Jump to content

[GUIDE] Retail OS X Install (10.5.8) on Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 (Core i7) Mobo


  • Please log in to reply
3053 replies to this topic

#2021
dr3amscap3

dr3amscap3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

At least part of your problem is using a computer specific media. You need a Retail DVD, not one that came with a computer.


Okay, reinstalled again, followed the steps, this time using a true Retail DVD. Same thing happens, get a gray screen, spinning cursor and instead of Welcome/Setup I get "You need to restart your computer".

#2022
bigpoppa206

bigpoppa206

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 481 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA USA Earth

Okay, reinstalled again, followed the steps, this time using a true Retail DVD. Same thing happens, get a gray screen, spinning cursor and instead of Welcome/Setup I get "You need to restart your computer".


In my experience, this sounds like one of two things. Either something is not right in your BIOS settings or it could be a kext problem, such as not installing the Disabler.kext or IntelCPUPMDisabler.kext or forgetting install the dsmos.kext.

#2023
matt1801

matt1801

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I'm not sure if there is a fix beyond this but removing the IONetworkingFamily kext allows that card to work. I toggle between having the kext running and not running to switch between ethernet and wireless since you need the kext for ethernet.

My wireless card is being tested for faults at the moment though since the data transfer rate is terrible on it unless I constantly adjust the arial.


Hi Knight,

Thanks for the tip. I tried deleting the IONetworkingFamily.kext from my System/Library/Extensions folder and from the Extras/Stored_Kexts folder but my airport still does not work or appear in networking pref pane or in the toolbar. However, my ethernet continues to work! Did I make a mistake in deleting the IONetworkingFamily.kext?

Thanks,
Matt

#2024
Craig4

Craig4

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
My computer has been buggy the past few days as I have been trying to test a few new things.

first off I installed 3 new sticks of ram 6gb total. just to make sure what color slots do you put them in to run 3 channel?

next my computer has been resetting randomly after trying out F8 bios so I went back to F7 to see if that is the problem. will report back on that later.

edit: went back to F7 and computer rebooted again.... nothing has changed besides that... wtf is going on

#2025
dr3amscap3

dr3amscap3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

In my experience, this sounds like one of two things. Either something is not right in your BIOS settings or it could be a kext problem, such as not installing the Disabler.kext or IntelCPUPMDisabler.kext or forgetting install the dsmos.kext.


I have Disabler.kext and dsmos.kext installed.

My BIOS settings are identical to the image (except smart backup, which isn't simply enable/disable for me).

I don't have IntelCPUPMDisabler.kext

I need to find that.

#2026
digital_dreamer

digital_dreamer

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri USA

I have Disabler.kext and dsmos.kext installed.

My BIOS settings are identical to the image (except smart backup, which isn't simply enable/disable for me).

I don't have IntelCPUPMDisabler.kext

I need to find that.

Don't bother with the IntelCPUDisabler.kext. The Disabler.kext should contain the IntelCPUPowerManagement blacklist needed.

What I would do is boot with the -v flag at the boot prompt, so that we can troubleshoot via displayed log. It's hard to know what's happening without further info.

MAJ

My computer has been buggy the past few days as I have been trying to test a few new things.

first off I installed 3 new sticks of ram 6gb total. just to make sure what color slots do you put them in to run 3 channel?

next my computer has been resetting randomly after trying out F8 bios so I went back to F7 to see if that is the problem. will report back on that later.

edit: went back to F7 and computer rebooted again.... nothing has changed besides that... wtf is going on

Did the instability occur after the new RAM was installed, or did you install new RAM to fix the instability?
The 3 module setup would use the white RAM slots, but you'd know that because it won't boot in the wrong slots, anyway. Have you tried pulling all but one module? Are you running the GA/JMicron controller?

If you don't see any messages in the system.log prior to the reboot, it'll be hardware. Does the "Overclock warning" message appear in the BIOS after the reboot?

regards,
MAJ

#2027
h4tf4k

h4tf4k

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Retail install works, with full resolution, dual monitors, sound, internets, updates, everything! I did a few things at once, so i'm not sure what did it exactly. I think removing AppleTyMCEDriver.kext helped--thanks for that, tsunoo. I also removed the Extensions folder from Extra, and tried to make my S/L/E look the same as the S/L/E for Kalyway. My only problem now is that games won't start: In the "About This Mac" section under graphics, it says Quartz isn't supported and that i'm using software rendering--this can't be accurate if i am seeing fancy things such as the genie effect, right? I suppose that is an issue for a different thread. Anyways, i will post my specs again for anyone who might have similar hardware:

Processor: Core i7 920

Mobo: EVGA X58 3x SLI

Memory: OCZ 2GBx3 1066Mhz

Drives: Western Digital IDE 80Gb (has retail install), Seagate IDE 200Gb (has Kalyway on partition), Seagate SATA 320Gb (plugged in, but not in use by a mac os)

Graphics Card: EVGA NVIDIA 8800 GTS 320 (still have to test with 2nd one in)

DVD Drive: LG SATA

Network Card: WMP54G (in the slot, but doesn't work; no problem for me)

Thanks for your comments. I love doing this stuff. Being "old" and single helps, too.


Suddenly i feel more secure knowing you can be single but still be awesome! :blink:

#2028
mave_76

mave_76

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Hi,
can help me to install mac os X (what version?) for my pc :

Intel Core i7 920
Gigabyte EX58-UD5
6GB DDR3 RAM (triple Channel)
160Gb 7200 WD (OSX only)
Gainward Geforce GTX 275 896mb
F7 BIOS

regards

#2029
knightprozac

knightprozac

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts

I tried deleting the IONetworkingFamily.kext from my System/Library/Extensions folder and from the Extras/Stored_Kexts folder but my airport still does not work or appear in networking pref pane or in the toolbar. However, my ethernet continues to work! Did I make a mistake in deleting the IONetworkingFamily.kext?



The one your supposed to delete is in the /harddisk/extra/stored_kexts folder. You will also need to clear the extensions cache for the delete to take effect if your deleting it manually. The easiest way I find to do it is to move the IONetworkingFamily.kext from the script folder into repository then run the kext step within the script and it will do everything for you.

#2030
Nargilem

Nargilem

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
When trying to install OSX on my system it immediately reboots (right after it loaded extensions.mkext). I've tried
- Different DVDs: Zephyroth, Leo4All and iAtkos v7
- Boot flags: -x, -f, -cpus=1, -platform=AHCI, -legacy, maxmem=2048
- Disabling unused hardware in BIOS
- Using AHCI in BIOS, like in the first post

Is there anything else I'm forgetting? It's quite frustrating to see OSX is absolutely not working as this thread was one of the reasons I picked this motherboard..

#2031
Craig4

Craig4

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts

Did the instability occur after the new RAM was installed, or did you install new RAM to fix the instability?
The 3 module setup would use the white RAM slots, but you'd know that because it won't boot in the wrong slots, anyway. Have you tried pulling all but one module? Are you running the GA/JMicron controller?

If you don't see any messages in the system.log prior to the reboot, it'll be hardware. Does the "Overclock warning" message appear in the BIOS after the reboot?

regards,
MAJ


Hey DD

Good to hear from you again, its been a while. To be honest it is really hard to say when the instability occurred. What I can say is that it was completely stable with the last setup and the only thing that has changed is the addition of a new 1.5tb HDD, 3x 2gb DDR3 1600mhz Ram, and update to F7 Bios.

I am thinking I should just rip it apart again and rebuild to see if it has something to do with cables and so on. I will also first revert everything back to the initial setup.

I did get that Bios message about overclocking failure, so I reverted back to the default settings and still had the system crashing. I will let you know how everything goes. Thanks for the response.

Craig

#2032
feng'a

feng'a

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
I'm not sure what half of those boot flags are...

But I know you need busratio=20 in the boot flags.

A good start would (rather than putting all those flags in there) is to use:

busratio=20, -v

Then you should at least be able to see where it's hanging up.

Cheers.


When trying to install OSX on my system it immediately reboots (right after it loaded extensions.mkext). I've tried
- Different DVDs: Zephyroth, Leo4All and iAtkos v7
- Boot flags: -x, -f, -cpus=1, -platform=AHCI, -legacy, maxmem=2048
- Disabling unused hardware in BIOS
- Using AHCI in BIOS, like in the first post

Is there anything else I'm forgetting? It's quite frustrating to see OSX is absolutely not working as this thread was one of the reasons I picked this motherboard..



#2033
mattrb

mattrb

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Location:Chicago, IL

Version 4.0 will include:

  • EFI boot setup (lots of work yet to do)
  • Creation of pre-boot CD/ISO to boot OS X Installer DVD (basically done)
  • EFI strings support for 135+ graphics cards
  • Snow Leopard support


This version 4.0 will be awesome now that stellarola fixed the nasty CMOS reset bug in Snow Leopard.

Link for the discussion on that topic

#2034
Mike Ranger

Mike Ranger

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Interests:Computers....
Hi there

I have a really strange problem

I want to install a distro first on a external USB drive. To do that, I want to use a distro to do an initial install.

I tried several distors so far, non of them was able to boot from DVD.

My machine crashes right after I see the apple logo for a split second. Then crash and restart.

My system:

- GA-EX58-UD5

- Core i7 920 with D0 stepping

- 6 Gb RAM (tripple channel)

- NVIDIA GT 9600 graphics card

Any ideas what the problem could be?

Mike

#2035
raymondh

raymondh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts

Hi there

I have a really strange problem

I want to install a distro first on a external USB drive. To do that, I want to use a distro to do an initial install.

I tried several distors so far, non of them was able to boot from DVD.

My machine crashes right after I see the apple logo for a split second. Then crash and restart.

My system:

- GA-EX58-UD5

- Core i7 920 with D0 stepping

- 6 Gb RAM (tripple channel)

- NVIDIA GT 9600 graphics card

Any ideas what the problem could be?

Mike



What color SATA ports are you plugged into?
Are you using any IDE cables on any drives (including CDROM/DVD)?
Do you have AHCI set in the bios for both controllers?
Did you change anything in the bios?

#2036
Mike Ranger

Mike Ranger

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Interests:Computers....
Hello

I plugged into the blue SATA ports

I use a DVD Burner also plugged into the same blue row.

Everything set into AHCI in bios.

I have not changed anything else, I do use latest bios F7.



Mike

#2037
seanmcgpa

seanmcgpa

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philly
Thanks!

DD - you rock! I am up and running and this baby is fast!

Xeon 3520 @ 4Ghz, 6gb, nvidia GTX 285 with 2GB.

After some trial and error (the video card injector does NOT like my nVidia GTX 285), I was finally able to get everything working. For me I just deleted the ATY_Init.kext in Graphics\ and the two JMicron kexts in _ATA.

To get the GTX 285 running, I installed the evga video drivers for Mac, and Netkas's Enabler_for_Nvidia_and_multiple_ATI_cards, Reboot, and 2560x1600 working razor sharp. World of Warcraft gives me 60fps with everything maxed running around Dalaran.

Really appreciate your post!



Oh, question - I've seen people using -busration and -cpu etc in their boot flags.... is this neccessary? My system seems to be running flawlessly (well, I don't use sleep or hibernate).

Will busratio fix anything? Improve performance?

#2038
Craig4

Craig4

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
well got some good news, but dont know how to explain it.

I stated before my computer was acting really bugging and shutting down right after the Mac gray screen. well I let the computer sit off for a full day, came back today to it working fully.

The only thing different now is that I dont have my 1tb external plugged in. I will plug it in later when i get it back from a friend to see if that is causing the problem.

Does anyone know how to access my EFI partition, i remember DD putting up a script to mount the EFI. When I do so, can I just delete the Voodoo kernel and system.kexts from there and the original 10.5.7 ones should take over right? or does it not work that way?

#2039
colddiver

colddiver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello all,

It has been a week since I built my Hackintosh. Overall, I am very happy but I still have a few little bugs I would like to resolve. The main one is that Shutdown is extremely slow both in Windows and Mac OS X. Computer looks frozen but if I give it enough time, it usually reboots. Sleep also is giving me some issues. The computer gets to sleep (fans still spinning, USB and monitor power down). but can't wake up. I am also seeing this under Windows and Mac OS X. I have also experienced the common loss of network interface (this one, I can live with).

I am not sure if the sleep and shutdown issues are related. The fact that they happen under 2 different OSs suggests a hardware or bios issue. I am running all my drives in AHCI in both controllers (I only have the Windows drive on the GSATA - everything else is under SATA). I didn't change any of the power management stuff (loaded uptimized defaults) except the CPU fan (running full speed all the time). I am running the XPM (Profile 1) for my RAM since it is rated for 1600. I did some hardware tests using TechTools Pro and everything is OK (RAM, CPU, disk controllers, etc.). I am running my graphic cards using an EFI string.

I a running the F8e BIOS. I don't remember if I had the same issues with the previous non-beta bios. I don't think I tested that much then.

If anybody has any ideas on how to fix these last bits, I would certainly appreciate.

Colddiver

#2040
h4tf4k

h4tf4k

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Thanks to everyone for their help... the problem was that the wrong boot.plist file had the EFI/GFX string. Here's a quick summary for others:

My version of OSX86Tools was generating the EFI string correctly, BUT it was inserting this into /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist

... that's not the right file!

The right file is in /Extra

once I put the EFI string onto the com.apple.boot.plist (note lower case "b") then I booted up with QE.

Fantastic!! :rolleyes:





slipperydip, you are my hero! I had also been struggling with this for days, always changing the string in the L/P/S plist. But now it works! I love you! I wish this could be sprayed all over the tutorials we have looked over...probably no one will come here to look T.T





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2015 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy