ATi x200 Callisto Success/Problem

38 posts in this topic

I need some assistance. I have Callisto working and can change resolutions and everything, but I was wondering if there was some way to get it to see the full amount of video memory I have, and to possibly get Quartz Extreme and CoreImage to work properly, along with OpenGL.

I've tried quite a few different things, and none have worked properly. I'm trying various little things on my own, but have gotten nowhere. Anyone have any thoughts?

My laptop is an HP dv5000us with the x200 ATi chipset, 128MB VRAM.

same problem.. same chipset (x200 with gpu) same vram 128MB, but reported as 16MB.

Same problem with openGL and QE/CI.

Looks like we are on our own GP1138. hahaha..

okay, why not we try to work on it? are u up for the challenge? I am a total noob in MacOS too.. and i dont know how to write hardware driver.. but at least there is somewhere that we could start..

for example, x300 is using the same chipset as x200, thus we can start from there. Another thing is, i think the bridge to pcie is missing in our case.. if we tried to use koverg's patch, we ended up with a froze screen, thus, there is something not telling the gpu..

ps: maybe u could change the title of the thread to "x200 challenge" or something :) to attract more experts to it hehehe.. just a thought..

we are not talking abt the resolution changes are we?

i mean, the callisto is the framebuffer driver, some ppl got away with callisto + patched driver..

i may be wrong, but what we need is some sort of driver that knows our southbridge..

1. vram detected doesnt make a difference for Callisto since 2D framebuffer doesnt need thatmuch memory

2. x200 is based on rv410 chip (x700) should support qe/ci.

note - linux drivers for ati mysteriously dropped support for x200 after a while - some say i has a messed up architecture