increase integrated graphics vram help

yungyulli

9 posts in this topic

hello I am using a laptop and using the ig-platform-id 0x0a260006. I have a intel hd4600 graphics on my intel 17-4710hq cpu and currently I only have 1536mb of ram but the max my graphics can support is 2GB so I need a point in the right direction of how to go about changing this so that I can utilize all 2GB of possible intel integrated graphics. I'm trying to learn some stuff!!!

is there a patch I need to create?

is there some code I need to edit?

anything helps as I am new to hackintosh. I just installed mines like a week ago.

thanks anyone for the help.

Since SandyBridge, OS X/macOS allocates iGPU VRAM according to the amount of RAM installed on the computer:

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204349

For instance, with HD3000, VRAM is allocated as follows:

• 2GB RAM -> 256MB VRAM
  • 4GB RAM -> 384MB VRAM
  • 8GB RAM -> 512MB VRAM

This can be overidden through a little patch of the SNB framebuufer kext: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/320001-increase-vram-hd-3000/

I've never tried it myself but I understand the same can be done for Ivy Bridge HD4000 with the Capri framebuffer kext: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/291603-help-hd-4000-increase-vram-size/ (If I remember well, HD4000 got up to 1024MB up to Yosemite and up to 1536MB since El Capitan).

One could expect the same principle to be applicable to the Azul framebuffer for Haswell HD4600 but I've never seen/tried it.

Afaik, you system will run perfectly Ok with the default 1536MB, you should not need to increase it. It's a binary patch of the kext, so you may need to repatch after each update, depending on the implementation method you use. DSDT patch would only be a cosmetic thing.

hmm thank you. I will read those links you posted and I just want more vram for video editing really the only reason why