Jump to content

[HOW TO] Convert Mac demos to full games


  • Please log in to reply
158 replies to this topic

#1
OMX-Knuckles

OMX-Knuckles

    Girl wif the hammer ^_^

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Female
Update- As of 4/2008 I once again have a working Mac. I haven't been keeping up with this thread, but over the next few weeks I'll try and update this post with newer info!


Introduction
After seeing Don Luca's guide to turning a PC install of Ut2k4 to a Mac version I started thinking about all the PC games I've amassed over the years, and how many of them have Mac versions. Got me thinking- I know there are quite a few of us out there that (1. Enjoy playing games occasionally (2. Are tired of Windows and (3. Have lots of PC games and don't want to re-buy them for Mac.

---->What this thread is not-<----
-A guide to pirating Mac games
-A list of games that work on Intel Macs- that's available here
-A troubleshooting guide for games on Intel Macs- start a new thread for your specific problem
-A Guide to running PC games under Mac OS- search for WINE or CrossOver

---->What this thread is-<----
A guide to turning Mac demos of games into the full version using data from the PC version you legally own. Both PPC and Universal games are good, as long as they work acceptably on Intel Macs.


I'm leaving it up to the community to get the ball rolling. Please keep things neat; if at all possible edit existing posts instead of creating new ones. Suggestions for games to convert are fine, even if you don't have the resources to do it yourself. Feel free to post personal experiences and suggestions on existing games. When a new game/method is discovered I'll update this thread accordingly.

About the levels of testing-
Games known to work- Games that have worked for EVERYONE
Unconfirmed/Disputed- Games that are either not tested thoroughly enough or have had some failures and some successes
Games tested without success- Games that have worked for NOBODY
Untested games- Self-explainatory. Feel free to suggest games to be added to this list, and if you have the ability please test games on this list!

Games KNOWN able to be converted to full using demo -->Games marked with :) have Universal Binaries available

:dance_24:Alice- thanks to maximumzero for finding a solution!
Method -Create folder titled "Alice"
- Obtain Mac game app from v 1.1.1 patch download and copy to game folder
- Update with v1.1.2 patch
-Create folder named "base" inside game folder
-Copy contents of "base" folder from a PC install into /Alice/base folder on Mac

Call of Duty- Thanks to AllOutMacsToday for testing this!
Method- Install Mac Demo
- Add/Replace data files from PC install <-- Can someone please confirm which data files need replacing!
- Install v1.5c Patch

:dance_24: Call of Duty 2- Thanks to coolbits for testing this!
Method- Install Mac Demo
- Copy data from PC version
- Install Mac Patch

:dance_24: Doom 3
-Install Demo and v1.3a Patch.
-Copy game data over from PC installer CD's
-Burn copy of game disk 1 titled "Doom 3"- disk must be in drive to launch game

Knights of the Old Republic- Thanks to Prasys for testing this!
Method -Install PC version on Windows install (real or VM)
- Update PC version to v1.03
- Copy PC install over to Mac
- Install Mac update v1.03
-KNOWN ISSUE- You *will* need a No CD patch to play- Google is your friend!
-KNOWN ISSUE- Movies will not play unless they are converted from .bik to .mov

:dance_24: Quake 1
Method-Create folder titled "Quake"
-Create folder inside titled "id1"
-Download Quake Patch v1.1 OR Tenebrae Quake and install according to the Readme
-Obtain "id1" Folder from a PC install and copy contents over to your "id1"
-KNOWN ISSUE- Reflective objects may not appear correctly (OMX-knuckles)

:dance_24: Quake 2
Method -Create folder titled "Quake II"
-Create folders inside titled "action" "baseq2" "ctf" "rouge" and "xatrix"
-Download v1.1 Patch
-Install patch as specified in the readme
-Copy contents of "baseq2" folder from PC install to your Mac "baseq2" folder
-KNOWN ISSUE- Sound may not work (reported by wow)
-KNOWN ISSUE- Lighting on some map objects may not appear correctly (OMX-knuckles)

:dance_24: Quake 3- thanks to Fiendskull for testing!
Method -Create "Quake 3" folde
-Copy "baseq3" folder from PC install
-Copy "Quake3.app" from v1.32c update into Quake 3 folder


:dance_24: Quake 4- thanks to enb14 for testing this!
Method -Create folder titled "Quake 4"
-Obtain "q4base" and "english" (or language of choice) folders from PC install and copy into Quake 4 directory
-Download v1.3 patch and install to your Quake 4 directory

:dance_24: Prey- thanks to Dajiu for testing!
Method -Install Prey Demo
-Install full PC version in Parallels or native Windows
-Delete contents of "Prey Demo/base" in Mac demo
-Under PC install rename "pak000.pk4" in Prey/base to "pak000.pk4.zip"
-Copy the file "mainmenu.gui" to the desktop (just drag it to the desktop - original will not be moved, a copy will be made)
-Rename mainmenu.gui to demo_mainmenu.gui
-Add the demo_mainmenu.gui back to the pak000.pk4.zip file (just drag it into the window where you are browsing pak000.pk4.zip)
-Once the file is added to the zip file, go back to the base directory and rename pak000.pk4.zip to pak000.pk4
-Copy entire contents of /Prey/base on PC to /Prey Demo/base on Mac
-COMMENT- If you have saved games on the PC, copy "My Documents/My Games/Prey/base/savegames" to "Library/Application Support/Prey Demo/base/savegames" and they will work.

:dance_24: Unreal Tournament 2004- Thanks to Don Luca for letting us know about this one! Original Thread
Method- Install Mac demo
-Obtain v3369 Patch and install to the demo folder (you will have to manually choose where to install patch to)
-From here there's two methods for making it a full version

Method 1
Get Parallels Desktop and install Windows 2000 or XP (You need version 3034 or newer of Parallels)
-Install Coherency tools on Windows
-Install UT2k4 on the Windows VM
-Drag and drop folder *contents* from the Windows install to the corresponding folders on the Mac OS install

Method 2
-Install UT2k4 on a PC (ANY PC will work, you won't be running the game)
-Copy game data to Mac using dual-layer DVD/external Hard disk/networked shares/etc

-->OVERWRITE EVERYTHING WHEN ASKED EXCEPT DO NOT OVERWRITE ANYTHING IN THE SYSTEM FOLDER<--

-Make a plan text file with your cdkey in the UT System folder. To do this, type your cdkey in a blank document in Textedit and select "make plain text". Save as "cdkey" and make sure to deselect "if no extension is provided use .txt".
-If Unreal gives you a message that your key is invalid, select the cdkey file and go to "Get Information" and "Name and Extension". Make sure there is no extension provided.
-Make sure you rename the application Unreal Tournament 2004.app and rename the executable in /Contents/Mac OS/Unreal Tournament 2004. Failure to remove the "demo" from executables may result in a "This application is damaged" message when trying to launch.

Unconfirmed/Disputed games- these have methods to patch that are sound in theory but for whatever reason are either Not fully tested or Work for some but not others

Battlefield 1942- NOT FULLY TESTED
Method- Install Demo
- Rename game directory to "Battlefield 1942", rename App to "Battlefield 1942" and rename "Demo Data" to "Data"
- Delete all contents of the Data directory EXCEPT for "BF1942.pid" and the "Cache" and "Movies" directories
- Make a duplicate of the Battlefield 1942.app and rename it "Battlefield 1942 The Road to Rome"
- Copy the "Mods" directory from a PC install into the "Data" directory of the Mac install
- Copy "bfdist.vlu" and "lexicon.DS" from the root directory of the PC install to the "Mods" directory in the Mac install
- Download the v1.61d Patch[/u][/b]. You will need to manually point it to your Battlefield 1942 directory
- FAILURE (OMX-knuckles)- Unable to run game for further testing without the correct disks
--> Remember, this method is currently UNTESTED. YMMV <--

Games tested without success but may be possible

Command and Conquer: Generals- Thanks to enb14 for testing this!
-More details needed!

Games that can *not* be converted, period

Black and White No Mac demo available. If someone finds one please share!
Deux Ex No Mac OS X patch was ever made available.
Dungeon Siege No Mac demo available. If someone finds one please share!
Max Payne No Mac demo available. If someone finds one please share!
Oni PC data files are coded differently than Mac data files so Mac executable will not recognize PC data -> Source


Games yet to be tested
The Movies <- No information thus far on engine or presence of Universal Binary
-Medal of Honor: Breakthrough <- Should be possible, uses Quake 3 engine
-Medal of Honour: Spearhead <- Should be possible, uses Quake 3 engine
-Return to Castle Wolfenstien <- Unknown, should be possible. Uses Quake 3 engine
-Jedi Knight II <- May be possible. Uses Quake 3 engine
-Unreal <- May be possible (I have PC version)

Edited by OMX-Knuckles, 01 May 2008 - 06:05 AM.


#2
Tom Parker

Tom Parker

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:UK
Thats a really nice guide, Thanks!

#3
OMX-Knuckles

OMX-Knuckles

    Girl wif the hammer ^_^

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Female
I'm currently downloading the Quake 4 demo. I should be able to get some testing done before week's end. It would be great if someone else who owns Doom 3 could give it a try and see if we can't get past that copy protection issue. I'm thinking it may be as simple as making a re-named copy of the original game disk but we'll see. Does anyone know where to get a MOHAA demo for Mac? All I can find is the demos for the expansions.

Edited by OMX-Knuckles, 26 December 2006 - 11:06 PM.


#4
alloutmacstoday

alloutmacstoday

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Abbey Road
i tried it on call of duty (i downloaded the full windows from the demon), and did your guide and it seemed to work.

it looks more like the game than a demo, so thanks (i tell you if i all the maps work)

#5
OMX-Knuckles

OMX-Knuckles

    Girl wif the hammer ^_^

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Female
Excellent! Was your method something like
Install Demo
Install patch
Copy over full game data
I'll add that one as known working when you can confirm all the maps are there. Thanks!

#6
CoolBits

CoolBits

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
I got COD2 fully working wit this method :hysterical:
Demo
data from PC game
patch
no DVD (k)

Multi and single works normaly...

Edited by coolbits, 28 December 2006 - 06:18 AM.


#7
OMX-Knuckles

OMX-Knuckles

    Girl wif the hammer ^_^

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Female
Good work! I'll add that one to the list. Quake 4 will have to wait, a buddy still has my CD's. I'm testing Quake 1 and 2 now.
EDIT- Updated with information for Quake 1/Tenebrae Quake as well as Quake 2.
EDIT again, downloading Battlefield 1942 demo now, available here and patch here. I have the feeling that this one will be tougher to work with. The presence of both SP and MP demos might indicate that both demos are missing essential system files. We'll see. Help with this one will be greatly appreciated!

Edited by OMX-Knuckles, 28 December 2006 - 06:54 AM.


#8
OMX-Knuckles

OMX-Knuckles

    Girl wif the hammer ^_^

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Female
Making some progress on Battlefield 1942. The game directory structure is very straightforward. I may have this one worked out sooner than anticipated. But it will be much more complicated than any others so far.

Partial Success on Battlefield 1942. I got the data files and patched, but my game disks are from the Complete Collection version and thus aren't named the same as what the game expects. I posted the patching method in the main post but beware, it's untested!!

Edited by OMX-Knuckles, 28 December 2006 - 08:53 AM.


#9
OMX-Knuckles

OMX-Knuckles

    Girl wif the hammer ^_^

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Female
Battlefield 1942 is temporarily stalled until I can get some original disks (mine are from the more recent BF1942 and BF:V combo release).

However, Tonight's project is MOHAA. This was one of the most popular (if not the most) game from 2002 so I'm guessing a lot of of people have the PC version around. Hopefully I'll find a way to get it working on Mac for y'all.

#10
alloutmacstoday

alloutmacstoday

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Abbey Road
sweet, it 100% worked for both call of duty's and doom 3!!

this is the most awesome thing ever
:thumbsdown_anim:

#11
enb14

enb14

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 615 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central America
Command and conquer Generals can't be converted with DEMO + PATCH trick.

Quake 4 fully tested, it works you just need the patch not the demo.

#12
alloutmacstoday

alloutmacstoday

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Abbey Road
only the patch?

#13
vbetts

vbetts

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,620 posts
  • Gender:Male
If you have access somehow to your hdd/partition that has the games via network, or some other way, you don't need a demo or anything, just copy, and patch it. Unless you need a base so the files know what format and such to copy. Something on the lines of that.

Edited by vbetts, 30 December 2006 - 12:58 AM.


#14
alloutmacstoday

alloutmacstoday

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Abbey Road
u can do dat

#15
OMX-Knuckles

OMX-Knuckles

    Girl wif the hammer ^_^

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Female
@ AllOutMacsToday- Thanks for testing Call of Duty! Could you give more detailed information on how you got Doom 3 working? I moved it up to the "Unconfirmed" list as I'm still getting an error message that disk "Doom 3" is not inserted.

@enb14- Thanks for confirming Quake 4, I added it to the list. Too bad C&C: Generals didn't work. Could you provide more detailed information (ie, method attempted and wnat problems you ran into). Thanks!

Edited by OMX-Knuckles, 30 December 2006 - 06:04 AM.


#16
alloutmacstoday

alloutmacstoday

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Abbey Road
i did what you said, but then i inserted the doom 3 windows disk, and it seemed to accept that it was the disk.

#17
wow

wow

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi i tried quake 2 everything worked, only not the sound effects. I have the original pc cd.
Installed the patch i hear music but no sound effects. anybody has the same problem??

#18
OMX-Knuckles

OMX-Knuckles

    Girl wif the hammer ^_^

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Female
Hmm. Sound and music are both fine for me. Have you tried it with the CD out or music disabled? I'll append that issue to the Quake 2 section.

#19
wow

wow

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Gender:Male
Tried a few things, in the beginning i had no sound at all. Maybe itunes took the sound resource. Had to reboot to get cd music working. tried a few other things but could not get it to work (yet).

#20
enb14

enb14

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 615 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central America
Quake 4:

Ingredients: Latest patch, Quake 4 PC DVD

Method 1:

First create a folder "Quake 4"

- Open your Patch file and extract all files with either show contents and copy inside "Quake 4" folder you created.

- Copy all pk4 files into "q4base" folder

- Now you will need quake 4 DVD inserted on drive, so now you will need a NO-CD patch (google it)

Method 2:

- Create a folder "Quake 4"

- Then inside you have to create this folders:
"q4base", "Quake 4.app" and optional "Quake 4 Dedicated Server.app"

- copy all your pk4 files in "q4base"

- No-CD Patch



For Command and conquer generals what I did was to create the folders and copy those .dat and .big and so files but unfortunately movies needs to be converted to .mov and also other files, I'm trying to see if there's a way to make it to work but noting has worked to me yet.

Doom 3: Fully working :thumbsup_anim:

- Create a "Doom 3" folder

- Within "Doom 3" folder create this folders:
"base", "Doom3.app", "pb"

- Copy all pk4 files in "base"
- extract "Doom 3.app" from either NO-CD Patch or from 1.3 patch, if you don't have NO-CD Patch you can create a CD, CDRW, DVD or whatever with "DOOM 3", "Doom3" Label (not sure which one).
- extract *.mac files into your pb folder

Edited by enb14, 01 January 2007 - 08:37 PM.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy