Jump to content

Chameleon with SMBIOS patching


  • Please log in to reply
137 replies to this topic

#21
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Next attempt

<key>SMexternalclock</key>
  <string>133</string>
My bus speed must be 200.

Then why do you set your SMexternalclock to 133?

#22
roidm

roidm

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
i´m using this info

<key>Graphics Mode</key>
	<string>1680x1050x32</string>
	<key>Kernel</key>
	<string>mach_kernel</string>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
	<string></string>
	<key>SMbiosversion</key>
	<string>MP31.88Z.00C1.B00.080209154</string>
	<key>SMmanufacter</key>
	<string>Apple Inc.</string>
	<key>SMmemmanufacter</key>
	<string>0x80CE</string>
	<key>SMmempart</key>
	<string>0x0000FFFF</string>
	<key>SMmemserial</key>
	<string>0x48092D503537345336304350362D09352020</string>
	<key>SMmemspeed</key>
	<string>800</string>
	<key>SMmemtype</key>
	<string>19</string>
	<key>SMproductname</key>
	<string>MacPro3,1</string>
	<key>SMserial</key>
	<string>W88261E7YP4</string>
	<key>SMsystemversion</key>
	<string>1.0</string>
	<key>Timeout</key>
	<string>5</string>


#23
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

i´m using this info

<key>SMmemmanufacter</key>
	 <string>0x80CE</string>
	 <key>SMmempart</key>
	 <string>0x0000FFFF</string>
	 <key>SMmemserial</key>
	 <string>0x48092D503537345336304350362D09352020</string>

SMmemmanufacter. SMmempart and SMmemserial are strings. If I have some free time I'll look which values macbook uses.
Update: data from macbook's ioreg found on the net:
<key>SMbiosversion</key>
		<string>MB41.88Z.00C1.B00.0802091535</string>
		<key>SMmanufacter</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>SMproductname</key>
		<string>MacBook4,1</string>
		<key>SMsystemversion</key>
		<string>1.0</string>
		<key>SMserial</key>
		<string>W8813MMN0P2</string>
		<key>SMexternalclock</key>
		<string>200</string>
		<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
		<string>2400</string>
		<key>SMmemmanufacter_1</key>
		<string>0xAD00000000000000</string>
		<key>SMmemserial_1</key>
		<string>0x00001020</string>
		<key>SMmemtype_1</key>
		<string>19</string>
		<key>SMmemspeed_1</key>
		<string>667</string>
		<key>SMmemdevloc_1</key>
		<string>DIMM0</string>
		<key>SMmembankloc_1</key>
		<string>BANK 0</string>
		<key>SMmempart_1</key>
		<string>0x48594D503131325336344350362D59352020</string>
		<key>SMmemmanufacter_2</key>
		<string>0xAD00000000000000</string>
		<key>SMmemserial_2</key>
		<string>0x00003021</string>
		<key>SMmemtype_2</key>
		<string>19</string>
		<key>SMmemspeed_2</key>
		<string>667</string>
		<key>SMmemdevloc_2</key>
		<string>DIMM1</string>
		<key>SMmembankloc_2</key>
		<string>BANK 1</string>
		<key>SMmempart_2</key>
		<string>0x48594D503131325336344350362D59352020</string>
Here is complete dmidecode of macmini: http://www.kernel.or...ni1_1-dmidecode
P.S. If I have some type I'll post vanilla AppleSMBIOS from 10.5.4

#24
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Then why do you set your SMexternalclock to 133?


Ir is my mistake. Corrected.

I have new effect
| +-o AppleEFIRuntime  <class AppleEFIRuntime, registered, matched, active, busy 0, retain 7>    |   | {    |   |   "IOProviderClass" = "AppleACPIPlatformExpert"    |   |   "IOMatchCategory" = "AppleEFIRuntime"    |   |   "IOProbeScore" = 0x0    |   |   "IOClass" = "AppleEFIRuntime"    |   |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.driver.AppleEFIRuntime"    |   |   "IOResourceMatch" = "ACPI"    |   | }    |   |     |   +-o AppleEFINVRAM  <class AppleEFINVRAM, registered, matched, active, busy 0, retain 6>    |       {    |         "platform-uuid" = <00000000000010008000001d09590ee9>    |         "SystemAudioVolume" = <40>
As never before :censored2:

#25
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
I am sorry about vanilla SMBIOS. Newest version is 1.0.14.
But new observation:
with version 1.0.9 I have some info about memory
with version 1.0.14 I have no any RAM info with the same Boot.plist.
I can inject custom values but I want to correct AppleSMBIOS for automatic RAM detection. Is it possible?

Attached Files



#26
npwski

npwski

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Russia
Chameleon_SMBIOS works fine with my config (see signature and picture below).
Posted Image

But I think that some values (like SMexternalclock, SMmaximalclock) should be detected automatically. Simply because many users change FSB very often for the reason of overclocking. For example, sometimes I change my FSB more than three times per day. Accordingly, to fill those fields so often it is not possible.

But thanks anyway ;)

#27
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

But I think that some values (like SMexternalclock, SMmaximalclock) should be detected automatically. Simply because many users change FSB very often for the reason of overclocking. For example, sometimes I change my FSB more than three times per day. Accordingly, to fill those fields so often it is not possible.

If you don't specify theese values manually then chameleon will keep the value provided by BIOS which on many systems is already correct. You can also specify theese values on the command line:
E.g
-v SMexternalclock=133 SMmaximalclock=1866
Should. Everything should be opensource and work on any platform...
If you can suggest an easy, reliable and compact way to detect theese values I'm listening (I don't say it's impossible I just haven't looked at it at all since it's completely unnecessary for my system since BIOS already provides them correctly)

#28
npwski

npwski

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Russia
mackerintel
Sorry, this is my mistake: I added those values in Boot.plist but leaved fields blank. Like this:
<key>SMexternalclock</key>
<string></string>
<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
<string></string>
But this way is wrong:
Posted Image

Now i deleted those values at all. And all is correct; pics below

Posted Image
Posted Image

It's part of my Boot.plist

<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>MP31.88Z.00C1.B00.080209154</string>
<key>SMmanufacter</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacPro3,1</string>
<key>SMsystemversion</key>
<string>1.0</string>
<key>SMserial</key>
<string>W88261E7YP4</string>

<key>SMmemmanufacter</key>
<string>OCZ</string>
<key>SMmemtype</key>
<string>19</string>
<key>SMmemspeed</key>
<string>910</string>

And excuse me for this word "should" :) Thanks for your work! :hysterical:

#29
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
For me autodetect works but not perfect

Attached Files



#30
Kuebeker

Kuebeker

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts

Working great here as well, on Q6600, all vanilla kexts with fake plists.

Thanks.
its assumed that we already know that. If you have chameleon installed just replace 'boot' file in your leopard root partition with this new one renaming it to 'boot'. If not, install chameleon first (from the installer, the best way) then replace boot file.



Hi I agree allot of posts assume to much.
There are 2 files in the downloaded folder and they are:
smbios.diff
chameleonsm

What do we do with both?

#31
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Hi I agree allot of posts assume to much.
There are 2 files in the downloaded folder and they are:
smbios.diff
chameleonsm

What do we do with both?


Your question is already answered in the quote. If you have trouble understanding you probably would get better luck in your language's forum. Some more information is available under http://forum.insanel...howtopic=132757 . And I'm someone who likes challenges and when I solve some I don't mind sharing my work with others. Also I sometime like helping people if their case presents some interest/challenges. But I find boring and useless repeating information that is already available via web or forum searching. Even worse I think that reposting same info is just about making searching needed things more difficult. So if in any post you find that there isn't enough info then first reread it and then use search. We can't include complete hackintosh guide in every post. Additionally this thread is in Xlabs forum it means that if you come here you are assumed to be a bit technically knowledgeable or at least willing to learn. If you're neither of both then I would suggest you buying a real mac

#32
JaS

JaS

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 1,487 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thanks for this mackerintel, great job.

Edit: I just needed to set my max cpu speed other then that this new addition to the chameleon project is the {censored} :)

Here are the changes to my boot plist. This does not reflect my other boot options or dev prop hex.

<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
		<string>1870</string>
		<key>SMbiosversion</key>
		<string>MP31.88Z.00C1.B00.080209154</string>
		<key>SMmanufacter</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>SMproductname</key>
		<string>MacPro3,1</string>
		<key>SMsystemversion</key>
		<string>1.0</string>
		<key>SMserial</key>
		<string>W88261E7YP4</string>

Something worth noting is this is the first time in a long time that the model ident has actually be set to anything other then blank / mac on this system. Great work really ppl are going to love this :)

Attached Files



#33
snackole

snackole

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
After replacing and renameing boot I get a kernel panic. Any ideas as to why?

#34
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
@JaS: thanks

After replacing and renameing boot I get a kernel panic. Any ideas as to why?


1. This version doesn't support /Extra. So if you use it change so not to use it
2. Are new parameters set correctly?
3. If it still doesn't work say which bootloader you used before and put your ioreg.

#35
JaS

JaS

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 1,487 posts
  • Gender:Male
@mackerintel: Are you working with zef and them to merge these changes into the current project ? I think these additions to Chameleon / Chameleon 132 cd boot would really finish up the communities booting needs. DSDT + Dev Prop + SMBios Value Injection == Boot Perfection imo lol . :P

#36
snackole

snackole

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
Oh I see thanks. I am using /Extra to load kexts from a partition with chameleon installed. Any chance of this method ever working?

#37
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

@mackerintel: Are you working with zef and them to merge these changes into the current project ? I think these additions to Chameleon / Chameleon 132 cd boot would really finish up the communities booting needs. DSDT + Dev Prop + SMBios Value Injection == Boot Perfection imo lol . :)



Oh I see thanks. I am using /Extra to load kexts from a partition with chameleon installed. Any chance of this method ever working?


Yes and yes. DSDT override is already merged into big chameleon. Just wait for our next release

#38
snackole

snackole

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
Thanks for the info. Have a happy Thanksgiving bro :)

#39
lebidou

lebidou

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fr
Hello,

I've tried it today but the bus speed still shown as 667 Mhz instead as 166 (according to my laptop specs and x-cpu).
Plus, I need AppleSMBIOSEFI.kext to access the memory informations in the System Profiler.

I'm using Vanilla kernel and AppleSMBIOS.kext, and for the moment any modded AppleSMBIOS.kext were able to get the correct bus speed value, it always has shown 100 or 667.

Does someone have an idea about what I'm missing ?

Boot.plist values:
<key>SMexternalclock</key>
	<string>166</string>
	<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
	<string>1667</string>
	<key>SMmemtype</key>
	<string>19</string>
	<key>SMmemspeed</key>
	<string>667</string>
	<key>SMmempart</key>
	<string>0x48092D503537345336304350362D09352020</string>
	<key>SMmemmanufacturer</key>
	<string>0xAD00000000000000</string>
	<key>SMmemserial</key>
	<string>0x0000FFFF</string>
	<key>SMmemdevloc_1</key>
	<string>M1</string>
	<key>SMmembankloc_1</key>
	<string>BANK 0</string>
	<key>SMmemdevloc_2</key>
		<string>M2</string>
		<key>SMmembankloc_2</key>
		<string>BANK 1</string>
	<key>device-properties</key>

Thank you.

#40
lebidou

lebidou

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fr
I've just understood my mistake about bus speed, it's ok.

But the memory problem remains...





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy