Dvd's and DRM

iScott

20 posts in this topic

So say that I buy 5000 dvd's of different movies and then upload all the content to a sever and give access to anyone who wants to watch them at any time for free, is that against the law? (in America)

Oh yeah besides the DMCA violations by cracking the CSS protection you would be open to massive criminal copyright violation all by itself.

How is that against the law? I am not charging people to watch them, and I am allowed to make a backup of every movie I buy, it just so happens that I back it up to a server. What is the difference between that and letting a friend borrow a movie and he returns it after he watches it.

The industry isn't getting any of the money they deserve. It is the same as bit torrents and the OSx86 project, it is COPYING COPYright data. Also, you must have the right to broadcast a movie publicly

Example:

I am a top selling music artist. I have my songs on ITunes, and I get $.10 for every song. 100,000 people download my song legally, I then get $10,000 for those songs. If 100,000 more people download them through your site, I am losing $10,000 that I deserve

What is the difference between that and letting a friend borrow a movie and he returns it after he watches it.

I am not sure if this is legal or not.

How is that against the law? I am not charging people to watch them, and I am allowed to make a backup of every movie I buy, it just so happens that I back it up to a server. What is the difference between that and letting a friend borrow a movie and he returns it after he watches it.