Oh my god guys! Please help me!

drcreek

15 posts in this topic

Right I"m really in trouble

I have a 24" iMac and i use a external 500GB drive to store all my movies, music & photos...etc

It's borked!

I switched on my mac to get a error saying "Disk Insertion, The disk you inserted is not readable by this computer." Initialize, ignore or eject."

What do i need to do get it working again? I'm a struggling student so i can't afford expensive data recovery companies.

I know it's probably dead but if there is ANY chance i can get my stuff back,

I'm so upset i had family photos on there and personal music collections (i.e master copies of music i created)

Please tell me what i need to tell you to fix it. I really need those photos back. There are people what are no longer with me anymore on those photos. I'm an idiot for not backing up.

I'll give the site a donation or £20 to your charity of choice if i get this fixed.

I know it's unlikely, but if it is formatted as FAT32, try plugging it to a PC.

You may also try to connect it to a Macdrive installed PC.

Sometimes it works. (A friend of mine has an 80 GB external HD and sometimes he goes through the same problem as yours with his mac mini.)

You may want to read this thread to fix your mbr:

http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?sho...80&hl=fdisk

Make sure not to miss Rammjet's post there.

:thumbsdown_anim:

Try using any Live CD Linux distro, something like Knoppix on a PC, and mount your drive. Create folder in root when it boots up using terminal app, and mount HDD to that folder.

mount -t hfsplus /dev/deviceid /diryoucreated

where deviceid is id of your device in /dev directory. Once you find it ( using mount command, just type mount as root), mount it to your created directory, and copy over everything onto DVD (Knoppix has DVDRW support ) ad ther you go. If HDD is detectable in OS X should be no problem.