Jump to content

ATI Mobility X1600, X1700 and others


  • Please log in to reply
434 replies to this topic

#1
TheMaxx32000

TheMaxx32000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Retired Developers
  • 123 posts
Hello everybody!

Update:

I managed to get ATI mobility X1700 to work on internal Display, but I need to do some work before I'm gonna release it. I don't have qe / ci tried with framebuffer working yet (without it gives a kernel-panic anyway....)


Max

Attached Files



#2
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Hello everybody!

Some points:

1.) ATI mobility installer:

I haven't released anything yet, since I sold my laptop with mobility x1600. If I think I have something which will help more users then me, it is a question of minutes for Neopheus to create an installer off it.
2.) ATIinject.kext-Pack from my old x1600 mobility:

I will post all nessecary files here in a zip-file, included is

-My ATIinject.kext with MY EDID SETTINGS (NEEDS TO BE CHANGED TO MATCH YOURS)
-ATINDRV.kext from 10.4.5
-IONDRVSupport.kext from 10.4.5
-All other ATIRadeonX1000 Extensions


Great!
Of course I will make an installer if you allow :thumbsup_anim:
The thing is that the user has to enter the EDID by himself... Autodetection would be much better!
I made a Natit version for mobility cards too, but it doesent work very well... :D
I'm looking forward for testing various injections!

Ah I just had an idea...
Installer -> at the end opens a script in terminal -> user has to enter EDID -> patching and reboot...

Cool I will try tomorrow!


Good Luck and have fun in spain!
cYa NeoPheus

#3
walterav

walterav

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
This is great to HEAR!!! i'm been struggling all week last week, and always stopped at a laptop screen with only backlight burning but no image... this is what i learned so far.

when using 1048 extensions there was no backlight, no QE and no res change "I checked using a VNC remote connection"
when using atindrv1045 and iondrv1048 there was no QE/CI but there was res change "backlight on"
when using atindrv 1045 and iondrv1045 there was QE and RES change but still no image"only backlight on"

BTW Themaxx32000 were you using a 256 or 512 mb x1600?
and are the kexts from the old working laptop or the new one?

I will keep you posted after my next install

#4
walterav

walterav

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
It works!!!!!!

There are 2 info.plist files in atiinject are the both compatbile?

Or is the second one more for internal-LCD-only as i underunderstand correctly?


YES YES YES it works... it works!!!!!!! wohooooo i've been doing countless efforts last week and now it works!!!

everything works even external dvi "a second monitor"


Are Rotation and Colorsync working with yours?

grtz

#5
SaxMachine

SaxMachine

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sicily
  • Interests:Music...music...music...( I play the Saxophone ) and I'm a sys admin for job and passion.
I have try new ATIinjcet with all kext 10.4.8 and work on may Ati Radeon Sapphire X1600 PRO PCI-e 512 Mb.

I have change my id ----> 71C2
Dual monitor don't work.

#6
walterav

walterav

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
Rotation is only supported on my external monitor, I'll do a total system reinstall, and than will post my findings.

Still Superb WORKS TheMaxx32000!!! :)

#7
walterav

walterav

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
For getting EDID, use this Phoenix edit

http://www.tucows.com/preview/329441

get edid from registry > save as DAT.

edid the dat file in notepad and place everything in portions of 8 with a space...

xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx you will end up with 32fields of xxxxxxxx in a row

use PLIST editor from APPLE's Xcode ""its a 900mb dmg"" you have to download it

than in plist edid open the info.plist form ATIinject than put in your EDID

#8
eGWan

eGWan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
well you're the man max!
as far i know there are problem x1400 when detect internal display,
is it possible can solve x1400 issue too? perhaps with just add x1400's dev id and edid data

#9
TheMaxx32000

TheMaxx32000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Retired Developers
  • 123 posts
@eGWan, did you try adding your edid-data to ATIinject.plist and change all "Wormy" to "Caretta"? Just an idea...

#10
walterav

walterav

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
The maxx which kernel are you using on the coreduo laptop?

#11
Bandes

Bandes

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thank you TheMaxx32000 for posting these configs! I ve been probing with them many-many hours today on my x1400 mobility laptop.
I posted the results in this thread.
Well not managed to make internal lcd work :dev: but was able to collect some information that may be useful later.. who knows..

Edited by Bandes, 28 December 2006 - 01:47 AM.


#12
eGWan

eGWan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts

@eGWan, did you try adding your edid-data to ATIinject.plist and change all "Wormy" to "Caretta"? Just an idea...


thanks max' i'll try it and will report soon

#13
Bandes

Bandes

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male

thanks max' i'll try it and will report soon


hey eGWan!
forget it. don't try with 'Caretta' setting. it wont work for sure on internal lcd.
only worth would be trying with Wormy, cause thats the only driver-plugin with LVDS port detecting functionality.
here is the prove
sad though :(

#14
asstastic

asstastic

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX
Maxx,

your setup using both 10.4.5 kexts might actualy work for you. After much testing I have found that changing key system files can have an effect on whether or not my mobility x1600 laptop boots to the desktop or a screen of black and blue lines. If my laptop boots to the lines more than twice in a row I have found that booting with a different semthex kernel than the one I have been using causes the graphics to render correctly. I can only assume that the out-of-order Natit method of injecting information to the kernel sometimes sends the information too late or it ends up getting corrupted in memory somehow. For anyone having problems with x1600/1700, try booting with another kernel and post results.

-{censored}

#15
Red-Fox

Red-Fox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
@ maxx:

i do have the same ASUS a8jp like you, so i'm really looking forward to get the x1700 working properly ...

greets

#16
mac sussed

mac sussed

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
I have an ASUS F3JA with 256MB x1600 Mobility. I get a black screen with this using the correct edid data. Although, I can get the LCD up by doing a fn+F8 for my specific laptop. The OSX desktop is a bit garbled and therefore unusable though.

I got the latest windows driver for my x1600 mobility from ATI but this wouldn't install giving me a message saying get support from your vendor. I assumed this was because of the contract between ATI and ASUS. If the ATI windows drivers can detect my specific card as being slightly different to a generic x1600 mobility then maybe that is why this didn't work for me. I suppose a possibility is to try to flash my x1600 mobility with a firmware/bios from a generic one. Scary! Comparing a dump of the firmware/bios from my x1600 mobility and a generic one may yield results.

Maybe I made a mistake with the files. Any help would be appreciated, but as it is new years eve, her and meself have been invited out for debasement, so I will be back tomorrow.


This info may be useful to a newbie:- I can just about use terminal from osx or darwin (F8 during bootup then -s at prompt) but find that the MacDrive application in windows allows me to swap and delete .kext files/folders fine. I got plist edit pro by googling and downloading.

#17
walterav

walterav

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
Don't use PLIST edit PRO, it has been stated in older threads in november that this is changing the plist in a NEGATIVE way, I only got it working with the real plist editor form XcodeTOOLS.

You might also try using IOGRAPHICSfamily.kext and Applebacklight.kext from 1045, but first get the real plist editor...

Edited by walterav, 03 January 2007 - 11:19 AM.


#18
sheriffbounce

sheriffbounce

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
could some please recap what's really needed to get internal display working?
10.4.5 or 10.4.8 + the files posted in the first post?

#19
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
hummm maybe u should try only ATINDRV .5 and the rest using .8 files...
i just think X1700 isnt supported now, else try the .5 kexts + opengl.fk

Edited by cyclonefr, 03 January 2007 - 12:40 PM.


#20
mac sussed

mac sussed

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Thanks walterav. My x1600 mobility is still not functioning properly. Every other boot it shows alternate black and white stripes. When it does boot to a desktop, the screen is split into four like in the attached photo, but it does show 1280x800 now. I have reverted to Semthex kernel from Mifki, both from Jas 10.4.8 DVD. I am using 10.4.5 ATINDRV.kext and IONDRV.kext from the Apple download. ATIinject.kext came from this #1 post. I put the EDID's in using Apple Property List Editor sourced from the Useful files in the Genius Bar.

Attached Files







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy