Jump to content

[SOLVED] Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 + i7 2700k @ 4.8GHz no turbo mode.

cpu power management asus i7 2700k turbo speedstep 10.8 Mountain Lion

Best Answer pfilipp, 08 May 2013 - 02:48 PM

Problem is solved - finally.

KP dissapeared while using MacBookPro8.3 definition after I changed my bios settings to set turbo values not by all cores (can be adjustable in OS) but by per Core(can't be adjust in OS).

I also updated my Chameleon to the newest version but I'm not sure if it changed anything.

To sum up:
Bios settings: Set turbo by per core
SSDT generated using RevoBoot script - see above
boot options: GenerateCStates=No GeneratePStates=No DropSSDT=Yes

Reached States are:
16 20 25 30 35 48
Not much but it's enought for me :)

Still have problem with sleep but I assume that I should start another topic.

Thanks for help :) Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
Hi guys.
I spend last week trying to make my pm being operative but I failed. I also spend most of that time on different forums trying to find solution to my problem but all methods I've tried didn't work.

About the platform:
I have patched asus BIOS 3603 using PMPatch and set turbo mode to 4.5GHz (was also set as default to 3.9 but it also didn't work). In bios i have enabled only c1 state, eist and turbo mode - also virtualization cause it kp when it's off. DSDT generated compiled and repaired with DSDTEditor. SSDT generated from MaciASL for turbo 45 and tdp 95.

About the problem:
PM works... a bit. GeekBench score is quite reliable - 12589. It boots without NullCPU[...] but MSRDumper shows only 16 and 35 no 45 or any steps between. I tried different smbios from macmini, imac and so on. All the time I get only those 2 states. Generating CStates and PStates gives me more states on boot but MSR still reports only 2 I posted above... I tried injecting SSDT pstate section directly into dsdt but it also gave me no luck. - I heard that it can be necessary for asus boards.

So do you have any ideas cause I have none left. Will be really grateful for any help.

PS. Attached SSDT from MaciASL and DSDT.

Attached Files



#2
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,755 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

u ssdt is prepared for bios stock

if u OC, must have a proper ssdt for that values....

what are give the states info is ssdt...

good hack

#3
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
I don't really understand. As I said I generated my ssdt table using MaciASL and set 45 as Turbo max value. I checked file and first value is 0x1194 which is exactly 4500MHz - what I want it to be. Is there anything else that should be different for the OC?

Thanks in advance :)

#4
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,755 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

try to use this

https://raw.github.c... ... dtPRGen.sh

curl -o ssdtPRGen.sh https://raw.github.com/Piker-Alpha/RevoBoot/clang/i386/libsaio/acpi/Tools/ssdtPRGen.sh
chmod +x ssdtPRGen.sh
./ssdtPRGen.sh

see in script the examples...

set in loader

p and c-states=No

Dropssdt=Yes



good hack

#5
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
Thanks for quick reply. I've done as you suggested and here's the log from console:
localhost:~ pfilipp$ ./ssdt.sh 'i7-2700K' 4500

sdtPRGen.sh v6.1 Copyright (c) 2013 by Pike R. Alpha
----------------------------------------------------------------
Processor Declaration(s) Found in DSDT (ACPI 1.0 compliant)
Generating ssdt_pr.dsl for a Macmini5,3 [Mac-8ED6AF5B48C039E1]
Sandy Bridge Core i7-2700K processor [0x0701] setup
With a maximum TDP of 95 Watt, as specified by Intel
Override value: Max Turbo Frequency, now using: 4500 MHz!
Number logical CPU's: 8 (Core Frequency: 3500 MHz)
Number of Turbo States: 10 (3600-4500 MHz)
Number of P-States: 30 (1600-4500 MHz)
Injected C-States for CPU0 (C1,C3,C6)
Warning: 'cpu-type' may be set improperly (0x0701 instead of 0x0601)
Error: board-id [Mac-8ED6AF5B48C039E1] and model [Macmini5,3] mismatch
Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL Optimizing Compiler version 20130117-64 [Jan 19 2013]
Copyright (c) 2000 - 2013 Intel Corporation
ASL Input:	 /Users/pfilipp/Desktop/ssdt_pr.dsl - 174 lines, 5600 bytes, 35 keywords
AML Output:    /Users/pfilipp/Desktop/ssdt_pr.aml - 1265 bytes, 18 named objects, 17 executable opcodes
Compilation complete. 0 Errors, 0 Warnings, 0 Remarks, 0 Optimizations

Anyway - unfortunatelly - it didn't help. All along 2 states and that's all... I tried to activate C3 and C6 states as the script reported to inject them but no luck. I used generated ssdt table as separate file - I didn't put pstates into PR dsdt section.

Any ideas?

#6
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
BTW is it possible that Clover can solve my problems? Right now I'm using chameleon and I find Clover installation quite tricky so if it's not necessary I'd rather avoid intalling it.

#7
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
Hello again,
I've got progress of some kind. To explain what happened I must get back to installation process. I used myHack method cause I needed to make bootable usb from InstallESD.dmg. It put NullCPU[...] into /S/L/E and /E/E. I removed Null[...] from both location but yesterday I found out that there is another kext loading "myHack.kext". I ignored it before cause I thought it had nothing to do with PM but later on I checked it content... It contains NullCPU[...] and other weird kext's and works like kext-chainloader.
I removed that {censored}.
Now I have new problem called:
p-state stepper error 18 at step 2
which goes from CPU0 up to CPU7. Now I'm stuck at x16 all the time. I tried different system definitions and for Macmini5.1/3 it KP. No KP for iMac12.2.
As before I tried SSDT generate by MaciASL and script Artur-pt posted above and also injecting those values into DSDT directly. Also no luck with different states using GeneratingC/PStates=Yes.
So for now I am stuck but finally I'm sure it's about AICPUPM.kext.

Any ideas? :)

#8
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,755 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco
hello

have u patched appleintelcpupowermanagement.kext ?


3 things

1 a proper dsdt
2 "" ssdt
3 patch the kext

configs

p and c-states=No
Dropssdt=Yes

good hack

#9
k3nny

k3nny

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 560 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi, try checking your ioreg and see if the state table is injected correctly. I believe the property is named PerformanceStateArray and you should be able to find it in the CPU0 section.
If not, you probably have some misconfiguration.

#10
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
So I checked the IOReg and the only weird - I think - thing is that all the states have number 0 at the beginning. Looks like this:
0				 Data		 <...>
0				 Data		 <...>
.
.
.
0				 Data <...>

Any ideas?

EDIT: I've got 30 states in IOReg as it is in SSDT and injected directly into DSDT (0x1E).
EDIT2: In IOPowerManagement I've got only 2 values:
MaxPowerState	 Number    0x1
CurrentPowerState    Number   0x1

Shouldn't there be more of that stuff?

#11
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
Other thought. Is it possible that those problems can be caused by my graphics card? - Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 OC. It works with modified kext for radeon HD7XXX without any trouble as far as I can see. bootflag: GraphicsEnabler=No

#12
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
OK I've made another step forward but completely don't understand it :P
I used iMac12,2.plist from this POST and suddenly errors about steps are gone but I don't know what is different about this file. I checked the content and ofc there are different entries than in the original but I don't know where those changes came from.

Still have got one problem. After boot I get x16 and x35 for about few seconds and then it goes x48 and is stuck there. So all the time I get x48 and Vcore 1.35V - data from HWMonitor.
Attached both plists files:
iMac12_2.plist is the plist from post and iMac12_2 2.plist is the original one.

EDIT: using MSRDump I've got most of time x48 and for half a second x16 but it's still weird cause the system is idle...

#13
pfilipp

pfilipp

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland

Best Answer

Problem is solved - finally.

KP dissapeared while using MacBookPro8.3 definition after I changed my bios settings to set turbo values not by all cores (can be adjustable in OS) but by per Core(can't be adjust in OS).

I also updated my Chameleon to the newest version but I'm not sure if it changed anything.

To sum up:
Bios settings: Set turbo by per core
SSDT generated using RevoBoot script - see above
boot options: GenerateCStates=No GeneratePStates=No DropSSDT=Yes

Reached States are:
16 20 25 30 35 48
Not much but it's enought for me :)

Still have problem with sleep but I assume that I should start another topic.

Thanks for help :)





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: cpu, power management, asus, i7, 2700k, turbo, speedstep, 10.8, Mountain Lion


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy