Intel ATOM330 D945GCLF2

CPT_MAC

21 posts in this topic

Dear fellows,

First I am far off to be an expert. Often I have no clue what I am doing. I just want to share my experience to built a hackinthos with the new Intel D945GCLF2 board Atom330 dual core CPU.

I am sure very soon some expert will develop a better instruction how to do.

In the meanwhile I got almost all to work what I need.

What do I need?

Leopard updated, Time Machine for backups, Sound, Graphic, LAN, USB, Office application running….

I have tried almost all distributions, the best and only are 95 % working out of the box is KALYWAY 10.5.2 in my opinion. The other distributions may also work, but you need to do adjustments during boot or via the terminal program and I have no experience with that.

I had to install the OSX many times before I came to the result below:

Leopard 10.5.4 running, Time Machine running, LAN working, Graphic 1024 x 768 working, sound working, but no mic, USB working.

I miss: sleep mode, but with a consumption of 30 Watts average for me it is not so important. No Mic, I can use for skype my USB Webcam with built in Mic..

The only way to have Time Machine working was the installation in the following order. I did a backup after each step.

Boot from KALYWAY 10.5.2

Options:

Kernel_9.2_sleep

Graphic GMA950 only

No sound driver, remove everything

Network cards do no changes, work out of the box. If you have trouble loosing connection, than use manual IP. In my case it works with DHCP.

WiFi, deselect everything

Mobo chipsets no change

Third party Applications: I selected the following, but it is all up to you.

Archives, Fairmount, Growl, Gmail notifier, Kexthelper B7, Onyx, I photo, macam_iusbcam, Mac the ripper, Proxy, Pacifist, perian, Ppfomatic, solarssek, stuffit expander, textmate, vlc, xbanch.

Patches: Very important, TICK TIME MACHINE FIX !!!!!

Not to lose the Time Machine working, I used after many hours the following install sequence.