Jump to content

Ryzen Clover Installation Guide macOS Sierra

Ryzen Clover Guide

  • Please log in to reply
578 replies to this topic

#1
Gigamaxx

Gigamaxx

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

*
POPULAR

First off, this guide would not be possible without the help and experience of many experienced members, coders, and moderators. Many thanks to Bronya for creating the Kernels, Boot, and Various other files that allow Chameleon and Clover to boot and run Sierra on Ryzen systems. In a very short time Bronya has done an incredible job of providing functionality on Ryzen systems on OS X. Many thanks, again. I would also like to thank and credit Spakk, Shanee, Aikimoa, Gils/Papeircul, Chris1111 and the many testers and moderators that helped in the testing and help threads. I forgot to mention jaytarang92 who created a patcher (RyzenPatcher) using terminal to make Ryzen/chameleon install almost automatic, I have a feeling he will soon have a Clover version which will help everyone and speed the process.

I have tested and repeated a procedure for creating a Clover based USB installer and Install guide for AMD Ryzen systems for macOS Sierra 12.4-12.5+. It will require downloading and compiling the files and apps listed below. It will require a working Mac or mackintosh. I also attached a video zip that reflects most of the steps. There are other methods for creating a USB installer but this is a simple method that has been repeatable for 3 consecutive installs. It works, but requires extra edits which may be a good thing because software updates often remove and replace files so these methods are needed for AppStore updates recovery.

It's a Start!

 

Update:    Nvidia Web drivers are not working to full potential, users are reporting approximately 50% or less performance compared to windows or Intel Hackintosh builds.     AMD HD 7xxx (some R7, R9 series), and HD 8xxx (R9 series) and RX cards are working well, but not to full potential vs. Intel Hackintosh builds.    Older Nvidia cards with "native drivers" in OS X are working well and do not require any fixes.    

Required materials:
1). macOS Sierra, create an Apple account and dowmnload the latest version of Sierra and place in Applications. If you click on
Launcher (Rocket Ship) it should appear there.

2). Kext Wizzard! Very important.

3). Clover r4077 boot loader.

4). Pandoras Box, here at InsanelyMac in downloads section.

5). Clover Configurator.

6). Ryzen Clover Essentials package (attached).

7). 8gb or larger empty and GUID formatted USB stick. Run Disk Utility to erase and format in "Mac Extended Journaled".

8). A HDD or SSD erased and formatted same as above.

9). Any kexts or special drivers needs for your particular hardware like ethernet or wifi fixes, graphics drivers etc..

10). Patience and perserverance.

BIOS Settings.
Serial Port=disabled, also may be labeled Super IO Configuration= disabled.
XMP detection enabled (Ram frequency settings)
XHCI Handoff= enabled
EHCI Handoff= enabled
HPET= enabled
Power on by keyboard= enabled any key ( for sleep and deep sleep option).

Open Pandora and select "Create Bootloader", select macOS Sierra and select install location (USB). Next, click on the Custom Kernel tab and go to top of window that pops up. Click on the Custom Kernel tab and scroll to location of your risen essentials package and select 16.5 kernel. It should appear in the window next to tab and check that you have USB and Sierra also loaded in the installer windows in Pandora. Hit "Start" button and wait (15-30 min + -).

After instal is complete it will ask you if you want to instal Clover or chameleon, choose clover. When the Clover window opens check to see that UEFI and ESP boxes are checked in top left corner. Don't worry about other settings just go to bottom left and hit install.

Now you have a pandora installer icon and an EFI (clover) folder on desktop. Open the EFI folder and open the Ryzen essentials EFI folder from package. Drag the Boot64EFI folder to the EFI (USB) and replace it. Next drag the Clover folder to the same EFI tab and choose replace option, don't merge this one. You should now have replaced all the clover files for the USB installer.

Now, open the Pandora Installer and open the Kernel_16.5 folder packet. Open the usr folders for both windows and drag the Kernel16.5 files to the Installer usr folder and select "Merge" option. I did them one at a time, standalone, local and bin.

Next, open the "System" folder on installer and then "Library" scroll to "Extrensions" folder and open. Drag the Extensions files from Kernel 16.5 folder to Installer Extensions folder tab. Choose replace option. Close Extensions folder tab when done.

Open frameworks folder on Installer and got to kernel 16.5 files and drag Frameworks files one at a tine to Frameworks folder tab. you should get replace or Merge option. Choose Merge option. Close folder tab when done.

Scroll to Kernel folder on Installer and open. there will be 2 kernels there, remove both top trash and drag the Kernel 16.5 kernel to installer Kernel folder tab, choose replace.

Next, scroll to PreLinked Kernel folder and replace in same manner as above.

***** Now run Kext Wizzard and make sure to select the proper target disk "Pandora Installer".

You should now have a bootable USB installer. However once Sierra is installed you will need to make all these edits again on the fresh install disk. Repeat the above process and also use the post install "Library" files. This not System-Library, it is in the Library folder prior to System on main disk partition. Choose the "Merge" option for App support and replace for Pref panes.

Make al the ediis to the new Disk installation, then run Clover boot loader 4077 make sure to select the proper disk (fresh install) and then replace the files with the EFI files provided that were used for the USB installer.

Open the Config.plist folder that matches your system Graphics hardware and drag it to the Clover Folder "tab" and follow "replace" prompts see zip attached to config folder. Edit the config.plist for your CPU frequency before booting. you can do this by using cursor arrows at clover boot menu. Use right pointer arrow to scroll to "options" hit enter and scroll to Boot Args. npci=0x3000 busratio=36 (current setting) Set bus ratio to your GHz for example 3000MHz = busratio=30, 3200MHz = busratio=32 etc..

On first boot hit the space bar at clover screen (after setting bus ratio above) and select: Verbose, Single User, KeepSymbols, Don't Reboot on Panic, and Debug Kexts options, scroll to bottom hit return and the enter to boot.

It should stop at Root: type in "mount -uw" hit enter, type "fsck -fy" hit enter and wait then type "exit". All of these are done without the " " marks. It will either boot into Sierra or stop very close to booting. reboot if necessary and just hit enter.
If you get booted run Kext wizard and then try a reboot.

After you are configured and it boots Please use Clover Configurator to reset serial number UUID and MLB. These are provided for now but if everyone has the same numbers it could be problematic so create your own unique set up. Clover Configurator will do it all for you once you get the hang of it.

See here a video guide:
. Video Guide for Clover USB Installer.

Attached Files



#2
Gigamaxx

Gigamaxx

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

Part 2 Continued Configuration.    This may work on cloned or fresh installs

 

Update:  Ryzen Patcher has been updated to use 16.5 kernel and added folders.    It will do step 2 Post USB disk edit automatically.  https://www.google.c...dOQ_eA5rlqEWkeQ

After you have loaded Sierra on the disk drive using the USB installer, you need to connect the Ssd to a working Mac or Hackintosh and make the same edits to the disk. I updated the Essentials package and it contains USB files and Post instal files it will. Be labeled #2.5. For this disk edit section use the Post install folder in the essentials package.

 

I made a video for this edit but I'm waiting on YouTube to finish.    

 

I ran into an issue with the prelinked kernel install and tried booting and reached the familar error kernel failed to load (0x9). I repeated the edit dragging the prelinkedkernel to the trash and then it loaded the second time,I also replaced the kernel at the same time. I did a first boot method and just after waiting for the rebuilding of kernels my keyboard battery went out and I wasn't able to hit exit. It looked bad. I rebooted and adjusted busratio and hit enter. Apple pops progress bar progresses and then blam I'm in.

 

This is a good video for kernel placement/panic recovery. I had to cut it down a bit to get it to fit.



Stay tuned for more updates.        

From bbmatias3

if anyone needs help installing their nvidia web drivers this is how i did it. right after my fresh install, i booted via injection nvidia in the clover menu before boot(do not boot via nvidia web/ it will boot but drivers have not been installed) . once i logged into my mac the screen look all wrong. if you go to about mac it should say you have a couple mb under your graphics card. i decided to change my macs definition to imac 14,2. via clover configuration. then i decided to install the nvidia web drivers and kept getting this error that the installation failed. i have a gtx 1080ti so what i did is extract the web driver with Pacifist, put kexts in System/Library/Extentions and run KextUtility then run kextwizard reboot now you boot with (nvidia web via clover) you no longer need to inject nvidia. the resolution should be good.(nvidia control panel is not going to work) just reinstall web driver and reboot and it will work!!  

Thanks, bbmatias3  this will help.

 

 

Define external drivers as internal to fix yellow drive icons:   ADD this to KernelsandKextstopatch section in clover.

<dict>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
    <key>Find</key>
    <data>RXh0ZXJuYWw=</data>
    <key>Replace</key>
    <data>SW50ZXJuYWw=</data>
</dict>

 

Thanks from post #50  motoxnate

Attached Files



#3
13parsecs

13parsecs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney

Nice guide, well done. And, of course, to all the contributors.

 

Q. Have you tried doing any "pro" level work on one? Say After Effects, Premiere Pro, AutoCad et al?



#4
papiercul

papiercul

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts


Nice guide, well done.

 

Q. Have you tried doing any "pro" level work on one? Say After Effects, Premiere Pro, AutoCad et al?

 

Pp works, knowing this soft app, it would be interesting to control it with a simple example, comparable to other system to evaluate its smooth operation.

 

774399Capturede769cran20170612a768140143

 

509130Capturede769cran20170612a768140817



#5
bdk1104

bdk1104

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Damged!

You are awesome @Gigamaxx

Thank you so much!



#6
papiercul

papiercul

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts

Damged!

You are awesome @Gigamaxx

Thank you so much!

 

???



#7
Gigamaxx

Gigamaxx

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

This is just great! I can use Ryzen with OSX 100% working  :w00t:  :thumbsup_anim:


Did you install and is it running?

#8
inaqo

inaqo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi, Im sorry this is realy first time nub on a hackintosh,

I have followed your guide above, and clover boot screen works well,

but when I tried to get install, it's showing a white apple logo for a second then reboot,

another try it showed the cross circle.

 

am I missed something ??

 

Ryzen 1600

msi b350m pro vdh

gt 210

 

and Im using my macbook pro 5,5 (which is not support to install sierra) to make a bootable drive

is that matter ??

 

thanks for the helps,



#9
samaelestevez

samaelestevez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
I followed this guide along with the other long thread in this forum and managed to get my ryzen into macOS Sierra in the first try (first time ever even with Intel) so thank you very very much for the effort of making this guide!!

My system is based on an Asus Crosshair 6 Hero and the network chip is an Intel Gigabit i211. My most difficult hurdles where:

1-Long timeout before booting so every boot took about 5 minutes.
2. Getting Ethernet working. I installed the recommended kexts to no avail.

Both hurdles were solved by accident, turns out that having CSM off in the bios is a big deal. So if you have an Asus Crosshair turn off CSM compatibility before you do anything else.

#10
Gigamaxx

Gigamaxx

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi, Im sorry this is realy first time nub on a hackintosh,
I have followed your guide above, and clover boot screen works well,
but when I tried to get install, it's showing a white apple logo for a second then reboot,
another try it showed the cross circle.
 
am I missed something ??
 
Ryzen 1600
msi b350m pro vdh
gt 210

 
and Im using my macbook pro 5,5 (which is not support to install sierra) to make a bootable drive
is that matter ??
 
thanks for the helps,


Check to see the latest download and make sure to add one of the clover config.plists to the Clover EFI folder. It sounds like there is no config.plist.

I followed this guide along with the other long thread in this forum and managed to get my ryzen into macOS Sierra in the first try (first time ever even with Intel) so thank you very very much for the effort of making this guide!!
My system is based on an Asus Crosshair 6 Hero and the network chip is an Intel Gigabit i211. My most difficult hurdles where:
1-Long timeout before booting so every boot took about 5 minutes.
2. Getting Ethernet working. I installed the recommended kexts to no avail.
Both hurdles were solved by accident, turns out that having CSM off in the bios is a big deal. So if you have an Asus Crosshair turn off CSM compatibility before you do anything else.


After 3 consecutive successful installs I was hoping it would work, glad it does for others. If you can please post your system specs in your signature line maybe you can help someone else that has a similar build. Thanks for the feedback.

Add FakeSMCKext to System/Library/Extensions folder it should cut down on the 240 sec timeouts.

#11
sea_man

sea_man

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota D.C - Colombia

Im following the guide !!! 

The usb boot fine after long time , in the welcome screen i lost my usb mouse and keyboard but y move this to the dac usb ports and it work again.

at this moment is installing.

edit:

it finish the installation flawless and reboot , but when i tried to boot from HD , but it reset after load in the screen the ++++++++++++++++++++++



#12
Gigamaxx

Gigamaxx

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

Im following the guide !!! 

The usb boot fine after long time , in the welcome screen i lost my usb mouse and keyboard but y move this to the dac usb ports and it work again.

at this moment is installing.

Keep us posted, thanks for feedback.

 

I updated the files for the Essentials package 3 times, and also the video.  If you haven't downloaded the latest version or downloaded yesterday please re download and watch the new video guide and check the new config.plist folder.    You need to select a config.plist and add it to the Clover EFi folder.      

 

Add fakeSMCkext to the System/Libraries/Extensions folder this will speed up the install and booting.   The update contains it.

 

So Again anyone that downloaded yesterday should update to the new version, and check back for updates or more guide support..



#13
samaelestevez

samaelestevez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
I will update ASAP.

Have anyone figured out a way to monitor CPU and memory frequency?

#14
Gigamaxx

Gigamaxx

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

HW Monitors and HWsensors apps don't work yet, too early.    

 

I was trying HWP enable you need to set values but it crashed initially.    It would be nice if that could work for Ryzen to give power stepping functions.   Papiercul mentioned VoodooCstates working earlier on testing thread.   



#15
sea_man

sea_man

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota D.C - Colombia

Im following the guide !!! 

The usb boot fine after long time , in the welcome screen i lost my usb mouse and keyboard but y move this to the dac usb ports and it work again.

at this moment is installing.

edit:

it finish the installation flawless and reboot , but when i tried to boot from HD , but it reset after load in the screen the ++++++++++++++++++++++

 

Keep us posted, thanks for feedback.

 

I updated the files for the Essentials package 3 times, and also the video.  If you haven't downloaded the latest version or downloaded yesterday please re download and watch the new video guide and check the new config.plist folder.    You need to select a config.plist and add it to the Clover EFi folder.      

 

Add fakeSMCkext to the System/Libraries/Extensions folder this will speed up the install and booting.   The update contains it.

 

So Again anyone that downloaded yesterday should update to the new version, and check back for updates or more guide support..

 

Yes , i downloaded the files today, after begins the process.

 

it finish the installation flawless and reboot , but when i tried to boot from HD ( flags npci=0x3000 busratio 32 nv_disable=1 -v )

, but it reset the system after load the screen at this point  " ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ "



#16
Gigamaxx

Gigamaxx

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

Yes , i downloaded the files today, after begins the process.

 

it finish the installation flawless and reboot , but when i tried to boot from HD ( flags npci=0x3000 busratio 32 nv_disable=1 -v )

, but it reset the system after load the screen at this point  " ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ "

 

 

Try again using first boot instructions.    Space bar, select verbose, single user, keep symbols,    If using a HDD not SSD try npci0x2000 busratio=32 only.     Clover is different for Nvidia try inject Nvidia only.

 

If it happens again reload kernel, the kernel isn't loading.   Use kext wizard before reboot,



#17
sea_man

sea_man

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota D.C - Colombia


Try again using first boot instructions.    Space bar, select verbose, single user, keep symbols,    If using a HDD not SSD try npci0x2000 busratio=32 only.     Clover is different for Nvidia try inject Nvidia only.

 

If it happens again reload kernel, the kernel isn't loading.   Use kext wizard before reboot,

I tried to use this flags and options but it reboots or give me this error :

 

2017_06_12_21_23_50.jpg

 

Also i tried whit a hd whit a fresh install os sierra 10.12.5 from a mac.. same reboot and error.



#18
inaqo

inaqo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

I tried to use this flags and options but it reboots or give me this error :

 

2017_06_12_21_23_50.jpg

 

Also i tried whit a hd whit a fresh install os sierra 10.12.5 from a mac.. same reboot and error.

 

yup, got the same problem here,...

 

have tried to replace the kernel and still got that,.



#19
motoxnate

motoxnate

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male

yup, got the same problem here,...

 

have tried to replace the kernel and still got that,.

 

Via Gigamaxx:

 

 

What boot args are you using?    

If you are using npci=0x3000 or 2000 and busratio=30, or 32, 34, 36 etc. and nothing else and still get this error then you may need to replace the kernel.

 

 This is the kernel not loading, it can be from adding a boot argument or other configuration issue.

 

Use only npci=0x3000 or npci=0x2000 use one not both and then also busratio=xx, hit the space bar and select verbose, single user, keep symbols, debug.

 

If you have done that and it doesn't work replace kernel.

 

Edit: I was just able to bypass this error:

 

 

On clover screen, go to Options and edit your busratio to match your GHz.. Ex 3.4GHz = 34 etc. We did this before.

On main clover screen hit the space bar and select verbose, single user, keep symbols, debug. I also used single user mode.

 

Likely your busratio is resetting to the wrong number (36 in my case)



#20
inaqo

inaqo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Via Gigamaxx:

yup, Im using that args, got the same result,

then I tried to replace the kernel and still won't works.

 

thanks for your patience btw, :thumbsup_anim:







5 user(s) are reading this topic

2 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2016 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy