Jump to content

Radeon HD 6770 FULL QE/CI ML/Mavericks/Yosemite

HD 6770 QE/CI OS X ML Mavericks Yosemite

  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Supervisors
  • 2,918 posts
  • Gender:Male

------------------------

Update - 08.27.2014

------------------------

 

Clover's KernelAndKextPatches tweak still works fine on OS X 10.10 DP's, PB's and OS X 10.9.x, nothing changed in the patch.

 

If there's something new, this topic will be updated.

 

Spoiler

 

 

 

------------------------

Update - 03.28.2014

------------------------

 

just to tell that since Mavericks, we need no more those 3 kexts, only 2 of them (AMD5000Controller.kext and AMDRadeonX3000.kext) to enable QE_CI for HD6770 cards

 

even if you use those 3 kexts, AMD6000Controller.kext will not be loaded

 

626807AMDkextsloading.png

 

to do this with chameleon, use GraphicsEnabler=Yes and edit 0x68B81002 -> 068BA1002 in both kexts

 

if you want to do this with clover, use clover configurator and KernelAndKextPatches tweak:

 

515400KernelAndKextPatches.png

 

don't forget to put 'Inject Kexts' to 'Yes'

 

154119Injectkexts.png

 

if it does not work, it is because the kexts are not presents in kernel cache. 

 

The most effective trick for now is to inject the details of your kexts inside the FakeSMC Info.plist as additional IOKitPersonalities. With this trick, your kexts will be always loaded.

 

I did it with QE_CI Exotic patch for HD48xx series cards with my old HD4830 and it works!

 

see here for more details: http://www.insanelym...tch-via-clover/

 

p.s:

 

here, more screens

 

370434HD6770QECIwithClover.png

 

452323HD6770MavericksOpenGL41fullsupport

 

 

Method 3: if you're using Clover, you can make this card work with a Fake ID injection

<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
        <key>FakeID</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <string>0x68B81002</string>
        </dict>
</dict>

 

 

Method 2: since OS X 10.8, you no longer have to edit those kexts, just inject your ID via dsdt: http://www.insanelym...lion/?p=1902721 (credits go to RampageDev)

 

*This method also works very well with OS X Mavericks
 
 
 
 
 

Method 1: i can confirm it, with the last Chameleon-2.1svn-r2054.pkg, it work well on 10.8.2 Build 12C43 !!! :thumbsup_anim:

No more need to flashing HD 6770 into HD 5770 to have QE/CI !!!

So just add your ID (0x68BA1002) into ATI5000Controller.kext and AMDRadeonAccelerator.kext
 

<key>AMDJuniperGraphicsAccelerator</key>
<dict>
*
*
*
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x68BA1002 0x68B81002 0x68B01002 0x68B11002 0x68A01002 0x68A11002</string>

hd6770fullqecimountainl.png

 

 

 

 

* the story started with this original topic



#2
NissanSkylineN1

NissanSkylineN1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
Does it work for 10.7?

#3
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Supervisors
  • 2,918 posts
  • Gender:Male
unfortunately not !

there's no AMDRadeonAccelerator.kext in OS X Lion

I was tried with ATIConnector patching but it's not the way to have QE/CI enabled. I think it needs to patching the binaries parts, but i haven't be able to do it yet! :(

#4
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thought that you could add the DSDT injection code:

Device (PEGP)
{
Name (_ADR, 0x00010000)
Method (_PRW, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Return (GPRW (0x09, 0x04))
}
Device (GFX0)
{
Name (_ADR, Zero)
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x10)
{

"AAPL,slot-name",
Buffer (0x07)
{
"Slot-1"
},
"@0,name",
Buffer (0x0D)
{
"ATY,

Juniper

"
},
"@1,name",
Buffer (0x0D)
{
"ATY,

Juniper

"
},
"@2,name",
Buffer (0x0D)
{
"ATY,

Juniper

"
},
"@3,name",
Buffer (0x0D)
{
"ATY,

Juniper

"
},
"@4,name",
Buffer (0x0D)
{
"ATY,

Juniper

"
},
"model",
Buffer (0x13)
{
"AMD Radeon HD 6770"
},
"hda-gfx",
Buffer (0x0A)
{
"onboard-1"
}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
}
Device (HDAU)
{
Name (_ADR, One)
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x04)
{

"name",
Buffer (0x0B)
{
"HDMI Audio"
},
"hda-gfx",
Buffer (0x0A)
{
"onboard-1"
}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
}

}

#5
AlpineRaven

AlpineRaven

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
G'day,
Have you checked the HDMI port and does it work?
Cheers
AP

#6
Maverick

Maverick

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:india
  • Interests:Caffeine,Hackintosh,
    AMD hackintosh,
    Technology,
guys is this gonna work on 2 GB laptop graphics ?

#7
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
Mobile is not the same as desktop. I think the 6770M is closer to a 5670 desktop if I recall.

#8
Bitcore

Bitcore

    AMD Fanboy

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:Producing Music
I'm sorry for reviveing this thread,but i want my GPU to be detected as a HD6770 again.
How can i edit the kexts? and add 0x68BA1002 to them?

Bitcore

#9
Maverick

Maverick

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:india
  • Interests:Caffeine,Hackintosh,
    AMD hackintosh,
    Technology,

I'm sorry for reviveing this thread,but i want my GPU to be detected as a HD6770 again.
How can i edit the kexts? and add 0x68BA1002 to them?

Bitcore



hey bro you have AMD cpu do you have amd kernel for ML then please give me.................

Hi !

i just saw that : http://www.osx86.net...ntain_lion.html

according to the testimonies, it works well!

I also have a HD6770 I flashed into HD5770, but I didn't have time to try it!

I will do it in a few minutes!

Tell me if it works for you!

Good luck !


EDIT: i can confirm it, with the last Chameleon-2.1svn-r2054.pkg, it work well on 10.8.2 Build 12C43 !!! :thumbsup_anim:

No more need to flashing HD 6770 into HD 5770 to have QE/CI !!!

So just add your ID (0x68BA1002) into ATI5000Controller.kext, ATI6000Controller.kext and AMDRadeonAccelerator.kext


<key>AMDJuniperGraphicsAccelerator</key>
<dict>
<key>ATIEnableWideBlitSupport</key>
<true/>
<key>ATIUseTearingWideBlit</key>
<false/>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.AMDRadeonAccelerator</string>
<key>GpuDebugPolicy</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AMDJuniperGraphicsAccelerator</string>
<key>IODVDBundleName</key>
<string>AMDRadeonVADriver</string>
<key>IOKitDebug</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>IOMatchCategory</key>
<string>IOAccelerator</string>
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x68BA1002 0x68B81002 0x68B01002 0x68B11002 0x68A01002 0x68A11002</string>



Posted Image



What to for the HD Redeon 6770m 2GB graphics for laptop ?

#10
verleihnix

verleihnix

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi,
with the upcoming 10.8.3 release I would like to ask, if a method exits to inject the device id into the system instead of editing the plists again.

cheers

#11
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Supervisors
  • 2,918 posts
  • Gender:Male
I don't think so

GraphicsEnabler injects the info of your graphics card but for this one, it isn't enough

the DSDT method doesn't works, this is the only way to get this card work (as hd6770) under ML

at the same time, it's not so hard to put your ID into the Info.plist, it takes 2 minutes -_-

#12
verleihnix

verleihnix

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thanks fantomas1,
Your are right, did it already.
Thought it might be possible with some sort of legacy kext.

#13
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Supervisors
  • 2,918 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thought it might be possible with some sort of legacy kext.


not sure it's possible

HD6770 needs to have its ID into the 3 kexts, not just one :)


only possibility, that Apple put directly ID into these kexts :P

there we would have a graphics card recognized OOB :D

#14
The-Hackintosh

The-Hackintosh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
Hi,fantomas1 Can you upload on this page all modified file for ati 6770?
thanks

#15
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,016 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi,fantomas1 Can you upload on this page all modified file for ati 6770?
thanks


You can just add them to the 2 ATI/AMD kexts. Drivers have changed since this was posted. Or what really should be done is for you to add a different device ID in the DSDT so that you never have to edit any kexts which would be the proper solution.

#16
The-Hackintosh

The-Hackintosh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
What i going to do for working this Graphics Card ON ML10.8.2?

#17
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Supervisors
  • 2,918 posts
  • Gender:Male
hi the -hackintosh :)

pls see the initial post :)

tell me if there's something that you don't understand


You can just add them to the 2 ATI/AMD kexts. Drivers have changed since this was posted. Or what really should be done is for you to add a different device ID in the DSDT so that you never have to edit any kexts which would be the proper solution.


this method still works good with all 10.8's updates, don't worry, just add your ID to this 3 kexts.

the DSDT method doesn't do all, on this card it's not enough. This is the only way to get this card work (as hd6770) under ML

:)

#18
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,016 posts
  • Gender:Male

hi the -hackintosh :)

pls see the initial post :)

tell me if there's something that you don't understand




this method still works good with all 10.8's updates, don't worry, just add your ID to this 3 kexts.

the DSDT method doesn't do all, on this card it's not enough. This is the only way to get this card work (as hd6770) under ML

:)


Why does not changing the device ID in the DSDT not work for this card? Thanks.

#19
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Supervisors
  • 2,918 posts
  • Gender:Male
I'm not sure, it's pretty bizarre

HD6770 is an authentically HD5770 card, only ID's differ (0x68BA1002 / 0x68B81002)

if we follow this logic, there's only need to add HD6770 ID to ATI6000Controller.kext or ATI5000Controller.kext + AMDRadeonAccelerator.kext

but strangely, this card has to call these both kexts to work perfectly

So because of this "call" to these both kexts in the same time, the dsdt method has no effect

I know, it can appears as a wacky explanation, but I don't see nothing else

IMHO

#20
verleihnix

verleihnix

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
Got it working using this device id insert in dsdt.
Original kexts from 10.8.3 and GraphicsEnabler=Yes

Device (GFX0)
{
Name (_ADR, Zero)
Name (_SUN, One)
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x02)
{
"device-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0xB8, 0x68, 0x00, 0x00
}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}

In my DSDT I had to insert the above at P0P2

Attached Files







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: HD 6770, QE/CI, OS X, ML, Mavericks, Yosemite

  Topic Stats Last Post Info

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy