Jump to content

ATI Mobility X1600, X1700 and others


  • Please log in to reply
434 replies to this topic

#61
Hubb

Hubb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
I tried with all ATI**.kext from a MacBook Pro (which has an ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 like us) but it was unsuccessful.

But if you can't see anything and if you don't have any other screens, after an ATIinject.kext modification, you can try to hold shift during all the boot process (since the grey apple to the login screen) to start in Safe Boot mode, generic display drivers are loaded and strangely there's no mouse tearing with them...

If I delete Info.plist, I won't have any Internal display...

Have you deleted any other ATI**.kext in Extensions folder ??

#62
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

I tried with all ATI**.kext from a MacBook Pro (which has an ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 like us) but it was unsuccessful.

But if you can't see anything and if you don't have any other screens, after an ATIinject.kext modification, you can try to hold shift during all the boot process (since the grey apple to the login screen) to start in Safe Boot mode, generic display drivers are loaded and strangely there's no mouse tearing with them...

If I delete Info.plist, I won't have any Internal display...

Have you deleted any other ATI**.kext in Extensions folder ??


no u don't need the macbook pro files...
all u need is:
a fresh install of OSX 10.4.8 without any graphic patches installed and the files i posted...
and i did not talk about deleting the info.plist only... there are 2 info.plists inside of the atiinject.kext .... info.plist and info2.plist...
info2.plist does not contain the external monitor informations... so if u delete info.plist and rename info.plist u should still have a working system... i just cannot imagine anything else why your display is splitted into 4 parts...

#63
experventol

experventol

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
thanks sheriffbounce for the solution to the splitted screen. It worked for me!

but, the backlight for my laptop internal display doesnt seem to be switched on. So i can only barely see the display, though now it is fully at the native resolution of 1280x800.

Is there anyway to turn the backlight on?

#64
starimage

starimage

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia
Sleep mode not working.... Global sleep :unsure: Any ideas ?

#65
cmx

cmx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
how can i change the EDID byte code to string to edit the Info.plist? Info.plist is XML code file. But EDID date is byte code.

#66
AVPS

AVPS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

for the "boxes" search the geniusbar for the borisbadenov solution... this provides you with full QE/CI and resolution change... DVI depends on your card i think but as far as i remember it should work with a DVI to VGA adapter...
cheers
Sheriff



i tried the boris method 5 times but doesnt work any other suggestions??? thanks for the help anyways sheriff

#67
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

i tried the boris method 5 times but doesnt work any other suggestions??? thanks for the help anyways sheriff

uhhhhmmm didnt use this method since months now... let me check and give u some feedback by the end of the day...
cheers
sheriff

Edited by sheriffbounce, 21 January 2007 - 08:56 PM.


#68
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

how can i change the EDID byte code to string to edit the Info.plist? Info.plist is XML code file. But EDID date is byte code.

for changes in plist.info please ONLY use Apples Plist Editor!!!!!!! otherwise it wont work!!!
u can find it in the genius bar...
cheers
sheriff

#69
lord123

lord123

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
I have searched the whole genius bar and didn't found the Apple Plist Editor.
When i google, it says that Plist Editor is included in Developer Tools but Developer Tools have a size of 925mb!

Where do i simply find the "Apple Plist Editor" ?

Please Help.

Greetings...

#70
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

I have searched the whole genius bar and didn't found the Apple Plist Editor.
When i google, it says that Plist Editor is included in Developer Tools but Developer Tools have a size of 925mb!

Where do i simply find the "Apple Plist Editor" ?

Please Help.

Greetings...


here it is...
http://forum.insanel...mp;#entry208018
Apple Propertylist Editor

#71
cmx

cmx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
In the Info.plist file , I found two places which can enter EDID. first is DFP1 and Second is LVDS. I know that my mobility X1600 could use for multi-vedio. But i don't know which one is used for LCD,which one is used for TV. Could u tell me? Thanks sincerely!

Edited by cmx, 22 January 2007 - 06:39 AM.


#72
lord123

lord123

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Thank you sheriffbounce! I found the Apple Plist Editor and succesfully installed it.

Afther Changing the EEID @ LVDS (hope this was the right entry) MacOS boots to the grey background and freezes then!
How can i load the standard VESA drivers to get back to MacOS for changing anything?

I noticed now, that i havent change the Ven & Dev ID's - Could that be the problem?

Greetings

#73
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

In the Info.plist file , I found two places which can enter EDID. first is DFP1 and Second is LVDS. I know that my mobility X1600 could use for multi-vedio. But i don't know which one is used for LCD,which one is used for TV. Could u tell me? Thanks sincerely!


DFP1 is for the external monitor and LVDS for the internal display...
if u only use internal display u can delete info.plist from ATIinject.kext - rename info2.plist to info.plist and enter your EDID into this file...
hope this helps...
cheers
sheriff

#74
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Thank you sheriffbounce! I found the Apple Plist Editor and succesfully installed it.

Afther Changing the EEID @ LVDS (hope this was the right entry) MacOS boots to the grey background and freezes then!
How can i load the standard VESA drivers to get back to MacOS for changing anything?

I noticed now, that i havent change the Ven & Dev ID's - Could that be the problem?

Greetings

boot your notebook and press F8 to get the bootoptions of the Darwin Bootloader
enter -s
at the prompt after starting the console enter:
/sbin..blablabla (OSX tells you how to mount the system, it's 2 lines)

then:
cd /system/library/extensions
rm -rf atiinject.kext
cd ..
rm extensions.kextcache extensions.mkext
reboot


now your system should start again...

did you use the zip posted by me?
which systemconfiguration u have? which kernel?

could you please post your ATIinject.kext here?

#75
AVPS

AVPS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

uhhhhmmm didnt use this method since months now... let me check and give u some feedback by the end of the day...
cheers
sheriff



thanks sheriff, looks like whichever i use boris or natit i get the same result, i also tried using my x300 card and it seems to give me resolution change but no ci and other advanced features also when i try to playback dvd it says no video card present, i used the Callisto code. also it dint install fully even though after reboot i could change the resolution. last thing i noticed was that when i ran same the same dvd in another computer and installed with the same x1600 card i still got boxes. could it be something to do with the card even though it works fine in windows or could it be the installation dvd even though that is the only one which works on my S5000XVN board. if u igve me set of instructions to edit i can do it on my own, just loading xp to see my deive id for audio, thanks

Edited by AVPS, 22 January 2007 - 12:38 PM.


#76
cmx

cmx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
sheriffbounce : Another question is that I found the data which i entered into Info.plist by capitalization. will it be wrong?

#77
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

sheriffbounce : Another question is that I found the data which i entered into Info.plist by capitalization. will it be wrong?


Apple plist editor converts the edid automatically...all you have to do is to regroup the EDID as described in the beginning of this thread and paste it then @the right place...

or just send me a PM with your EDID and i'll send you the ATIinject back (just for the very beginners in OSX)

cheers
sheriff

#78
cmx

cmx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
Thank you Very much! Here is my EDID:

LCD:
EDID BYTES:
0x 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
------------------------------------------------
00 | 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 0E 14 B1 13 00 00 00 00
10 | 07 10 01 03 80 21 15 78 0A 8E 2D 9D 55 50 8F 27
20 | 20 50 54 00 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
30 | 01 01 01 01 01 01 EA 1A 00 80 50 20 0D 30 18 20
40 | 13 00 4B CF 10 00 00 19 00 00 00 0F 00 20 20 20
50 | 20 20 20 20 20 20 6E 05 0F 00 00 00 00 FE 00 43
60 | 50 54 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FE
70 | 00 43 4C 41 41 31 35 34 57 41 30 35 41 20 00 C0

TV:
EDID BYTES:
0x 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
------------------------------------------------
00 | 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 41 D0 FE 09 00 00 00 00
10 | 00 00 01 03 00 00 00 00 F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
20 | 00 00 00 21 08 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
30 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
40 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
50 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
60 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
70 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 D1

#79
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Thank you Very much! Here is my EDID:

LCD:
EDID BYTES:
0x 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
------------------------------------------------
00 | 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 0E 14 B1 13 00 00 00 00
10 | 07 10 01 03 80 21 15 78 0A 8E 2D 9D 55 50 8F 27
20 | 20 50 54 00 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
30 | 01 01 01 01 01 01 EA 1A 00 80 50 20 0D 30 18 20
40 | 13 00 4B CF 10 00 00 19 00 00 00 0F 00 20 20 20
50 | 20 20 20 20 20 20 6E 05 0F 00 00 00 00 FE 00 43
60 | 50 54 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FE
70 | 00 43 4C 41 41 31 35 34 57 41 30 35 41 20 00 C0

TV:
EDID BYTES:
0x 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
------------------------------------------------
00 | 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 41 D0 FE 09 00 00 00 00
10 | 00 00 01 03 00 00 00 00 F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
20 | 00 00 00 21 08 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
30 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
40 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
50 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
60 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
70 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 D1


TV??????????????????????????
i don't think TV-out is working...
i'll prepare an ATIinject with LCD only... okay?

#80
cmx

cmx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
OK! I think the Second one is for DFP1





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy