Success with Asrock 775i945GZ Conroe board

23 posts in this topic

I am new to the OSX86 topic, but i think i was really lucky with my chosen Hardware.

I could not find any storys about this board or chiset here, so this may be useful if you search for hardware.

I installed the jas 10.4.6 DVD without any problems from an PATA DVD-ROM to a PATA HD.

I only activated SSE3 and GMA900 patches.

After rebooting system and graphics are running like Hell :-) ...so the Quarzt engine must be supported (and i can switch to any resolution).

Internal LAN is working too.

SATA is not tested.

There was no sound device, so i used the tip for activating the ALC883 for the ALC888 on this board.. success!

I am not sure, if i should patch or tweak anything else.

CPU is a 326 Celeron. (more a heating device than a CPU)

Now i am waiting for the 4200 or 4300 Conroe. (because the 945GZ is limited to FSB800)

post-47901-1155226274_thumb.png

That's great!! I was looking at this board but since no one else had tried it .......

Is there any reason you didn't use a SATA hard drive?? I was hoping to use on and install direct to it from the DVD but as I understand it there are some issues that may or may not have been solved.

Is there any reason you didn't use a SATA hard drive?? I was hoping to use on and install direct to it from the DVD but as I understand it there are some issues that may or may not have been solved.

I simply don't own any sata devices :-)

But the 945G (without Z) chipset is reported for working SATA..

What do you think about tis one: ConRoe945G-DVI with FSB 1066,SATA and dualVGA. For 65$ a bargain.

Coolio

Wow, I really like this one. It should also run OSX fine because of chipsets in there (D945G and ICH7).

Sound should be fine, but don't know about the LAN (realteck RTL8111B) - I'm planning to use OSX

supported usb-WiFi device that I already have for internet access.

Where did u get the 65$ price tag? I want to order one.