Jump to content

ATI Radeon HD6000, HD5000 and HD4000 series support in Chameleon


  • Please log in to reply
859 replies to this topic

#801
Cyrus the Great

Cyrus the Great

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 276 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:tehran
h azimutzn have problem that i post in your treat in voodoo projects can you see it?
thanks
http://forum.voodoop...59.msg10303#new

#802
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...

h azimutzn have problem that i post in your treat in voodoo projects can you see it?

Yep, i saw it; i'll get to you soon... i'm a bit busy and your ioreg is taking ages to download :thumbsup_anim:

p.s.: got it. Firefox (Aurora) was choking on something...

#803
Bism4rck

Bism4rck

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Hi Bism4rck, you're getting the hang of it and missing just a little bit; you need to replace a dev id close to yours on ATIRadeonX3000.kext's
info.plist and binary; 68BE seems a good candidate. Check the talk from this post on and see if you can manage it.
On the controller (ATI5000Controller.kext as you know) replacing or adding the dev id on the info.plist is enough; replace the same you
replaced on ATIRadeonX3000 if present, add if missing.
I'll take care of the booter part :thumbsup_anim: i have all i need from you.

Hi Azimutz, thanks for your reply! I'm really cracking my head for the last few days to make the HD6750 work, did lot of reading the forums and google and so on, but there is some progress. :thumbsup_anim:

What I have done so far:

- replace a dev id 68BE with 68BF in the ATIRadeonX3000.kext
- already added the dev id to ATI5000Controller.kext

But still DVD-Player not working, do I need to bin patch something, and what is bin patching? :thumbsup_anim:

Thanks.

#804
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...

But still DVD-Player not working, do I need to bin patch something, and what is bin patching? :(

LoL... ok, since you've done a nice effort, i'll explain; "bin patch" is an abbreviation for "binary patching";
resuming, what you need to do is also replace the dev id on the kext binary, located in Contents/MacOS folder.
Explaining:
- get an hex editor (0xED is a nice free one)
- open ATIRadeonX3000.kext/Contents/MacOS/ATIRadeonX3000 on the hex editor
- hit Command (windows key)+F and change the "Search Type" to hex
- search for the dev id you want to replace, bite swapped; meaning, instead of 68BE, search for BE68
- replace all instances of BE68 (i can count 22 ;) ) by BF68
- save and you're done

I don't guarantee that it works; usually does but... try it and feedback ;)

#805
Bism4rck

Bism4rck

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

LoL... ok, since you've done a nice effort, i'll explain; "bin patch" is an abbreviation for "binary patching";
resuming, what you need to do is also replace the dev id on the kext binary, located in Contents/MacOS folder.
Explaining:
- get an hex editor (0xED is a nice free one)
- open ATIRadeonX3000.kext/Contents/MacOS/ATIRadeonX3000 on the hex editor
- hit Command (windows key)+F and change the "Search Type" to hex
- search for the dev id you want to replace, bite swapped; meaning, instead of 68BE, search for BE68
- replace all instances of BE68 (i can count 22 :( ) by BF68
- save and you're done

I don't guarantee that it works; usually does but... try it and feedback ;)

Huch great guide, but when search & replace BE68 by BF68 it founds 78 items here. Save the file and reboot gives a KP:

Posted Image

Maybe search & replace is doing a to good job here? ;)

Do I need to run anything after saving the file, kext utility or so?

#806
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...

thanks for your quick replay
i am attach my ioreg to this post

Akbar, you can remove the ioreg if you want; i already got it from the other topic.
You're next in the waiting line ;)

Huch great guide, but when search & replace BE68 by BF68 it founds 78 items here....

I see now you're running Lion, right!? 22 was on 10.6.8 and that was already too much for my taste...
Lion and the CrapStore is pissing me of long time ago; i don't even know if i will be able to run it on this cpu (Pentium D 925).
At least ATIRadeonX1000 and the device i replace seem ok... let me take a better look at the binary... brb

p.s.: are you running the GM?

#807
Bism4rck

Bism4rck

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Akbar, you can remove the ioreg if you want; i already got it from the other topic.
You're next in the waiting line ;)


I see now you're running Lion, right!? 22 was on 10.6.8 and that was already too much for my taste...
Lion and the CrapStore is pissing me of long time ago; i don't even know if i will be able to run it on this cpu (Pentium D 925).
At least ATIRadeonX1000 and the device i replace seem ok... let me take a better look at the binary... brb

p.s.: are you running the GM?


Yep GM here. Do I need to bin patch ATIRadeonX1000 or ATIRadeonX3000? Thanks...

#808
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...

Yep GM here. Do I need to bin patch ATIRadeonX1000 or ATIRadeonX3000? Thanks...

ATIRadeonX3000.. ATIRadeonX1000 it's for the oldest cards Apple supports, the one i need to patch for my RV516 (X1300, X1550 & XT1600).
Well, this stuff is completely new to me; all the devices i search on X3000 have tons of occurrences even on 10.6.7 drivers :( damn Apple..
when i get rich, i'm going to buy it and close it!! ;)
Don't know how to help you guys ;) i can still add your devices, but without bin patch you won't get qe/ci... not funny...

p.s.: i need to take care of other stuff, eat and rest a bit. Meanwhile, try to check Netkas site for some solution;
maybe ATY_init.kext can help. I'll be back asap ;)

#809
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...
Hi guys.. i have no news on the bin patch. I track this post so, if you have any news or need some other info just post.
The best is find me at Voodoo forums; i wont be much around here in the future giving support, but i'll still come around
as a user or when i have free time.
Also, if you need your device id's added to the booter, just let me know.

Stay safe...

#810
pkmvancouver

pkmvancouver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Vancouver
I managed to dump the Radeon HD 6310 IGP on the AMD E-350 APU video bios from my Sony Vaio YB, not sure if it will help.


ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1002 SubsystemID: 0x9802
IOBaseAddress: 0x3000
Filename: BR39114.bin
BIOS Bootup Message:
Sony Tucana Ontario VBIOS

PCI ID: 1002:9802
Connector at index 0
Type [@offset 45562]: LVDS (7)
Encoder [@offset 45566]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
i2cid [@offset 45648]: 0x90, OSX senseid: 0x1
Connector at index 1
Type [@offset 45574]: HDMI-A (11)
Encoder [@offset 45578]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
i2cid [@offset 45683]: 0x91, OSX senseid: 0x2
Connector at index 2
Type [@offset 45586]: VGA (1)
Encoder [@offset 45590]: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1 (0x15)
i2cid [@offset 45710]: 0x97, OSX senseid: 0x8

video bios image attached..hope it helps

Attached Files



#811
qbe

qbe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Prague
hi

is anyone having the same problem like i do

when i dualboot from win7 to osx or osx to win7, my monitors (dual dvi) go into sleep mode after a while, but the system boots fine into desktop. monitors stay in sleep (tried turning off, reconnecting). otherwise there is no problem with my gfx card, everything works like it should

gigabyte ati 5870 (looks like reference from what i can tell but with better cooling)

#812
dd10986

dd10986

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:pt
Hi Azimuth,
Any chance of making Ati Mobility Radeon 5650 included in you boot file. The specs are underneath, the hardware is a laptop acer 5740G. 'Works' in SL 10.6.8 with vervet FB but in Lion I can only get full resolution but no QE/CI.
Thank you for any help or suggestion.

[ ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 (Acer) Video Adapter ]

Propriedades do dispositivo:


Descrição do dispositivo ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 (Acer) Video Adapter


Tipo de Bus PCI Express 2.0 x16


Barramento / Dispositivo / Função 2 / 0 / 0


Identificador do dispositivo 1002-68C1


ID do Sub-sistema 1025-033E


Classe de dispositivo 0300 (VGA Display Controller)


Revisão 00

#813
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...

Hi Azimuth,
Any chance of making Ati Mobility Radeon 5650 included in you boot file...

Hi dd10986; going to add it, yes. It should work fine, since the dev id is present on the ATI drivers,
on both RadeonX3000 and 5000 controller :)
Meet me at this topic...

Thanks

p.s.: by the way, this is not my boot file, it's simply Chameleon :(

#814
dd10986

dd10986

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:pt

Hi dd10986; going to add it, yes. It should work fine, since the dev id is present on the ATI drivers,
on both RadeonX3000 and 5000 controller :)
Meet me at this topic...

Thanks

p.s.: by the way, this is not my boot file, it's simply Chameleon :)


Hi Azimuth,
Already have been looking at your posts in voodooprojects :P . Noticed that your able to patch and compile 'boot' files with the right device id etc.
Appreciate all help given. Keep up the excellent work.
Thank you

#815
newbee82

newbee82

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
Hi @ all,

i´ve tried diiferent aticonfigs for my HD5650m graphicscard.

But i only get greyscreen with all settngs. Before trying this here i haven´t get native display working.

I´m using leohazards 10.6.6i with my acer aspire 5740g.


i don´t know how to add the dev id and vendor ids to ati kext files. Could someone upload these two files for me here? or give me a how to with macdrive?

Another question is if i´ll need an edid file for my display?


Thanks for help!!

#816
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...

Hi Azimuth,
Already have been looking at your posts in voodooprojects :) ...

Device added:
{ 0x68C1, 0x033E1025, CHIP_FAMILY_REDWOOD, "ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650", kNull },
Note that i didn't set a default framebuffer (kNull) because i don't have any reference.
If you need any help on my side, just drop a post on the topic i mentioned (it's in my signature).

See ya later...

#817
nai22

nai22

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
hi azimutz,

my notebook packard bell ls11hr running lion gm with right resolution (1600x900) radeon 6650m but no qe/ci, grapicsenabler=yes

i have added this to chimera and compile a new boot file and trying several framebuffers at start and always getting unsupported graphic

{ 0x6741, 0x05131025, CHIP_FAMILY_TURK, "AMD Radeon HD 6650M", kNull },

the device id is present in the ATIRadeonX3000.kext, ati6000controller.kext and at least i put it in the ati5000controller.kext. but still unsupported graphic.

what im doing wrong?

regards

#818
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...

...
what im doing wrong?

Hi Nai22,
if the data you're adding is correct and you're using AtiConfig=someFB, i don't see a reason for "Unsupported".
A bdmesg would help and i don't think adding the device to ati5000controller.kext will.
I added two 6741 to the trunk recently, but i don't know what framebuffer to use because i got no feedback on that.
You better start reading bcc9's topic, if you haven't yet ;) if it doesn't work ootb with a personality, you'll need to patch one
to suite your needs. And even then, there's always the "fail" possibility.

#819
nai22

nai22

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
@ azimutz

maybe you can find something :rolleyes:

EasyNotes-Mac-Pro:~ easynote$ sudo lspci -nnvd 0x1002: | grep -B2 Subsystem
  Password:
  pcilib: 0000:01:00.0 64-bit device address ignored.
  01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device [1002:6741] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
	  Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Unknown device [1025:0513]
  --
  
  01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device [1002:aa90]
	  Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Unknown device [1025:0513]

EasyNotes-Mac-Pro:~ easynote$ ioreg | grep ATY
  EasyNotes-Mac-Pro:~ easynote$ 
  
  gives nothing

bdmesg in the attached file

do i need the vbios rom of my graphicscard in /extra to get it fully working?

#820
nai22

nai22

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
thank you azimutz for adding my device to your branch hihi. now after compiling the ati6000controller and the atix3000 kexts are loaded, lvds not working correctly because of the framebuffer i think, hdmi is working with qe/c

another question, belong this device really to the turks family, i have read something about vancouverA, is it important?





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy