Jump to content

nForce LAN driver


  • Please log in to reply
731 replies to this topic

#41
eno

eno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts

Well after I while I figured out that this driver is what locks up my keyboard and mouse after about 20min. Any idea why this is happening and how I could fix this?


Using the on-board lan with some motherboards seems to cause an instability. I am investigating the problem but I have a feeling that a more advanced version of XNU needs to be developed before the problem will be fixed.

If you have an athlon x2 I would suggest turning off cool&quiet and getting the latest Voodoo xnu kernel. Seems to work better that way.

#42
cabb

cabb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
ok im going nuts i have an asus pn5-e and i installed this kext now i go to pref... and down to network and dont even see the ethernet at all any help

#43
cabb

cabb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
UPDATE

GREAT work man finally got it. After i beat the {censored} out of my keyboard it works great.

Only thing is it keeps locking up mouse and keyboard when im updating os.


Any help on how to fix i also tryed -v -f cpus=1 and it locks up
\

thanks

#44
sinsetrance

sinsetrance

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi,
I have a p5n32 too and my kerboard and my mouse blocked when I start normally but with cpus=1 it's work.

Any suggestion to fix this cpus=1 because it's work but it's slow ?

#45
mrgeez

mrgeez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Works like a charm on MSI K9N Neo F v1 onboard network, Kalyway 10.5.2, X2 3400+ without any other modification.
Downloaded 740 MB, while transferred 350MB through SMB network, absolutely no kernel panic, or other instability.

#46
Maniac10

Maniac10

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,080 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
everytime I load the nforcelan kext the kernel_task hogs my pc, it uses +50% of the cpu constantly. I've tried without cpu optimization, it seems better but kernel_task still uses 10% of the cpu.

So, I'm back to classic forcedeth for now, but I'm willing to test anything you can tell me.

#47
taubut

taubut

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I know this is a very noob question, but I have the same problem where I need to add the 0x026910de...my problem is I'm not very sure on where to add it on the list. I see all the other numbers listed in the info.plist file but do i put it after a specific set of them?

Im sorry for the noob question, and thanks in advance for any help that is to follow.


edit
nevermind, i'm just going to try the newest ideneb v1.3 10.5.5 which seems to have the driver i need on the iso already.

#48
pauℓzurrr.

pauℓzurrr.

    Paul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
Seems to be working great here ;)

nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet [10de:03ef] (rev a2)


~p-J

#49
ssmonarch

ssmonarch

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Work great! Thank you.

Leopard 10.5.4, nForce 4Ultra, Marvell 88E1116

#50
KWS

KWS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 75 posts
First - thank you for your work, but
with 0.61.3 i got 10mps speed, with 0.61.1 and 0.61.2 100mps.
But my lan is still at 1000mps, so maybe theres a way to got it with my system??
Posted Image
Leo 10.5.5, xnu-kernel 9.5, Athlon x2 4200, nforce4, Abit KN8 lsi

#51
R0GUE

R0GUE

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:www.infinitemac.com
Thanks eno!

My dual gigabit lan now finally works!

MSI k9N SLI AM2 Board with Vitesse chipset: 10de:0373 nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet

#52
gibsteroon

gibsteroon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
This works great for my Evga nForce 650i Ultra (after so many failed attempts with other drivers). My system's freezing every 15 minutes or so (have to reboot every time), but I'm thinking that might be due to the kernel I'm using.

#53
eno

eno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts

everytime I load the nforcelan kext the kernel_task hogs my pc, it uses +50% of the cpu constantly. I've tried without cpu optimization, it seems better but kernel_task still uses 10% of the cpu.

So, I'm back to classic forcedeth for now, but I'm willing to test anything you can tell me.


Fixed int 0.61.4alpha_osx. The driver will now longer take 20+% of the cpu. It looks like the original coder was off by a factor of 10^3 on the timer.

Let me know if the latest version works better for you.

#54
Prometeus

Prometeus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Please help, I installed your kext on my Acer Aspire 7520G, no effect though :thumbsup_anim:.
Kalyway 10.5.2

#55
eno

eno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts

Please help, I installed your kext on my Acer Aspire 7520G, no effect though :(.
Kalyway 10.5.2


Can you send me any lines from your /var/log/system.log that begin with com_triton_forcedeth (.3 and older) or nForceLAN (.4)? I will look and see what might be going on.

#56
KWS

KWS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 75 posts
Now (with 0.61.4) it shows at boot 10mps, but in Leo the speed is like Gigabit (30 to 45 mb/sec).

No freeze - no kernel panic. Good work !

#57
eno

eno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts

Now (with 0.61.4) it shows at boot 10mps, but in Leo the speed is like Gigabit (30 to 45 mb/sec).

No freeze - no kernel panic. Good work !


What code follows "nForceLAN: Link speed now 10 Mbps"?

#58
KWS

KWS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 75 posts
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Version 0.61.4alpha_osx initializing
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: setting optimization mode: cpu
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Probing.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: found nVidia CK804 Ethernet Controller device 10de:0057 with flags 0x0008021f
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Starting.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: found power management capability at 68
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: PCI system 0x10DE:0x0057, subsystem 0x147B:0x1C12 revision 0xA3 opened.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Mapped from 0xFE02F000 of length 4096.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Found nForce LAN with MAC: 00:50:8D:49:B9:1E.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Link speed now 10Mbps(full-duplex = 0), code 0x103e8.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Found PHY 0x03c0:0x0031 at address 1.
Sep 30 19:32:13 localhost kernel[0]: NVDA::probe(display)



I think this doesnt matter, a few lines down i can see

Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: setBufSize/Apple wants 1500 bytes
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: setBufSize/We can give them 1500 bytes
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: setBufSize/Setting with regards to kIOEthernetMaxPacketSize(1518) -- 1582 bytes
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Enabling... 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Starting transmit/receive engines
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Link speed now 1000Mbps(full-duplex = 1), code 0x10032.


so maybe only a cosmetic issue

#59
eno

eno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts

Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Version 0.61.4alpha_osx initializing
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: setting optimization mode: cpu
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Probing.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: found nVidia CK804 Ethernet Controller device 10de:0057 with flags 0x0008021f
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Starting.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: found power management capability at 68
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: PCI system 0x10DE:0x0057, subsystem 0x147B:0x1C12 revision 0xA3 opened.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Mapped from 0xFE02F000 of length 4096.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Found nForce LAN with MAC: 00:50:8D:49:B9:1E.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Link speed now 10Mbps(full-duplex = 0), code 0x103e8.
Sep 30 19:32:12 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Found PHY 0x03c0:0x0031 at address 1.
Sep 30 19:32:13 localhost kernel[0]: NVDA::probe(display)



I think this doesnt matter, a few lines down i can see

Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: setBufSize/Apple wants 1500 bytes
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: setBufSize/We can give them 1500 bytes
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: setBufSize/Setting with regards to kIOEthernetMaxPacketSize(1518) -- 1582 bytes
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Enabling... 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Starting transmit/receive engines
Sep 30 17:32:00 localhost kernel[0]: nForceLAN: Link speed now 1000Mbps(full-duplex = 1), code 0x10032.


so maybe only a cosmetic issue


Looks like it is working :thumbsup_anim:. The connection does get detected as 1000Mbps after the adapter gets enabled. Let me know if you have any other issues.

#60
Maniac10

Maniac10

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,080 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Fixed int 0.61.4alpha_osx. The driver will now longer take 20+% of the cpu. It looks like the original coder was off by a factor of 10^3 on the timer.

Let me know if the latest version works better for you.



It's working great now!!! I'll test it further to check it's stability and report back.

Thanks a lot emo!!!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy