Jump to content

Seeking testers for Fermi Freeze Fix.


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#41
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Does anyone know where I can find an ioreg dump from a Mac Pro with a Quadro 4000 card?

#42
fixxxer2012

fixxxer2012

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Hey, you seem eager to be a "fixer", why not try modding AGPM and tell us if that fixes Fermi Freeze?

Either keep card in low state or high state.



have you not tried this yet? how would i go about modding the AGPM? the only other option i have is buying a ati 5770 to get my system 100%.

#43
rominator

rominator

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts

have you not tried this yet? how would i go about modding the AGPM? the only other option i have is buying a ati 5770 to get my system 100%.



Go read the AGPM thread.

They have a much better handle on this then I.

With OpenCl coming up in importance, Fermi cards will continue to be "the cards to have"...their OpenCl performance makes ATI cards seem like lost puppyies.

#44
fixxxer2012

fixxxer2012

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
well im about to ditch the 450 and buy a fully supported ati xfx hd 5770.

anyways i wanted to share what two users at tonymacx86 forum found as a fix for the fermi freeze on these cards. they claim hooking up dual monitors solved the issues and they have no more freeze. this may not be ideal for most but it's a start.

good luck to you guys!

#45
rominator

rominator

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
Will be interesting if Dual Monitors actually works.

My "fix" also involved fixing the monitor definitions to be more in line with what Mac drivers expect. (ie, like Quadro 4000)

It seemed to lessen crashes but sort of like having fewer grenades land in your living room...1 is still too many.

#46
neilK

neilK

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Location:east coast canada

Guys, I am sorry that my fix hasn't worked out so far.


never any need to apologize. without the efforts of people like you, the people like me wouldn't even HAVE a hackintosh!

here is one user who is grateful for all the efforts. i only wish i had more to contribute.

#47
rodinei.nunes

rodinei.nunes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
Hello rominator my workstation has the following configuration Cooler Master HAF 932
Corsair 850W series gold
Motherboard GIGABYTE-X58A UD3R
Video Card NVIDIA GTX 460 1GB
06 sticks of 2GB memory 12GB 1333 Kingston Total
01HD 400GB for the Mac
01HD 500GB partitioned Windows and Windows System Information Windows
Data 1TB MAC 01HD
was having very frequent freeze after I turned off the power saver freezes only happen sometimes when I'm using safari, adobe and motion like to know if you have a solution because I'm thinking about changing to the HD5870 GTX460 if my English is not fool me it looks like the 470 and 480 do not freeze them is this true?...

#48
rominator

rominator

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
I just thought of trying this, it is a ROM based on Asus GTX460 with average clocks

But I moved all voltages to same while leaving different performance levels

THIS IS NOT MEANT AS LONG TERM FIX as it would likely wear card out faster, this is just to see if it influences freeze behavior.

https://files.me.com/dpart2/eylpt7

As soon as someone trieds it, please post results so that we don't end up with 20 different people getting same result.

I will shortly post one where all 4 speed sections and voltages are same

EDIT:

Here is one where all 4 speed sections use speed & voltage for LOW 3D.

https://files.me.com/dpart2/r1fm6b

#49
rodinei.nunes

rodinei.nunes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
My GTX 460 is the company ECS supports this program that you sent?. PS.: my english sucks lol

#50
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Try it and see. NVFlash will tell you about it if it won't work. When flashing ROMs from other brands, you can use the -6 switch to override vendor mismatch.

#51
og-phantom

og-phantom

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Gender:Male

Will be interesting if Dual Monitors actually works.

My "fix" also involved fixing the monitor definitions to be more in line with what Mac drivers expect. (ie, like Quadro 4000)

It seemed to lessen crashes but sort of like having fewer grenades land in your living room...1 is still too many.


I run dual 23" Acer DVI 1920x1080 monitors. My GTX460 freezes without vlc running (looping a video), so that tonymac "fix" is bogus.

#52
EstebanA

EstebanA

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
I have the freeze in my 460gtx, i use the hackintosh to use davinci resolve, gpu enabled and when I attached the second monitor the freeze are gone, just only KP maybe the fermi ??

In windows the use of second monitor turned On or Off, turns the card to the max power (3d enabled) and it is always in 60º celsius but it works OK.

Just tell me, the KP will be fermi related ? or just a bad installation on the 2600k ?

#53
rominator

rominator

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
look in console log and compare messages there with what has been posted in this or other threads on "Fermi Freeze"

At the end of the day, there is little difference between a "freeze" and a "kp"

either way, you will be yanking the plug and rebooting.

#54
an1r0n

an1r0n

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 197 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:71000
Hey guys,

Just wanted to report that my brand new 460 GTX 768 is also having KP's. I had one freeze, but loads of KP's. Using latest nvidia drivers and RC5 chameleon.

Future doesn't look bright now, eh?

Cheers,
an1r0n

#55
ij0nathan

ij0nathan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
Ok Guys

To Beginning mine is an Asus ENGTS 450 1GB

This is what I've found trying to fix this problem because belive me that I really want to make this kind of cards working in to OS X.

Since some people was talking about the AGPM (Apple graphics power management) kext what is the one wich manage the energy states of the Graphics card. I went in to the file info.plist of it. And... Verifying it

1st. The Chamelon RC 5 by default adds the MacPro 3,1 profile to the computer
2nd. In to the AGPM there isn't any profile for the MacPro 3,1 almos only for all the others profiles that the ##### installer has
3rd. I tried to load my Hackintosh by chosing the MacPro 4,1 or MacPro 5,1 profile but on any of them I got alway KPs
4th. I'm kind of sure that, that particular file is the reason of the freezes because I was verifying almos all the profiles and there are threndholds that specifie the time and the state of the Graphics card and when and how to enter in which mode (Unafortunally I don't really know how to change them because I don't know what are the states that the fermi cards are supouse to have)
5th. I was able to change my profile with the ##### installer to any one of the other profiles that it has like: iMac 11, etc and MacBook whatever number they have and I could boot. "And I certainly noticed that the card was spinning different because the AGPM was handling it. However since all of the Macs haven't had yet any Nvidia Fermi card, And almos all of them have a particular Graphic card that should be working under one of the specified states and power settings storaged on the AGPM file. That is why any of the profiles worked for me
6th You can try it, by changing the Profile of your hackintosh and you will see that the Graphic card will be working different I mean about the power that is supplied to the card. But there are always freezes :) Because there isn't any configuration for the fermi cards.
7th. If you can change your profiles to MacPro 4.1 or MacPro5 it may use the configuration that the MacPro Original Macs use to handle the powerstates of the ATI cards that they use. And the graphic card will be working as the ATI that the MacPro has but they don't work as they are.
8th. If someone could take a look into the AGPM kext file and find the way that the Fermi cards needs to be managed. It can be edited and that kext is going to handle in a proper way our cards and they won't freeze.

That is my piece of information trying to get that card to work. Because I don't really want to spend another $60 dollars buying a Nvidia 9500 that will always work with a hackintosh build

Pleas people!!! Let's make these cards work on OS X because I know that there is a lot of people whose does not want to have a video in the background or any other thing to fix it not at all.

Let's work together community to make it work. And thank you to all of you guys who are looking into a solution to make them work.

#56
an1r0n

an1r0n

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 197 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:71000

Hey, you seem eager to be a "fixer", why not try modding AGPM and tell us if that fixes Fermi Freeze?

Either keep card in low state or high state.


Would it make any sense if we replace AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext. from Snow Leopard with one from Lion Dev. Preview 2?

I don't have KP's because I'm running iTunes visualizer in background, but I did have one freeze.

#57
ij0nathan

ij0nathan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Would it make any sense if we replace AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext. from Snow Leopard with one from Lion Dev. Preview 2?

I don't have KP's because I'm running iTunes visualizer in background, but I did have one freeze.


That may work if there are no KPs because they may modified it to work with the lates Nvidia Fermi cards so may contain different settings on it. Also somewhere I have reed that the lates beta from lion is having a new Nvidia Drivers. If some one can upload them here on the forum that'd help a lot for testing pourposes. Also I have another theory that I will be trying in a while. So I will keep you guys posted what happened since I deleted my installation of SL because there isn't any fix yet I'm using windows 7 :gathering:

#58
an1r0n

an1r0n

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 197 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:71000

That may work if there are no KPs because they may modified it to work with the lates Nvidia Fermi cards so may contain different settings on it. Also somewhere I have reed that the lates beta from lion is having a new Nvidia Drivers. If some one can upload them here on the forum that'd help a lot for testing pourposes. Also I have another theory that I will be trying in a while. So I will keep you guys posted what happened since I deleted my installation of SL because there isn't any fix yet I'm using windows 7 :rolleyes:


I had no KP nor freeze for over 6 hours now, check my guide here!

#59
Carstiman

Carstiman

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
hello, i´ve got another question.

1.) could i solve this Grafikenabler problem with my Asus ENGTS 450 733 MHZ if i change my bio´s ?

nVidia GeForce GTS 450 1024MB NVc3 [10de:0dc4] :: PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)
bad display config block signature (0x55555555)

for now i does it with dsdt

thx in advance

#60
Prethorian

Prethorian

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Serbia - Kragujevac
I have nvidia GTX 460 SE with same freezing problems.
Rom attached, so if you haven'y SE version of 460 I am ready for testing.

Best regards

Attached Files







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy