Jump to content

GMA X4500


  • Please log in to reply
1614 replies to this topic

#361
Tienneke

Tienneke

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mechelen (Belgium)

hah, found a sorta fix.
i made my cursor bigger and it appeared! although the other cursors such as the finger and the text cursor appear corrupted.

edit: ill try removing /System/Library/Extensions/2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext , gimme a few minutes.


np. I think this is the cause :) but at the same time, it would be a blessing to know that you can load AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext. For me the boot stops at a blue screen when I have that kext installed, because my addressing seems wrong. We need coldequation to have a look at this too.. It's just too good to be true :D

#362
Váradi László

Váradi László

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

np. I think this is the cause :P but at the same time, it would be a blessing to know that you can load AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext. For me the boot stops at a blue screen when I have that kext installed, because my addressing seems wrong. We need coldequation to have a look at this too.. It's just too good to be true :P


I can't load it either, i ran the bash jut now with no selectors (simply dragged into terminal after sudo su), it created both kexts (one with FB at the end and one without), but i could not boot, just blue screen like you, then picture noise. After reboot in safe mode i deleted the one without the FB, then i could boot normally, even had native res. just no cursor. i'm gonna try now growing the cursor too.

#363
chopped

chopped

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
ok so i just restarted after deleting the non-fb kext. i checked and only the fb kext has been loaded. but im still having the mouse corruption issues. its not really a big issue anymore for me, you guys should spend your time on the bigger issues at hand. thanks for all your help. let me know if you guys need the kext that loaded if it helps any.

#364
Maxcielle

Maxcielle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Not really, no. I can run the script without any options, or with -vrf, -rf, -r, i can't remember exatly, but i tried all variations, and even the non forced ones worked fine (at least the script said everything is ok) After reboot i had no messages saying anything about kext errors (i had some with the audio driver, but it was fixed after repairing permissions with osx86tools).
Now that you showed us that corrupted cursor, i remembered that the very first time i ran the script, i could not get the system to boot up, i saw only noise(like on old tvs), and when booting into safe mode, i saw the corruption like yours instead of the mouse. I guess i just had a wrong devid passed with the f option, since i can run the script now any way i like, i alwasy have native res. after reboot, without any kext loading errors, Of course with no mouse pointer.

I was trying to find something about running the mouse in software mode for a while now, with no success.


OK,

try this:

1- Install chameleon 1 bootloader.
http://www.insanelym.../tag/installer/ (download from here or any other place else)
REBOOT

2-Download File Buddy 9 and find file boot on the root of your OSX HD install. Replace with this boot file attached on my post. (you have to use File buddy because its an invisible file)

3- Add this line to your com.apple.Boot.plist after <key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>"Graphics Mode"="1600×1200×32"</string>

command: sudo pico /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist

here
how its mine:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
	 <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs$
	 <plist version="1.0">
	 <dict>
			 <key>Kernel</key>
			 <string>mach_kernel</string>
			 <key>Kernel Flags</key>
			 <string>"Graphics Mode"="1600×1200×32"</string>
			 <string>cpus=1</string>
			 <key>Timeout</key>
			 <string>5</string>
	 </dict>
	 </plist>

I have added 1600x1200x32 and i got my native (1280x800x32) so try your native there instead of 1600x1200x32)

reboot and you should get your native.
good luck :P

Boot file credits is from vaio-p users.

I now use coldequation patch4500.bash because its better and i can change resolution everytime i want. But at least with this method you can get more than the annoying: 1024 x 768

PS: i have ZERO experience codding everything i know i have learned here with this users.

thank you all for the hard work and lets get full x4500 power.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  boot.zip   36.64KB   74 downloads


#365
Váradi László

Váradi László

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

OK,

try this:

1- Install chameleon 1 bootloader.
http://www.insanelym.../tag/installer/ (download from here or any other place else)
REBOOT

2-Download File Buddy 9 and find file boot on the root of your OSX HD install. Replace with this boot file attached on my post. (you have to use File buddy because its an invisible file)

3- Add this line to your com.apple.Boot.plist after <key>Kernel Flags</key>

<string>"Graphics Mode"="1600×1200×32"</string>

command: sudo pico /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist

here
how its mine:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
	<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs$
	<plist version="1.0">
	<dict>
			<key>Kernel</key>
			<string>mach_kernel</string>
			<key>Kernel Flags</key>
			<string>"Graphics Mode"="1600×1200×32"</string>
			<string>cpus=1</string>
			<key>Timeout</key>
			<string>5</string>
	</dict>
	</plist>

I have added 1600x1200x32 and i got my native (1280x800x32) so try your native there instead of 1600x1200x32)

reboot and you should get your native.
good luck :P

Boot file credits is from vaio-p users.

I now use coldequation patch4500.bash because its better and i can change resolution everytime i want. But at least with this method you can get more than the annoying: 1024 x 768


Thanks for the instructions. Right now, i just got my mouse finnaly appear by growing it, it's not like i haven't tried this before, but now i was more brave and went for really big, and after approx half of the slider my mouse appeared. It's big as hell, but it is there:D When the cursor should change to hand or something else it disappeares again, but hey, its now usable.

I'm gonna try your method anyway tomorrow if there's some hope of getting software mouse rendering. I'm using chameleon 2 bootloader (the nice one with the GUI), is it suitable too or i should revert to 1.0?

#366
chopped

chopped

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
haha, good to see the growing thing worked.

#367
Váradi László

Váradi László

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

haha, good to see the growing thing worked.


Yes, it was a great idea! Thank you!
And all of you who worked on the resolution fix, thanks everyone!

#368
Maxcielle

Maxcielle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

I'm gonna try your method anyway tomorrow if there's some hope of getting software mouse rendering. I'm using chameleon 2 bootloader (the nice one with the GUI), is it suitable too or i should revert to 1.0?


hi,

only works with Chameleon 1.

\m\

#369
Poco

Poco

    InsanelyMac Plumber

  • Administrators
  • 1,495 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
I'm not sure if anyone else gets this but I also have white lines (vertical) across my screen.

#370
rodro

rodro

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Chile
hello, today tested the HDMI output of my notebook in macosx with Kexts that here, as long ago as when you connect HDMI from the start of the garment Notebook, as always the symbol of HP, and Darwin appeared after the apple logo Small was good, then get to the desktop and sends no signal to HDMI and connect it off and I do not react, I have no audio on HDMI, which ago?

The VGA output still does not prove


iWork does not work either, according to me because no Quartz Extreme or Core Image Hardware

Notebook : Hp DV4-1125la
iDeneb : 10.5.7

#371
mudersora

mudersora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello! :unsure:
I have many doubts about this. Excuse my English is not very good.
Now the important thing, I need to know that I read almost anything I do not understand that someone can help me, guide on the following:

Download: "Archive.zip (840.82K)" User "trauma!" then install it in the instructions that come with the file. After install: 1.-The monitor was blue. 2.-The monitor was a black and white and black horizontal lines as an old TV and no signal.
After that restart, press F8 at boot.
1 .- Home and it started with resolution of 1280 * 800, but the sound was off.
2.-start the machine again but this time in normal mode and no beginning.
Then to come back in "-x" in the boot.
To read and understand that almost no download "patch4500.bash.zip (2.58K).
Perform the following steps:
1.-bash-3.2 # / Users/sergiocaloca/Documents/MacOSx/script/patch4500.bash VRF-2a42
2.-patch4500.bash version: 20090704.1
patch4500.bash: Unknown AppleIntelGMAX3100FB version (might work anyway)
patch4500.bash: Unknown AppleIntelGMAX3100 version (might work anyway)
patch4500.bash: Please reboot now!
3.-Restart
4.-Re-configure my machine to 1024 * 768 mode after installing the "PATCH4500".
HELP PLEASE!!
THAT is what I am doing wrong?
WHAT DOES ONE HAVE TO DOWNLOAD?
What does the "PATCH4500"?
I do not know that back to the same settings as before 1024*800?
Do I say that is what I do, first thing to download first. Now I have another question when you install the drivers and the configuration "F8-x" in the boot. When I wanted to watch a video can not see it completely freezing the whole image as a "stop emotion" very slow. Then: When you install the driver, will slow as watching the videos?
The following image is the current resolution.
THANK YOU THE TRUTH THAT THE JOB YOU ARE DOING ALL THE TRUTH HERE IS INCREDIBLE I commend you for that. HOPE CAN HELP ME IN MY PROBLEM.
Thank you for everything! :angry: :D

Attached Files



#372
Monkey D. Luffy

Monkey D. Luffy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Interests:I will become the Pirate King!

I'm not sure if anyone else gets this but I also have white lines (vertical) across my screen.


Hi,

Are you using Trauma or Tiennek's?

Thank you.

#373
Tienneke

Tienneke

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mechelen (Belgium)

hello, today tested the HDMI output of my notebook in macosx with Kexts that here, as long ago as when you connect HDMI from the start of the garment Notebook, as always the symbol of HP, and Darwin appeared after the apple logo Small was good, then get to the desktop and sends no signal to HDMI and connect it off and I do not react, I have no audio on HDMI, which ago?

The VGA output still does not prove


iWork does not work either, according to me because no Quartz Extreme or Core Image Hardware

Notebook : Hp DV4-1125la
iDeneb : 10.5.7


Yes, that's quite possible since the solution we have now to fix the resolution is only partial. At the moment we're trying first to get QE/CI working. It's quite possible that once we've got that working, we get everything working.

Hello! :D
I have many doubts about this. Excuse my English is not very good.
Now the important thing, I need to know that I read almost anything I do not understand that someone can help me, guide on the following:

Download: "Archive.zip (840.82K)" User "trauma!" then install it in the instructions that come with the file. After install: 1.-The monitor was blue. 2.-The monitor was a black and white and black horizontal lines as an old TV and no signal.
After that restart, press F8 at boot.
1 .- Home and it started with resolution of 1280 * 800, but the sound was off.
2.-start the machine again but this time in normal mode and no beginning.
Then to come back in "-x" in the boot.
To read and understand that almost no download "patch4500.bash.zip (2.58K).
Perform the following steps:
1.-bash-3.2 # / Users/sergiocaloca/Documents/MacOSx/script/patch4500.bash VRF-2a42
2.-patch4500.bash version: 20090704.1
patch4500.bash: Unknown AppleIntelGMAX3100FB version (might work anyway)
patch4500.bash: Unknown AppleIntelGMAX3100 version (might work anyway)
patch4500.bash: Please reboot now!
3.-Restart
4.-Re-configure my machine to 1024 * 768 mode after installing the "PATCH4500".
HELP PLEASE!!
THAT is what I am doing wrong?
WHAT DOES ONE HAVE TO DOWNLOAD?
What does the "PATCH4500"?
I do not know that back to the same settings as before 1024*800?
Do I say that is what I do, first thing to download first. Now I have another question when you install the drivers and the configuration "F8-x" in the boot. When I wanted to watch a video can not see it completely freezing the whole image as a "stop emotion" very slow. Then: When you install the driver, will slow as watching the videos?
The following image is the current resolution.
THANK YOU THE TRUTH THAT THE JOB YOU ARE DOING ALL THE TRUTH HERE IS INCREDIBLE I commend you for that. HOPE CAN HELP ME IN MY PROBLEM.
Thank you for everything! :D :D


Okay, I'm gonna try to break it down very easy:

1. Remove /System/Library/Extensions/2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext and /System/Library/Extensions/2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext
2. Run the script /Users/sergiocaloca/Documents/MacOSx/script/patch4500.bash -vrf 2a42
3. BEFORE REBOOTING make sure you don't have /System/Library/Extensions/2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext
4. Reboot

If everything went right, you now have the native resolution of your laptop screen, and you'll also have your sound (sound isn't loaded in safe mode, that's why you didn't have it ;) )


I'm not sure if anyone else gets this but I also have white lines (vertical) across my screen.


Can you post a picture? (screenshot won't show it.)

And just to be sure, if you used the patcher provided by coldequation or the kexts provided by trauma, make sure you've removed /System/Library/Extensions/2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext

If you used kext provided by me, remove /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext.

#374
Maccie

Maccie

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Hello all.
Thanks for your great work so far!

Here come's the but.

I have an Lenovo W500 (laptop 1680 x 1050 )
So far i get a little stuck.
(using ideneb 10.5.7)

What did i do :

download the Trauma's Archive (GMA_4500v2). And runned the patch as it is installed with the package. Nothing more, nothing less (was confused about the kext's files in it, but ok i didnt see anything about it in the readme).
After a reboot, bleuscreen pops away, and then a black screen (or screen went of) and then its over.

i'm now reinstallting the os again (5th time ;) )

What im wondering is, do i miss steps in this ? I read the topic, but it confuse me a little.
I see kexts from Trauma, other kexts, patch files.

What is the best way to do in my case ?

#375
Tienneke

Tienneke

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mechelen (Belgium)

Hello all.
Thanks for your great work so far!

Here come's the but.

I have an Lenovo W500 (laptop 1680 x 1050 )
So far i get a little stuck.
(using ideneb 10.5.7)

What did i do :

download the Trauma's Archive (GMA_4500v2). And runned the patch as it is installed with the package. Nothing more, nothing less (was confused about the kext's files in it, but ok i didnt see anything about it in the readme).
After a reboot, bleuscreen pops away, and then a black screen (or screen went of) and then its over.

i'm now reinstallting the os again (5th time ;) )

What im wondering is, do i miss steps in this ? I read the topic, but it confuse me a little.
I see kexts from Trauma, other kexts, patch files.

What is the best way to do in my case ?


OK, everybody, ONLY DO IT WITH ONE METHOD!!!!!

It seems most of you install the kexts by trauma and then run the patch script.

To be clear: The kexts you can download do the same as the patcher!!!!! In fact, try forgetting about the kexts you download, and just use the patcher, since this is the prefered method..

So the only thing you do after installing osX is downloading the patcher, and executing it like this:

patch4500.bash -vrf 2A42

After running the script, check that /System/Library/Extensions/2A42AppleIntelGAX3100.kext has been removed, since that will boot you to a blue screen only.

#376
woaizca

woaizca

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
haha!!also waitin for 4500 kext for lenovo e43g

#377
Maccie

Maccie

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Ok did as you described.
Only file left after patch was : 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext.

So i did not deleted this file.

After reboot, nothing changed. resolution still 1024 x 768. Info about the video card the same.
Now deleted the 2a42appleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext. Nothing changed.

Same story.
Display:
Type Display
Bus built in
Vram (total) 64 mb of shared memory
Vendor : Intel (0x8086)
Device id : 0X2a42
Revision id 0x0007
Kernel extension info : No kext loaded.
(reso 1024 x 768)

Tried again the patch as described above.
Now deleted the 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext. after patch
(did not reinstall the os).

Same story.
as above.

Thought let me try the 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext from Trauma. Did install via Kexthelper.
After reboot screen goes black. Computer reponds, but screen is black (not off btw)

At the moment i install osx fresh (ideneb 10.5.6), will try the patch without the 10.5.7 update.

#378
WinSucks_4ever

WinSucks_4ever

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Hello all.
Thanks for your great work so far!

Here come's the but.

I have an Lenovo W500 (laptop 1680 x 1050 )
So far i get a little stuck.
(using ideneb 10.5.7)

What did i do :

download the Trauma's Archive (GMA_4500v2). And runned the patch as it is installed with the package. Nothing more, nothing less (was confused about the kext's files in it, but ok i didnt see anything about it in the readme).
After a reboot, bleuscreen pops away, and then a black screen (or screen went of) and then its over.

i'm now reinstallting the os again (5th time :poster_oops: )

What im wondering is, do i miss steps in this ? I read the topic, but it confuse me a little.
I see kexts from Trauma, other kexts, patch files.

What is the best way to do in my case ?


You don't need to reinstall just boot in -s -x
then /sbin/ .....
sudo rm ---R /system/library/extensions/(this will delete the kext you install)
the delete Extensions.mkext
Repair premissions

done!!!

#379
coldequation

coldequation

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
I have not given up.

I spent some time yesterday, re-reading the Intel docs. I specifically compared the older docs (3100) to the new ones (4500). I still have not found a key difference that would invalidate our working hypothesis.

I also PMed some of the folks working on alternate video drivers (ATI, etc). I have gotten replies that are tangentially helpful. I need to think more.

The lspci logs have proven to be a bit of a dead-end because, unlike the Linux versions, they do not print the size of the memory regions.

That said, I am hampered by not having a 4500 to work on. So I will be putting this aside until mid- to late-July when I should have a 4500 based laptop to work on. It's frustrating of me to have to ask all of you to carry out experiments that I could do myself, if I had the hardware.

I will check back on this thread every few days, but right now I have two opportunities (that may pay money, and money is tight now) that I must focus on. If one of them does fall my way, I will have even less time to work on the 4500.

To several of you who have problems with the patch4500 script. Please make sure (using the -v option) that you have version 20090705.2. That version fixes two bugs that cropped up.

The earlier versions WILL NOT work.

Also, regarding the lenovo issues:

1. I agree with Tienneke, that it would be way cool if the 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext was indeed running along with the 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext (framebuffer). We need to verify whether it is true or not. If true, we may need to run some tests to figure out what makes that lenovo machine different (the developer tool reggie_se, which is part of the CHUD tools) could help us there.

2. Regarding the mouse pointer-- are there any settings in the lenovo bios that might help fix the problem?

-u

One other thing...

Trauma's patches specifically only work with device code 2a42 (4500MHD) which is what all of you with laptops probably have. However, his code will not work with any of the budget desktops which will have a device code of 2e12, 2e02, or 2e22. Budget desktop 4500 users could try patch4500, but a simpler (but not cheaper) solution is to buy a graphics card that is supported by Leopard.

Also, I tested that Trauma's patcha24a and my patch4500 (based on Trauma's code) *produce the same result*. So if it doesn't work with one, it won't work with the other. Moreover, Trauma's kexts are for 10.5.7 Leopard; they may not work on your version of Leopard.

Therefore, I'd suggest that all of you who have a working resolution fix post more details about your setup: hardware, OS version, etc. That will help others who would like to get the resolution fix working understand what they need, and whether it will work. *PLEASE POST this in Tienneke's Genius Bar thread, not here.*

Also, Tienneke if you haven't done it, could you post the latest patch4500 in your Genius Bar thread. Thanks!!!

If possible, we should keep this thread oriented around experimentation, designed to get the full QE/CI going, not tons of posts about the resolution fix, since Tienneke has kindly created a thread specific for that. Is that OK?

Now about experimentation:

Another thought that occurred to me: the display connector between the LCD panel in a GMA950, X3100 and 4500MHD may be different. It may be worth trying to use patch4500 without the -r option (which does not delete 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext), and try booting with an external monitor plugged in.

I have no reason to expect this to work, but I suggest only someone with more OS X experience try this, as it may require Natit, or DSDT changes to tell your laptop that the display is external.

-u

#380
mudersora

mudersora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello friends! :D

Thanks for all the work you are doing is very important for the community.
I could solve the problem, solve it with the information described here. Above all thank you "Tienneke" who was the person who guided me and was very helpful despite my frustration of not knowing the language. :)
Thank you very much "Tienneke! :)
I must also thank the entire team that worked on this, complete the work under the guidance and comment that I "coldequation," Whose idea was download the file "patch4500 script (20090705.2)" and this can help you successfully install the patch. Finally after all this time I can have the proper resolution of my monitor and play movies in all formats for non-conventional "LEOPARD" as the format is. MKV and. RMVB. Formats that are difficult to reproduce in my previous resolution of 1024 * 768.

(((I'll describe what I did to solve the problem, I hope that helps somewhat as follows:
1 .- As remarked "Tienneke" delete file "2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext" but every time I reset the machine back up the file. So what I did was to delete the file "2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kex, Natit.kext" then a folder named "GMA900Backup" which included the following files: "AppleIntelGMA950.kext, AppleIntelGMA950GA.plugin, AppleIntelGMA950VADriver. bundle "among others. Folder "GMA900Backup" was inside / System / Library / Extensions /. ))) -_-
So I restart the machine without those files. Then install "patch4500 script (20090705.2)" with the information they gave me "Tienneke"

Run the script / Users/sergiocaloca/Documents/MacOSx/script/patch4500.bash VRF-2a42
Reboot

When starting my machine again and had the resolution of 1280 * 800.

Attention! The information that appears in all three brackets was something made in a desperate attempt to remove the famous file 2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kex "I do not know if this worked there for proper operation. Or really "patch4500 script (20090705.2)" works fine by changing the version before you install "patch4500 script (20090705.1) 'and now install the" patch4500 script (20090705.2) "so maybe there resides the difference. Do not take much account of what this in brackets (((---))).
Even I do not know I am no expert on this, but I know is that my monitor resolution change really works, I can now play back video that makes me very happy! Sending images to see a change HOHOHOHO!
Thank you all! :) :) :thumbsup_anim:

Attached Files







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy