Jump to content

EVOEnabler for X1000-series ATI Radeon under Snow Leopard 10.6.3


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#41
kirk1h

kirk1h

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

hi, totally new to osx86...

i have a x1800xt (flashed to x1900xt back in the old days) with the device id 7100

edited both, the 1900-controler and atiradeon 1000, with the device id.

the system hangs on normal startup, but with -x in save mode i have now a high resolution.

any clues to get it in normal boot working?

thanks in advance


never mind, i've got it to work with a fresh install.

i put my id in those files:

ATI1900Controller.kext/Contents/Info.plist
ATIRadeonX1000.kext/Contents/Info.plist
ATIRadeonX1000GA.plugin/Contents/Info.plist

and then copied your EVOenabler.kext over.

thanks mate!

#42
devil201907

devil201907

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi. I need help. When i start my mac with force ( -f ) I can use Snow with ;
Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

But when I start normally (without force) Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Is there any suggestion?? What do u think i should do???

#43
Colask8

Colask8

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
I get kernel panic on ati radeon x1650 pro 71c7 i edited ATIRadeonX1000.kext ATI1600Controler.kext and i put EVOEnabler.kext, edited wormy, and i get atiradeonx1000 and ati1600controller kernel panic. Why is that? i didnt put legacy kernel, cuz my processor is Core2Duo.

#44
JoeyKing

JoeyKing

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts

Hi. I need help. When i start my mac with force ( -f ) I can use Snow with ;


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

But when I start normally (without force)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Is there any suggestion?? What do u think i should do???


Hi

I had the same problem. It was solved by using kextutility, which basically repairs all permissions and recreates the caches.
then boot W/O (!) -f, and you have QE/CI etc.
(well at least for me that worked great :D , 10.6.4 with Chameleon RC4, 32 bit)

Cu
Joey

#45
chagrin2

chagrin2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Hi

I had the same problem. It was solved by using kextutility, which basically repairs all permissions and recreates the caches.
then boot W/O (!) -f, and you have QE/CI etc.
(well at least for me that worked great :wacko: , 10.6.4 with Chameleon RC4, 32 bit)

Cu
Joey


try to use PFIX ( do a google search) is the best perm repair tool. works only in terminal but u wll learn two commands easy


hi, totally new to osx86...

i have a x1800xt (flashed to x1900xt back in the old days) with the device id 7100

edited both, the 1900-controler and atiradeon 1000, with the device id.

the system hangs on normal startup, but with -x in save mode i have now a high resolution.

any clues to get it in normal boot working?

thanks in advance



Are u booting in 64 bit mode ? 1600 and other work only with 32 bit . google for entry in com.apple.boot and edit it to boot 32 bit

try to use PFIX ( do a google search) is the best perm repair tool. works only in terminal but u wll learn two commands easy





Are u booting in 64 bit mode ? 1600 and other work only with 32 bit . google for entry in com.apple.boot and edit it to boot 32 bit



btw : switched to nvidia ( thanks ebay ) 8800 and 9800 etc work OOB. if u do so check netkas for latest kext. much less trouble with the cards and the have a lot speed under ..... cuda is the goal with final cut !

#46
ljohn

ljohn

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Please help find the kexts for the Radeon X1650 id: 71c7 on Snow Leopard 10.6.2 be Hazard

#47
ljohn

ljohn

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Thx a lot for sharing that. It does the job for me with x1600 (71C2)

First : i updated to 10.6.4, leave the installer open and install kernel

Install 10.4 Kernel http://www.kexts.com..._intel-amd.html

reboot

set boot to 32bit with arch=i386 ( for chameleon) in boot.plist i stored in Extra

here is the code :

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>Boot Graphics</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Graphics Mode</key>
	<string>1680x1050x32</string>
	<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Kernel</key>
	<string>legacy_kernel</string>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
	<string>arch=i386</string>
	<key>PciRoot</key>
	<string>1</string>
	<key>Quiet Boot</key>
	<string>No</string>
	<key>Timeout</key>
	<string>5</string>
</dict>
</plist>

1. EVOenabler from Post1 i changed all to Wormy
2. SnowLeopardGraphicsUpdate1.0
http://supportdownlo...csUpdate1.0.dmg
3. set dev ID to 71C2 for my card in 1600controller kext and atiradeon1000 kext
Repair with kext utility http://www.kexts.com...ow_leopard.html
reboot
bingo

Again thx a lot for your work here. It saves my Day ( and the older Radeon too :( )



On the Radeon X1650 id:71c7 with modified kexts RadeonX1000.kext gives a kernel panic, and without kexts RadeonX1000.kext, 1440x900 resolution and BUT not working Quartz Extreme

Attached Files



#48
kavliarhs

kavliarhs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi, i saw that you made an Ati mobility radeon X1600 to work using the -f flag. How you have done this??? I have a laptop with the exact card and i cannot make it work.

#49
nofxcwb

nofxcwb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
Looks like it's not just me that is having hard times with the ATI Mobility X1600 on Snow Leopard.

For me QE/CI works with retail installation and remains working after all updates including Snow Leopard Graphics Update, I have to remove ATI1600Controller.kext though, otherwise I get a Kernel panic.
It would be already ok for me if I was not stuck in the 1400x1050 resolution. All I want is to be able to use 1680x1050.
I've been trying many things starting from DSDT change (for 3 weeks) then ATIInject and lately EVOenabler since I gave up on DSDT and I stumbled upon this thread.

My problem when I load either ATIInject or EVOenabler (from this thread, with the required changes) is that I get no display at all. Everything else still works, even resolution change as I could verify connecting through VNC, but in the laptop itself I have the infamous Black Screen.

I'm using just the EVOenabler.kext in the /Extra/Extensions, everything else is vanilla.

Does anyone have a clue on how to solve the "no display" problem? For me it is pretty clear that it is the cause of the black screen, as you have no display to output to.

Thanks a lot for all of you that shared your solutions, it is being really helpful!

Just a tip for other folks in this thread: I noticed that with -f the ATI1600Controller.kext is not loaded, even if it is in S/L/E and cached. Then you get the false hope that everything is ok, but in reality it's not.

Here is what I have, notice the lack of displays in the second screenshot:

Without loading x1600 driver: Attached File  WhithoutDriver.png   92.95KB   182 downloads With x1600 driver: Attached File  WithDriver.png   142.74KB   166 downloads

#50
tehphoenixsplx

tehphoenixsplx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
Can someone please help me. I have a X1800XT 512 installed and I simply cant get it to fully work.
I installed that evo thing but nothing has changed.

Im so tired of not been able to fix make this card work. I would really appreciate if someone could help me as I am not wonderful at doing this kinda thing but everything works expect this card.


Could someone edit the kexts I need or visually show me what and where to edit!?

I would be very greatful. Could even paypal a gift as it would be a massive help to me.

#51
tehphoenixsplx

tehphoenixsplx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
Again to echo above I am looking for someone to really do me a favour here. I am more than happy to reward whoever contacts me and solves this really annoying issue.

The problem is people are saying it works but there is a massive issue with sharing how to exactly do it.

I am running OSX Snow Leopard x86 and I have a Saphire X1800 XT 512 Mb.
I can't change res or have acceleration working.

I would like someone to guide me through what to do..
By the end of the week I'm going to have to just buy another video card so I would rather pay someone £10 or £20 via paypal for their troubles if they can fix this for me.

if anyone is interested please mail me at fstop11.net@hotmail.com or reply in here. I can provide as much detailed information as you need from a windows diagnostics.

Please someone help me out here. I have never had this working after 3 years on and off trying.

#52
tehphoenixsplx

tehphoenixsplx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts

So for the X1800XT.kext should i edit ATI1900Controller.kext as well as ATIRadeonX1000.kext?

Hey man I have emailed you. Cant wait for you to get back in touch.
So to get the x1800XT working fully its these three files?

Can you tell me what you have changed in each?

Johnny

wooah I got the X1800XT working!
Im still stuck with the shoddy res though? What more do I need to do?

#53
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa

Looks like it's not just me that is having hard times with the ATI Mobility X1600 on Snow Leopard.


Yes... it's a prob. I've v5250 (x1700), Wormy FB, and wasn't able to change resolutions in Snow. Stuck at 1400x1050.
Everything works in 10.5.8 (I'm very happy with it).
You can of course use 10.5.8 drivers on Snow (32 bit only)
or have a look at Dong's RadeonHD framebuffer.

Good luck

#54
nofxcwb

nofxcwb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male

You can of course use 10.5.8 drivers on Snow (32 bit only)

Good advice. Would you mind sharing these drivers that are working for you in 10.5.8? My processor is 32 bit so I don't mind having old drivers as long as they work.

If not possible to share here we can talk in pvt and I provide you my e-mail to send them.

Valeu mesmo! Abraço!

#55
ckhk212

ckhk212

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hey guys, THANKS for all the hard works. I got my ATI x1600 Pro working with full graphic support, thanks to "munky" and "chagrin2" comments.

However, I have one last thing. I would like to get dual display working. But it does not seem to be possible. Do any of you guys have any idea how to get my graphic support dual displays. I am currently running 10.6.4 with snow leopard graphic update.

Thanks.

#56
nofxcwb

nofxcwb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male

or have a look at Dong's RadeonHD framebuffer.

Good luck

Indeed Dong's RadeonHD worked! See here. By the way it is not a Framebuffer kext nor an injector. It is the GFX kext/driver itself. It works together with framebuffer, in my case the original one, and doesn't require any injector to work.

Thanks for the tip! I'm on Snow Leopard 10.6.5 with everything working! Just the TV output is not, but I can live without it.

#57
fredsancroiastic

fredsancroiastic

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
can someone help me configuring my Ati x1550? How can i get it's codename? what info.plist's part of the code i've to change? I'm sorry for my incompetence :)

#58
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa

Indeed Dong's RadeonHD worked! See here. By the way it is not a Framebuffer kext nor an injector. It is the GFX kext/driver itself. It works together with framebuffer, in my case the original one, and doesn't require any injector to work.

Thanks for the tip! I'm on Snow Leopard 10.6.5 with everything working! Just the TV output is not, but I can live without it.


Great news. I was using it but had annoying color shift on the external screen, and didn't have the time to refine my search. I'm using 10.5 Atindrv on 10.6.5 and it's working ok, sometimes the screen stays black (randomly), but with a restart all works again.
But when I have the time I will try to get snow's AtiFramebuffer to work with my Atifiregl v5250 at the right reso.
Never give up the fight.
But for now we have other issues to resolve, like tremendous cuts in the cultural budget of the state (and a complete lack of strategy in our governement).

#59
BiggestFan

BiggestFan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
i have 71c7 and this method doesn't work.. i get kernel panic. my kernel is kernel legacy. please help me im desperate!|

#60
MacSimizeDenver

MacSimizeDenver

    The only true and free China is the Republic of China on Taiwan.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Bignona (Casamance)/Senegal

Thx a lot for sharing that. It does the job for me with x1600 (71C2)

First : i updated to 10.6.4, leave the installer open and install kernel

Install 10.4 Kernel http://www.kexts.com..._intel-amd.html

reboot

set boot to 32bit with arch=i386 ( for chameleon) in boot.plist i stored in Extra

here is the code :

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>Boot Graphics</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Graphics Mode</key>
	<string>1680x1050x32</string>
	<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Kernel</key>
	<string>legacy_kernel</string>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
	<string>arch=i386</string>
	<key>PciRoot</key>
	<string>1</string>
	<key>Quiet Boot</key>
	<string>No</string>
	<key>Timeout</key>
	<string>5</string>
</dict>
</plist>

1. EVOenabler from Post1 i changed all to Wormy
2. SnowLeopardGraphicsUpdate1.0
http://supportdownlo...csUpdate1.0.dmg
3. set dev ID to 71C2 for my card in 1600controller kext and atiradeon1000 kext
Repair with kext utility http://www.kexts.com...ow_leopard.html
reboot
bingo

Again thx a lot for your work here. It saves my Day ( and the older Radeon too :( )



I can change and do everything as you've described above...except one thing. I can't find the position where I have to change the dev ID to 71C2 in atiradeon1000.kext. No problem so far with 1600controller.kext.

The info.plist for atiradeon1000.kext says this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>ATIRadeonX1000</string>
<key>CFBundleGetInfoString</key>
<string>ATIRadeonX1000 1.6.18.18 (8557)</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.ATIRadeonX1000</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundleName</key>
<string>ATI RadeonX1000 Kernel Extension</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>KEXT</string>
<key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>
<string>1.6.18</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>6.1.8</string>
<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>ATIRadeonX1000</key>
<dict>
<key>ATIEnableWideBlitSupport</key>
<true/>
<key>ATIUseTearingWideBlit</key>
<false/>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.ATIRadeonX1000</string>
<key>GpuDebugPolicy</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>IOCFPlugInTypes</key>
<dict>
<key>ACCF0000-0000-0000-0000-000a2789904e</key>
<string>ATIRadeonX1000GA.plugin</string>
</dict>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>ATIRadeonX1000</string>
<key>IODVDBundleName</key>
<string>ATIRadeonX1000VADriver</string>
<key>IOMatchCategory</key>
<string>IOAccelerator</string>
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x71871002 0x72101002 0x71DE1002 0x71461002 0x71421002 0x71091002 0x71C51002 0x71C01002 0x72401002 0x72491002 0x72911002</string>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>IOSourceVersion</key>
<string>1.6.18.18</string>
<key>sensor-properties</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>device_type</key>
<data>
Z3B1LXNlbnNvcg==
</data>
<key>location</key>
<string>GPU</string>
<key>name</key>
<string>gpu-sensor</string>
<key>polling-period</key>
<data>
AAAAAQAAAAA=
</data>
<key>reg</key>
<data>
AAAAAg==
</data>
<key>sample-period</key>
<data>
AAAAAACYmAA=
</data>
<key>sensor-id</key>
<data>
AAAABg==
</data>
<key>version</key>
<data>
AAAAAg==
</data>
<key>zone</key>
<data>
AAAAAg==
</data>
</dict>
</array>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>NSHumanReadableCopyright</key>
<string>Copyright © 2004-2009 Apple Inc. All rights reserved.</string>
<key>OSBundleLibraries</key>
<dict>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily</key>
<string>1.0.0b1</string>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport</key>
<string>1.0.0b1</string>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily</key>
<string>1.0.0b1</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.bsd</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.iokit</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.libkern</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.mach</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.private</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.unsupported</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

So, where do I can change the dev ID to 71C2? Any suggestions?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy