Jump to content

CMOS Resets on Restarts after Sleep and Wake in 10.7 (Lion)


  • Please log in to reply
485 replies to this topic

#1
rayap

rayap

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male
Amended 24th day of June, 2011

On Lion DP1-4 installations, after using sleep and wake in the system normally, BIOS reports CMOS Checksum Error on reboot or boot after shutdown. It seems that the new AppleRTC.kext v1.4 added functionatality is causing this Error.

Initially, a workaround suggested by JUN Ho is to use the AppleRTC.kext from SnowLeopard

Then by blocking a few jumps and calls in the procedures of AppleRTC.kext, the Checksum Error was overcome. It appears APPLE has left in-situ much of their realtime testing code in this kext and these modifications do not apparently affect their basic functionatility in normal cases.
On further investigation by tseug and with the assistance of his DumpCMOS.kext , an updated patch (post# 217) was prepared by blackosx. This patch for vanilla AppleRTC.kext is effective on the latest build 11A494a. (besides also on recent builds)

This solution will not affect those osx86 setups which inherently have Sleep or Wake problems. However, it will overcome the CMOS Checksum Error caused by RTC register length of 0x04 or 0x08 in DSDT and eliminate log msg RTC: Only single RAM bank (128 bytes) if, when a RTC register length of 0x02 is used.

Added 2nd day of July, 2011
New patch for AppleRTC.kext of Lion GM - Build 11A511 by tseug (Post #248). The binary patch now, is a single unconditional jump for each arch to bypass Checksum changes.

Added 10th day of July, 2011
An alternate patch for AppleRTC.kext of Lion GM. (Post # 340)
sudo perl -pi -e 's|\x75\x30\x44\x89\xf8|\xeb\x30\x44\x89\xf8|; s|\x75\x3d\x8b\x75\x08|\xeb\x3d\x8b\x75\x08|' /System/Library/Extensions/AppleRTC.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleRTC
Comment 1st day of Septemebr, 2011
You may wish to put the patched kext in E/E and leave the Vanilla kext in S/L/E alone.

October 24th, 2011 - Above patch reportedly good for 10.7.2 too.

#2
Maxetto

Maxetto

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cecina
you need a Patch in DSDT, use DSDT Auto-Patcher

#3
rayap

rayap

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male

you need a Patch in DSDT, use DSDT Auto-Patcher


The same dsdt.aml is perfect in 10.6.7. Which additional patch then for dsdt in 10.7 plse?

#4
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY
I too am experiencing this same problem in Lion. The system goes into S3 sleep as expected, but upon wake the system restarts and resets CMOS. Same DSDT is used with Snow Leopard and is 100% functional.

I'd like others who are experiencing this issue as well to make a post here as well. Thanks all!

-Stell

MSI X58 Big Bang X-Power.

#5
Javimdq

Javimdq

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
Same issue here. Working OK under SL. Motherboard GA-P55M-UD2.

#6
rayap

rayap

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male

you need a Patch in DSDT, use DSDT Auto-Patcher


Patched original dsdt with DSDT Auto-Patcher, but same problem persists.

#7
stefano.85

stefano.85

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
same here with XPC 0.82.33 on asus p5q lion DP2 and proper DSDT that FULL works in snow 10.6.7 (s3 sleep also)
It seems for now that we have to disable the sleep function.
Cheers

#8
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY
I have sleep working on an ASUS P5G41-M LX2/GB. I'll make some edits to my MSI X58 DSDT to see if i can accomplish any sort of sleep fixes.

-Stell

#9
stefano.85

stefano.85

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
in stell we trust! Let us know ;)

#10
allenwkk

allenwkk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong
I have the same problem.. my dsdt.aml works well in Snow... but CMOS reset after sleep in lion.
when reboot , the CMOS display message
" Overclock failed. CMOS reset. press F1 to go to setup and F10 to load default"

My system
Asus P6TSE, 9800GT 512Mhz and 6G working memory, icore7 930.
DP2 with update for DP2 installed.

#11
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
May be length = 2 in RTC Device is not the solution for lion:
MacPro 8.2
Device (RTC)
				{
					Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00"))
					Name (_CRS, ResourceTemplate ()
					{
						IO (Decode16,
							0x0070,			 // Range Minimum
							0x0070,			 // Range Maximum
							0x01,			   // Alignment
							0x08,			   // Length
							)
						IRQNoFlags ()
							{8}
					})
				}

not sure could also be because sandy bridge is different.

#12
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY

May be length = 2 in RTC Device is not the solution for lion:
MacPro 8.2

Device (RTC)
				{
					Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00"))
					Name (_CRS, ResourceTemplate ()
					{
						IO (Decode16,
							0x0070,			 // Range Minimum
							0x0070,			 // Range Maximum
							0x01,			   // Alignment
							0x08,			   // Length
							)
						IRQNoFlags ()
							{8}
					})
				}

not sure could also be because sandy bridge is different.


I'll give it a shot later, but the ASUS board my girlfriend uses still has the original RTC code and it works just fine with sleep. Thanks for the response!

Stell

#13
bossob

bossob

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark
  • Interests:N/A
works fine here.have not patched anything. yet

#14
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY

works fine here.have not patched anything. yet


bossob,

Can you upload the DSDT you're using now for Lion.

Thanks,

Stell

#15
stefano.85

stefano.85

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

bossob,

Can you upload the DSDT you're using now for Lion.

Thanks,

Stell


+1 here, thanks maybe we can find a solution in that one
:P tnx

#16
Jordan2Delta

Jordan2Delta

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
How do you know the DSDT has been loaded correctly to your system?

From my experiences these new bootloaders named XPC or ##### don't support my custom DSDT. Or it's my fault because I am missing something?

I noticed that, because I had to use NullCPUPowerManagement.kext and Elliot's RTC fix to prevent resetting CSMOS.

When using a DSDT editor and telling to extract DSDT from system I also get a clean DSDT as if no DSDT was loaded. (would this method be correct to prove if it's loaded or not?)

#17
stefano.85

stefano.85

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

How do you know the DSDT has been loaded correctly to your system?

From my experiences these new bootloaders named XPC or ##### don't support my custom DSDT. Or it's my fault because I am missing something?

I noticed that, because I had to use NullCPUPowerManagement.kext and Elliot's RTC fix to prevent resetting CSMOS.

When using a DSDT editor and telling to extract DSDT from system I also get a clean DSDT as if no DSDT was loaded. (would this method be correct to prove if it's loaded or not?)


For me with XPC (v 0.82.55) loads my dsdt custom correctly, in fact i have all fixes that i have in snow (audio, usb fix, ecc). Actually the only problem that i have is reset cmos after sleep mode.

To get rid of nullcpupowemnagagment.kext since XPC doesn't have automatic P-State and C-states generator, you have to add them manually it to your dsdt like before that was implemented in chameleon.
Cheers

#18
rayap

rayap

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male

works fine here.have not patched anything. yet


What MotherBoard are you using? Gigabyte!

And for those without problems, do you have the ' System Sleep' and 'System Wake' kernel log messages as in SL?

#19
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY
New Lion build as of today still causes cmos reset when waking from sleep.

-Stell

#20
edgar87

edgar87

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
I have the same problem.. with my Gigabyte 1156 motherboard.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy