Jump to content

DSDT fixes for Gigabyte boards


  • Please log in to reply
1908 replies to this topic

#681
FKA

FKA

    are we there yet?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male

4) I removed 155 kexts from /System/Library/Extensions/ but it only reduced the time, marginal, it takes to get to the spinner.


no surprise. mkext is small.

1) I don't see this: "Waiting for DSMOS" line in kernel.log with OS X 10.6.1


I cant remember with 6.1 but think i did.
have you with 6.2 has arrived?

#682
Master Chief

Master Chief

    Just Chief

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,176 posts
  • Gender:Male

no surprise. mkext is small.

Yeah, but still good for CD and USB boots.

I cant remember with 6.1 but think i did.
have you with 6.2 has arrived?

Yes I do:
localhost kernel[0]:AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: initialization complete
6 second later: Waiting for DSMOS...
localhost kernel[0]: systemShutdown false
kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3
kernel[0]: NVDANV50HAL loaded and registered.
2 second later: kernel[0]: DSMOS has arrived
I'm using the same DSDT on both drives. I even copied some kexts from 10.6.1 but nada.

Hmm. I also found this one in my system.log: [ERROR] Failed to update ODD thermal key to 0 (read 0xe00002c9)

#683
pet1

pet1

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Classified
  • Interests:Trax and Hax
Sorry, my initial post on this thread was misleading. Let me try again... The dsl I have attached is fine. I'm just trying to add the usb and powerbutton hacks.. But, when I do so, I get errors, so I take it I'm not doing something right. Would one of you be kind to add those fixes to my .dsl? Thank you in advance.

#684
sk1nhead

sk1nhead

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Manila
just wondering what's the difference between Shutdown "0" and "3"?

12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	Previous Shutdown Cause: 0
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	DSMOS has arrived
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	NVDANV50HAL loaded and registered.
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	identified as RTL8168C/8111C
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready

also would anyone happen to know the meaning of " Can't get kextd port " or how can i remove it since it's not there before? my system boots fine BTW and just saw it after i tested a new dsdt, kext and recreate my mkext.

12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	MAC Framework successfully initialized
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	using 16384 buffer headers and 4096 cluster IO buffer headers
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	IOAPIC: Version 0x20 Vectors 64:87
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	ACPI: System State [S0 S3 S4 S5] (S3)
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	Can't get kextd port.
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	RTC: Only single RAM bank (128 bytes)
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	mbinit: done (64 MB memory set for mbuf pool)

TIA.

#685
Master Chief

Master Chief

    Just Chief

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,176 posts
  • Gender:Male

just wondering what's the difference between Shutdown "0" and "3"?

No idea. Can't remember seeing a 0 with FakeSMC.kext

also would anyone happen to know the meaning of " Can't get kextd port " or how can i remove it since it's not there before? my system boots fine BTW and just saw it after i tested a new dsdt, kext and recreate my mkext.

12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	MAC Framework successfully initialized
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	using 16384 buffer headers and 4096 cluster IO buffer headers
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	IOAPIC: Version 0x20 Vectors 64:87
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	ACPI: System State [S0 S3 S4 S5] (S3)
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	Can't get kextd port.
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	RTC: Only single RAM bank (128 bytes)
12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	mbinit: done (64 MB memory set for mbuf pool)

TIA.

Are you using OSXRestart.kext? I mean that's exactly the spot where it should show up in your log file... if yes are you using the latest version?

p.s. At least I found where it is coming from. Look here.

#686
the_accidental

the_accidental

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
5 spins for a boot here, but then I do have a SSD. I could boot off a mechanical drive that I keep a cloned backup on though, if you want a comparison.

I don't know what use boot time comparison is?

#687
sk1nhead

sk1nhead

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Manila

No idea. Can't remember seeing a 0 with FakeSMC.kext


i believe i've seen 3 too on my log that's why I got curious because now it's always 0 or at least when i boot verbose and check it.

Are you using OSXRestart.kext? I mean that's exactly the spot where it should show up in your log file... if yes are you using the latest version?

p.s. At least I found where it is coming from. Look here.


unfortunately OSXRestart doesn't work on my board 100%, sometimes it shutdown- sometimes it wont, so Ev0reboot for now.

#688
FKA

FKA

    are we there yet?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male

just wondering what's the difference between Shutdown "0" and "3"?

12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	Previous Shutdown Cause: 0
  12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	DSMOS has arrived
  12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	NVDANV50HAL loaded and registered.
  12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	identified as RTL8168C/8111C
  12/6/09 1:01:01 PM	kernel	AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready


I have the same .
06/12/2009 14:57:08	kernel	Previous Shutdown Cause: 006/12/2009 14:57:08	kernel	NVDANV50HAL loaded and registered.06/12/2009 14:57:08	/System/Library/CoreServices/loginwindow.app/Conten .... .

By The Way

I also had this message at boot:
06/12/2009 14:57:08	com.apple.kextd[10]	Can't create kext cache under / - owner not root.06/12/2009 14:57:08	com.apple.kextd[10]	Can't create kext cache under / - owner not root.

Which i've just cleared with :

sudo chown root:admin /

And I've gone from 29 turns (SW RAID) to 15 :(

#689
anibalin

anibalin

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
Hi guys, using a g41m-es2l / quad8200 / 4gb / ich7
Using 10.5.8 due to maya that is not yet compatible with sl.
Everything is silk smooth but restart / shutdown. Have openhaltrestart in e/e but doesnt make a difference. sleep and wake from sleep its okay though.
made all the dsdt tweaks (usb, etc etc) (not the ones to ich9/10 ones). Wondering if Im missing something in the dsdt to get shutdown/restart fixed.
Thanks in advance for any hint. :(
dsdt

#690
Master Chief

Master Chief

    Just Chief

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,176 posts
  • Gender:Male

I have the same .

06/12/2009 14:57:08	kernel	Previous Shutdown Cause: 0.... .

Would you mind sharing your FakeSMC.kext – hoping to find something in the Info.plist

By The Way. I also had this message at boot:

06/12/2009 14:57:08	com.apple.kextd[10]	Can't create kext cache under / - owner not root.
Which i've just cleared with :
sudo chown root:admin /
And I've gone from 29 turns (SW RAID) to 15 ;)

Wow. That's what I call a huge improvement. I wish I could say the same, but unfortunately not.

...unfortunately OSXRestart doesn't work on my board 100%, sometimes it shutdown- sometimes it wont, so Ev0reboot for now.

I've said this a couple of times already, so repeat after me: It's a restart only fix, hence the name OSXRestart.kext :(

#691
FKA

FKA

    are we there yet?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male

Would you mind sharing your FakeSMC.kext �" hoping to find something in the Info.plist


It's stock 2.5

Attached File  fakesmc.kext.zip   34.11KB   11 downloads

D

#692
Master Chief

Master Chief

    Just Chief

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,176 posts
  • Gender:Male

It's stock 2.5

D

Thanks. So that's not it. Hmm. I wonder why I get 3 all the time and you guys 0 :P

#693
joe2108

joe2108

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
sorry maybe out off topic ..
but would you like to see my laptop DSDT & with original macbook3.1 almost same ... (not almost but .. there)

thanks :P

Attached Files



#694
FKA

FKA

    are we there yet?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks. So that's not it. Hmm. I wonder why I get 3 all the time and you guys 0 :D


In BIOS under PM settings I have:

ACPI Suspend Type - S3 (STR)

Soft Off by PWR BTTN - Instant Off

AC Back Function - Soft Off

Don't know how this translates to Asus BIOS?!

D.

#695
artimess

artimess

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
Master Chief,
Could you please help me to consolidate these two operation regions. One is your work and the other one is what I have in my dsdt. I like to get your definitions in mine or vice vers.
I am assuming that PCI_config address is the same for for all intel based motherboards?
Many thanks in advance.
Artimess
[codebox]
//Added from MC
// Newly added for EC support.
OperationRegion (LPC0, PCI_Config, 0xA0, 0x60) // General PM Configuration 3 Register (ICH9R-316972.pdf / 13.8.1.3 / page 492).
Field (LPC0, AnyAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
{
, 10,
XPME, 1, // Bit 10 - BIOS_PCI_EXP_EN.
Offset (0x04), // General PM Configuration 3 Register (ICH9R-316972.pdf / 13.8.1.3 - / page 492).
AG3E, 1, // Bit 0 Ð AFTERG3_EN.
Offset (0x50), // Root Complex Base Address Register (ICH9R-316972.pdf / 13.1.35 / page 451).
RAEN, 1, // Bit 1 - Enable.
, 13, // Reserved bits.
RCBA, 18 // Bit 14:31 - Root Complex Base Address.
}
[/codebox]
[codebox]
//Mine
OperationRegion (LPC0, PCI_Config, 0x40, 0xC0)
Field (LPC0, AnyAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
{
Offset (0x40),
IOD0, 8,
IOD1, 8,
Offset (0x48),
Z000, 1,
Offset (0xB0),
RAEN, 1,
, 13,
RCBA, 18
}
[/codebox]

#696
Master Chief

Master Chief

    Just Chief

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,176 posts
  • Gender:Male

Master Chief,
Could you please help me to consolidate these two operation regions. One is your work and the other one is what I have in my dsdt. I like to get your definitions in mine or vice vers.
I am assuming that PCI_config address is the same for for all intel based motherboards?
Many thanks in advance.
Artimess

... see post # 695
... see post # 695

Here ya go:
OperationRegion (LPC0, PCI_Config, 0x80, 0x75)Field (LPC0, AnyAcc, NoLock, Preserve){    IOD0,   8,    IOD1,   8,            Offset (0x08),		// 0x88    Z000,   1,            Offset (0x20),		// 0xA0        ,   10,    XPME,   1,            Offset (0x24),		// 0xA4    AG3E,   1,            Offset (0x70),		// 0xF0    RAEN,   1,        ,   13,    RCBA,   18}

Thanks. So that's not it. Hmm. I wonder why I get 3 all the time and you guys 0 :lol:

Got it. I also have 0 now. The darn thing didn't load the latest version since I had two of them.

#697
keeza

keeza

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 189 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney Australia
Not sure if this is something to be concerned about but is something I noticed earlier Previous post

Under lspci before sleep I have a heap of unknown devices.

Checked Blackosx's lspci output and his appears to be without unknown devices.

Any idea where I should look to fix (and anyone else noticed this?


Good for you. Another one off the list. What's next?

Audio?

:(

#698
mm67

mm67

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Not sure if this is something to be concerned about but is something I noticed earlier Previous post

Under lspci before sleep I have a heap of unknown devices.

Checked Blackosx's lspci output and his appears to be without unknown devices.

Any idea where I should look to fix (and anyone else noticed this?


How about running update-pciids

#699
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Under lspci before sleep I have a heap of unknown devices.

I don't know why this happens but I too have some. If I can help in any way then let me know?

How about running update-pciids

Thanks. That changed my Ethernet Controller from
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology GA-EP45-DS5 Motherboard

to
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller


But it didn't help with my unknown devices...

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology Unknown device a002

00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JIB (ICH10) LPC Interface Controller
Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology Unknown device 5001

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G92 [GeForce 8800 GT] (rev a2) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. Unknown device 1170


#700
keeza

keeza

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 189 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney Australia

I don't know why this happens but I too have some. If I can help in any way then let me know?


Thanks for your kind offer,

If I run lspci the only unknown device I get is
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation Unknown device [10de:0615] (rev a2)

Under lspci before sleep I get about 12.

How about running update-pciids


tried it - I get a download failed error (see attached pic)

Maybe I need to install Lynx?

Attached Files







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy