Jump to content

New Ralink RT2500-USB Driver [a la Airport Driver] - V 1.5


  • Please log in to reply
380 replies to this topic

#61
MacMerlin

MacMerlin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Plugged in my DWL-G122. It found the device and wep worked (didnt with the drivers from the ralink site).
Thanks now i just need to get the audio working an i will be happy


Hey Plas, are you on a laptop or desktop? If all else fails you can bypass the internal audio with an Altec Lansing USB Headset AHS302USB. I got it at BestBuy and this sweet little headset has a small detachable USB input that provides both mic in and headphone out. The small USB plug becomes your new mic and headphone jack. Great for a desktop b/c you gotta plug in speakers anyway.

#62
rathalos

rathalos

    i H4XX0R B1LL GaT3s

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Singapore
Jus a quick report on othe new driver....

Works well, jus like the previous release... tried out the packet compression, but doesnt seem to have any differences in network performance.... one thing i notice is that network connectivity is not very good... maybe due to the optimisation??

oh ya, you optimised the code for sse3 or sse2?? i think it would be nice to optimise for sse2 cos i think quite a majority of us run usb wireless adaptors from our laptops....


thanks mate!!!

#63
Prasys

Prasys

    Cheese Cheese cheese

  • Retired Developers
  • 353 posts
  • Gender:Male
Working on SSE2..It seems that the newk ernel breaks some of the driver codes...I will see how i can redirect stuff !

#64
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,615 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Any news on making mods for the PCI drivers?

#65
Cloudstrife252

Cloudstrife252

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the world
super dooper

#66
cashgrow

cashgrow

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asker,Norway
Works great her with a new Belkin D5F5070 vers. 3001ff
except the replug thing.. hm....anyone?

#67
KFost63

KFost63

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hold on a second, what exactly are the steps to getting the device working? Are both downloads necessary?

#68
Simania_NL

Simania_NL

    Insanely Mac Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
Prasys the driver works almost perfect, much kudos to you :) . Except for the wireless strength icon, which just doesn't show up.
Keep up the good work!

Works great her with a new Belkin D5F5070 vers. 3001ff
except the replug thing.. hm....anyone?

I'm not sure if the appropriate key has been added for your adapter, please pass me the vendor and product ID and I could try to fix it.

#69
cashgrow

cashgrow

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asker,Norway
okey, thanks Simania
Isnt the Vendor Belkin and the product id 30001ff?
or is it hidden some secret place?

#70
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male

okey, thanks Simania
Isnt the Vendor Belkin and the product id 30001ff?
or is it hidden some secret place?

That is the Belkin ID. The chip on the device is made by someone else. You need the 4 character vendor id and the 4 character device id.

Go to System Profiler and select USB devices. Find the wireless device and see if it gives you a vendor and device id (0x followed by 4 characters).

If not, go to Windows -> Device Manager -> Network Adapters - > (your wireless device) -> Properties -> Details tab -> vendor is 4 characters following VEN_ -> device is 4 characters following DEV_

#71
Simania_NL

Simania_NL

    Insanely Mac Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male

Isnt the Vendor Belkin and the product id 30001ff?
or is it hidden some secret place?

Well the product and vendor ID are most likely not the same, just go 'system profiler' and find your adapter in the list 'USB'.
For my it shows the following:
Compact Wireless-G USB Adapter:

Removable Media: No
Detachable Drive: Yes
BSD Name: en2
Version: 0.01
Bus Power (mA): 500
Speed: Up to 480 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Cisco-Linksys
OS9 Drivers: No
Product ID: 0x0020
Vendor ID: 0x13b1


@Ramjet you were ahead of me for 1 second...lol

Edited by Simania_NL, 13 December 2006 - 12:01 PM.


#72
cashgrow

cashgrow

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asker,Norway
ok! thanks. at work now, but will be the first thing i do when i get home

#73
cashgrow

cashgrow

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asker,Norway
Product ID: 0x705a
Vendor ID: 0x050d

#74
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male
050d = Belkin
705a = unknown, however:

7050 = F5D7050 802.11g Wireless USB Adapter
705c = F5D7050 v4

so, 705a would be somewhat consistent for an F5D7050 v3

#75
cashgrow

cashgrow

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asker,Norway
okey, should i put this in some plist somewhere?

#76
cashgrow

cashgrow

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asker,Norway
changed the appleps2controller.kext and the wireless utility suddenly popps up without the need for replugging. strange...
problem solved..not

Edit: It worked once while i changed the usb port when i was logged in, the rebooted it popped up, rebooted again it didnt..

Edited by cashgrow, 13 December 2006 - 09:41 PM.


#77
maeg

maeg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I am a newbie so please bear with me. My USB D-Link DWL-G122 is not recognized as Airport, will the New Prasys Ralink RT2500-USB Driver [a la Airport Driver] work with my ibook g4? Thanks.

#78
Simania_NL

Simania_NL

    Insanely Mac Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male

Product ID: 0x705a
Vendor ID: 0x050d

Here's the RT2500Replug.kext with the added key for your device, it was not in the kext already so the replug kext woudn't work for your adapter. But just to be sure, the device is working but you have to remove it and put it back in every time after a reboot? Or were you not able to make the device work at all?
Btw. You need to chown and chmod the kext, remove kextcache and fix diskpermissions.
Good luck
Attached File  RT2500Replug.kext.zip   109.95KB   1121 downloads

#79
cashgrow

cashgrow

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asker,Norway
Super Simania!
Thanks a million!
The device works fine.. just the replugg thing is very annoying...and no signal bars..
Thanks again.. going home from work now, so will tell u if it works or not in an hour or two.

Edit: It worked... great! thanks !

Edited by cashgrow, 14 December 2006 - 05:49 PM.


#80
Simania_NL

Simania_NL

    Insanely Mac Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male

Edit: It worked... great! thanks !

I'm very happy for you, but now my own adapter has given up on me :happymac: just don't get.
@ Prasys: Maybe you can add the adapter from cashgrow in the 2500Replug kext, the applicable vendor and device ID are:
DeviceID: 0x705a = 28762
VendorrID: 0x050d = 1293
Or just copy the key from the attached kext a few post before.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2015 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy