbsup_anim:

#47
teateam

teateam

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Hmm.... maybe native IntelCPUPowerManagement will be work? I will test it on my N270 tomorow.

Now it work! Without NullCPUPM and SleepEnabler and VoodooPower... but now not work SpeedStep ;)
Now i'm try make ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin profile for my netbook...

#48
wrc4

wrc4

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Try this


Hi teateam,

I'm eager to try this. But my ISP blocked mediafire. Could you upload the file to rapidshare.de?

#49
jinnggoff

jinnggoff

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hackintosh

Now it work! Without NullCPUPM and SleepEnabler and VoodooPower... but now not work SpeedStep :rolleyes:
Now i'm try make ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin profile for my netbook...

Hi Teateam..where is dowload link for that kernel?

#50
teateam

teateam

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
I'm post link after finish testing.

#51
jinnggoff

jinnggoff

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hackintosh
Ok...I'l be waiting patiently the new kernel :(

#52
wintelmac

wintelmac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Now it work! Without NullCPUPM and SleepEnabler and VoodooPower... but now not work SpeedStep :)
Now i'm try make ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin profile for my netbook...


Cool. I think for native AppleIntelCPUMangagement to work require a bit of hacking DSDT. Let us know how you get on with ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin.

#53
teateam

teateam

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
Yes, i have right CPU section in DSDT and SpeedStep work under Leopard... No result with Snow...

#54
Chef Borjan

Chef Borjan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi there. Had the same KP issues as others I'm afraid. Followed the instructions (at least I think I did).

When I went to software update however, it seems like before I had to hit 'restart', only a new iTunes version was installed. I assumed that during the shut down process the 10.6.2 update would be installed, but unfortunately all that popped up were error messages, saying that the update could not be installed...

Thoughts?

#55
beland

beland

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Planet Earth
  • Interests:pc/mac hardware performance

only a new iTunes version was installed

AFAIremember itunes doesn't require reboot to be installed. safari does and it indeed turned 4.0.4 (lol) recently. as for kp - all cases in this thread are due to using old (pre-10.6.2) sleepenabler

#56
AppleIIGuy

AppleIIGuy

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
ok this is how I installed the mach_kernel on my Wind 100

I downloaded the sleepenabler.kext for 10.6.2

Downloaded the patched kernel for atom

I then installed the sleepenabler.kext and rebuilt caches

Then I unzipped the mach_kernel to my desktop

opened Terminal

sudo -s

mv mach_kernel /mach_kernel.atom

cd /

chown 0:0 mach_kernel.atom

I then installed the 10.6.2 update

It will reboot and install the update when you see the chameleon boot screen type mach_kernel.atom

You will then boot to 10.6.2 fter you bootup completes open terminal again

sudo -s

mv mach_kernel.atom /mach_kernel

chown 0:0 mach_kernel

then reboot

#57
NSCXP2005

NSCXP2005

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 585 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
How can this be installed to use EFI and be 100% Vanilla?

#58
pierrox

pierrox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts

How can this be installed to use EFI and be 100% Vanilla?

You would need to have a copy of the patched kernel on your EFI partition, and add a line in the boot.plist to tell it to use it instead of the official kernel. I don't know how it would react if you have multiboot though.

#59
NSCXP2005

NSCXP2005

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 585 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
do you know what the line to add is?

#60
beland

beland

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Planet Earth
  • Interests:pc/mac hardware performance

You would need to have a copy of the patched kernel on your EFI partition

why the heck? :D efi is used for bootloader, boot.plist and hardware specific kexts to reside only. mach_kernel is to be kept on SL partition.
the only thing to do to have fully working 10.6.2 is update to it and then REPLACE the original mach_kernel with the patched one before system restart. DONE.

NSCXP2005, now there's NO WAY to be 100% Vanilla with Atom under 10.6.2 (you are, actually. but till the next SU (10.6.3 ^_^. what tea's done is the ONLY WAY for now to run 10.6.2 with Atom
BTW, seems tea owns NC10. so the best way for you is to follow his blog news (see first post for links)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy