Jump to content

Final solution (FIX) for GMA950 Desktop edition - NEW 28 DEC 08


  • Please log in to reply
481 replies to this topic

#21
Dr. Hurt

Dr. Hurt

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt and NYC, USA
  • Interests:Wandering around on the internet!! Politics, Sci/Tech, Medicine.
Apparently this is still a work in progress - but still a good step forward!
Can anyone around here can make a universal solution?

#22
nebulOSX

nebulOSX

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
After seeing that 2 monitors were recognized when there was only one, i connected to the computer via VNC and put on mirror displays as i thought it would semi fix the problem but now I get crazy colour when i boot with the dsdt.aml file, hope i havn't messed up, its fine when i get rid of the aml files.

#23
amf5

amf5

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
Is there any way to use this with a laptop GMA 950? I have an Acer Aspire One and still need modified kexts and framebuffers (from 10.4! :) )

#24
nebulOSX

nebulOSX

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Is there any way to use this with a laptop GMA 950? I have an Acer Aspire One and still need modified kexts and framebuffers (from 10.4! :) )


What Device and revision ID's does it have? (about this mac > more info > graphics/displays)

#25
Einstein_ein

Einstein_ein

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece
Dr. Hurt is refering to X3100 in the while roisoft is speaking about 3100. I may remind you u r speaking about 2 different cards, so which one is it? I'm asking cause i'm interested in GM965 X3100 one :P

#26
Dr. Hurt

Dr. Hurt

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt and NYC, USA
  • Interests:Wandering around on the internet!! Politics, Sci/Tech, Medicine.
This METHOD should work with any version of GMA950 and GMA X3100. The one I posted should only work with desktop GMA950 on boards similar to mine. ie. GA-945GCMX-S2, GA-945GCM-S2L, GA-945GCM-S2C... etc

GMA 3100 would need a lot of more work to be done, since it's not supported by vanilla apple kexts. I really don't think this card should not be discussed here - at least till we master this method for already supported cards

Laptop GMA950 and desktop/laptop GMA X3100 should work with this providing the proper address is written to the DSDT.aml

Since we can't have a universal DSDT.aml file due to differences between motherboards, I have contacted fassl to see if he could create a new/modified patcher to add desktop GMA950 code along with the fixed DSDT info related to the motherboard. Then we should make newer versions supporting Laptop GMA950 and GMA X3100. Remember that activating hardware using using DSDT.aml is still new, and the whole DSDT patching thing is new to OSX86.

#27
Istivi Jobis

Istivi Jobis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
Here, with GA-945GM-S2 / 10.5.6, sleep ok, restart no, rotate standard return only after new boot.

#28
mactaris

mactaris

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Many thanks to Dr. Hurt and roisoft. ;)
I have tested this DSDT fix on my Shuttle K45 and Shuttle SD30G2, both works perfectly!

Basically I added the following 2 sections into my DSDT.dsl files and recompiled them.

Method (DTGP, 5, NotSerialized)    {        If (LEqual (Arg0, Buffer (0x10)                {                    /* 0000 */    0xC6, 0xB7, 0xB5, 0xA0, 0x18, 0x13, 0x1C, 0x44,                     /* 0008 */    0xB0, 0xC9, 0xFE, 0x69, 0x5E, 0xAF, 0x94, 0x9B                }))        {            If (LEqual (Arg1, One))            {                If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))                {                    Store (Buffer (One)                        {                            0x03                        }, Arg4)                    Return (One)                }                If (LEqual (Arg2, One))                {                    Return (One)                }            }        }        Store (Buffer (One)            {                0x00            }, Arg4)        Return (Zero)    }

Device (PEGP)            {                Name (_ADR, 0x00020000)                Device (GFX0)                {                    Name (_ADR, Zero)                    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)                    {                        Store (Package (0x1A)                            {                                "device_type",                                 Buffer (0x08)                                {                                    "display"                                },                                 "model",                                 Buffer (0x07)                                {                                    "GMA950"                                },                                 "built-in",                                 Buffer (One)                                {                                    0x01                                }                            }, Local0)                        DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))                        Return (Local0)                    }                }            }


#29
Istivi Jobis

Istivi Jobis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
here my dsdt / system profile.

Attached Files



#30
Dr. Hurt

Dr. Hurt

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt and NYC, USA
  • Interests:Wandering around on the internet!! Politics, Sci/Tech, Medicine.

Here, with GA-945GM-S2 / 10.5.6, sleep ok, restart no, rotate standard return only after new boot.


Finally someone tested. Congratulations. Now you can update os x without having to worry about graphics.
OK, for restart make sure you have openhaltrestart.kext installed. Otherwise, it's a DSDT issue.
Rotate did the same thing with me. Need reboot to get back to standard - no problem though.

Is everything else working properly?
Did you get any artifacts?

#31
Nemphys

Nemphys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Is there any way to use this with a laptop GMA 950? I have an Acer Aspire One and still need modified kexts and framebuffers (from 10.4! ;) )


Using the following EFI String (from iATKOS 5i dvd), I have my GMA950 laptop (Toshiba U200) working almost perfectly, vanilla 10.5.6 kexts and no artifacts:

7e0200000100000001000000720200000a00000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff
4001c0000004100410050004c002c004800610073004c0069006400000008000000010000002a000
004100410050004c00300031002c0044006100740061004a00750073007400690066007900000008
00000010000001c0000004100410050004c00300031002c005000690070006500000008000000010
00001e0000004100410050004c00300031002c004400650070007400680000000800000020000000
60000004100410050004c002c004e0075006d0044006900730070006c00610079007300000008000
00040000001c0000004100410050004c00300031002c00450044004900440000008400000000ffff
fffffff004ca345490000000000110103802115780a87f594574f8c2727505400000001010101010
01010101010101010101ee1a008050201030103013004bcf100000190000000f0000000000000000
02387026401000000fe0053414d53554e470a2020202020000000fe004c544e31353458412d4c303
0a00412e0000004100410050004c002c004e0075006d004600720061006d00650062007500660066
065007200730000000800000002000000380000004100410050004c002c00530065006c006600520
65006600720065007300680053007500700070006f00720074006500640000000800000001000000
00000004100410050004c002c00480061007300500061006e0065006c00000008000000010000001
00000072006f006d002d007200650076006900730069006f006e0000002a0000004f70656e474c20
56e67696e6520616374697661746564207669612045464920537472696e67

Give it a shot!

#32
Istivi Jobis

Istivi Jobis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
Well, openhaltrestart.kext installed, restart ok.
Untill now, everything working, none artifacts.
If any problem, I will post.

Thanks !

#33
nebulOSX

nebulOSX

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
I can confirm it works on a Gigabyte GA-GC230D, No artifacts at all, one small problem, it thinks theres 2 displays. I had to log in via vnc to change the default display to this one. So once the extra display problem is fixed, its all perfect!

EDIT: Sleep works perfectly!

#34
Dr. Hurt

Dr. Hurt

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt and NYC, USA
  • Interests:Wandering around on the internet!! Politics, Sci/Tech, Medicine.
Finally.
Thank you everyone. :blink:

#35
roidm

roidm

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

I can confirm it works on a Gigabyte GA-GC230D, No artifacts at all, one small problem, it thinks theres 2 displays. I had to log in via vnc to change the default display to this one. So once the extra display problem is fixed, its all perfect!

EDIT: Sleep works perfectly!



Nice to hear that !!

I think i have a fix for the default display... may i pm you later, ? im still at work...


im working with a friend of mine with Intel DG31PR and GMA 3100, ill post the results. thx

#36
nebulOSX

nebulOSX

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Nice to hear that !!

I think i have a fix for the default display... may i pm you later, ? im still at work...


No problem, remembered I had paulicats natit in my extensions folder so i removed it, restarted and its no longer working, screen stays blue, VNC'd to the computer, can see the desktop through that, installed natit again to make it work and its not... something has gone wrong again :blink: I'll just try and make it work again...

#37
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...
Hello. Think this thread is misplaced..?! Shouldn't it be under OSx86?.. almost missed it :) EDIT: was misplaced.
Anyway.. i'd like to test this but, i have two doubts.
-The kexts in the zip, are they patched or plain stock kexts?
-My mobo is an Asus, though it's made for HP. Will this work with my mobo or do i have to patch my dsdt.aml?
Device id is: 2772

I'm not using DSDT.. still didn't found a real good reason to use it. This would be a real good reason!
I must say that i have out of the box support for GMA950, except for resolution change. For that i use "AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer 1.4.20.28" patched, i think. I get some artifacts with some apps.
It would be nice to use stock kexts :D
Thanks

#38
nebulOSX

nebulOSX

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
aghh! I don't know what happened, but its no longer working. Back to square one. My monitor is blue at boot, stays like that, yet if i connect via VNC it displays my desktop, go to system profiler, click on graphics and displays and system profiler crashes. Any thoughts anyone? I shall go back to the old framebuffer until i find a fix. It only happens when I have the DSDT files at the root of my HD. :)

EDIT: Ok, if i unplug the monitor and plug it back in again it works (and detects one screen), no artifacts but sleep doesn't work. what's happening? :D

#39
Dr. Hurt

Dr. Hurt

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt and NYC, USA
  • Interests:Wandering around on the internet!! Politics, Sci/Tech, Medicine.

Hello. Think this thread is misplaced..?! Shouldn't it be under OSx86?.. almost missed it ;)
Anyway.. i'd like to test this but, i have two doubts.
-The kexts in the zip, are they patched or plain stock kexts?
-My mobo is an Asus, though it's made for HP. Will this work with my mobo or do i have to patch my dsdt.aml?
Device id is: 2772

I'm not using DSDT.. still didn't found a real good reason to use it. This would be a real good reason!
I must say that i have out of the box support for GMA950, except for resolution change. For that i use "AppleIntelIntegratedFramebuffer 1.4.20.28" patched, i think. I get some artifacts with some apps.
It would be nice to use stock kexts ;)
Thanks


The kexts are the stock (unmodified) ones from the 10.5.6 update.
This DSDT patch is confirmed to work on gigabyte boards. No one tested it with other boards yet. If you would like to test it, that will be really appreciated. If it doesn't work, you'll probably have to patch it manually or wait till someone writes an automated patcher.
Just make sure your bootloader supports DSDT.

Yes, this thread is misplaced!! :)

#40
nebulOSX

nebulOSX

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
Ok, so the story now is...

If I use the new frame buffer and 950 kexts from 10.5.6 with the DSDT fix, the screen turns blue on boot as if it can't detect the display. Unplug and plug display back in again, everything works perfectly apart from sleep. Go to system profiler and look and graphics displays it says "No Display connected"...

Use no DSDT fix, and use tiger framebuffer, everything works apart from I get poor graphics performance, artifacts and sleep doesn't work.

I don't know what happened before when I got two displays connected and sleep works, I can't recreate that scenario, don't know if that's an issue as now I at least get the correct number of displays detected provided i unplug and plug in again.

Dr. Hurt, Is anyone working on an automated patcher?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy