Where to beign to learning programing?

13 posts in this topic

Im doing a computer science foundation degree this year (proper degree starts next year) and i want to learn to to program in my own time as we haven't covered much in lectures but im finding it hard to get my head round the basics concepts of programming.

Anyway one of my class mates has done a computer science course before and said they spent about half a term just learning the methods used and basic techniques used to solve problems i think this is what i need as i have never done any programming before and we just jumped straight into VB in lectures so can anyone recommend a website or something that starts with the very basic's? a podcast would be ideal as i learn better when listening or watching.

thanks

When i started when i was 10/11 i learnt Java. Java is a really good language to learn for a beginner as you can create programs that are cross platform, and with a Graphical User Interface. The way i learnt when i was 10/11 was my brother gave me his books that he used in first year computer science. Here are some recommendations 'Introduction to Java Programming' by Y Daniel Liang and 'Head First Java' by Kathy Sierra & Bert Bates. Head first java has a lot more diagrams explaining the programs that you right while Introduction to Java Programming has a lot more reading and fewer diagrams. If you need know any more information let me know.

Java is a excellent language but I reckon C is better mainly becuase of its speed and nativeness. Also did I mention it is easy to learn with the .Net framework.

I know PHP, JS myself and I find C# and C++ to be real easy :)

Well perhaps instead of just saying java sucks and not recommending anything better, I should have said that C is the best language to start with. It's the base for Objective C, which is the native programming language for OS X.

Chest12, I know C, C++, Objective-C, BASIC (which fails), and some assembly.