Jump to content

SpeedStepper (now supports Mountain Lion 10.8.3)


  • Please log in to reply
573 replies to this topic

#41
turco_ninja

turco_ninja

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:brasil

Have a look here in the mean time: http://www.insanelym...howtopic=253642



Thanks and sorry breaking the rule #3!

i saw your work used by a lot of people in diferent comunities. Great Job.

I'm trying to compile revoboot for my hack, but i didn't get sucess.. :)

I tried revobuilder, but i didn´t found the correct version of source. So, i run revobuilder to make the config, and copy the data.h files to the newest source code direcoty. After,i run make with default settings.h . Than i copied the boot file to my root disk, replacing the chameleon trunk version.

The hack startup with disc acess, but it didn't finish the osx load. Stops in apple logo screen. :wacko:


So, I think you could answer my doubt... When i compile revoboot, the make command includes the ACPI extracting?

#42
buoo

buoo

    The Prodigal Son

  • Moderators
  • 4,517 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
Does it work with ACPUPM from 10.6.8 ?

#43
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets

Does it work with ACPUPM from 10.6.8 ?

Haven't updated yet.

Mrmojo tells me that at least the version number is the same.

#44
jeffc2009

jeffc2009

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
I ran into this problem, can you help?


sudo ./speedstepper /AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement
SpeedStepper v1.0 - © flAked 2011
for AICPUPM v142.6.0

unable to open file, try running as root
: No such file or directory

both files is in the same folder.

#45
Regi Yassin

Regi Yassin

    Who am I ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

I ran into this problem, can you help?


sudo ./speedstepper /AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement
SpeedStepper v1.0 - © flAked 2011
for AICPUPM v142.6.0

unable to open file, try running as root
: No such file or directory

both files is in the same folder.

extract speedstepper to your desktop and type in terminal

Sudo bash
(Type ur password)
Cd /Users/NAMEOFYOURUSERS/Desktop
(Return)
./speedstepper /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement


If u don't understand what is ur NAMEOFYOURUSERS, try this

Extract speedstepper to your root HD,
Open terminal

Sudo bash
(Password)
Cd /
./speedstepper /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement


Do u get it?

#46
jeffc2009

jeffc2009

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts

extract speedstepper to your desktop and type in terminal

Sudo bash
(Type ur password)
Cd /Users/NAMEOFYOURUSERS/Desktop
(Return)
./speedstepper /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement


If u don't understand what is ur NAMEOFYOURUSERS, try this

Extract speedstepper to your root HD,
Open terminal

Sudo bash
(Password)
Cd /
./speedstepper /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement


Do u get it?


no sir. I am on 10.6.8 with AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext version 142.6.0

Usage: ./speedstepper binary
bash-3.2# /Users/JC/Desktop/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement
bash: /Users/JC/Desktop/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: cannot execute binary file
bash-3.2#


Usage: ./speedstepper binary
bash-3.2# /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement
bash: /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: cannot execute binary file

#47
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
./speedstepper /path/to/AICPUPM


#48
jeffc2009

jeffc2009

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts

./speedstepper /path/to/AICPUPM


Thank you, ty,ty,ty!!!!!

I was told by MaLd0n to use this along with my custom dsdt.aml that he created. flAked, can you tell me what else I need to get speedstep working? I have a Asus G73SW laptop with Core I7 2630qm, hm65, gtx460, usb 3.0, alc0269. Not desktop computer. Can this work on my laptop?

#49
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
No need to post the output here, it'll make the thread hard to read, thanks.

It's a SandyBridge laptop right? You'll need processor definitions in your dsdt and a correct ssdt_pr.

The current version of RevoBoot supports automatic creation of both of them, but this new method is still in testing and I haven't wrote a guide for it yet.

I don't have the time to step you through it, you need to do some reading: http://www.insanelym...howtopic=253642

Also see the threads in my sig, my knowledge base about setting up a SandyBridge system with RevoBoot is still in progress, though.

#50
lenovo3000

lenovo3000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male

Haven't updated yet.

Mrmojo tells me that at least the version number is the same.


Both the version number and file size are the same, but checksum differs. I started to manually patch AICPUPM from 10.6.8 with Hiew using diff as a reference, and it suddenly appeared, that offsets of all the relevant WRMSR opcodes remain unchanged.

Immediate experiment showed that current SpeedStepper does the job, no need for update (still may be worth to amend the description in the first post?)

Thanks a lot for your efforts, flAked

P.S. for lenovo laptop owners: ThinkPad BIOS also blocks write operations to 0xe2, confirmed with latest BIOS BITS 438, you have to use the patch to get native PM.

#51
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
Thanks for the confirmation!

#52
Regi Yassin

Regi Yassin

    Who am I ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
i have a problem with lion flAked, T_T

my speedstep doesnt works,
aicpupm loaded correctly,

here it is
ACPI_SMC_CtrlLoop::loadStepperContext - pmCPUControl (pmioctlPStateContext_t) failed, result = 0x16

is it problem with my dsdt / iMac12,2.plist in ioplatform?

#53
jeffc2009

jeffc2009

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
Thanks everyone, but I got it figured out. I had look for the closes laptop with core i7-2630qm and pop up the 15" mbp core i7 2635qm. So I changed my smbios to reflect 8, 2 instead of 8, 3 that I had used. Bam...

Jun 26 07:32:39 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: Turbo Ratios 6689
Jun 26 07:32:39 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun 7 2011) initialization complete
Jun 26 10:55:52 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(8)
Jun 26 10:55:52 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 8 11 14 18 24 26 28
Jun 26 10:55:52 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(11)
Jun 26 10:55:52 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 8 11 14 18 24 26 28
Jun 26 10:55:53 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(28)
Jun 26 10:55:53 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 8 11 14 18 24 26 28
Jun 26 10:55:53 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(8)

before the change:

Jun 25 15:22:35 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 8 20
Jun 25 15:22:35 JCs-Mac-Pro kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(8)

only two pstates for 8, 3.

Thanks you flAked for all your help with this!!!!!

#54
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets

is it problem with my dsdt / iMac12,2.plist in ioplatform?

Hard to tell, I haven't seen the error on my DP4 installation. But I haven't installed the latest DP4 update yet, maybe they changed something.

Which brings me to the important point that it's still a preview version, so I won't spend time on investigating further errors until it comes out.

#55
Regi Yassin

Regi Yassin

    Who am I ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Hard to tell, I haven't seen the error on my DP4 installation. But I haven't installed the latest DP4 update yet, maybe they changed something.

Which brings me to the important point that it's still a preview version, so I won't spend time on investigating further errors until it comes out.


i tried with all DP,
DP 2, DP 3, DP4 , DP4 with the latest update,

all the same,
T_T

ok, waiting for the final version then

#56
Regi Yassin

Regi Yassin

    Who am I ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
flAked, my problem solved,

with Lion latest DP, i have to use MacBookPro8,3 to get speedstep works,
and now its working,

its odd, isnt it?

#57
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
I would not call that solving, using iMac12 definition for desktop SandyBridge is preferred.

They changed the stepper program in SMC_PlatformPlugin and all along I only had 1 p-state + 4 turbo in Lion.

So either they will update it once again for release, we are missing something or we will mod the plist to use the old stepper program.

#58
Cristiano Possa

Cristiano Possa

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
Works like a charm on Asus P8H61M-LE B3 Revision - Processor Core i5 2400 3.1Ghz.

BUUUUUUT...

I'm tested on Geekbench and the score was 4770. Using NullCPUPM achieved 8910 no Same smbios.plist http://browse.geekbe...ch2/view/432582

=/

#59
WindowsKaput

WindowsKaput

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
When will version for 166.0.0? for worker PM, just enough to apply this patch, there is initially dsdt processor section and it is working, it lacks only the working AIСPUPM. Works at P8P67 and P8Z68.
sorry for my english

#60
flAked

flAked

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:internets
@Christiano: check with MSRDumper if the highest P-States are getting reached, maybe something else is mis-configured. SpeedStepper only solves the KP!

@WindowsKaput: is 166.0.0 part of the GM just released?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy