Jump to content

SpeedStepper (now supports Mountain Lion 10.8.3)


  • Please log in to reply
573 replies to this topic

#81
Blame73

Blame73

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
Sorry, unable to download the file.

Edit: you must have removed it while I was trying to download it ;)

#82
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
Check first post, I edited my post.

Edit: you must have removed it while I was trying to download it ;)

Yeah I first got a KP on the patched 166.0.0 version so I attached it for testing, but it was only a caching error.

#83
dgsga

dgsga

    I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
Great work flaked, much appreciated.

#84
Filipilon™ Katagraph®

Filipilon™ Katagraph®

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Just patched GM's AICPUPM. Works, no KP. ThanXXL!!!

@flAked is it OK with my SS? iMac12,2:

14.07.11 11:59:11,000 kernel: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 16 35 36 37

It reaches 37 and no more changed.

EDIT:
Spoiler doesn't work
Spoiler

Edited by mrmojorisin17, 14 July 2011 - 10:09 AM.
You must use codebox, not spoiler ;)


#85
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
The current stepper program for iMac12 in Lion only reaches 16 + Turbo States, yes.

I'm still not sure at this point what we are missing or if we are missing anything at all.

If they don't change it for release we need to replace the stepper program and use the one from 10.6.8 which is working fine.

#86
oSxFr33k

oSxFr33k

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 838 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Sound and Graphic Design. Electronics in general.
@flaKed:

With the updated smbios.plist and freshly patched AICPUPM with speedstepper Lion GM:

MSRDumper CoreMulti(8)
MSRDumper PStatesReached: 8 16 19 21 22 24 26 27 28 29

Wow Thanks!!!!

#87
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
Post your smbios and chameleon config, please. Thanks!

I'm not seeing all the states as in 10.6.8...

#88
oSxFr33k

oSxFr33k

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 838 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Sound and Graphic Design. Electronics in general.
@flAked,

These are basically the Extra files from MaLd0n Auto Patcher Thread:


smbios.plist:

[codebox]<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>SMbiosdate</key>
<string>02/07/11</string>
<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>MBP81.88Z.0047.B04.1102071707</string>
<key>SMboardproduct</key>
<string>Mac-942459F5819B171B</string>
<key>SMfamily</key>
<string>MacBookPro</string>
<key>SMmanufactuer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacBookPro8,3</string>
<key>SMserial</key>
<string></string>
</dict>
</plist>
[/codebox]


com.apple.boot.plist:
[codebox]<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string></string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
</dict>
</plist>[/codebox]


Nothing special really. Just to make sure the SMboardproduct string is authentic and generate P and C states. Using Chameleon boot file build 1114/1115 for now because Azimutz set me up a chameleon module for the GTX 560M which should eventually catch the next release.

#89
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
Ah yes, the difference being that you are using MacBookPro8,3.

I can't imagine that the new stepper program for iMac12,2 is intended that way, but we need confirmation on the real hardware to know if we are missing something.

#90
oSxFr33k

oSxFr33k

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 838 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Sound and Graphic Design. Electronics in general.

Ah yes, the difference being that you are using MacBookPro8,3.

I can't imagine that the new stepper program for iMac12,2 is intended that way, but we need confirmation on the real hardware to know if we are missing something.



I have a MAcBook Pro early 2011 i7 but 2.3 GHz I can try MSRDumper on. I could also run to best buy an run it on a iMAC 12,2?

Let me know if that information would help or not?

#91
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
Running MSRDumper on the real iMac12,2 would help, yes. But only if it's running Lion GM, which I doubt they installed?

If you have a MBP you could do an Lion GM on a USB drive and plug that in at the shop, as it obviously doesn't require any modification.

#92
joshua7

joshua7

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I'm having the same problem as Regae had...

Speedstep seems to work (my Mainboard has some LEDs which indicate the Powerstates... and they are blinking as like in Windows) I did not try to use MSRDump to view the Powerstates yet. Sleep works flawless, too.

...But my Geekbench score went down. (ca. 5800). :blink:

I'm on a MSI P67A-GD55 with a i7 2600K, OSX 10.6.8 booting up with Chimera v1.4.1 r877. I've inserted a modified DSDT.aml (thx to MaDl0n) and a SSDT-1.aml for my CPU, using a iMac 12,2-smbios and added "GeneratePStates",PStates... in boot.plist.

So what to do to fix my performance problem? :)

Please help...

One thing: I've put the iMac smbios.plist in "Extras" folder, but the one I've found here differs a lot from the one given by tonymacx86's #####, it's much much longer. I've tried both, but no difference. Or is the Extras folder not the right location?

#93
buoo

buoo

    The Prodigal Son

  • Moderators
  • 4,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
Do you read something strange in your kernel.log ?
Boot dropping your patched acpi tables, open Geekbench and read the score.

#94
wh000penator

wh000penator

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
ByeBye NullCPUPowerManagement.kext

u are a f***** Genius! <3

thanx alot!

cheers

#95
geticus

geticus

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris
Hi all and thank you for what you're doing

Joshua7 I don't think your speedstep is working, mine is not and CPU is stuck at 1.6 Ghz.
I'm running on MSI P67A-GD65 and I have patched AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext with Flaked Speedsteper and now is loading and sleep is working without SleepEnabler.kext.
I've tried also to ad to Extra an SSDT.aml for my i5 2400 but nothing changed.

@buoo How to Boot dropping patched acpi tables ?

#96
mrmojorisin17

mrmojorisin17

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,942 posts
  • Gender:Male
Have you added the iMac12_2.plist in ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugIn?

#97
geticus

geticus

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris

Have you added the iMac12_2.plist in ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugIn?


I'm running 10.6.8 and iMac12_2.plist already exist in ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugIn. Is not the same ?
Anyway, in 10.6.7 I've added it and it was the same.

#98
buoo

buoo

    The Prodigal Son

  • Moderators
  • 4,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

@buoo How to Boot dropping patched acpi tables ?



DropSSDT=NO DSDT=/HiGeticus


Warning, They are case sensitive!

#99
geticus

geticus

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris

DropSSDT=NO DSDT=/HiGeticus


Warning, They are case sensitive!


Thank you buoo. Maybe I'll abuse "Warning, They are case sensitive!" whats that mean ?
I already have DropSSDT=No in com.apple.boot.plist

#100
buoo

buoo

    The Prodigal Son

  • Moderators
  • 4,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Thank you buoo. Maybe I'll abuse "Warning, They are case sensitive!" whats that mean ?
I already have DropSSDT=No in com.apple.boot.plist



Writing DSDT=/Extra/DSDT.aml is different of writing DSDT=/Extra/DsDt.aml





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy