Ubuntu v7.04 Feisty Fawn

sev7en

25 posts in this topic

The Ubuntu team is proud to announce version 7.04 of the Ubuntu family of distributions.

Ubuntu is a Linux distribution for your desktop or server, with a fast and easy install, regular releases, a tight selection of excellent software installed by default, an incredible variety of add-on software available with a few clicks, and professional technical support from Canonical Limited and hundreds of other companies around the world.

Ubuntu 7.04 is also the basis for new 7.04 releases of Kubuntu and Edubuntu. Ubuntu 7.04 will be supported for 18 months on both desktops and servers. Note that 6.06 LTS is a long-term support release, and so users requiring a longer support lifetime may choose to continue using that version rather than upgrade to or install 7.04.

Download:

More Information: HERE.

I'm new to the Linux scene and so am still getting used to it but can I just ask what changes have been made from the previous release?

There are really a lot of changes since previous release. Look at here: there's a full coverage of any new feature!

OS X/Feisty Dually on PB Alu 15" 1.33GHz. Works well and I do recommend Compiz (enable universe and multiverse repo), over Beryl. Beryl SVN snapshots will be touchy on feisty latest release until they iron out some things.

If you don't mind the wait, Compiz and Beryl are at last merging. Expect good things to come with newer featured window manager and composite manager for Linux.

i got the dvd version that supposedly has "everything" disc loads the menu, but when i click "start and install" it goes to the scrolly bar and stays there forever

stupid computer

i started using it on my ibook after the beta release (previously i used edgy), it's graphic performances are incredible: now i can play quake3 at 1024x768 without problems under linux! :thumbsup_anim:

no doubts about it: best ppc distro ever.

• 2 weeks later...