nikon d40?

neilg

14 posts in this topic

i was thinking of buying a camera for the nikon d40.. or d40x ... before i had a canon rebel xt and i did not like that.. i was in the store and some guy showed me the d40 which i wanted before...

what do you guys think

i am just new to dslr and just wanting to learn.. nothing professional

i was thinking of buying a camera for the nikon d40.. or d40x ... before i had a canon rebel xt and i did not like that.. i was in the store and some guy showed me the d40 which i wanted before...

what do you guys think

If the canon 40D is in your price range, check that out, shipping in early September. if you like the canon 30D, it should drop in price .

Nikon is supposed to be announcing something or other in the next day or 2, that might drive down the price of the nikon d40/x.

Canon just announced the 40D which is too much to drop on a body, especially if you're just starting. The massive price difference could buy you a few lenses for a D40.

Nikon announced the D3 (Full Frame Pro Camera), cross that off your list, and the D300 which is in the same ballpark as the Canon 40D.

The D40 is a great body to start with, its incredibly small and light...takes great pictures, and the 18-55 kit lens that's bundled with it is excellent (far better than Canon's kit lens) :hammer:

The D40x is a higher resolution version with the CCD sensor lifted from the D80. Unless you're making 40"+ prints, I wouldn't bother. It's a few hundred dollars more in cost to gain a bit more resolution. What you lose is high ISO image quality (aka more noise in low light). Definentaly not worth it. I'm still using my 2.5 year old D50 body with the same sensor as the D40 and I make 8X12 prints all the time, and sometimes larger if I take them to a lab. 6.1MP is just fine for that.