Radeon 3850/3870 thread

netkas

212 posts in this topic

Guest Snowski

Does that mean it doesnt work for Tiger too?

Cause I see you guys talking about compability with Leopard all the time. Hey Tiger isn't dead yet! :D

Hi netkas,

I have Leopard installed with EFI (I had it working with a 8800GTS), I have now moved to 2x 3870 in crossfire (crossfire would be disabled I am guessing in Leopard)

so I can do some testing for you if you like, (I am a Unix admin if that helps).

Cheers,

Scaven

Guest Snowski

Guys, can you just tell me if the card will boot osx86. I know CI/QE will be disabled but that doesnt mean we can still use the OS fgor audio or office no?

I would like to know how not having CI/QE affects the OS. My local store said the cards will be in tomorow but I have to be quick with my order so I have to be quick.

Thc in advance

It might seem obvious, but if there's no framebuffer driver, there's no framebuffer driver and nothing we can do. The X2000 drivers need a framebuffer to provide acceleration at all, so I'm afraid it looks like RV670 is a no-go at this stage, and will remain so unless Apple updates the framebuffer drivers in OS X and includes a new ATY,Franklin or other FB kext which will work with RV670.

It's really only by luck that we have the ATY,Franklin kext from 9a527 to make the 2900XT work.

By the way, anybody want a slightly used 2900 XT? :unsure::P

Guest Snowski

Allright bro, thx for the heads up. I'll scratch the card from my list then.

The 2900XT sounds very tempting but I'll still pass (bit high on power consumption etc..)

It seems though that the 2900XT and 8800GTX are the best you can get for OSX86 atm. I'm sure your card will be sold quickly for a good price.

The 3800's will work in about 2 months you just gotta wait osx86 exist on persistants in the first place.

P.S. HEARD RUMORS AT THE APPLE STORE the new mac pro is going to have a 3870 in it BUT WHO KNOWS

The new macbook pro goes with 8800GT Mobile....